Astraya Day 2014

Me either. I remember when patriotism was considered a peculiarly American trait that was considered unlikely to catch on in Australia... like tipping.

And when exactly was that or is it just a figment of your imagination?

Patriotism/Nationalism is for suckers, and Ted you sound like one of the grade A variety -

My comment was more to do with the righteous manner in which some proclaim Australia Day as "Invasion Day", and yet hypocritically do nothing more than happily take their public holiday like everyone else.

Your comment was pretty stupid and illogical. Despite the fact I've never had a job that closes on public holidays, the reason I'm not working today is because I wasn't rostered on - If I was rostered on, I'd be there, claiming double time because that's the entitlement that my contract stipulates -

And for those of us whos place of work is closed today, and who rightly refer to the 26th as Invasion Day, what are they going to do? Rock up at work and sit outside the locked store/office?

You're indignation compelled you to try to find a way to label people hypocrites because it would lift your sense of moral superiority, but it ended up making you look quite daft --

I don't see how people can't accept that a day that means celebration for some means sadness for others, I wouldn't have thought it's that difficult. Hawthorn and Freo fans see last year's Grand Final in two contrating lights.
Australia Day 2014 story. I went to the cricket yesterday, apart from the last two overs it was boring as batshit and I remembered why we don't get to many one dayers, but I digress. I was sitting out the front having a cigarette and the Australia Day concert across at Elder Park had started and they were playing some tribal music. Pipes up one of my fellow smokers, "I'm getting sick of this having to say sorry to these people all the time", quite what that had to do with a didj playing is beyond me. "Yeah", sez another "this is a white settlement anyway". Then another bird pipes up "You why the Kaurna (pronounced garna) tribe are called what they are? Because they are always being asked when you are Kaurna stop drinking and get a job", to much giggling.
I just stood up and walked away, shocked that that amount of ignorance and bigotry is still alive and well. F*** I hope those people don't have kids and that thier attitudes die with them.

Your comment was pretty stupid and illogical. Despite the fact I've never had a job that closes on public holidays, the reason I'm not working today is because I wasn't rostered on - If I was rostered on, I'd be there, claiming double time because that's the entitlement that my contract stipulates --
So you're quite happy to personally make a profit from the "invasion"?

I don't see how people can't accept that a day that means celebration for some means sadness for others, I wouldn't have thought it's that difficult. Hawthorn and Freo fans see last year's Grand Final in two contrating lights.
Australia Day 2014 story. I went to the cricket yesterday, apart from the last two overs it was boring as batshit and I remembered why we don't get to many one dayers, but I digress. I was sitting out the front having a cigarette and the Australia Day concert across at Elder Park had started and they were playing some tribal music. Pipes up one of my fellow smokers, "I'm getting sick of this having to say sorry to these people all the time", quite what that had to do with a didj playing is beyond me. "Yeah", sez another "this is a white settlement anyway". Then another bird pipes up "You why the Kaurna (pronounced garna) tribe are called what they are? Because they are always being asked when you are Kaurna stop drinking and get a job", to much giggling.
I just stood up and walked away, shocked that that amount of ignorance and bigotry is still alive and well. F*** I hope those people don't have kids and that thier attitudes die with them.

Who is forcing them to apologize.

And you gotta love it when bogans suggest that the idigenous need to get off the booze whilst having a cigarette or with a beer in hand.

So you're quite happy to personally make a profit from the "invasion"?

The line of argument you are taking is about as stupid as Gus' dingo-sled

Do you tell non-Christians to not accept Easter/Christmas holidays or public holiday pay?

Jesus...

Are you in a union? Maybe you should make sure you work next Labour day if you're not...

The line of argument you are taking is about as stupid as Gus' dingo-sled

Do you tell non-Christians to not accept Easter/Christmas holidays or public holiday pay?
Only the ones that try to present it as some sort of heroic political stance.

Are you in a union? Maybe you should make sure you work next Labour day if you're not...
As it happens, I'll be working today. And on Labour Day. And not getting paid a cent more than on any other Monday.

Only the ones that try to present it as some sort of heroic political stance.

As it happens, I'll be working today. And on Labour Day. And not getting paid a cent more than on any other Monday.

I haven't tried presenting anything as a heroic political stance - I think it's sh!t to celebrate the 26th January as this country's national day. There's nothing heroic in such an idea.

As it is, I'm not working today, but that's because I don't work most Mondays - It's not my rostered day on. If I was rostered, I would be working. I haven't gained a holiday as such at all from this day, so don't try to make me out some hypocrite because I'm not at work today....

It doesn't make me a hypocrite claiming double time if I happened to be working -

It would just mean I was stupid if I worked and didn't claim it (while my employment contract entitles me to it)

- Not claiming double time would not affect any issues of solidarity. By claiming it, I get to try to take as much as the appropriated labour back from my boss as possible....

You're being an arsehat by trying to argue your position, Illinois

Sadly, there are some people in this country who are totally ungrateful for these achievements. People who cannot demonstrate any kind of cohesive civilization pre 1788 but delude themselves into believing their "way of life" would have survived into 2014. People who think because who some of their ancestors are they are better than us and have more right to be here than us, who stick their ungrateful mitts out for "reparations" and piss and moan about "Invasion Day" while doing absolutely nothing to help themselves. Who accuse white people of racism despite their own virulent racism. Who are violent without cause. Who really need to get over themselves.

But **** em, they don't want to be a part of this great nation, they want to piss their own culture down the drain and blame everyone else. Fine. Go ahead, I dont give a shit.
I reckon you say that with half a chub.

Patriotism is for w***ers.

It doesn't make me a hypocrite claiming double time if I happened to be working -

It would just mean I was stupid if I worked and didn't claim it (while my employment contract entitles me to it)

- Not claiming double time would not affect any issues of solidarity. By claiming it, I get to try to take as much as the appropriated labour back from my boss as possible....

You're being an arsehat by trying to argue your position, Illinois
Pretty much sums up the attitude of the Aboriginal people in this country. Take and/or demand whatever you can, no matter how much of an unprincipled hypocrite you might be in doing so.

Take/and or demand the penalty rates that are in my employment contract - Yep, that makes me an unprincipled hypocrite...

Jesus christ there are some f*cking morons about

Take/and or demand the penalty rates that are in my employment contract - Yep, that makes me an unprincipled hypocrite...

Jesus christ there are some f*cking morons about
Yes it does. Because if you actually believed this "Invasion Day" gibberish and had the conviction to stand behind those beliefs, you would have the balls to either a) ask for those clauses not be enforced/removed or b) donate those funds to the appropriate "Invasion Day" cause.

Or you don't actually believe in this "Invasion Day" stupidity.

Which is it? No balls, or no beliefs?

Yes it does. Because if you actually believed this "Invasion Day" gibberish and had the conviction to stand behind those beliefs, you would have the balls to either a) ask for those clauses not be enforced/removed or b) donate those funds to the appropriate "Invasion Day" cause.

What other character flaws do you think Aboriginals have?

Can you not see there are two sides to this argument? It's absolutely right and proper to celebrate Australia, we are a marvelous nation who has achieved great things, we have universal healthcare, access to education, an unbiased judiciary, an open and honest press, along with a lifestyle that's envy of a the better part of the world. But having said all that, some terrible injustices were carried out toward the Aboriginal population over the course of our history, and it could be argued that not enough has been done in recognising these. Sure we should celebrate modern Australia, we have a lot to be proud of us, but we need to be mindful and not look the other way when aspects of our history are bought up that might make us uncomfortable or embarrassed.

Be9HyE-CQAASki9.jpg

Straya mate.

Can you not see there are two sides to this argument? It's absolutely right and proper to celebrate Australia, we are a marvelous nation who has achieved great things, we have universal healthcare, access to education, an unbiased judiciary, an open and honest press, along with a lifestyle that's envy of a the better part of the world. But having said all that, some terrible injustices were carried out toward the Aboriginal population over the course of our history, and it could be argued that not enough has been done in recognising these. Sure we should celebrate modern Australia, we have a lot to be proud of us, but we need to be mindful and not look the other way when aspects of our history are bought up that might make us uncomfortable or embarrassed.
Funny how no-one talks about Aboriginal attacks on white settlers during the frontier days either. White settlers simply used superior numbers and technology - anyone, whether the British, Portuguese, Chinese, whoever would do exactly the same thing.

And while we aren't perfect, the Aboriginal people really are the ones that should be embarrassed now. Embarrassed that they trash houses and infrastructure provided at the public's expense in outback communities. Embarrassed that Aboriginal men routinely rape and sexually assault women and minors in their communities. Embarrassed that they reject and/or piss on any attempts to help them and to provide opportunities for them then turn around and blame white people for their troubles.

You can lead a horse to water, but you can't make it drink.
Be9HyE-CQAASki9.jpg

Straya mate.
Is that supposed to offend me? Nice try, that actually makes me feel quite proud of my country.:)

Straya indeed.:thumbsu:

That's one of the most stupid things I've ever heard.

Funny how no-one talks about Aboriginal attacks on white settlers during the frontier days either.
Bogan, moron patriot w***ers like yourself are always droning on about them,

And while we aren't perfect, the Aboriginal people really are the ones that should be embarrassed now. Embarrassed that they trash houses and infrastructure provided at the public's expense in outback communities. Embarrassed that Aboriginal men routinely rape and sexually assault women and minors in their communities. Embarrassed that they reject and/or piss on any attempts to help them and to provide opportunities for them then turn around and blame white people for their troubles.
What would you do to Aboriginal people?

What funds? I didn't work yesterday, nor am I working today -

Funny how no-one talks about Aboriginal attacks on white settlers during the frontier days either. White settlers simply used superior numbers and technology - anyone, whether the British, Portuguese, Chinese, whoever would do exactly the same thing.

And while we aren't perfect, the Aboriginal people really are the ones that should be embarrassed now.

You write nonsense like this, then claim other people should be feeling embarrassed?

Good work, champ