Secondary ATAR results

I use John Rabe from Japan's takeover of Nanking (a German who stood up for the Chinese), Vietnam War, Aboriginies now as a result of european 'discovery' ( Secret River), someone from the Russian revolution if i don't use something from China (to stop it sound it like a history essay...) sometimes Martin Luther if i'm really desssperate and Libya cause teacher reakons something modern helps.

Edit: And chinese cultural revolution if i want to discuss herd instinct

Alright, any Western Australian's on here right now?

A little over an hour and a half. I'm definitely looking forward to it.

Good luck to all you Vics currently doing your English.

Alright, any Western Australian's on here right now?

A little over an hour and a half. I'm definitely looking forward to it.

Good luck to all you Vics currently doing your English.

yeah mate, good luck today :thumbsu:

english isn't my strongest subject so i'll be hoping to move it out of my top 4 by performing better in other subjects....

Yeah, I know some people in your position. Most people just have an affliction toward maths, or, english based subjects. Nature or nurture? I'm not sure.

Good luck with your English though. It shouldn't be too hard. Do a quick plan and find three, four points of interest - flesh them out, nice and simply, and you'll be in the 50-60% zone - and for your weakest subject, that's a great score.

Reasonably happy with the English exam. Had to twist my pre-planned essays a bit however managed to do it okay.

Probably a B overall I reckon.

I don't like the idea of preplanned essays, it's just easier to go in with a blank canvas and not restrict yourself imo. Have a list of topics that you can talk about, then choose which ones to highlight/use/not use once you get in there. Having said that i only finished with 3 minutes left, so maybe i could have used a little more pre planning :p I just kept writing, my context paragraphs were getting about a page and a half+ each... Hopeful of an a+, havnt gotten less than that for any of my practices and it didn't feel to bad today. Only thing was the LA lacked techniques imo, but had enough arguments to be able to get a fair bit of analsyis out of it. audience was a little iffy, only thing i could think of were people yet to get tattoos who were planning to? Target wasn't that large. Ah well. More glad it's over!

Found it okay, Language Analysis was a little tricky with not many techniques and a not too clear contention but I think I did alright. Ended up having to analyse a lot of the language.

Other parts were fairly straightforward.

Just got back from English. One tomorrow morning (econs - uuuugh) and then I've just one left.

I agree with Magic, albeit, WA has a different exam set-out. Going in and accommodating a pre-planned is a bad idea. The texts I had studied in class were barely useful for mine. I'd have been ruined with a planned response.

Thought I did alright, to be fair. How did the rest of you WACE guys go?

B max for English. Got a shit prompt for Cosi, wish I did On The Warterfront. Had to change my conflict essay around a bit so I'm not sure how that went. And I don't think I wrote enough with the max being 3 pages exactly. Oh well, it's over.

Pretty confident for further tomorrow. Last 5 exams I've gotten over 80% with my mark increasing each time. Did one this arvo in an hour and got 90%. Hopefully tomorrow I'll be able to get through it in an hour, then spend the last half hour going over questions I find a little confusing.

External sources for Whose Reality are a bit of a pain.

I've got the Occupy Protests (living in a world others create), Tiger Woods (was under the illusion he would never be caught/the publics reality different to his) , Facebook/Internet (escaping from reality/creating a second life), Drugs/Alcohol (escaping from reality), Gambling/Tattslotto (illusion that you will win lots of money) and Beauty (attempting to fit into a normal reality).

Problem is that it's so abstract and easy to go off topic. A lot of them may not be relevant to the prompt either.

I did the Ricky Nixon/Kim Duthie saga. I thought it worked well with the exam's prompt. Both experienced the same reality, yet they had different views on what occurred.

Language analysis was terrible. Personally thought there were very few techniques to draw from, but maybe I just wasn't looking hard enough.

I did the Ricky Nixon/Kim Duthie saga. I thought it worked well with the exam's prompt. Both experienced the same reality, yet they had different views on what occurred.

Language analysis was terrible. Personally thought there were very few techniques to draw from, but maybe I just wasn't looking hard enough.

Didn't think of that, it would've worked well. I ended up doing Occupy Melbourne (many of them will have shared the same experiences of this city yet see the way the world should operate differently), and focused a lot on how Stella and Blanche differ despite being brought up in the same household. Stella has branched off into a new environment, one that Blanche cannot cope with.

And yeah the general consensus didn't like the language analysis. Bloody tattoos!

average, i think i aced question 1 though. which questions did you do? I did 1, 2, 3, 10...
Ha! I did really well on question 1 as well. I could just feel it. If i'm conservative, I'll be sitting on about 65-80% for that exam. Which is fine.

What image did you choose?

And did you find section two to have terrible, terrible questions?

Language analysis and context were fantastic, Richard III was alright. It was interesting that both questions were on Richard with no theme based one but was alright in the end.

I think I'm looking at 9-10 for language, 10 for context and 8 for Richard so hopefully pushing mid 40's.

What other exams have we got lined up? I've got Psych on Monday for which I have not picked up a book since the mid-year, Methods on Tuesday and Wednesday, Accounting on Friday. Then a 10 day break until Religion.

Economics tomorrow morning.

And this is my worst subject. If I had Economics in line with my other three subjects, I'd be sat with an ATAR of around 91... but alas, I'm just not good at it. Study barely helps.

What are some good things to go over? What should I analyse and learn? Key phrases and words I should know? Help would be really appreciated.

Ha! I did really well on question 1 as well. I could just feel it. If i'm conservative, I'll be sitting on about 65-80% for that exam. Which is fine.

What image did you choose?

And did you find section two to have terrible, terrible questions?

hahaha yeahh that's what most of my mates said too, dont know anyone that struggled with that question....

i chose image 4 (image of indigenous hunter from the movie walkabout), what about you?

oh god yes, i had a mini panic attack in the reading time because i thought i'd failed section 2 already before i'd even started it...

I have no idea at all. Seriously.

I think you should aim to have a strong cohort. That will help your scaling. Also, the higher ranked you are in regard to your cohort, that should bring you up.

It is pretty unfair. Some of my cohorts have terrible skills (English is notoriously bad at my school) yet Maths (which I don't do) is very strong. So that irks me.

So it's a day before I start my exams, and I'm tempted to buy a PS3. You could say motivation is low :p

Does anybody else have the killer maths week (Methods/Spesh)? Four days of maths in a row

Yep! Not scared about methods, want an a+/a. Still really struggle with forces and the like for spesh, so hopefully b+/b for that but that's quite hopeful i think.

After this weekn though, only two left :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Secondary ATAR results