Aussie Flag banned at BDO!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Green and gold are two colours that represent our country. The plant that best represents these colours is spinifex. You have to see it to appreciate it.
Imo to capture the rest of Australia on a flag we need ochre and sky blue. Slip the southern cross into it and we have a flag that is purely oz. :thumbsu:

Green and gold are two colours that represent our country. The plant that best represents these colours is spinifex. You have to see it to appreciate it.
Imo to capture the rest of Australia on a flag we need ochre and sky blue. Slip the southern cross into it and we have a flag that is purely oz. :thumbsu:

I'm not sure tumbleweed is the image of Australia, we are trying to convey.

mind you ................... if this drought keeps up..............

the coat of arms should be kept seperate from the flag. Its a more complex symbol, wheras the flag should be quite simplistic.

I think australians have always had national pride, what we didnt have for some time was the ability to divorce ourselves from the UK. But given our prosperity and the fact the the filth abandoned us when it counted in WW2, we have slowly come to realise that they are less significant to us. But even still 60 years on, its some of the insecure who just cant quite let go of the umbilical cord attached to a very disinterested mother.

And besides, we are a far greater nation than the one that the union jerk represents. they should be consigned to having an Aussie symbol on their piece of flapping rag.

I actually think replacing the union jack with a simplfied version of the coat of arms would be great. The Coat of Arms is one of the few Australians symbols that everyone seems to like.

I really like the myth of the emu and the kangaroo that they were included because they can't walk backwards, and therefore Australians will always look to the future. The rest of of the world is messed up with their historical baggage. We get a bit of it here, but it is only a small minority. Hope it stays that way.

I'm not sure tumbleweed is the image of Australia, we are trying to convey.

mind you ................... if this drought keeps up..............

If you look at this pic in abstract and imagine the spinifex as green and gold in the southern cross on an ochre landscape with ablue sky then you've nearly got it.
spinifex.jpg

Just in case you dont know spinifex is not tumbleweed.
millchic.jpg

BDO is a private event so I would have thought banning the Aussie flag was within the law. I mean, I have written heaps of crap on this site that offends people and the mods have deleted it.

But still, I think freedom of expression is good whether it is proudly flying the Aussie flag or even masturbating in public.

BDO is a private event so I would have thought banning the Aussie flag was within the law. I mean, I have written heaps of crap on this site that offends people and the mods have deleted it.

But still, I think freedom of expression is good whether it is proudly flying the Aussie flag or even masturbating in public.

Go on please !! Get it out of your system "so to speak"!

How you can take pride or pleasure from announcing to the world that you are an idiot.?????:confused:

PS but if you need help it is there for you.. ask the closest person to call ....if all else fails the Salvos!

Another example of how our country is going down the toilet, pun intended. :thumbsdown:

So what would happen if a white Australian set fire to this one?
abflag.gif

BTW not all Aboriginals consider Australia Day to be "Invasion Day"

I genuinely think that is the best looking flag around. I'd be proud to have that as our national flag.

I love it, maybe it's the red & black, I could live without the yellow bit though. :D

Change the black to blue and the yellow to white and you've got some good colours there ;)

Personally though I do like the Aboriginal flag, however I would change the black to blue to represent a blue sky.

Besides if we adopted the Aboriginal flag wouldn't that just be something else we've taken from them?

yeah I reckon many indigenous folks like their flag for what it means to them, and would feel that if nothing else changed, then they just lose their flag and have to find another one ti keeo issues in the public eye.

Really though the current flag is crap - lets get rid of the stars abnd blue bit and just keep the flad of our great motherland. Costs for bulk production would mean we could all then afford to fly them out the front of the house!

How could anyone be proud of a flag that represents genocide, oppression and subservience to a foreign king or queen?

The people that drape themselves in the aussie flag are the same morons who think Sydney is the capital of Australia, have no idea what Eureka or Mabo are and cling to a symbol as a way of compensating for their lack of education and to "prove" themselves to their bogan mates.

As George Carlin said, symbols are for the symbol-minded.

And paraphrasing Bill Hicks, why be proud of something you have no control over? You are Australian cause you came out of a pussy in Australia. But we are all human.

...cause you came out of a pussy.... But we are all human.

Ah, how apposite. I've never read a better description of why Elizabeth is queen. The second sentence gives lie to why the first is of any importance whatsoever. One of the best posts I've read in six years on BF, if not the best. Sorry about editing it. It really deserves to be reproduced in full over and over.

Aussie Flag banned at BDO!!!!!!!!!!!!!