astbury forward

• Thread starter Thread starter webbie

He moved well when he went forward. But I think he is definitely better down back. He is not 100% match fit at the moment given the sting ray incident. Last year he was sensational on the gorillas.

Oh how I would love to see astbury in our forward line. Smart footballer with talent and plays tuff. Mmmm Jack Griff Astbury Sheds Dusty and Lids. That's dangerous

How the coaching box thought matching up Astbury on Hawkins first up was crazy. Move to the forward line provided spark because he worked to the contest unlike others. He even gave the best forward 50 entry of the game. Re TV I have been a massive supporter and as I recall in under 18's he played head to head against Nic Nat and use to beat him! I don't care what position we play him in but I want him to do one thing COMPETE and he will start to show what he is capable of.

I tend to use my eyes as well.

Astbury looks OK forward, ordinary in defence.

Astbury was exceptional in defence till he did his knee last year. He could be a very good swingman with confidence and continuity.

Unfortunately the whole team is down on confidence which makes it tougher to break into a side and make an impact.

I tend to use my eyes as well.

Astbury looks OK forward, ordinary in defence.
Astbury held half a dozen power forwards goaless last year before injury roughhead, cloke and hawkins were 3 of those from memory.... hawk outbodied him once for a goal. the other other stuff superman would not have been any help. astbury is smart and easily our best at doing a specific solid role on big guys

When I saw Astbury take that leading mark 60m from goal, i was like 'shit is going down'. Astbury looked so much more dangerous when he was in the forward line.

Funny thing is Astbury should have been made a forward to begin with but he is an ok defender and as crazy as it sounds we actually need him more in defence than up forward. Take Astbury and Rance out of our backline and its vomit material.

Spot on Morro and who said queenslanders knew **** all .
The forward line opened up massively with Astbury there as he forced Taylor to be accountable and lead up to the footy across the half forward line rather than being stagnant standing next to Jack .
That was also coz it meant Harry Taylor had to be accountable and pick up a man .....aghh funny bout that , light bulb moment in the coaching box
You are a very knowledgeable person.

As good as everybody claims Astbury was last year at stopping the big forwards, (excluding J Brown) people tend to forget he was pretty average at nearly everything else. Painfully slow at decision making in defence hence losing 7 of the 9 games he played. Like Morris, he can be liability down back but at other times can be invaluable.

Still pretty raw and definitely deserves more time but I reckon he could become a better forward with his slow decision making not being as big of a liability in the forward 50. He can be played both as a forward and back which is something we don't really have and could become a very handy weapon. Like yesterday, start him down back and if he's leaking goals, switch him forward to spice it up and stretch the oppositions defense. Then move him back again just to shit me. bloody Dimma

Personnel isn't really the issue at the moment. Fact is our forward line is a horrible place to play and as such I won't be making a call on guys like Lloyd, Griffiths, Vickery (although has to show more) etc until I see them in a proper forward line. If they still can't perform then they deserve to get moved on but at the moment it's all one big cluster **** that continually relies on individual brilliance.

Astbury was recruited as a forward and I reckon would do well there.
Can't hurt to rest Maric, play Vickery in the ruck, and have a backline of:
Grimes - Elton - Chaplin
Houli - Rance - Lennon

and a forward line of:
Martin - Griffiths - McDonough
Edwards - Riewoldt - Astbury

how are we gonna know if Elton can play if he never gets a crack?
We keep losing and keep persisting with the same guys that keep dishing up similar performances or worse.
I honestly haven't been a big fan of Hunt this year nor B. Ellis for that matter... Can't keep saying we'll improve, we'll rectify.
This is exactly what happened last year. Yes we improved but the final made it all count for nothing.
Time to give some other kids a crack, 1 or 2 at a time in place of the Hunts, Griggs, Lloyds of the world.

Astbury was recruited as a forward and I reckon would do well there.
Can't hurt to rest Maric, play Vickery in the ruck, and have a backline of:
Grimes - Elton - Chaplin
Houli - Rance - Lennon

and a forward line of:
Martin - Griffiths - McDonough
Edwards - Riewoldt - Astbury

how are we gonna know if Elton can play if he never gets a crack?
We keep losing and keep persisting with the same guys that keep dishing up similar performances or worse.
I honestly haven't been a big fan of Hunt this year nor B. Ellis for that matter... Can't keep saying we'll improve, we'll rectify.
This is exactly what happened last year. Yes we improved but the final made it all count for nothing.
Time to give some other kids a crack, 1 or 2 at a time in place of the Hunts, Griggs, Lloyds of the world.
Don't go there mate , I think it was in the 2014 best 22 thread I named Astbury as my preferred lead up full forward , Griffiths CHF and stated that by season end Vickery needed to be doing at 60% of the ruck time due to the liklihood Maric was going to blow up due to the load he has carried since being with us.
I really wasn't being that cleaver that was the roles they played at TAC level and very well.
Apparently Astbury wasn't a forward , Griffiths was a dud and Vickery's best spot was as a tall forward .
My thoughts haven't changed .