Coach Assistant coach changes for 2020

I hope for Robert Harvey's personal sake that he gets it. I'm sure he is a lovely guy.
But it won't be much of a loss for the Pies either I suspect.

Our midfield needs to be revamped. De Goey into the middle more would be a start. Tapping it beyond Grundy's own feet might be an improvement too. Must be an instruction to keep doing so I presume.

The amount of time Degoey spends in the middle will depend on how good his legs are, eg how much stress there is on his shins which has along with hamstrings has serious hampered games played, but more importantly midfield time

Good luck to Harvey in his quest for the top job, seems to be well respected amongst the playing group.
Just not the supporters though, but what matters is the playing group and his peers

Scott Selwood a great addition in the development space, big wraps and a great footy brain.

Good luck to Matty Boyd with the promotion! A great choice to guide our backline

Why does Harvey get such little respect here? He's been with Bucks all the way through. If there were major weaknesses, if he was not respected by the players, if he didn't have a footy brain, do we think he would have held his position for eight years?
Sometimes perceptions from the fence can be wrong.
If we want to question things going on at the club, perhaps the two year extension to Sier? Now that club decision staggered me.

Why does Harvey get such little respect here? He's been with Bucks all the way through. If there were major weaknesses, if he was not respected by the players, if he didn't have a footy brain, do we think he would have held his position for eight years?
If we want to question things going on at the club, perhaps the two year extension to Sier? Now that club decision staggered me.

No idea if he is a good midfield coach or not. But we have had a dominant ruckman for at least 2 years & the mids rarely capitalise on it. Whether that's coaching or players just not up to getting down & dirty I don't know. But in our last game of 2018 & our last game of 2019 our mids lowered their colours despite having the best ruckman on the ground by some margin.
For 2019 we were ranked 2nd for hitouts per game yet 14th for clearances per game. But we seem to not be changing midfield coach or players. When Grundy is also our leading clearance player it should be setting off some alarm bells regardless of how well Brody has played.

No idea if he is a good midfield coach or not. But we have had a dominant ruckman for at least 2 years & the mids rarely capitalise on it. Whether that's coaching or players just not up to getting down & dirty I don't know. But in our last game of 2018 & our last game of 2019 our mids lowered their colours despite having the best ruckman on the ground by some margin.
For 2019 we were ranked 2nd for hitouts per game yet 14th for clearances per game. But we seem to not be changing midfield coach or players. When Grundy is also our leading clearance player it should be setting off some alarm bells regardless of how well Brody has played.
I think Grundy takes some responsibility for the clearance situation. His ruck coach is Anthony Rocca. Has been for years. If Harvey is copping it, I reckon Rocca must be questioned also.

Absolutely. Again we have given him the same ruck coach pretty much his whole career. But we must do better at clearances next year.

I think it's as much about supporter expectations as it is about what Grundy is doing. In ruck terms, he hasn't even hit his prime. I'd expect natural improvement in his ruck work to continue for years to come.

Harvey comes across as a bit of an introvert and I'm not confident that augurs well for his chances in becoming a senior AFL coach.

These days it's not just about your coaching skill but your capacity to sell your club and ability in dealing with the endless media scrutiny.

I dont know if he can coach or not. However, for one who has aspirations of being a senior coach, staying at one club for 8 years is a career killer.

On SM-A520F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Longmuir leaving is a blow, but a totally expected one. We only ever had him on loan pending a senior gig.

On the flipside, we've got a ripper to replace him in Matty Boyd. My Bulldogs supporting friends are exceedingly jealous. Shows every sign of being a top quality individual and a natural coach.

Longmuir leaving is a blow, but a totally expected one. We only ever had him on loan pending a senior gig.

On the flipside, we've got a ripper to replace him in Matty Boyd. My Bulldogs supporting friends are exceedingly jealous. Shows every sign of being a top quality individual and a natural coach.
Heard similar things about Selwood, many I have spoken too think this guy will be a senior coach at some point

If I was asked to provide 3 names at the start of the senior coaching merry go round that I saw as the leading candidates they would have been Longmuir, Ratten and Caracella.

With Rutten chosen as the successor to Worsfold since the announcement that Caracella was returning to Essendon in 2020 you have to wonder if Blake holds aspirations of being a senior AFL coach.

With the Tigers having just won a second Premiership it would have topped off his coaching resume beautifully and put him front and centre in the minds of those doing the hiring.

If he still does have the ambition to be a senior coach then he might regret not putting up his hand this year as a bit like Burns reportedly pulling out of race for coach of Adelaide assistant coaches can quickly lose their shine if they miss out on multiple jobs or fail to present themselves as candidates when their profile is currently at it's most positive due to the performance of the team they're at.

Re: Harvey, agree 100%

Re: Sier ...

... it makes better sense this way: The club now seem to be playing ducks and drakes with contract announcements. For example, it was revealed recently that Treloar had signed a 4 year contract extension some time ago, but the club elected to keep it hushed up. Maybe the club signed the Sier contract some time ago? (Rumours came out shortly before the ‘Phil Inncident’ that he’d signed a two year deal). Maybe they tried to shop him around during Trade period, found that nobody was interested, so given he‘d otherwise be an uncontracted player, they were forced to announce the contract extension now?

I think the criticism of Harvey is deserved. It's hard to judge assistant coaches so I stick to the area of the field they're responsible for and how that area has performed. We have had a strong midfield right through Harvey's tenure with us. He hasn't done poorly however we are consistently beaten at centre clearances despite a strong midfield and ruck.

In our two biggest losses of recent times, last years grand final, this years prelim, a big reason for the failure was because the midfield was beaten. Against West Coast they nuetralised Grundy by targetting his right side and tag teaming him and their midfield structures won them clearances, and them the game.

I personally don't think it's as black and white as Harvey being a good vs bad coach, it's more nuanced than that. He appears a meticulous and hard working coach from comments made by people at the club. But I reckon we are a bit predictable and don't think on our feet/prepare alternative plans when things aren't working for us. I wonder if Harvey would be worth using in an oppo analysis type role and bring in someone with some new ideas for the midfield.

I think the criticism of Harvey is deserved. It's hard to judge assistant coaches so I stick to the area of the field they're responsible for and how that area has performed. We have had a strong midfield right through Harvey's tenure with us. He hasn't done poorly however we are consistently beaten at centre clearances despite a strong midfield and ruck.

In our two biggest losses of recent times, last years grand final, this years prelim, a big reason for the failure was because the midfield was beaten. Against West Coast they nuetralised Grundy by targetting his right side and tag teaming him and their midfield structures won them clearances, and them the game.

I personally don't think it's as black and white as Harvey being a good vs bad coach, it's more nuanced than that. He appears a meticulous and hard working coach from comments made by people at the club. But I reckon we are a bit predictable and don't think on our feet/prepare alternative plans when things aren't working for us. I wonder if Harvey would be worth using in an oppo analysis type role and bring in someone with some new ideas for the midfield.

On the face of it, I agree, and you make a valid argument, but IMV the difficulties of judging assistant coaches as a supporter are just about insurmountable. So I agree the midfield is spluttering ands the defence has held up superbly. Who do we credit and who do we blame - the assistant coach or the coach? For all we know Harvey is doing a brilliant job as a loyal lieutenant carrying out a very flawed game plan for the midfield, bequeathed by Bucks with as many tweaks and improvements as he has been allowed to get away with...

Who knows?

On the face of it, I agree, and you make a valid argument, but IMV the difficulties of judging assistant coaches as a supporter are just about insurmountable. So I agree the midfield is spluttering ands the defence has held up superbly. Who do we credit and who do we blame - the assistant coach or the coach? For all we know Harvey is doing a brilliant job as a loyal lieutenant carrying out a very flawed game plan for the midfield, bequeathed by Bucks with as many tweaks and improvements as he has been allowed to get away with...

Who knows?

If that's true and he isn't convincing Bucks of necessary changes to a flawed game plan then he's not communicating with influence then.

I agree totally. My take on it is that amongst Collingwood supporters criticising Bucks is so politically divisive and likely to cause acrimony that when some are doubtful of our coaching, they point the finger at an assistant coach.

Coach Assistant coach changes for 2020