Aussie Rules in Asia

as i understand the Asian Gaelic Games is a 7 a side format and the ball can be picked up.

The games are next weekend, I was going to play but needed to watch the GF and now the Lions are in I am a definate no show!

Interesting - 7-a-side and direct pick up would make it very easy for soccer players to adapt - fits neatly onto soccer pitch too. The Irish still seem to me to be more into expats only mode rather than attracting Asians to the games - though hopefully that'll change.

Originally posted by Hilly72
yes a little disappointing after the early response looked as if those three,Thailand and possibly Japan would come.

A couple of reports stated that Singapore had pulled out as they didn't think they could win, I hope that was not the case. Vietnam and Thailand couldn't get the numbers (a couple of boys from Thailand played for China) and I am not sure about the reasons for Malaysia.

Singapore could not get enough numbers to go to the game. Simple as that. Nearly all the wombats have jobs that take them out of the country or weekend work commitments and that weekend was a bad one.

Originally posted by MSB ROYS
Singapore could not get enough numbers to go to the game. Simple as that. Nearly all the wombats have jobs that take them out of the country or weekend work commitments and that weekend was a bad one.

Fair enough, as I said the other was being thrown around at the Championships, which was fairly unbelievable. It would have been great to have the Wombats there.

Originally posted by Peter P
In junior Gaelic the ball can be picked off the ground - and in Women's and it is a matter of debate to change the rule for men's too.

This rule is the bane of new players, and leaves a huge gulf between the native Irish players who can flick the ball up at full run, and us locals who have to drop to almost a walk to do it.

Latest from China

A game has been penciled in for the 25th of October at the Shanghai Football ground between Shanghai and Beijing.

As far as I know it will be the first game plyed for the China Cup.

Will post further details as I have them.

A game in honour of the International Rules in Oz is being organised in Taiwan at the moment between Oz and Ireland, to be played at the Taipei American School.

I will post more details as soon as I have them available.

So - IR games in Denver, Phoenix, New York, Calgary, Frankfurt, ?Munich, Tokyo, Hong Kong, and now Taipei - as well as Brisbane and Melbourne [apart from the main AFL v GAA]. Be worth keeping a log on some website.

Originally posted by Peter P
So - IR games in Denver, Phoenix, New York, Calgary, Frankfurt, ?Munich, Tokyo, Hong Kong, and now Taipei - as well as Brisbane and Melbourne [apart from the main AFL v GAA]. Be worth keeping a log on some website.

Also they mix it up on a regular basis in Shanghai.

Shanghai vs Beijing

The big game details

Australia Rules Football, The Jock McGregor Cup
Shanghai vs Beijing Saturday 25th Oct

Sponsored by The Blarney Stone Irish Pub
and Steinlager Beer

Itinerary

Friday Night 24th of Oct 6.30pm to 9.30pm
• Radisson Xing Guo Hotel, Tavern Bar 78 Xing Guo Lu
• Registration: For Beijing players- mobile numbers, accommodation details
• Rugby on big screen
• 10Rmb Ice cold Steinlager

Transfer to
• The Blarney Stone, 5A Dong Ping Lu
• 25Rmb beer and basic spirits

Match day Saturday 25th Oct
• Players Meeting at Blarney Stone at 10.15am sharp.
• Players Transport is arranged so please do not be late or you will be left behind!!. We only have the ground for an allotted time.
• Game at Jing Qiao Sports Complex (Shanghai Football Club)
• Match start 12pm Sharp, 20min quarters (no time on)
• Spectators very welcome, come support the local boys

1.50pm presentations of
• Perpetual Jock McGregor Cup
• ¡§The Mug¡¨ for best on ground, chosen by umpire
• The Mug sponsored by The Blarney Stone. Bottomless Mug for the night at The Blarney Stone. (A much sort after prize!!)
• Best on ground for opposing side sponsored by Steinlager. 1 case of Steinlager Beer.

2pm to 5pm
• Steinlagers and BBQ (minimal cost) at football ground.
• Drawing of the raffle
• Raffle sponsored by Steinlager and the Blarney Stone.
• 1st Prize 1 bottle of Jamieson Whiskey and 1 case of Steinlager
• 2nd Prize 2 cases of Steinlager
• 3rd Prize 1 case of Steinlager
• (Hot showers are provided at the ground)
• 5pm transfer back to The Blarney Stone, Transport provided for players

Saturday Night from 6pm to late
• The Blarney Stone, for Splendid Irish hospitality 6pm to late
• Quality buffet starting at 6.45pm, 80rmb for all you can eat, surely the best value for money meal in town, to be sure to be sure!
• 25rmb for beer and basic spirits.
• Rugby and maybe a bit of our game on the big screen

From late to later ¡V
• Ju Lu Lu or Mao Ming Lu party central. The local boys will lead the way

Sunday
• Sleep, sightseeing if you are up to it and flying back to Beijing.

For those that ever travel to Shanghai, the Blarney Stone is the only place to visit, these Irishmen and the like have thrown all there support behind the growth of Aussie Rules in Shanghai, along with ANZ Bank, BHP and Steinlager.

Originally posted by cacbm
Hilly72, can you please tell me what¡¦s the progress in Taiwan, it would be hard to find a place to have a kick, wouldn¡¦t it?

Next weekend is hopefully also the start of big things in Taiwan, in the footsteps of the our nations with a Compromise Rules match game has been arranged for the 2nd of November.

This should be quite a big day as many of the players will be teachers meaning we will get a range of interested students down for a look.

The only downer for the day could be the gathering on the night prior to watch the Aussies humiliate the Irish at the RWC, could lower the skill levels incredibly.

On a serious note it should be a good game, as I have trained with both sides, the Irish will have an edge in pace, tho' the Aussie side is quite a bit taller.

more on Beijing vs Shanghai

Beijing Australian Rules Football Club Newsletter
beijingfooty@yahoo.com
October 28th 2003
------------------------------------------
BOMBERS GALLANT IN DEFEAT IN FIRST EVER MATCH!
We'll what a weekend! One that tired out the whole team (both on & off the field) Thankyou to all 14 players who made the trip, while we may not have brought the cup home with us, we came very close, gave them a fair run for their money and did Beijing proud. For a team that only had 3 scratch matches under their belt and who united as a team for the first time on the friday night before the match, and faced a bit of away team adversity on the day (including our ruckman being outed in suspicious circumstances in the 2nd!), We put up a great effort. Especially considering we were up against a team who had been training (at their home ground! - the fact that they even had one was an advantage) for pretty much the whole year and had already played a match against 2003 asian champions, Hong Kong, in April. So great effort fellas! Thanks for coming down, hope you enjoyed it.

Who kicked the goals? will get some details from the boys in shanghai soon but if can shed some light on some details and if you kicked a few, let me know. also if you have some photos, share em...

For the record, Beijing's first ever team was
-Dave 'Bags' Baguley - Coach
-Andrew 'Sanga' Sawitsch - Captain
-Dave 'Doc' Velten
-Andrew 'Let's crack open a brekky beer!' Curry
-Andrew Tarte
-Mark 'Beaver' Robertson
-Rob New
-Charles 'Chas' West
-Harry 'Plugger' 'Hardyards' Hodge
-Sean 'Mo-fo' Morley
-Paul 'Gatesy' 'I could eat the wheel off a menstrual cycle!' Gates
-Michael 'Bods' Boddington - against his old crew- reminicent of Carey's game v. the roos
-Glyn Wallens
-Greg 'Zimma' Suitor
...and borrowed on the day from Shanghai
-Noel Lennon (ire.)
-Ronan (ire.)
-Some other irish guy
-Anyone remember the name of that canadian guy?

Many memories of the weekend will stick with us for years to come i'm sure. Some of the highlights included (in no particular order) :
-HARRY!!! our canadian representative of the club! which was most entertaining? The illrecieved stand up joke telling and BARF promo work at the friday night do? The Dazzling body lunges during the match? The Harry Hardyards showing his acomplishment off in the windowsill? or the break dancing down maoming lu!!?
-Beave Robertson's desperate and effective tackle to hinder 'that no. 13's' chance of finally kicking one through
-Andrew Curry's roving photography saturday night? did you take some photos of anyone's face?
-Gatesy clever and creative insights
-The 4 fellas who got back to dongfu hotel at 8 sunday morning! Curry opened a stubby! Doc went and got some breakfast before heading out to the airport to catch his flight home!
-------------------------------------------
GOOSE & DUCK SPONSORSHIP
As you would've noticed from the jumper. The Goose and Duck have jumped on board BARFC. Coach Dave dropped into the GnD (http://www.gdclub.net.cn/english/) and presented the boss with a Beijing Bombers jumper signed by the team, he was wrapped, it'll be hanging in the pub soon and he's keen to help out more, such as membership/discount cards, club polo shirts to sell there etc. and a few discounted dos, this is a huge windfall and after the success of shanghai on the weekend, it means we'd better get a bit more of an organised setup if we wanna move on from here, seeing the guy at GnD's been so helpful. so if you're around chaoyang park, drop in for a few and say you're from BARF club, seeya there soon.
BARFC AGM
Ties in with what I said before, but Dave Bags and I have decided it's time to set up a committee of some sort and get some things discussed and organised properly for Beijing footy club to move into 2004 & beyond (2003 isnt over yet either! we'll be catching up for a few more kicks!). As you would've seen on the weekend and the last few weeks, the opportunities are huge and with just a little work, promo & cooperation, it pays off enormously and is great fun to be apart of. So perhaps Thursday next week (will confirm later) we will set a time to meet up at the Goose and Duck and have a meeting & put some stuff up in the air, as well as having a few drinks and catchup of course. All more than welcome, spread the word and please come along. It'll be good to have a bit of a 'tour reunion' & if there's anything you'd like discussed on the night, come along or let me know. Look out for confirmation of time and details via email soon.
TRAINING
With halloween, melbourne cup & wallabies v. ireland festivities making for a big weekend, as well as all the sore bodies from last week's match, we'll keep this weekend free from any training or kickaround, but will advise details soon.
'IT'S NOT THE MELBOURNE CUP!'
Trust you all got Dave Baguley's email regarding the do at the embassy saturday night. its 200 for drinks and food. Who's coming? get back to dave ASAPif you're keen. look your best

Thanks again for a great weekend fellas, one of the best days I've spent in footy,

Andrew Sawitsch 'Sanga'

Congrats guys - how well does Bombers translate into Mandarin ? ;)

Any locals play for the Shanghai crew, or was it an all-expats plus random Irish and other English speaking guys?

Ireland vs Australia

After a long Saturday where we watched the delayed telecast from friday night followed a couple of hours later by the RWC game between our 2 countries the boys managed to muster at the Taipei American School for the first game of compomised rules on the Island.

A fast paced match, it was well fought out between 2 evenly matched sides, however the early lead established by the "Australian" squad was unable to be closed, the final score being 50 points to 33.

The following warm down at the Green Bar has led to this being scheduled as a monthly occurance, a thing that can only be good for both codes of football in Taiwan.

more details (BARF boys first outing!)

thought i'd post something quick while i'm browsing. as a result of using crowded internet cafes to keep in touch with home and run BARFc,- not on the net very often and they're just fleeting visits, with a bit to fit in.

Big things planned for BARFc, but with snow already hitting beijing, the AFL season over and beijing's 'sporty' crowd being caught up in the Rugby world cup, not much footy left to happen here in beijing 2003. pumped for next year though (despite me not being here!) the shanghai trip was a great success and has brought a good base of mates together who want things to move forward, and we're getting interest from the local and non aussie crowd here looking for something new. Next year should be good. Had an american ruckman, a couple canadians and irish guys pull on the red and black for us in shanghai which is a start! Don't dismiss starting clubs off coz they are predominantly aussie! You gotta start somewhere and that is how basically all leagues began. We were strapped for time and needed something major done before winter hit, so we went for a match in shanghai. Realistically, with only a few weeks planning and practice, the only people we could get to pay to go to shanghai for a weekend of footy, were aussies and their friends who love the game. it'll take a while to 'spread the love!' so to speak! As it is anywhere, and especially in China, things never go to plan and takes a long time to build up. We'll get there! footy's got a lot of potential and is here to stay in beijing, the shanghai guys are on the way up too and the beijing/shanghai battle will become a great tradition perhaps played 2-3 times annually! In the meantime, some good footy has been played in this country and the planning by the shanghai crew was exceptional. Many spectators on the day commented on their surprise at the quality of footy on show, even compared to the HK/China match earlier this year. It was a fair old decent game of footy that had it all, all that was missing was a RED and BLACK victory! ah well, the young side, who had the crowd against them all day, can take a lot from the win and will no doubt bounce back next year!

a website will hopefully be up and running soon, if you want some photos from the match, send something to the club email.

cheers,

Sanga
BARFC
beijingfooty@yahoo.com

& yes hilly! maominglu saturday night saw some efforts even more inpiring than on the footy field in the arvo!

heres the details from our end!
Shanghai 14 - 13 (97) def. Beijing 11 - 10 (76)
Goalkickers (Beijing) Baguley 4, Westh 2, Currey, Hodge, Sawitsch, Ronan, Velten 1
Best for Beijing: (as chosen by umpire) Dave Baguley - Coach

Aussie Rules in Asia