Australian Open Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter kretchy

Did anyone hear Triple J this morning joking about Andre? Asking the question that considering he was OK on the weekend, how does a man with a wife and new baby injure his wrist over night?

Beats me? :eek:

Shame that Andre Agassi is out of the Aus Open. He's a great player and I hope that he comes back for another Grand Slam here in 2003.

All the Australian men who played today have lost also (Fromburg, Draper, Arthurs):(

Originally posted by GoEagles
Shame that Andre Agassi is out of the Aus Open. He's a great player and I hope that he comes back for another Grand Slam here in 2003.

All the Australian men who played today have lost also (Fromburg, Draper, Arthurs):(

Day's not over yet and Marky Mark's on fire!!!! :)

Went to the Australian Open today (for the first time) and here's a rundown on the matches I saw:

- saw most of Kuerten's defeat. He looked to be doing it easy against Boutter. I didn't think Boutter was much chop early on, but full credit to him, he played really well in the last two sets.

- first set of Draper/Rusedski match. Draper was on fire early on but Rusedski didn't panic and did well to take that set.

- saw latter stages of first set of Wayne Arthurs/Golmard match. With the way Arthurs game is structured, it all depends on whether he's good enough to win the tiebreaks and he made an absoloute hash of the first set tiebreak; he led 4-0 and then lost 7 points straight (I was especially disappointed as I had $10 on him to win the match:( )

- saw most of Goran's match against Damm. Really battled in the first set and seemed to be clearly affected by his shoulder problems (which he confirmed in a post-match press conference), but he lifted and did enough to get over an ordinary opponenet. Was lucky he wasn't playing someone of higher standard but it was good to see him win in his own idiosyncratic style.

Congrats to Flip for his win last night. He played excellent tennis through the second set and early in the last. He dropped off a little after that but that is to be expected, considering it was his first best of five set match for 18 months. Plus we don't want him paying at his peak just yet.

A huge thumbs up for the way he stayed after the match signing autographs though. I think virtually everyone who wanted an autograph got one and it certainly points toward a happier and keener Flip. Let's hope he can build some confidence and reverse his recent result against Henman.

I think he will get past the Fake Pom. Rusedski didn't impress me that much against Draper, even given Draper's recent good form. Flip is a class above Draper so I think he'll have his hands full.

He won't be able to use sheer muscle against Philippoussis and Rusedski still looks mentally weak imho.

Someone please fill me in on the results so far today.

Today is my first day back at work after a 3 week break...not happy:( (very tired - holidays never last long enough :( )

Yesterday I went to the tennis for the first time in a few years. Had a great time despite the lousy weather (had to pay $70 for a jumper - I was freezing in just a singlet top and skirt). The matches yesterday weren't very good, unfortunately, but it was good just being there. Saw Grosjean, Ilie (should've won, but he's so bloody inconsistent!), Corretja, Kiefer, Arthurs, Schett, etc.

A pity Patty isn't playing - could've been his year this year with all the late withdrawals and all...oh well

im planning to go to the tennis on saturday arvo and ive got a few questions.

-how long are the lines to get tickets and can i do so (i plan to get a ground pass)

-how difficult is it to get into vodafone arena (how long are the lines, how long is the wait, what time should i go in the morning to get in, are the unreseved seats still of quality)

-how difficult is it to get into showcourts 2 and 3 ,last year it was a killer

thats it if anybody could please answer them it would be much appreciated.

Cheers :)

Went to the tennis yesterday and as usual it was a great day.
Saw Henman play. He was impressive but I can not see him matching it with the top players this week.
Then saw Seles. Very impressive. She thrashed her opponent. She has a good outside chance.
Then went to Court 6 to see Bjorkman play. I finally got a seat after the first set and three points into the second set Bjorkmans opponent pulled out. Was not too happy.
From there saw a bit of Tommy Robredo who won the Hopman Cup then saw Andrew Illie lose the 4th set 6 -0. He was hopeless.

-how long are the lines to get tickets and can i do so (i plan to get a ground pass)
Souloution. Go to Ticketek of Friday and buy them then. That way you can just walk up.

-how difficult is it to get into vodafone arena (how long are the lines, how long is the wait, what time should i go in the morning to get in, are the unreseved seats still of quality)
Depends who is playing. If you get there early you are guaranteed a seat, if not you might have to wait. When going to the tennis, you have to plan your day. Pick a court and stick to it.

Once again depends who is playing. Generally thanks to Vodafone arena it should not be as bad.

Hope that helped.

Originally posted by blueworms
im planning to go to the tennis on saturday arvo and ive got a few questions.

thats it if anybody could please answer them it would be much appreciated.

Cheers :)

I ordered my tickets (ground pass) over the phone - $25 each plus booking fee. I noticed that the line of people getting tickets at the gate yesterday morning was really long (at 10am)

It was hard to get into Vodafone arena when it was raining yesterday (there was obviously a rush for cover) but later on it wasn't too hard. I recommend going in there first thing and then getting a pass out, which means it is easier to get back in later. Just to let you know though, I wasn't very impressed with Vodafone Arena as a stadium - the Showcourts are heaps better.

Got into the showcourts without any problem at all (that may have something to do with the fact that the quality of matches yesterday was fairly average).

Hope this helps!

thanks dees and kristen.

u wouldnt happen to know where the ticketek outlets are. i know there one in exhibition street in the city, but doen anyone know where other can be found near the essendon area.

thanks dees and kristen.

u wouldnt happen to know where the ticketek outlets are. i know there one in exhibition street in the city, but doen anyone know where other can be found near the essendon area.

Call them or order tickets online (thru ticketek or maybe even the Aus Open site)

Bad luck to the highest ranked Aussie female, Alicia Molik. She lost a tough match 10-8 in the third set against 29th seed Panova.

Tough break drawing a seed first up and disappointing after she had an early break in the third set. She has all the shots but can't seem to get the consistency there yet.

Kristin - I thought Vodafone Arena in general was a very good stadium, although im yet to go to a Tennis match there. (seen Basketball and cycling)

Havn't got to the Aus Open this year as yet, but will be going on Saturday too. Hoping to see Henman.

Blueworms - You'll find most newsagents have ticketecks in them now.

How as Panova and time wasting? Why wasn't she pulled up for it?? She even held up Moliks serve at some stages. The games supposed to be played at the servers pace. Not when the reciever is ready, especially after all the time wasting she'd previously done.

Originally posted by evade28
molik is out. so is there any aussie sheilas left now?

hewitt has already won the first set. he better win the lot.

Hewitt's still playing so that makes at least one.

Originally posted by kristin5

Call them or order tickets online (thru ticketek or maybe even the Aus Open site)

thanks again. if i order tickets where do i pick them up at the tennis or are they delivered. if i have to go pick them up on the day do u still have to go in the same line that buys tickets or is there a shorter line to just pick up tickets.

Originally posted by PC28

Blueworms - You'll find most newsagents have ticketecks in them now.

cool. which newsagents are u aware of that have this and is anyone aware of newsagents that have this near the essendon area

and theres another playing hewitt tonight, wheeler or something. I dont get why hewitt gets to play on the mens and womens circuit, and he's #1 in the mens and only #5 in the womens tour :confused:

LMAO. Classic mate.

Hewitt is G-O-N-E. Pity that................................. :rolleyes:

BWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA! :D

Hopefully Poo will do the job. If he can get to the second week he'll be a big chance, he just needs more tennis i think. He's in the easier half of the draw isn't he?