At what age did you/friends/family seem to 'give up'?

Stay there. Stay as long as you can. For the love of God, cherish it.

tenor.gif

Once you start working put some money away each pay for the future. I pissed it all up the wall. Was ****ing brilliant at the time but be good to have some extra $$ now

Most 18/19 year olds (i.e. just out of school) make SFA. If I had my time over I would have worked fewer shifts and partied more. Earning $50-100 less a few weeks isn't a big deal, it's not like you're a professional athlete pissing away a 6 or 7 figure salary. The main thing financially is to just learn to be comfortable with what you have. If you can live off $30k or $40k or $50k a year then you can live off anything above that. I know people that have doubled, tripled (or more) their salaries since finishing uni and they don't get ahead because every extra dollar that comes in immediately goes out on something else.

Once you're early to mid 20s and working full time it's sensible to plan for the future. But if you want to take 6 months or a year off and travel, do it. You've got your whole life to be old and boring. If I didn't travel in my 20s I'd probably have somewhere north of $30k extra in the bank - presuming I didn't just spend that on clothes and Uber eats or whatever. Regrets? Zero. The housing and job markets stink now, but young people also don't have the same pressure of escalating house prices and needing to 'get in'. If you want to rent all through your 20s then do it, paying $500 a week rent or $500 interest is effectively the same thing, do it.

I'd tell anyone that is uni bound to try and find something that they enjoy and will lead somewhere. You can do some basket weaving arts degree but if you walk out 5 years later with a $60k HELP debt and no job prospects from it that's a pretty big millstone. The fun part of uni isn't studying anyway, it's meeting people.

I hated uni, I went from a small public high school where I knew everyone to UWA where it was full of private school types and I didn't know anyone.

I felt like an outsider, I spent a couple of years there and then I switched to Curtin which had less private school types but more Asians so I still didn't fit in.

I did a Commerce degree though so you don't meet the most interesting people in that field, I should've done an Arts degree in hindsight.

Silent Alarm would probably have something to say on that topic since all that uni stuff is his bread and butter.

I like the GROW model as a simple way to think about goal setting:

G - State your Goal
R - Is it Realistic?
O - What Options do you have?
W - When are you going to start?

It means giving up entirely is purely a choice. Depending on some people they give up before they get through their teens, others never give up. I just about gave up when I was 20, was going to quit uni to flip burgers. Fortunately I didn't!

lol, we use this model in banking.

Most 18/19 year olds (i.e. just out of school) make SFA. If I had my time over I would have worked fewer shifts and partied more. Earning $50-100 less a few weeks isn't a big deal, it's not like you're a professional athlete pissing away a 6 or 7 figure salary. The main thing financially is to just learn to be comfortable with what you have. If you can live off $30k or $40k or $50k a year then you can live off anything above that. I know people that have doubled, tripled (or more) their salaries since finishing uni and they don't get ahead because every extra dollar that comes in immediately goes out on something else.

Once you're early to mid 20s and working full time it's sensible to plan for the future. But if you want to take 6 months or a year off and travel, do it. You've got your whole life to be old and boring. If I didn't travel in my 20s I'd probably have somewhere north of $30k extra in the bank - presuming I didn't just spend that on clothes and Uber eats or whatever. Regrets? Zero. The housing and job markets stink now, but young people also don't have the same pressure of escalating house prices and needing to 'get in'. If you want to rent all through your 20s then do it, paying $500 a week rent or $500 interest is effectively the same thing, do it.

I'd tell anyone that is uni bound to try and find something that they enjoy and will lead somewhere. You can do some basket weaving arts degree but if you walk out 5 years later with a $60k HELP debt and no job prospects from it that's a pretty big millstone. The fun part of uni isn't studying anyway, it's meeting people.
I gave you a like until the last part. The reality is you can study something sensible and be made redundant, or be a victim of the changing market. I know people who jumped into engineering now managing nightclubs just for the date rapes, working in childcare, or on the dole. None of those things are inherently bad (well, you know...) but what is fun and realistic? People think something like working for CALM or fisheries but there's limited jobs in that and like a house in a great old suburb, they're locked down until someone dies. And if you do something you hate but it makes money, well studying for free will suck but locking into that as a job for 30 years and then staring down that barrel at 27 is a scary reality to hit.

I don't think there's an answer these days. You're better off not eating and buying hot bikinis and buzzing off of other chicks's jealousy or portaloo wanking tradies than you are most s**t.

It's all about accepting your laws and limits. I know girls who are 21, 22 and owe 6k on a credit card. What? Europe is great and we all want to sink a drink in Positano without worrying about anything tomorrow, but it's a luxury. People these days see travelling as a right. I'll never ever get a credit card for a million reasons and having 10 bucks in my account makes me sick – let alone owing 10k – but it's complete insanity. Some of these girls are doing decent degrees and working nice enough jobs for $600 a week but are completely choke-held by the NAB...

I don't think there's an answer. California is the canary in the coalmines for the state of the environment, and America is our template for the rich and poor. When Denmark's getting two earthquakes. I dunno. Get me another Birra Moretti.

Do nightclub managers often date rape the drunk women?
This dude does.

His MO was:

Rock up, drink a few beers at the pub before his shift. We're talking two bourbons in four hours.

Something like 4am, tap the next in line 'you're head of shift, I'm going home' giving him an ego kick while this bloke finds a girl slung over herself in a booth. He tells the bouncer it's a friend or new girlfriend, ten minutes later they're in a cab.

But I mean come on. Nightclub manager. They're not going to be beacons of normality.

If I had my time over I would have worked fewer shifts and partied more...

Once you're early to mid 20s and working full time it's sensible to plan for the future. But if you want to take 6 months or a year off and travel, do it. You've got your whole life to be old and boring. If I didn't travel in my 20s I'd probably have somewhere north of $30k extra in the bank - presuming I didn't just spend that on clothes and Uber eats or whatever. Regrets? Zero.
Excellent post. Scotland may be a 'boring' mid-thirties guy now but he has been one of the sharpest dudes on this forum since his mid-twenties. And he has pretty much stuck to the path he has been promoting the whole time. And at this rate he will be able to retire by the time he is 45. And then sleep with as many late-twenties girls as he wants, whenever he wants (if he wants). Major respect.
This is correct but there is an important caveat: most of the people with 'useless' degrees were always going to be relatively useless people. This skews the proportion of 'failed' Arts grads disproportionately. Of the people I know who studied Arts (including philosophy grads [cue lulz]) I know plenty who never did anything with it, and also know several whose lives panned out better than most seem to believe is possible for Arts grads.

The difference between the two sets of people? The first were there 'for something to do', the second were there because they were truly interested in learning more about themselves and the world.

If I met a young person thinking about studying Arts, and they wanted my advice, it would start like this:

i) Do you read non-fiction books in your spare time?
ii) Are you genuinely willing to change your mind and learn new ways of gathering and interpreting information?'

If their honest answer to either question was 'no', I would advise them to skip Arts and go straight into a dead-end job, because that is where they are probably going to end up anyway, with or without a degree.

But to paint all Arts grads as failures, or all Arts degrees as useless, is every bit as stupid as suggesting all kids go to uni in the first place. And you of all people ought to be aware of that.

[Edit: spelling]

It's all about accepting your laws and limits. I know girls who are 21, 22 and owe 6k on a credit card. What? Europe is great and we all want to sink a drink in Positano without worrying about anything tomorrow, but it's a luxury. People these days see travelling as a right. I'll never ever get a credit card for a million reasons and having 10 bucks in my account makes me sick – let alone owing 10k – but it's complete insanity. Some of these girls are doing decent degrees and working nice enough jobs for $600 a week but are completely choke-held by the NAB...
These girls know that some chump will come along and pay off their debts for them. They can party now, travel the world, sleep with as many exotic dudes as they like, and when it is time to 'settle down', a sucker who has never had any luck with women will pick up the bill, and he will be GRATEFUL to have landed a 'hottie' (even if she is well past her prime).

Don't believe me? You're only, what, 24? Give it a few years and watch what happens to the girls you used to study/socialise with.

This dude does.

His MO was:

Rock up, drink a few beers at the pub before his shift. We're talking two bourbons in four hours.

Something like 4am, tap the next in line 'you're head of shift, I'm going home' giving him an ego kick while this bloke finds a girl slung over herself in a booth. He tells the bouncer it's a friend or new girlfriend, ten minutes later they're in a cab.

But I mean come on. Nightclub manager. They're not going to be beacons of normality.
Whats the couture for a Nightclub manager to rape?

Excellent post. Scotland may be a 'boring' mid-thirties guy now but he has been one of the sharpest dudes on this forum since his mid-twenties. And he has pretty much stuck to the path he has been promoting the whole time. And at this rate he will be able to retire by the time he is 45. And then sleep with as many late-twenties girls as he wants, whenever he wants (if he wants). Major respect.

This is correct but there is an important caveat: most of the people with 'useless' degrees were always going to be relatively useless people. This skews the proportion of 'failed' Arts grads disproportionately. Of the people I know who studied Arts (including philosophy grads [cue lulz]) I know plenty who never did anything with it, and also know several whose lives panned out better than most seem to believe is possible for Arts grads.

The difference between the two sets of people? The first were there 'for something to do', the second were there because they were truly interested in learning more about themselves and the world.

If I met a young person thinking about studying Arts, and they wanted my advice, it would start like this:

ii) Are you genuinely willing to change your mind and learn new ways of gathering and interpreting information?'

If their honest answer to either question was 'no', I would advice them to skip Arts and go straight into a dead-end job, because that is where they are probably going to end up anyway, with or without a degree.

But to paint all Arts grads as failures, or all Arts degrees as useless, is every bit as stupid as suggesting all kids go to uni in the first place. And you of all people ought to be aware of that.
There are just as many people who study finance or psychology as arts who are ‘there for something to do.’

The main issue is University is too easy to get into and it’s now a money maker. Everyone does a degree because it’s encouraged, easy, and mentally simple - all my mates are going, I don’t have any interests, I don’t want a job, apparently it looks good on a CV! I mean you only have to sit through lecturers who can’t speak English, see the sort of unis that are offering Law and how ****ed and watery that degree is now to see the landscape. Not to mention the stupid things being thought up as a way to lower scores and get people in... personal training, sports psychology, international media, international business... what the * do these mean? Theyre seen as sensible but they’re essentially for idiots and populated by idiots and don’t have the taboo Arts does - despite the fact Arts at a good uni probably opens more doors and teaches you more, not to mention being more difficult to get into.

Honestly the amount of dumb chicks who were doing hairdressing 15 years ago, or thick blokes who should’ve been on a site but think they’re above it because they went to some catholic college is a joke.

These girls know that some chump will come along and pay off their debts for them. They can party now, travel the world, sleep with as many exotic dudes as they like, and when it is time to 'settle down', a sucker who has never had any luck with women will pick up the bill, and he will be GRATEFUL to have landed a 'hottie' (even if she is well past her prime).

Don't believe me? You're only, what, 24? Give it a few years and watch what happens to the girls you used to study/socialise with.

The ones that tend to settle are the ones who want children at 30-40 panic then settle. Ones who don't and travel/party tend just to keep doing it.

Most people do some travel (men and women) which costs money so don't see how it effects the future. The ones who are in debt would likely be spending on much more stuff then just travel.

I gave you a like until the last part. The reality is you can study something sensible and be made redundant, or be a victim of the changing market. I know people who jumped into engineering now managing nightclubs just for the date rapes, working in childcare, or on the dole. None of those things are inherently bad (well, you know...) but what is fun and realistic? People think something like working for CALM or fisheries but there's limited jobs in that and like a house in a great old suburb, they're locked down until someone dies. And if you do something you hate but it makes money, well studying for free will suck but locking into that as a job for 30 years and then staring down that barrel at 27 is a scary reality to hit.

I don't think there's an answer these days. You're better off not eating and buying hot bikinis and buzzing off of other chicks's jealousy or portaloo wanking tradies than you are most s**t.

I don't think there's an answer. California is the canary in the coalmines for the state of the environment, and America is our template for the rich and poor. When Denmark's getting two earthquakes. I dunno. Get me another Birra Moretti.

You can study engineering or accountancy or nursing or whatever and end up not doing that, but the odds are still in your favour of that leading to employment than most niche fields. The main thing to recognise is that if you go to uni then you end up with the HELP debt and that is going to follow you around for years. We're not quite as US levels yet, but paying back $40k or $50k isn't easy. I'd actually like to see society push back against university the way we're starting to against home ownership, but that's an aside. If you're not that bright or don't want to do something that requires specific skills/knowledge you shouldn't be forced into doing something that will put you tens of thousands into debt.

Maybe I should have reworded 'enjoyable' to 'tolerable'. The majority of jobs aren't fun, they're not designed to be. I know people that love their jobs estimating concrete quantities, dealing with 4 year old kids, sticking needles in people and cleaning up vomit - everyone is different. Work/life balance is more important than work itself anyway.

Yeah, that guy is rad.

Not sure about retiring at 45 but I'm going to roll with it, the above sounds excellent.

One thing I have learned in the last 10-15 years is that 'act your age' has some merit. If you're 25, be 25. If you're 30, be 30. Not so much the 'all 25 year olds must be/do XYZ' but when I hear people telling 23 year olds what they should be investing in so they will be better off at 50 I cringe. My days of partying on boats with 21 year olds are done and I'm good with that (21 year olds are nauseating if you're not one) but I'm not gonna tell a 21 year old not to do it because they'll spend a couple of grand that could net them 3% in the right term deposit...

If their honest answer to either question was 'no', I would advice them to skip Arts and go straight into a dead-end job, because that is where they are probably going to end up anyway, with or without a degree.

Not all Arts degrees/grads are worthless, but supply and demand applies across the board for all courses.

Silent Alarm mentioned some other degrees above that don't fall under the Arts banner. They are all in the same boat. I know a bunch of people who studied sports sciences. Every year kids go into that thinking they're going to be the next Darren Burgess and work for Liverpool, in the AFL etc. Most of them end up school sports teachers or working in gyms unless they end up studying physio. Which is fine, but that's where the demand is for people with that skill set. Being the head of strength and conditioning at an AFL club is a job that only 18 people in the country can have.

No one I come across seems to study or has studied forensics or something of a similar field. I must be the only one

Do they even check your education when you go for a job? Maybe at entry or specialist level. If it’s something broad I think you could bluff your way through if you had the knowledge.
I reckon every employer would check your education for your first job, maybe two; after that, experience trumps education and they no longer care.

Do they even check your education when you go for a job? Maybe at entry or specialist level. If it’s something broad I think you could bluff your way through if you had the knowledge.
The thought of a prospective employer in my field not checking education is a very scary thought
But I'm sure it has happened before and that people have slipped through the net

I hated uni, I went from a small public high school where I knew everyone to UWA where it was full of private school types and I didn't know anyone.

I felt like an outsider, I spent a couple of years there and then I switched to Curtin which had less private school types but more Asians so I still didn't fit in.

I did a Commerce degree though so you don't meet the most interesting people in that field, I should've done an Arts degree in hindsight.

Silent Alarm would probably have something to say on that topic since all that uni stuff is his bread and butter.
I would never have picked you as a Commerce graduate.
I went to a private school on a scholarship and then UWA, and my uni experience was very different to yours in that I loved uni (both academically and socially), but only loved the academic aspects of school. My course had a good mix of private school, big public school, country, international and mature aged students. The demographic which was missing (at least in my course) was people from smaller metro high-schools, but more importantly, it was full of nerds. I became closer to some of the private school kids I already knew, then made friends from the other aforementioned groups. For the first time in my educational life, I fit in :)

My mate got a job straight out of uni without his employee checking how he actually went, just that he did X degree

ITT: Do what makes you happy, attack life. As long as that is travelling while you're in your 20s. Anything else means you've given up to the daily grind. Go to uni too if you can.

Sent from mTalk