Assistant coaches

Lance Witnall 5 years out of the game, will be 6 in 2013.

Paul Wheatley currently 3 years out of the game will be 4 in 2013.

If we are looking for new assistants (IF) I would be targeting players that are playing right now but are/were leaders and have seen success.

Simon Black
Lenny Hayes
Jonathan Brown
Dustin Fletcher
Cam Mooney
Matthew Scarlett
nothing to suggest brown or fletcher or retiring at the end of this season mooney wont come to north as he believes we did the dirty to him when he left and he has been quoated as saying his premiership medal with north means nothing to him compared to his medals with geelong

Not sure about assistant coaches being a problem for us.

I think it depends on the "style" of the head coach as to how important assistants are. Hird, Sanderson and others seem very willing to take on advice, yet Scott strike me as someone who needs it his way with full control for better or worse - in the Malthouse mould.

I think most of the problems are with the man in charge and his direction (which the players aren't responding to), and changing assistants wont make any difference at the moment.

other thing being whitnall has continued playing all be it local footy and now coaching his own team who are travelling fairly well, wheatley also has continued playing and is now coaching his own team as well as being an assistant with the vic metro teams so i believe they are both worth looking at

nothing to suggest brown or fletcher or retiring at the end of this season mooney wont come to north as he believes we did the dirty to him when he left and he has been quoated as saying his premiership medal with north means nothing to him compared to his medals with geelong

Suspect that has more to do with ‘earning it’ than with any affection or lack thereof to his old club.

Would love to see those "quotes" from Mooney to be honest, hes very passionate when he speaks of North on shows like AFL 360.

Suspect that has more to do with ‘earning it’ than with any affection or lack thereof to his old club.

Spot on, he's embarrassed by the '99 medal due to a lack of input, spoke about it during an in depth interview with Thompson on SEN.

I was never a fan of Mooney on the field but have gained a lot of respect for the way he handles himself on SEN; direct and honest.

Fresh out of the game and the most successful modern captain - Cameron Ling. Our midfielders really need to learn how to apply defensive pressure and work as a team. This is the bloke.

I don't think Mick Malthouse will head coach again but he seems to have a soft spot for his old assistant Brad. If we could get this guy in as a part time/game day assisstant - make a new role - and let him continue with his media commitments we'd have a clear voice to put the club in order. I think he'd also quickly cut off any dead weight and attract decent talent who want to learn from him.

Brad Scott, Cameron Ling, Mick Malthouse (7 premierships between them and all great leaders).

Some of Scotts former team mates.
I would start courting Simon Black,Nigel lappin
If they have the coaching credentials I'd think that to be a reasonable suggestion.

Why not try for Malthouse?
It would never happen, they are good mates and Mick wouldn't take it well for his mate to be sacked. Leigh Matthews would be more likely but a snowballs chance...

Cameron Ling would be an interesting catch given his role in Geelong's team over the last decade.

If they have the coaching credentials I'd think that to be a reasonable suggestion.

It would never happen, they are good mates and Mick wouldn't take it well for his mate to be sacked. Leigh Matthews would be more likely but a snowballs chance...

Cameron Ling would be an interesting catch given his role in Geelong's team over the last decade.
Yes I want Cameron Ling

Fresh out of the game and the most successful modern captain - Cameron Ling. Our midfielders really need to learn how to apply defensive pressure and work as a team. This is the bloke.

I don't think Mick Malthouse will head coach again but he seems to have a soft spot for his old assistant Brad. If we could get this guy in as a part time/game day assisstant - make a new role - and let him continue with his media commitments we'd have a clear voice to put the club in order. I think he'd also quickly cut off any dead weight and attract decent talent who want to learn from him.

Brad Scott, Cameron Ling, Mick Malthouse (7 premierships between them and all great leaders).

Had not thought of Ling, but I like your suggestions Dunder, imagine if that happened, there is no doubt we would see some changes in performance.....for the better! :thumbsu:

Love the idea of Ling, great call. Very underrated player and captain. Malthouse would obviously be a great for us, but chances of that happening in any capacity is very close to nil :(

Brad Scott a great leader though is an interesting call though. Never was better than a fringe AFL player and has never coached a team before. He has plenty to prove yet that he has leadership qualities to be mentioned with the other 2.

Cameron Ling, I think, would be an outstanding acquisition. He is keen to move into coaching from next year. I also think bringing Simmo back would be a great move, and he will be our next Senior coach!!

Has to be Adam Simpson he is getting rave reviews from the Hawks. He should be on top of our list...

I wish Luke Power didnt go to GWS cos he will be a ripper assistant

id say get scotty west out of werribee and give him a roll as a midfield coach, or possibly shagger . i like the idea of simon black and cam mooney.

Bucks commented on the importance of the assistant coaches on Footy Classified last night. He reeled off several names. I can remember Robert Harvey midfield, Ben Hart defence, Matty Lappin forwards and someone else development. I don't think he even bothered to mention Tarkyn Lockyer. Is he still coaching the magoos?

You'd have to ask yourself how many of our assistant coaches would be sought after by other clubs based on their performance in the past three seasons? Maybe Crocks, I reckon, as a forwards coach or defence coach.

Crocker would be rated and did a good job at the helm in 09. Watson is spoken highly about by players who deal with him. No idea re Fruity or Lappin though Fruity was part of a pretty successful era at the Swans (from a coaching perspective).

Pretty sure he spent his time at the Swans as a development coach. Not sure what relationship that has to actual line coaching.

Exactly. If we want the best line coach, we should pull out all stops to get Robbie Fowler.

SNS1362B_174328a.jpg

Exactly. If we want the best line coach, we should pull out all stops to get Robbie Fowler.

SNS1362B_174328a.jpg
Robbie used to wear that nasal strapping on nights out too.

Fruity and Watson need to go, keep Crocks as he is highly regarded and was sought by another club a couple of years back.

Simmo would be good to get but would he move for an assistant job.
Experience coach would be good but there aren't many around.

Jude Bolton would be a good get if he retires this season, he looks like he loves the game.