Ashes 2021/22

England threatening to pull out are the only ones being ridiculous. They are just selfish soft cricketers Jonny Bairstow, Ben Stokes, Jofra Archer, Jos Buttler, Dawid Malan, Eoin Morgan, Chris Woakes, Tom Curran, Sam Billings and Sam Curran, Moeen Ali they all had no issues going to the IPL as if they pulled out they weren’t going to be paid.

If the series doesn’t go ahead it never can as we are locked in with the future tours program
If you can manage to make your next post on this subject without going green, I'll acknowledge you have a point.

Mate the blokes who don’t come out are spoiled. They have an obligation as much as the board do, we toured their when there was no upside for us so sky could get their content and so the ECB could get the money to pay these blokes

No the ECB doesn’t receive any money from Sky just like 9 didn’t give CA any money in 2019. That’s why there is an even amount of tours

That’s also why India always come here and we rarely go there we want them for the money we can make off them and they can make that no playing anyone at home

Definitely the ECB needs to compensate us if they don’t tour they have asked so much from so many nations so they can meet their contractual obligations and now they are threatening to BBQ us

Why? Why are they spoiled? Because they earn enough money that they can pick and choose if they do or don’t want to tour?

you sound pretty *en spoiled to me thinking you can judge people for deciding as grown adults that they won’t go on a lengthy overseas trip.

Honestly give it a rest, you sound demented - exacerbated by your bizzare claim about India which for some reason ignores that in this century australia has toured India 6 times while India has toured Australia - wait for it - 6 times.

They're allowed to stay home that's fine. But that shouldn't mean a whole tour gets cancelled, just because a few don't want to go. Could you imagine the outrage if Smith and Warner didn't want to go to England, and then people were saying we should just cancel it because two people can't go. It's utterly ridiculous
Not to mention the inconvenience to South Africa & the West Indies. Either tour Australia on insanely short notice after the T20 World Cup or end up not touring here anytime soon.

All this not because there's some massive covid breakout here that they are worried about getting it, but because they can't have all the quarantine rules changed for them.

And there are people who go on and on about Australia being the disrespectful ones in the Cricket World. If some of the Australian players were pulling this the crying would be indefinite. Postpone a whole pinnacle test series and have 2 others canned because they may not be able to send your best team? Are they for real? I hope none of the people backing this took shots at Australia pulling out of the South African tour when they were getting well north of 10,000+ cases a day.

Not to mention the inconvenience to South Africa & the West Indies. Either tour Australia on insanely short notice after the T20 World Cup or end up not touring here anytime soon.

All this not because there's some massive covid breakout here that they are worried about getting it, but because they can't have all the quarantine rules changed for them.

And there are people who go on and on about Australia being the disrespectful ones in the Cricket World. If some of the Australian players were pulling this the crying would be indefinite. Postpone a whole pinnacle test series and have 2 others canned because they may not be able to send your best team? Are they for real? I hope none of the people backing this took shots at Australia pulling out of the South African tour when they were getting well north of 10,000+ cases a day.

Australia have pulled out of World Cup matches in Sri Lanka due to the threat of terrorism. Statistically there was very little threat. I don’t think anyone cared that they didn’t go because…. They’re grown adults managed by grown adults and playing for an organisation chaired by grown adults and they can choose not to do it. Same as they can choose to go on rebel tours or play franchise cricket or whatever the hell else grown adults can choose to do or not to do.

Why? Why are they spoiled? Because they earn enough money that they can pick and choose if they do or don’t want to tour?

you sound pretty fu**en spoiled to me thinking you can judge people for deciding as grown adults that they won’t go on a lengthy overseas trip.

Honestly give it a rest, you sound demented - exacerbated by your bizzare claim about India which for some reason ignores that in this century australia has toured India 6 times while India has toured Australia - wait for it - 6 times.
India have played here 4 times in the last 10 years and we have gone there twice lol

Lol you claim I am spoiled for judging people but then judge me

Touring is literally their job it’s what they signed up to do

Ultimately they rely on blokes making the same sacrifices they are unwilling to make to get to England so they can earn a living.

Also not touring jeopardise a lot of peoples jobs in professional cricket in Aus, threatens lively hoods and people’s ability to take care of their families

Australia have pulled out of World Cup matches in Sri Lanka due to the threat of terrorism. Statistically there was very little threat. I don’t think anyone cared that they didn’t go because…. They’re grown adults managed by grown adults and playing for an organisation chaired by grown adults and they can choose not to do it. Same as they can choose to go on rebel tours or play franchise cricket or whatever the hell else grown adults can choose to do or not to do.
Yes we did, along with another team, forfeited a World Cup group match. Is England willing to forfeit these WTC matches if it comes to that? Of course not, they want it postponed after tickets have already started being sold lol. How convenient for them.

If the quarantine arrangements are not to the liking of some and they don't want to tour then fine, that's their call, but these talks of postponing are insane.

India have played here 4 times in the last 10 years and we have gone there twice lol

Lol you claim I am spoiled for judging people but then judge me

Touring is literally their job it’s what they signed up to do

Ultimately they rely on blokes making the same sacrifices they are unwilling to make to get to England so they can earn a living.

Also not touring jeopardise a lot of peoples jobs in professional cricket in Aus, threatens lively hoods and people’s ability to take care of their families

Me not shopping at a particular shop effects then livelihood of the people that work there but that’s not my responsibility is it. If a Collingwood player on contract said he didn’t want to play football anymore or needed time away from the game or refused to travel to a hub or something would you question his quality as a person?

You can’t equate picking coles or Safeway to this situation.

They are willing to ask people to make sacrifices they are not willing to make. That is clearly acting in a selfish manner.

Mate is a Collingwood player said he didn’t want to play anymore I would care. If he stayed on the list taking his pay then I would have an issue.

What I'd like to see happen:

Warner
Khawaja
Labuschagne
Smith
Pukovski
Green
Paine +*
Starc
Cummins
Hazelwood
Lyon

Renshaw
Wade
Bird
Pattinson
Swepson

I'd like to see Renshaw go back to opening in the Shield, imo he's a test batsman who should be given another crack in the team somewhere.

When we can't find a test opener to partner Warner, and Khawaja averages 60 as a test opener, plus averaging 60 in the Shield last year, why the hell wouldn't you bring him back? Heaps better than Harris will ever be. And let Puk settle in at 5 before he works out where's best for him, could be opening, could be three, could be middle order.

This is the 11 i'd like to see as well, not sure on the subs tho besides Patto and Swepson

Small sample size but Burns & Hameed have done well opening together. Eng may have solved one of their batting issues.

Yep, I think they've finally got their top 3 sorted. Not saying it's world beating but better than what was there before, though Lyon will fancy bowling to Malan going on his performance against Jadeja the other night.

Think Hazlewood and Cummins will have a field day against the English line up. Root will need a huge series.

I hope so....but I do not think we should underestimate the poms our lack of recent test cricket might hurt us

It looks like they are settling on a top three of Burns Hameed and Malan

interesting that stokes is not a certain starter for the WC

T20 World Cup - Ben Stokes set to be omitted from England T20 World Cup squad (espncricinfo.com)

But I reckon he will be on the plane for the Ashes .

Still I am confident we can get it done and win the Ashes

I hope so....but I do not think we should underestimate the poms our lack of recent test cricket might hurt us

It looks like they are settling on a top three of Burns Hameed and Malan

interesting that stokes is not a certain starter for the WC

T20 World Cup - Ben Stokes set to be omitted from England T20 World Cup squad (espncricinfo.com)

But I reckon he will be on the plane for the Ashes .

Still I am confident we can get it done and win the Ashes
It will be a white wash. England are no good

Yep, we're favourite to beat a depleted England side. My worry is that it will paper over the cracks in the Australian team and we'll get done again by better teams.

We should be using this series to plan ahead.

Yep, we're favourite to beat a depleted England side. My worry is that it will paper over the cracks in the Australian team and we'll get done again by better teams.

The thing is there are no great sides in test cricket at the moment

India are struggling with the bat, England are a team in transition, South Africa are no where near it, NZ is solid and consistent and then there is us. We have a decent team but not great and we need to transition to the future by moving Warner Paine and Starc on

You actually need the options to bring in, though.

Green and Pucovski are our only really exciting young talent, and they're both likely to feature. Who else would you bring in?

Totally agree - the talent cupboard is pretty bare.

It's more the CA / Channel 9 triumphalism that happens when we beat a weak side which means we never bother to examine the problems with the domestic game that produce such weak test teams. I was surprised that after last summer, there wasn't more of an inquiry about how we lost to what was, by the end, and Indian seconds team.

The thing is there are no great sides in test cricket at the moment

India are struggling with the bat, England are a team in transition, South Africa are no where near it, NZ is solid and consistent and then there is us. We have a decent team but not great and we need to transition to the future by moving Warner Paine and Starc on

And we will......This will be Paine's last series after he retains the Ashes.....Carey and Inglis primes for test/white ball roles

Starc still has credit especially in the white ball format....but there is question marks about his red ball form but we do have reserves in the wings Richardson Neser Mereditih .....the future is bright on the fast bowling front

Warner is getting on and he has publicly stated that he is considering dropping one of the formats in the future be that test/whiteball ...wait and see

Green and Pucovski in the wings

The future is looking okay

Phillipe still has a future....just needs a couple of solid shield seasons and I think we will start to see that in the next few shield seasons

Renshaw still young ..again needs a a solid shield season

Inglis the skys the limit

Carey

Richardson

Swepson is a talent

The talent is there.....it is not that bad

It will be interesting considering we have 3 sub-continent tours next year, is before that the right time to make big changes?
Do we know who our future test gloveman is?
Is it between Carey and Inglis?
Should we be moving on Warner for more inexperience before these tours, seeing as we don't even have an established second opener?
Do we have a clear next captain?
If so, when should they be brought in?
Do we need sub-continent specialists for these upcoming tours?
Will Starc even get a game in Asia? Considering Hazlewood and Cummins are certain starters.
Should Pucovksi be persisted with an opener or a number 5?

So many questions and so little answers. I personally don't think we should be making a lot of changes until the start of next summer against the Windies and South Africa.

Phillipe still has a future....just needs a couple of solid shield seasons and I think we will start to see that in the next few shield seasons

Renshaw still young ..again needs a a solid shield season

Inglis the skys the limit

Carey

Richardson

Swepson is a talent

The talent is there.....it is not that bad
Also JFM, Ollies Davies, Jason Sangha and Will Sutherland all have potential

It will be interesting considering we have 3 sub-continent tours next year, is before that the right time to make big changes?
Do we know who our future test gloveman is?
Is it between Carey and Inglis?
Should we be moving on Warner for more inexperience before these tours, seeing as we don't even have an established second opener?
Do we have a clear next captain?
If so, when should they be brought in?
Do we need sub-continent specialists for these upcoming tours?
Will Starc even get a game in Asia? Considering Hazlewood and Cummins are certain starters.
Should Pucovksi be persisted with an opener or a number 5?

So many questions and so little answers. I personally don't think we should be making a lot of changes until the start of next summer against the Windies and South Africa.

Carey will get the nod but Inglis looming large
Warner stays still a few good seasons in him
Smith is firming again for captain
Yes sub continent specialists will be considered
If he is bowling well Starc will be considered for Asia
Pucovksi opener for me

the answers are coming :)