Autopsy/Ranting thread keep it all in here.

• Thread starter Thread starter Chism

Ch9 dont have the footy rights so I doubt there is any contractual obligation to send players to appear with those arseclowns. Have we not learnt that Ch9 and more specifically the footy show is no friend of ours. Why do we do it? Gibbs you would think has a little more discipline but I dont like it. And after that show today, you would think that the footy show ought to know that refusals often offend so dont bother asking. Go get Acker or such like comedians to fill your spots and larf at that juvenile misogynist Newman's jokes.

Essendon played against a Carlton with no bench for half the game.

We aren't a four player better team then Essendon.

Get real people - not only do we lose Carrazzo as tagger and ball getter - we have Laidler and Curnow playing on one leg - and who knows how long Yarran?

the significance of carrying third rate brain farts like Bower and VFL stars like McLean is then underlined in FULL Once structure and rotations are lost - you have nothing - except pressure and mistakes..compounding all day.

Rattens experiments and faith in these two hacks is costing every time they play.

The in your face hopelessness of set shots when they matter is killing us. How many gimmes did Waite miss? How many open goals misses from Simpson?

and I just heard on TV - broken scapula ( shoulder balde for Carrazzo...months away..)

We can bounce back - but we have to harden up

to many pretty boys in the team.

We dont have an enforcer we dont have the hards required to win against aggression. We just dont - and I have said before speed and brillaince isnt ever enough when it matters.

Did you read my post? I disagreed with ODN about giving Bower, Hampson and Yarran another go because they didn't put in the kind of effort that's expected and then I added Lucas and Garlett to that.

No McLean in sight, but I do think the venue and opponent will expose him quite a bit and you can't have a poor decision maker in the side it just kills momentum and Army is his replacement.

Wasnt referring to the immediately previous post but ones before that and this one where you suggest that a players short comings in a possible next game ought to dictate selection when what ought to dictate selection is the immediate last game, and on today, he is one of the few that has paid for his flight and accommodation. Make no mistake, selection is more than just picking a team for the conditions. It must, absolutely must send the correct message to the team about our culture. Dropping Mclean for any reason other than discipline for something Mclean might do during the week (like for example say he was to turn up to recovery late etc) sends entirely the wrong message about what we are about. Today's display needs an appropriate response. Or else we may as well put any hopes we may have day of top 4 away and top putting out propaganda.

Essendon played against a Carlton with no bench for half the game.

We aren't a four player better team then Essendon.

Get real people - not only do we lose Carrazzo as tagger and ball getter - we have Laidler and Curnow playing on one leg - and who knows how long Yarran?

the significance of carrying third rate brain farts like Bower and VFL stars like McLean is then underlined in FULL Once structure and rotations are lost - you have nothing - except pressure and mistakes..compounding all day.

Rattens experiments and faith in these two hacks is costing every time they play.

The in your face hopelessness of set shots when they matter is killing us. How many gimmes did Waite miss? How many open goals misses from Simpson?

and I just heard on TV - broken scapula ( shoulder balde for Carrazzo...months away..)

We can bounce back - but we have to harden up

to many pretty boys in the team.

We dont have an enforcer we dont have the hards required to win against aggression. We just dont - and I have said before speed and brillaince isnt ever enough when it matters.

Thats a fair assessment. No matter how many players you are down to though, we had already waved that white flag by the 5 minute mark and apart from some fight early in the last after already 40 points down, we didnt show much fight from the players still fit. Intent is an invisible intangible. It was visibly lacking today. The 78000 fans saw it, but more importantly, the 22 Bombers saw it and the 19 fit Blues saw it too. No one really objected too much.

We were smashed in the ruck,
Exposed out the back on the run,
Bad disposal going forward.

For me I don't think we can have Bower, Henderson, Duigan, Jamison and Laidler all in the same side. We were very slow and really exposed when Essendon spread.

We either need Thornton to play (or Walker if he is fit) we don't have enough good marking targets.

Essendon played really well, we played not so well...move on to next week

Ch9 dont have the footy rights so I doubt there is any contractual obligation to send players to appear with those arseclowns. Have we not learnt that Ch9 and more specifically the footy show is no friend of ours. Why do we do it? Gibbs you would think has a little more discipline but I dont like it. And after that show today, you would think that the footy show ought to know that refusals often offend so dont bother asking. Go get Acker or such like comedians to fill your spots and larf at that juvenile misogynist Newman's jokes.

Seriously?

just speaking for myself but I'm very ok if you devote yourself to other causes and would just hate to think you're losing money by doing otherwise

I am clearly too logical for you Kenny. You see if I follow your suggestion and don't follow Carlton then I would not even be aware of the fact that we should never have been $1.10 to $7 today.

But show me you have a brain Kenny and address some of the points in my post. 2 sentences would be a start ;) You have a bigger problem with me than the boys today LOL

Nope, he has poor awareness, and left his direct opponent free many times today. The fact that he lacks speed means he should be defensive side of his direct opponent, instead he let them free and when they got the ball they had a paddock. He put his body on the line but what did that achieve? Did it actually help the side? No, but his poor defensive work and lack of speed and awareness certainly cost the side.

As for Jeffy, Hammer, Lucas and Yazz, they should all be dropped. Ratten has to make a statement that half hearted crap like that is not to be tolerated. Robinson should be added to that list too, so many times just bombed the ball forward without even looking where he's kicking. Not only that, his kicks were all mongrels giving our forwards very little chance.

Waite also should spend the entirety of next training session having set shot practice.

Now, I was at the game, so I don't know this for sure, but I'm willing to bet we had more inside 50's than them or atleast broke even. If that's the case it shows that our delivery was poor and that our forwards were also equally as poor. It is so damn frustrating when you know thehy're capable of so much better than that. On the flip side, it seemed like the Bombers were scoring almost every time they got it in there.

We lost to a team that is second rate to us in terms of talent and skill by 5 goals and sadly that flatters us, it should've been by a lot more. And what hurts further still is that they were depleted while we were almost full strength.

And one more thing, I'm disgusted with the entire playing group for ignoring the Carrazzo incident. Mate what was that shit head thinking? He blatantly went out with the intention to injure him and not one Carlton player takes a stand. That shows you the intent right there. Unreal and I hope Hird and that ****wit that tackled Carrazzo get injured because no doubt Hird was the one who told him to take him out.

This is a good post - Yes, Ratten mentioned that we had more inside fifties, or 4 difference - he was ****ING LIVID - you could see he had either been crying like a child or screaming his **** off - he was obviously shaken up.

I am also of the opinion that someone needs to ask the question regarding Carrazzo - all week Buckley has been targeted and someone needs to ask directly if Hird suggested Carrazzo be snipered out of the game - that was a very, very clear case of trying to hurt someone - clearly intended to release Jobe - it just NEEDS TO BE ASKED - I don't care if its Wilson - just ask it.

Yarran, Garlett and Betts with their boots - fairdinkum think they're rock stars. Just completely lacking humility. Imagine Geelong players running around like that - there is a serious culture problem at Carlton, players all think they're all back with Fev on dancing with the stars or heading straight out to the X Factor auditions - they think they look cool but have no idea how embarrassing they look.

Its all well and dandy when you're doing well - but when your squibbing cheapies you just look like Nolte picking up ciggie buts or Charlie "winning" in two and a half men.

Feel for you 40yo - I felt disgusted that I wasted a mere 2 hours on the couch. Getting old, I am starting to think there are so many more things deserving emotional attachment.

I am not a tear up my membership type, but I get down to Melb only a few times a year. Last year it was v Adelaide and we almost dropped that one. But today was very very disappointing. Funny thing, we kicked the first couple of goals of the last and I remember thinking wow, imagine if we slam on 6 in a hurry and pip this mob, what a fantastic fightback that would be, but it as just my incredulity at what I had just witnessed wishing something could erase it. Doubt I will be back for a while. Even if we smash the next few wins out and regain top spot, I will still have that niggling doubt that we are a bit susceptible to the hard bodied teams that dont mind a scrap.

Watching the Eagles v Hawks game and thinking man only 26 v 27 half way through the 3rd but this is 2 gutsy teams fighting it out hard. Doubt we could match them on todays showing. There is a chance that it will so burn them that no one will get near us again. I really hope so. If we are fair dinkum I would hate to be on Freo next week. We may not just hurt them on the scoreboard.

Wasnt referring to the immediately previous post but ones before that and this one where you suggest that a players short comings in a possible next game ought to dictate selection when what ought to dictate selection is the immediate last game, and on today, he is one of the few that has paid for his flight and accommodation. Make no mistake, selection is more than just picking a team for the conditions. It must, absolutely must send the correct message to the team about our culture. Dropping Mclean for any reason other than discipline for something Mclean might do during the week (like for example say he was to turn up to recovery late etc) sends entirely the wrong message about what we are about. Today's display needs an appropriate response. Or else we may as well put any hopes we may have day of top 4 away and top putting out propaganda.

If you're referring to other posts I made, then quote those ones.

Now as for not selecting based on possible short comings in the next game, are you deluded? Things like that are factored into selection every time. If rain is expected, talls are dropped and more runners are brought in, if a player is slow, then he is likely to miss playing on the bigger grounds to avoid exposing his lack of pace. It's common sense. As for your sending a solid message to the group, I'll say this, I rate Army's AFL form above McLean's VFL form. I also rate Curnow above him and don't think we can go with having them both in our side at the same time, so i'll take Curnow thanks. Had a dodgey ankle for most of the day and still did more than Brock.

Brock had 4 kicks today and of his 13 handballs, at least half were rubbish. His defensive game was horrible he let his opponent loose far too many times and his pace is a glaring limitation. He didn't play well today like you say, but I think I know what's behind you backing McLean so much and it's quite simple really, you hate the fact that the club swapping pick 11 for him is looking more and more like a dud decision because you think the club is NEVER ever wrong in their decisions because they're the professionals that are getting paid. It's a stupid assumption to make because no matter what they're getting paid and how professional they are they will make mistakes and for one reason - they are human beings.

He didn't perform well today and so I think it would be a quite obvious omission and the playing group will not be affected by it. Especially if they go with what I said and drop Hammer, Yazz, Garlett, Lucas and Bower as well. That will send a clear message.

All I'm going to say in this post is, what the hell is Wrong with Robbo.

4 times today he just sprayed the ball and twice he was sprayed for doing it, once from Gibbs and the other from Waite...

It's just not good enough, he needs to learn his limitations and start HANDBALLING.

Bombing the ball into a congested forward line, turning back into traffic, the opposition have worked him out and they are just attacking his hips because he panics after NOT giving the first option...

And don't give me, we need him because he's hard at it, what's the use if he keeps coughing it up?

All I'm going to say in this post is, what the hell is Wrong with Robbo.

4 times today he just sprayed the ball and twice he was sprayed for doing it, once from Gibbs and the other from Waite...

It's just not good enough, he needs to learn his limitations and start HANDBALLING.

Bombing the ball into a congested forward line, turning back into traffic, the opposition have worked him out and they are just attacking his hips because he panics after NOT giving the first option...

And don't give me, we need him because he's hard at it, what's the use if he keeps coughing it up?

Yep he should have learnt by now that the first option is the best option 99% of the time so make it instinctive

Yazz and Garlett can wear these boots next week,

adult-kiss-authentic-starchild-costume.jpg

That in the back against Carrazzo - is why we don't have in the back allowed in the game - and NO GET SQUARE - you know why? because there is NOT ONE Carlton player capable of getting square with a hard bump or tackle...

There was NO BLOCKING in our game today - there was NOTHING..

pathetic display by a bunch of pretty boys in pretty boots who cant kick straight - media stars.

Meanwhile a bunch of pumped up Essendon hacks run riot - Watson ran riot shrugging pathetic pretty boy tackles ALL DAY. This isnt a real Carlton team its a bunch of primadonnas - Judd is sick of it and Murphy is as well - very obvious.

Carlton WAKE Up it isnt touch footie every game and he MC shoud stop reading the papers about some of the tossers they are picking.

WHEN we can tackle and bump hard and legally and scare the oppossition- then we have a chance- who is going t shoulder and bump and harrass - apart from Carrazzo?

Ditch the pretty boys - St Kilda turned the corner when they dropped a few of their stars and insisted on hardness.

I am furious!

WHY CHOOSE TO PLAY THIS BAD AGAINST ESSENDON! ITS ESSENDON!

Very disappointed. I would rather lose last week and at least win this game, but nooo. Where was the pressure from last week? They mauled us today.

How do we let a guy have 11 scoring shots??? 5.6?

I am booking round 21 as revenge. Better thump them! I knew there was something wrong when the odds said Essendon 7... We don't take expectations well at all!

Why do we crumble with expectations? How can we win a premiership if we turn into dust when the pressure is on? Hopefully we learn from this and DEMOLISH Fremantle. Excuse me while I go clean up the hair that is falling from my head due to the frustration! Looked like a bottom 8 team and not premiership favourites behind hawthorn.

That in the back against Carrazzo - is why we don't have in the back allowed in the game - and NO GET SQUARE - you know why? because there is NOT ONE Carlton player capable of getting square with a hard bump or tackle...

There was NO BLOCKING in our game today - there was NOTHING..

pathetic display by a bunch of pretty boys in pretty boots who cant kick straight - media stars.

Meanwhile a bunch of pumped up Essendon hacks run riot - Watson ran riot shrugging pathetic pretty boy tackles ALL DAY. This isnt a real Carlton team its a bunch of primadonnas - Judd is sick of it and Murphy is as well - very obvious.

Carlton WAKE Up it isnt touch footie every game and he MC shoud stop reading the papers about some of the tossers they are picking.

WHEN we can tackle and bump hard and legally and scare the oppossition- then we have a chance- who is going t shoulder and bump and harrass - apart from Carrazzo?

Ditch the pretty boys - St Kilda turned the corner when they dropped a few of their stars and insisted on hardness.

Only one thing I;m sick of at it;s these trolls

Happy to withdraw my view if you tell me how I am wrong.

otherwise you know what to do with your insult.

Chill...

What do you mean Judd is sick of it and Murphy is sick of it

Hows this for an alternative scenario. Lonergan drives Carrots into the ground, I hesitate to say determined to physically hurt him in order to give Stanton a chop out from the tag. 2 or 3 players run in and sit Lonergan on his arse with intent. We cop a free against us and they kick a goal. But the message that sends to the rest of their players and to ours is we wont cop that and will give as good as we get.

Instead we sent them a message loud and clear that we are not up for that kind of contest and they dominated us from that moment on. I dont care that we were up at 1/4 time, the game was already over. I said to the people I was at the game with, that they have hurt us physically lets see if they have hurt us mentally. They had.

It would've been the first thing the essendon coaching said at 1/4 time,

Marvin, you are a Bay 13 act a long way from home. Not sure if you are one of ours or pretending to be, but let's not force me to decide. Gather up the troupe of cabaret monkeys, pack the caravan and take the show back out on the road. All the best.