Resource Australian Football History Resource Thread

Ancestry is good for names of people

Further good news from the National Library's Trove newspaper site. They have started to load some of the Brisbane Daily Telegraph with a dozen or so articles from 1922 showing up for Australian Football. Should be able to read full text within next few weeks:
http://trove.nla.gov.au/newspaper/result?l-title=840

No doubt numbers of footy articles will grow during the year. I'll be particularly interested to see the 1914 items when they show up as there was a club series played in Brisbane whilst the National Carnival was on in Sydney at same time. Collingwood, Cananore, a team from Perth, and one from Adelaide took part.
I believe the team from perth was the perth demons or redlegs as they were known at the time

AFL National Draft, 1996-97, A Football Record Guide,

the above reference is used a few time by Ross Booth, does anyone know if this is something that be accessed online?
I haven't been able to find it anywhere. It's not to be found in the SLV Football Record collection from what I can see.
In case you haven't seen this, there's a description of it in the Football Record 1996 Rd. 21 (page 30). It sounds exactly like an earlier version of the (latest) AFL Draft Booklet which can be found here:- http://www.nabafldraftnom.com.au/

"The Football Record has produced a special guide to this year's National Recruit Draft and the 1997 pre-season draft. The 24 page booklet has been produced to assist aspiring AFL players and their families to understand the complexities of the draft. It answers a host of questions on the draft while also outlining the key dates involved in the process. A draft nomination form is included."

It was available through the AFL, AFL club recruiting managers along with the various State and Territory football bodies.

Attachments

• Page 30.pdf
    416.7 KB · Views: 141
More wonderful news about the Trove newspapers website.

Sometime over the next few months we'll begin to see copies of the Melbourne papers
The Herald and The Sun News-Pictorial. We'll have to be patient, but end result will be worth the wait.

The home page for each title is here:
The Herald http://trove.nla.gov.au/newspaper/result?l-title=1190

The Sun http://trove.nla.gov.au/newspaper/result?l-title=1191

I hope it is the Final Edition of the Herald, any way to find out?

There's been a lot of talk about funding cuts affecting Trove, which is dismaying.

Sounds like they simply plan on scaling back how extensive the scope will be, of what new stuff is added. All existing resource sounds likely to remain.

I was only just spruiking to folks from other countries about how awesome Trove was, and it made me beam to hear responses like "wow we don't have anything like that even in a little place like Taiwan".

Maybe their budget details are also user-editable. I would like to "fix" that text.

The funding cuts seem to be more about the inclusion of non historical newspaper materials - trove incorporates an index of a lot of materials that are used for research purposes including poiinters to research documentation and books outside the traditional scope of the national library. The Government apparently feels its over reaching its purpose.

Agreed, newspapers (the #1 resource for us) don't sound as though they would affected (yet). But it still creates an eerieness for anyone aware of it ... how far will it go? ... what will be next? I am housebound so I don't get to walk into a library, Trove's newspaper digitisation may as well have been made with me directly in mind. I have been eagerly awaiting more country newspapers to "come online".

PS: btw the pandora reference for footypedia in the OP can be replaced with the direct one now :p

A website that will keep on being updated, modified, tweaked and streamlined.

http://www.thegapchessclub.org.au/vfa/.
That's really cool! I've even started looking around the chess club pages itself. It's been so long since I was a member of a chess club ... nearly 30 years lol.

Although this will probably fail in usefulness on terms of either a) duplication, b) more info than you need or c) poor format, for what its worth here is the lapsed documentation I was doing years ago on Fitzroy's VFA days 1884-96. I got from 1884 to halfway through 1888, and also did 1896 - so I guess its not far off half-done. https://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/vfa-fitzroy-summary-1884-to-1896.634580/

Just read 'From Port to a Power'. Not at all impressed with it. Certainly not at the price i paid anyway lol. Live and learn. Christ I hope someone writes a good book on the Port entry saga one day.

Are you able to add a list of recommended reading relevant to each club?

For instance for Melbourne I would have "The Grand Old Flag" by Linda Carroll (who is the club historian I believe), The Red Fox and Urge to Merge as three of the major historical books. When I clicked on the North website history section it had quotes from "The North Story" and I've seen one for Essendon called "Glory & Fame" I believe. Might be a good resource to find books that document the history of each club.

Further good news from the National Library's Trove newspaper site. They have started to load some of the Brisbane Daily Telegraph with a dozen or so articles from 1922 showing up for Australian Football. Should be able to read full text within next few weeks:
http://trove.nla.gov.au/newspaper/result?l-title=840

No doubt numbers of footy articles will grow during the year. I'll be particularly interested to see the 1914 items when they show up as there was a club series played in Brisbane whilst the National Carnival was on in Sydney at same time. Collingwood, Cananore, a team from Perth, and one from Adelaide took part.

How are u going mate just wondering if theres any links or resources to find country footy interleague articles and team photos and the same with premier ship teams, I've had a fair look on all your recommended sites and found sweet f all. Cheers

Good news located on the TROVE website.

In the last day or so they have started to load another Melbourne paper (at moment the date range is 1901-1904) - The Sportsman.
http://trove.nla.gov.au/newspaper/result?l-title=1141

Articles will be fully readable within a few weeks, but you can do preliminary search for words like football and start to tag articles that are of particular interest to you.

Good news located on the TROVE website.

In the last day or so they have started to load another Melbourne paper (at moment the date range is 1901-1904) - The Sportsman.

Articles will be fully readable within a few weeks, but you can do preliminary search for words like football and start to tag articles that are of particular interest to you.

Marvellous news yesterday -
the entire Sportsman set (1882 - 1904) of articles, ads etc were released on Trove as readable and searchable items: