Astbury

Imo I don't think he is that slow. Gunstun is fairly quick and he towelled him up last. Saying that he is not 'fast' either. Speed for a KPD is not the make or break for them.

Hawthorn didn't exactly deliver the ball well to any of their forwards that day. Astbury gets burnt on the lead far too easily and often, he has basically no closing speed, so if his opponent gets even a little bit of separation off the mark, he's done.

I posted last year he looks like he has a disease, and I still stand by that comment. He is way too skinny, although it looks like he's put on some weight this year, still could do with a bit more. Not in my top 10 list yet, that's for sure. Do think he'll become a great defender pending he gets the chance.

Astbury's Gold Coast opponent kicked 2 goals. 1 of these were from pack marks where he & Chaplin failed to spoil. Rance ended up having a good game. Chaplin - not good at all.

In terms of structure I'd prefer to have Lids & Houli back there, I reckon houli is less damaging across wing and than Vlas. Vlas seemed to have kick in duties against GC and I'm not blaming him fully, but our inability to get the ball through their zone was a glaring problem.

The others - like Dusty, McDonough, can float back there as required.

Hawthorn didn't exactly deliver the ball well to any of their forwards that day. Astbury gets burnt on the lead far too easily and often, he has basically no closing speed, so if his opponent gets even a little bit of separation off the mark, he's done.
Definitely needs sprint work but then again Rance is quick and he gets done too. A lot has to do with delivery and midfield runarounds that happen in footy these days.

Astbury's Gold Coast opponent kicked 2 goals. 1 of these were from pack marks where he & Chaplin failed to spoil. Rance ended up having a good game. Chaplin - not good at all.

In terms of structure I'd prefer to have Lids & Houli back there, I reckon houli is less damaging across wing and than Vlas. Vlas seemed to have kick in duties against GC and I'm not blaming him fully, but our inability to get the ball through their zone was a glaring problem.

The others - like Dusty, McDonough, can float back there as required.

Madonna kicked it in few times and I thought that is a bit odd for a few gamer. I agree with the sentiment tho. Cant understand why the GC could hit a pass, at the 50, yet our was clogged like a bitch. Work to do.

Does that include the one in the first five minutes where he froze and ducked into a tackle - or doesn't that count because it wasn't his man who wound up kicking the goal.

Counting which 'direct opponent' kicks the goals is silly and misleading. What matters is the contests won and what they lead to. Vickery kicked 2 goals - he's heading for a 40-goal season! Star.

Astbury is too slow, for mine. At that pace, he has to be more physical and a better reader of the play a la Chaplin (yes, Chaplin had a shocker, but he has runs on the board. Astbury does not).

I think Astbury is going to be fine and will release Rance to be more attacking.

I like Batch, and hate the way he has been played to date (playing KP).

I actually liked him off a wing a couple of years ago, found heaps of the footy in those 2 pre season games but was poor by foot from memory. Not sure why we never persisted with that experiment.

Astbury with his height is our best option on the 2nd ruckman type forwards eg Hale, Dixon, Tippet, Kruezer. Leave Chaplin to either be the third man up due to his reading of the play ability or to take on the gun forwards such as Cloke if Rance is struggling. A fit Grimes could replace Astbury but for the moment I think he holds his spot.

All the Richmond players looked slow last week - not just Astbury

Astbury with his height is our best option on the 2nd ruckman type forwards eg Hale, Dixon, Tippet, Kruezer. Leave Chaplin to either be the third man up due to his reading of the play ability or to take on the gun forwards such as Cloke if Rance is struggling. A fit Grimes could replace Astbury but for the moment I think he holds his spot.

All the Richmond players looked slow last week - not just Astbury

I agree, they ran rings around us.

Yep when ever you lose you look slow and tired.

Are you saying they didn't look faster than us? Cos I was there and they covered the turf much faster than us

If you honestly believe he was our best defender that night, please watch the game again and you'll see where the negatives of the game really stemmed from.

Yeah, there's 3 goals in that 4 goal burst from GC in the first quarter where Astbury makes it to the marking contest and doesn't even get a hand in the air, sometimes blocking the run of the other Tiger defender.

BUT, I don't think he should be blamed for the loss, or dropped because of form. I'd pick him as our 3rd defender against teams that play a tall forward line.

Having said that, the Blues don't play a tall forward line. We need to pick 22 blokes that will give us the best chance against our opposition.

I can't find a match up for Astbury against the Carlton forward line that played against Port. I'd be naming Batchelor to go with one of those small forwards.

He has the size and smarts to be our big bodied full back. Looking a little quicker than he did last year, coming off injury, but still a way to go. I hope he gets there, because he could play arole that guys like Grimes and Batchelor just won't ever be capable of because of their size.

To be honest, I fear that if Grimes ever gets a clear run at it, he might actually prove that he's not really the Dustin Fletcher clone that some are making him out to be. He played some horrid patches last year, yet most still talk about him like he'll be our back-line messiah if/when fit for an extended period.

I will sit on the fence with Astbury, Grimes/Rance/Chappy are definitely better atm but Grimes or Rance could play on a smaller player if Astbury improves and becomes best 22.

Didn't really get to see him play that game due to the poor telecast that day but you'll see what I mean as the season progresses. I'll will be watching him very closely on thursday night.

Cheering on our players to fail......

Some people baffle me

Who's cheering for failure?, I wish him all the best to have a great season.

Read your posts, pretty clear you're looking forward to watching him fail

I was wrong about Jacko and King, but even when I had massive doubts that died when they ran on the ground

Read your posts, pretty clear you're looking forward to watching him fail

I was wrong about Jacko and King, but even when I had massive doubts that died when they ran on the ground
Sorry you are wrong mate, I'm only making observation about where he is at the moment IMO but I wish he goes on to have a terrific season and proves doubters like me wrong.

I hope I am, but your tone is a lot stronger than someone who is just a doubter IMO