Autopsy/Ranting thread keep it all in here.

Directed to the wrist slashers who rant that haircuts and coloured boots influenced our performance on the weekend.

LOL.

Hilarious - we played like it was 2005.

Last year Ratts was told win a final or you are gone - in no uncertain terms.

The reason that was stated was because we were a better team than they way we were performing - why ? Because everytime we started playing well it went STRAIGHT TO OUR HEADS - every single time.

If you cant see the correlation between ostentatious displays of narcissistic vanity because you think you are red ****ing hot, and our tendency to fall prey to our own good press and, well thinking we are red ****ing hot, then you know even less about footy than I ever gave you credit for.

What we witnessed against the Bombers was nothing less than our total self preoccupation - all those dismissing it as an aberration , a one off, a blip are completely failing to see how consistently this issue occurs within our team.

I have absolutely no doubt that Ratten believes in instilling confidence in the players - its obvious as that nose ring on your face TheGeneral - and that confidence is nipping us in the bud every single time we go forward. Its our entire Achilles heel - the point about the boots and the hair cuts numb nuts is that these are symptomatic of our biggest failures - our nemesis is ourselves and our own self confidence which Ratten instills in the boys as par of the course - no matter what happens if he does not address this Peacock strutting Rooster parading shit it will constantly come back to bite us in the arse.

I have absolutely No problem with supporters getting ahead of themselves - thats our JOB, I have a massive problem with players not keeping their heads down, not showing humility and sticking to the job - I have a massive problem with players who believe their own hype, see themselves on the telle every night and think they've made it.

Its symptomatic mate - try and understand that - its metaphorical - not everything is pies and sauce. If you cant see the issue here then you need your head read - its clearly, manifestly infecting our team with over confidence.

If Ratten does not win a final this year - he is finished. It will happen - contract or not. So instead of walking around like you know everything consider that for a minute - thats absolutely what will happen, Sticks could not justify keeping him on after yet another failure. And our over confidence, inability to maintain peak performance and willingness to drop off when the going gets tough is exactly our problem and it will happen again if it is not FIRSTLY recognised by all and sundry and SECONDLY addressed.

The most obvious sign that we are falling victim to our own hype outside of the ridiculous displays of ostentatious, garish narcissism is of course we totally collapse every single time anyone brings it to us and ACTUALLY challenges us with half decent footy - we have no resolve.

We failed against every top four team last year. We failed against doggies when they stepped it up, we failed against bombers when they stepped it up - and we succeeded against the pies when the CLEARLY lay down and went into the fetal position.

This constant failure when the HARD QUESTIONS are being asked can't be denied by anyone - simply can't - its as clear as bat shit.

And its entirely due tot he fact that we BELIEVE we are shit hot, play like that and fail when anyone questions our resolve.

Its a much mores serious issue and will be the reason why we fail again every time we are tested - mark my words.

You mad?
How many Essendon supporters are ringing talkback stations declaring we're flag favourites and top 4 certainties?
How many of them are actually Carlton supporters and not someone taking the piss?

The only one pumping us up as flag favourites is Mark Robinson who follows Essendon.

Wow. Shave their heads the lot of them.

Seriously no one was angry about haircuts and coloured boots last week. There is over reaction to a loss, then there is over reaction to a loss.
And give them a bake and a hard week on the track to treat them like children...

Love how calm Ratts looked on the bench.

We would have been more like Alastair Clarkson.

I reckon we should make 'em wear no boots to go with those shaved heads.

Everyone did have a shaved head for the past few years - and black boots.

Take a look at Geelong and talk to me about all the hair Gel and Fluro boots. Doesn't exists - they're a team full of men who are playing hard footy - we're a team full of boys who are playing for the tellee.

Here is the deal - we are travelling to WA with a depleted team to play a team who could easily beat us.

After that GWS.

Following is Saints and Adelaide at Etihad, a nightmare stadium, who could both beat us - anyone thinking otherwise is deluded.

Essendon has placed a massive challenge to the Blues - bring your hard game and the Carlton posers will fold - was demonstrated brilliantly by Hird.

Now every single team we play will know how to beat us - play hard.

The reality is while the boys are doing their hair and polishing their boots ready for the big tellee appearance - we may well win only one game from the next four.

Wont be so smug then will we.

Ok firstly with Geelong, Jimmy Bartel models FFS and his hair is almost identical to Gibbs'. They dont come much tougher or a better player than Jimmy

Secondly, you keep harping on about this absolute garbage that has nothing to do with anything. Get over the loss and move on. It wasn't because of boots and haircuts.

Everyone did have a shaved head for the past few years - and black boots.

Take a look at Geelong and talk to me about all the hair Gel and Fluro boots. Doesn't exists - they're a team full of men who are playing hard footy - we're a team full of boys who are playing for the tellee.

Here is the deal - we are travelling to WA with a depleted team to play a team who could easily beat us.

After that GWS.

Following is Saints and Adelaide at Etihad, a nightmare stadium, who could both beat us - anyone thinking otherwise is deluded.

Essendon has placed a massive challenge to the Blues - bring your hard game and the Carlton posers will fold - was demonstrated brilliantly by Hird.

Now every single team we play will know how to beat us - play hard.

The reality is while the boys are doing their hair and polishing their boots ready for the big tellee appearance - we may well win only one game from the next four.

Wont be so smug then will we.

Would that be the same team of men that fell in against Richmond on their fortress on the day they unfurled their premiership flag?

One of the reasons sure but you can only play as well as the opposition allow you.

Injuries and poor kicking aside, we were done at quarter time (despite a flattering narrow lead). 2nd goal from the Bombers in the 2nd term and it was pretty much game over. Essendon had the momentum and it continued for 2 straight quarters.

Why? Fundamentally, we were out-coached. We tried to be too clever and play a loose man.

I kept screaming "whenever they have the ball, man up!" Check the uncontested mark count and the number of times Essendon streamed from defensive 50 to goal without a Carlton player in sight.

Modern football is all about covering the zone, maybe, but when that strategy fails dismally you have to go back to the basics: one-on-one footy.
I fully 100 percent agree seems we dont know how to man up when the opposition has possession, from first bounce we dont rectify the situation and rather keep playing loose footy. one on one footy will account for the easy scores.

Ok firstly with Geelong, Jimmy Bartel models FFS and his hair is almost identical to Gibbs'. They dont come much tougher or a better player than Jimmy

Secondly, you keep harping on about this absolute garbage that has nothing to do with anything. Get over the loss and move on. It wasn't because of boots and haircuts.

You're not getting the point - wooooooooooooooooooshhhhhh!!!

Its not the boots and haircuts - if you think thats what Im saying then try harder. How can anyone be so simplistic. Seriously.:rolleyes:

If you are comparing Jimmy Bartel to Gibbs then **** me - things are worse than I thought - one is hard, the other is butter - outside butter.

Its about egos and attitude mate - and the blues younger brigade of stars as so chock full of it.

Hilarious - we played like it was 2005.

Last year Ratts was told win a final or you are gone - in no uncertain terms.

The reason that was stated was because we were a better team than they way we were performing - why ? Because everytime we started playing well it went STRAIGHT TO OUR HEADS - every single time.

If you cant see the correlation between ostentatious displays of narcissistic vanity because you think you are red ****ing hot, and our tendency to fall prey to our own good press and, well thinking we are red ****ing hot, then you know even less about footy than I ever gave you credit for.

What we witnessed against the Bombers was nothing less than our total self preoccupation - all those dismissing it as an aberration , a one off, a blip are completely failing to see how consistently this issue occurs within our team.

I have absolutely no doubt that Ratten believes in instilling confidence in the players - its obvious as that nose ring on your face TheGeneral - and that confidence is nipping us in the bud every single time we go forward. Its our entire Achilles heel - the point about the boots and the hair cuts numb nuts is that these are symptomatic of our biggest failures - our nemesis is ourselves and our own self confidence which Ratten instills in the boys as par of the course - no matter what happens if he does not address this Peacock strutting Rooster parading shit it will constantly come back to bite us in the arse.

I have absolutely No problem with supporters getting ahead of themselves - thats our JOB, I have a massive problem with players not keeping their heads down, not showing humility and sticking to the job - I have a massive problem with players who believe their own hype, see themselves on the telle every night and think they've made it.

Its symptomatic mate - try and understand that - its metaphorical - not everything is pies and sauce. If you cant see the issue here then you need your head read - its clearly, manifestly infecting our team with over confidence.

If Ratten does not win a final this year - he is finished. It will happen - contract or not. So instead of walking around like you know everything consider that for a minute - thats absolutely what will happen, Sticks could not justify keeping him on after yet another failure. And our over confidence, inability to maintain peak performance and willingness to drop off when the going gets tough is exactly our problem and it will happen again if it is not FIRSTLY recognised by all and sundry and SECONDLY addressed.

The most obvious sign that we are falling victim to our own hype outside of the ridiculous displays of ostentatious, garish narcissism is of course we totally collapse every single time anyone brings it to us and ACTUALLY challenges us with half decent footy - we have no resolve.

We failed against every top four team last year. We failed against doggies when they stepped it up, we failed against bombers when they stepped it up - and we succeeded against the pies when the CLEARLY lay down and went into the fetal position.

This constant failure when the HARD QUESTIONS are being asked can't be denied by anyone - simply can't - its as clear as bat shit.

And its entirely due tot he fact that we BELIEVE we are shit hot, play like that and fail when anyone questions our resolve.

Its a much mores serious issue and will be the reason why we fail again every time we are tested - mark my words.

I believe you are only as good as your last few games - because every team is constantly improving or trying to and every team has its injuries and changes - so the best barometer is always the nearest performances.

Agree with haircuts and fancy girls blouses shores as symptomatic of things BOYS are interested in. MEN don't care abotu haircuts or fancy boots - MEN care about winning.

Carlton has a few men it its team and a few talented boys and a lot of imature athletes thinking that they are men.

The Essendon match has taken Carlton backwards quite a few notches - might be a good thing. However treating second rate players as if they are AFL standard or will be sometime is fooling NO ONE who has a clue.

Malthouse/Roos/Thompson are my benchmark coaches - and the first thing they look for is hard at the ball players - with a brain and skill and athleticism.

Carlton is very short of men who love to be tested - very short.

Peopel either understand this or tehy don't. Teh seriosu teams understand how soft our underbelly is. Ratten is a nice bloke - who has invested heavilly in athletic and skillfiul fast game - great. However without true grit and true hardness- wee will always fall short when it matters.

I have no doubt bout this. I was just shocked to see that (even) Essendon were harder than us.and thats just embarassing.

Seriously pissed at what appeared to be a 'not committed enough' effort.

Looking at some of the stats one glaring margin in the Bombers favour was the clanger count: 52 to us vs 37 to them.

Rotations obviously went in their favour: 123 to us vs 134 to them.

However, besides the Clanger count the two most important stats for mine were the uncontested possession count: 200 for us vs 220 for them and the kicks totals: 186 for us vs 223 for them.

That says to me the Bombers ran harder into space. (First time we've dropped below 200 kicks a game this season too)

It's hard to make a concrete assessment on how the injuries affected the result other than to say the Bombers ecked out a draw with two off the ground early last year. Maybe players like Yazz degenerating as the game wore on took it's toll but either way the boys looked behind the game from the first bounce.

One thing you can pretty much see very early on in a Carlton game is how we're going to go.

So more mistakes and less run tells me this game was primarily lost between the ears and to that end it is concerning. I had hoped this type of play was a thing of the past.

Freo in Perth will be tough and an absolute mental challenge as much as a physical one. I hope who ever plays is up to it.

Didn't Geelong have a off day against essendon last year but they quickly moved on and had a great season.

We have lost 1 game, lets move on and get a good win against the dockers this week.

Its not the boots and haircuts - if you think thats what Im saying then try harder. How can anyone be so simplistic. Seriously.:rolleyes:

If you are comparing Jimmy Bartel to Gibbs then **** me - things are worse than I thought - one is hard, the other is butter - outside butter.

Its about egos and attitude mate - and the blues younger brigade of stars as so chock full of it.

Well I'm now totally confused. You just about had me convinced that the players should all have number ones and wear black boots and now you tell me it's not about that.

Heres a thought - ever think that the reason Essendon won on Saturday is because they outplayed us on the day, in much the same fashion that we outplayed the Pies last week?

They're not tougher than us or better than us they just clicked and we didn't.

I know what your trying to say. That the haircuts and boots are a sypmtom off arrogance and getting ahead of themselves. But that is absolute garbage. Obviously you wouldnt have a clue how hard these boys work every day.

And no I didn't compare Bartel to Gibbs in terms of their playing ability, I compared their hair cuts. WOOOSSHHH. Only because you seem to care so much about what type of hair cut players run out with.

Lonergan's tackle was sloppy and worthy of a free kick, he had no intention to injure Carazzo and whilst it is unfortunate he has sustained such a serious injury, to say that he deserved weeks is laughable.

I really question people who say the tackle was sloppy. He clearly meant to tackle Carazzo as hard as he possibly could and smash him into the dirt. I'm not saying he tried to break his shoulder, but he made sure he "earned" the free kick.

Giving a free kick away in the opening minutes of the 1st quarter is not going to cause your team to lose, but burying one of the oppositions most important players will. This tactic will be used in Finals this year, but all coaches and players will deny it publicly.

Well I'm now totally confused. You just about had me convinced that the players should all have number ones and wear black boots and now you tell me it's not about that.

Heres a thought - ever think that the reason Essendon won on Saturday is because they outplayed us on the day, in much the same fashion that we outplayed the Pies last week?

They're not tougher than us or better than us they just clicked and we didn't.

I see - you mean they had a better attitude than us ?

Yes he did mean to tackle as hard as he could - and it was a 'rank' tackle - because it was a driving tackle from behind.

That said - I wish we laid on a few just as hard as that one - in response. Just maybe the game would have been different.

Ok to have structures and speed and all that 'stuff' - but execution is always built on hardness.

*wanna knwo why Geelong has dropped down a peg ? Simple: no Ling or Mooney or Milburn or Ottens hmmm what is the common denominator I wonder - oh yeah these guys woudl have allowed themselves to be 'punked out' by some pussiess from Essendon - not.

Thompson was laughing his head off last night when asked if Clubs gave missions to players regarding oppossition- he said nahh that stuff stopped years ago...

beleive that and you believe in Easter Bunnies too.

I don't give a shit about haircuts and boots. Totally irrelevant.

What I care about is them turning up and expecting it to just happen, especially against one of our biggest rivals. That's horseshit. We had that thing going on a few years back harden the **** up! Well they've done the opposite on the field, as soon as it gets tough they don't wanna fight back. It's happened more than once against this mob and that disgusts me especially after seeing how well they can do it only 8 days prior.

We were supposed to have turned the corner, matured enough as a group to know that no game is a gimme (well apart from the obvious like gws, gc, melb) But that was very similar to a few of our 2010 performances. We dished up a shit game like that once last year, against the Wiggles down here. Now it's early 2012 and already we've done it. Not a good sign!

I took a look at the fixture after we smashed the Pies and thought well if we turn up with that intensity then there's only 2 games that I can see us losing; the Wiggles in Perth and the Hawks. They were the only 2 games that we could lose and even those would be 50/50's.

Now I know we can't produce our best every week and I factored that in and thought well if we don't play our best every week then at least with that intensity we'll be competitive and hard to beat. You can bring intensity every week there should be no excuse for that.

Guess all we can do now is hope that they've finally learnt and we can see the Carlton side that played Collingwood come out every week from now on.

You have to acknowledge that carrazzo going down affected us ..even bomber thompson acknowledged that ladt night....Not a lot went right, we went into that game with not a lot of respect for essendon, younguys wanted it more, that simple

You peanuts are geting way ahead of youself...
Of course it did. If he didnt get injured Watson probably wouldnt of had 13 or so clearances and/or stants may have not had so much footy.

Personally i'm not getting ahead of ourselves and never said anything about us being better than you or anything like that, so i dont know where you're getting that from.

I don't give a shit about haircuts and boots. Totally irrelevant.

What I care about is them turning up and expecting it to just happen, especially against one of our biggest rivals. That's horseshit. We had that thing going on a few years back harden the **** up! Well they've done the opposite on the field, as soon as it gets tough they don't wanna fight back. It's happened more than once against this mob and that disgusts me especially after seeing how well they can do it only 8 days prior.

We were supposed to have turned the corner, matured enough as a group to know that no game is a gimme (well apart from the obvious like gws, gc, melb) But that was very similar to a few of our 2010 performances. We dished up a shit game like that once last year, against the Wiggles down here. Now it's early 2012 and already we've done it. Not a good sign!

I took a look at the fixture after we smashed the Pies and thought well if we turn up with that intensity then there's only 2 games that I can see us losing; the Wiggles in Perth and the Hawks. They were the only 2 games that we could lose and even those would be 50/50's.

Now I know we can't produce our best every week and I factored that in and thought well if we don't play our best every week then at least with that intensity we'll be competitive and hard to beat. You can bring intensity every week there should be no excuse for that.

Guess all we can do now is hope that they've finally learnt and we can see the Carlton side that played Collingwood come out every week from now on.

Agreed!:thumbsu: Exactly what I thought, I was reviewing the game with my Dad & He was more of the approach "Its a shame, But not to worry still early in the season, We'll be right" But the point I was making was "This is De Ja Vu! We have done this the last couple of seasons, Play a few excellent games, then drop ones we shouldn't, It's not so much the loss that is starting to concern me (Cause lets face it you're not gonna win every game) But its the lack of intensity! We must bring effort every week, then if we lost at least we know we gave it our all"

Autopsy/Ranting thread keep it all in here.