Au 0-14-13 (55) Ireland 1-11-8 (47). AUSSIE AUSSIE AUSSIE!

• Thread starter Thread starter crowz4eva

crowz4eva

What a win!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Mcleod, Caracella terrific, so was Andy Kellaway in goals!, well done!, what did everyone think of the game???

Couldn't give a fat rats !!!!!!!!!.

rolleyes.gif

Well I loved the game, but no wonder Brereton isn't a league coach....

I think the only thing he did was to keep looking at the scoreboard....the moves were made by the actual match committee.

On McLeod I only saw him with it a couple of times....wasn't very impressed at all.

Did O'Loughlin get any serious injuries? That would be the worst scenario ever....getting a serious injury in a meaningless game.

I thought Caracella was a class above the rest but only was played for about 1 quarter somehow.

Hird was pitiful early, but improved somewhat late.

Leppitsch was fantastic.

IT was terrific viewing but waking up for work a few hours certainly wasn't......
frown.gif

It was worth staying up late and watching the aussies beat ireland!

I reackon they should include the USA in the series!

[This message has been edited by Mags (edited 09 October 2000).]

Great game by the Aussies last night!!!
Leppitsch was fanastic in attack, top effort by Caracella and Andy Kellaway in defence.
A great team effort considering the selection problems faced by the Australian team. No Carey, Voss, etc.
Looking forward to the next test, hopefully we'll see a little more of Luke Power.
Go Aussies!!!!

Thse international rules games are only going to get bigger. The crowds are great. The passion showed by the players is fantastic and it is a great chance to represent your country.

I love them. I think it is unquestionably bigger than the State of Origin.

Watched it on Tara TV (Irish Sate TV channel) with all the Irish commentator bias - they weren't happy with Akemanis (spe?) thumping one of them lads early.

Funny sort of game. It wasn't until the last qtr that they got the zone defence working.

What about Hardwick's game? He was awesome on a CB line... good to see he's lost the hair dye too...

Best players: Lepp (if he'd kicked stright we'd have won by 20 points), Kellaway - did well (SOS proved overrated... again), Rohan Smith, B. Harvey, Blumfield and Caracella late. McLeod was very good in patches (had a great goal chance saved) but quiet in others. Though Hird was good all day in midfield - not his normal silky self - but a good marshall in the centre - certainly did nothing wrong.

Think the game mostly resembles Gaelic footy but I like it - rate it. 40K+ people the day after their all Eire final is a pretty good turn out too. Bugger the sceptics - this one's got legs.

Hats off to the Irish too, they were well short of their best team and are very hard at it for relatively little blokes. Still I think we woudl have benefitted massives from three extra players: Lloyd up front (they'd have no answer to his pace & strength), Fletcher down back - pace, height and strength - made for the game and Buckley (ideal in the midfield).

Cheers folks
Dutchy

I've been saying it all along - these games are just gonna get bigger and bigger.

But Channel Seven -where are you? Surely one hours highlights near prime time tonight would get the ratings. In 2002 when its next in Dublin I predict a decent prime time replay. Saw the game on my scratchy VCR with it cutting out 3 mins before the final siren. Could've gone either way - only found out hours later at work we'd won.

Top games by Leppitsch, Aker, Hardwick and Caracella.

but the Irish get 6 of their big guns back from the Kerry v Galway final including Seamus Moynihan - last year's Irish player of the series. So we're in for a beauty of a second Test - do I go for the scratchy video recording or blow my Monday?

I love the International Rules series.

This surely must kill off state of origin forever, this series has what the origin has lacked for a very long time - real passion and enthusiasm from ALL the players.

Maybe they could have a 3 game series though.

Long live IR.

I unfortunately missed the game last night but was fortunate that my younger brother taped so I will have to watch it later because it sounded like a really good game
and I love this international rules because it shows who are the players that can adjust to different conditions and the ones that are AFL specific players

Missed it unfortunately (goddam VCR - i never program these things correctly)

but I heard Caracellea and Leppitsch were stars.

O'Loughlin was concussed (I think - I hope)

and 38,100 is pretty good for a game played the day after the local Grand Final in a Stadium that is half building site.

Next test should be a ripper and expect a crowd of over 50,000 to that one.

Just seeing the joy and pride on the Australians faces after the game is enough to convince me. IR is here to stay - the players love it.

Spot On Dutchy. Thank you, thank you, thank you, Andy Kellaway, great job buddy. How bloody annoying was it to constantly here about the disaster of not having our own Peter Schmiechel, the all mighty SOS
rolleyes.gif
. I thought the bloody coaching staff were going to slit their collective wrists "'cause we aint got SOS, boo hoo hoo". How many stuff ups did he do when kicking out last series, what a joke?

Well done Leppitch as well, great marking and finishing, Caracella too great efficiency, as always. Hardwick played a blinder once he got warmed up too, tough and skillfull.

An "up yours" to that fat sports bloke on the channel nine today show for mocking the game. Stupid Thugby biassed dick. Far better spectacle than seeing Australia slaughter PNG by 80 odd points. Grow up idiot.

Can't wait for this Sunday should be a corker.

Cheers.

I agree. The games are here to stay.

You can see from the reaction of the Aussies that they WANT to play for Australia. Did anyone see the interview with James Hird after the game ?

He said he was suprised at how good he felt after the match. He was suprised at how happy he and his teammates were.

Leigh Matthews said during his commentary, that even though he played in 4 premiership sides, one of his proudest and most memorable moments was watching Australia beat Ireland by a point two years ago when we were down and out.

I might also add, that the rules are perfect. The mix between Gaelic and Aussie Rules is such that we get a close contest every time. No side has an advantage. I think the last 5 games have been decided by a grand toal of 20 points, so you would have to say that the rules of "international rules" are perfect.

A couple more good, close games of 'International Rules' with big crowds will silence the knockers for good, I reckon.

While the games themselves have been great, as has the players' attitude to the series, I think the big "News" story of the series to date has been the attendance of the supporters in both countries.

To get approximately 38,000 people to the game, a day after the Gaelic Grand Final, with several star Irish players missing, is fantastic. Considering that the Irish were also playing an international soccer game in England on the same weekend, the crowd was incredible really.

It's almost time for the likes of "Bear" on the Today Show to take a look at the scoreboard. If they can get 60,000 or more to the second game in the series, I reckon the battle will be won.

The guys who played in last year's game - Buckley, Cousins, Crawford, Bell, R. Harvey etc - were really missed. With our best team, and some tactics, we would really clean up.

The ugly part was the time wasting at the end - not in the spirit of the game. They should have a shot clock.

Has Dustin Fletcher ever played this game ? I reckon he'd be dominant. Shame Farmer didn't make it - he'd be 'special'.

Have to agree Bern, Fletcher is made for the IR stuff. How the hell would you match him?

How fast it the game? Reckon that's the best thing about it.

Very much looking forward to the 2nd test - will be a very hard game with Eire getting their big guns back (I mean can you imagine where we'd have been without Caracella, Hird, Hardwick, Blumfield, Woewodin & Yze? - all good contributors?). On the other hand we will definitely be better early on next match...

In particular, look out for some Hird magic, reckon he was good all day but seemed to find his "silk" late in the game...

As to the excellent zone defence stuff and the late time wasting... had to blink to be sure I wasn't watching a Sheedy coached team!!!

GO OZ!

The capacity of Croke Park has been reduced back to 55,000 (which it was for the other Irish finals apart from the All-Ireland final itself) because of building works. 45,000 presold so hopefuly with good weather it'll be a sell out.

Irish press coverage http://www.ireland.com/sports/gaa/ is interesting - they have their sceptics similar ot Patrick Smith in the Australian - but overall the number of knockers is diminishing in both countries. Graham Cornes was an arch-critic of the concept (because of his love for State of Origin) but he is with the Aussie team and his articles in the local Sth Aussie media show a conversion on the road to Dublin experience.