May 4, 2009
Tasmania
Furth
Melbourne, where play was delayed due to hot weather one hour, and wet weather the next. Still, Sir Andy beating over Matteo in a match that was the best at the tournament so far was a massive highlight in what could end earlier(or very late). Matteo is the biggest seed out on both sides of the draw(13th Seed) Indeed, at the time of writing, only 4 female seeds and 4 men seeds are out so far.

Those being .
21 Trevisan (beaten by a certain Slovak),
25 Bouzkova (lost to a grand slam champion),
28 Anisimova (lost to m Kosytuk),
31, Kanepi (lost to Aussie Kim)
only the last one would be an upset.

Menswise. thses players have lost.
13 Berrettini (Andy)
17 Musetti
21 Coric
26 Kecmanović

Quite unusual to have such little losses inside the first day and a half.

With the weather atm, they are running behind schedule and it will be interesting if they can catch up tonight or tmw. Regardless, they have scheduled 5 matches on JCA to try and catch up and not lose more time tmw.

Weather: 23C. high chance of rain and perhaps a thunderstorm. should clear later on.
The rest of the week looks perfect.

Wednesday:
RLA 11 am
Swiatek(1) -Osório
Pegula(3) -Sasnovich
Nadal(1) -McDonald
7 pm
Gauff (7) -Raducanu
Tsitsipas (3) -Hijikata (WC)

MCA 11 am
Schnaider (Q) -Sakkari (6)
FAA (6) -Molcan
Keys (10) -Wang
7 pm
Medvedev (7) -Millman (WC)
Muchova-Collins (13)

JCA 11 am
Etcheverry-Sinner (15)
Kalinina-Kvitova (15)
Shang (Q) -Tiafoe (16)
5 PM
Kubler (WC) -Khachanov (18)
Juvan-Rybakina (22)

The young Aussie gets an RLA night match. He will be massively up against it but good luck to him. His sponsors will be happy with the eyeballs. Hopefully, he can get a set as he did against Nadal in the US Open last year. Before them, we have 2 players under 21, both of which have gone deep at the grand slam level. It should be a very good watch IF Raducanu plays well and, potentially a start of a new rivalry if both players kick on in the next 10 years. . The world junior #1(Shang) could be an interesting watch against Tiafoe, just to see what he has got.

Match of the Day
My match of the day. I love watching Muchova play tennis. One of the few women tennis players with a great variety of shots. Collins had a very tough match in the first round and just scraped through. Reckon this one will also go the distance and will be extremely close, one of the few big matches I think will be like that.
Think Muchova in 3.

But pollwise, I reckon a lot more people would be interested in Kubler v Karen (Khachanov). two powerful forehands in a match where the Aussies will be up and about for the home fav. I think Karen should do it in 4 sets, as he just has a lot more experience and a better all-round game.

Surprised they put a doubles match first up on some of the courts. You'd think they'd prioritise singles match on the courts without a roof.

They can catch up on doubles when there are less singles to be played on the outside courts.

Looks like most of the heavy stuff has past us. It's whether any of this drizzle hangs around.

Really surprised they didn't prioritise America with Radacanu/Gauff. Night match is an awful time for them.

Will head down later in the arvo and see what's happening.

Caught one game of the Kokk/Fog match last night before the rain finally ended it, the crowd was fine. Am not sure why the umpire kept telling them to settle down.

Was nothing like last year's deplorable crowd.

Will head down later in the arvo and see what's happening.

Caught one game of the Kokk/Fog match last night before the rain finally ended it, the crowd was fine. Am not sure why the umpire kept telling them to settle down.

Was nothing like last year's deplorable crowd.

That’s good umpiring then. Keep the crowd disruptions to a minimum. Rather them over umpire than under umpire

No way. I much prefer a Fergus or Lahyani approach.

You can’t do that with the amount of bogans like last year. It’s good work from the umpiring aren’t you there to watch the tennis anyway

Agree but from what I could see last night there were hardly any bogans. Pretty typical tennis crowd.

There were more chants happening in RLA.

That’s a good thing then. So much better without the Kyrigos fans there.

Looking at the Schedule it looks like they might squeeze an extra day game (womens I'd imagine) on MCA and RLA if the three games end quickly.

I agree with doubles, I would of almost put all doubles off until tomorrow. They could of still got through a few rounds so players can move on to next week events in time.

Looking at the Schedule it looks like they might squeeze an extra day game (womens I'd imagine) on MCA and RLA if the three games end quickly.

I agree with doubles, I would of almost put all doubles off until tomorrow. They could of still got through a few rounds so players can move on to next week events in time.

Also reduce doubles to 3 sets. Could just use a match tiebreaker at 1-1.

They've already cancelled all doubles matches for today

Grand Slam Australian Open - Day 3