Autopsy/Ranting thread keep it all in here.

Don't worry guys, the great thing about footy is we get to fight another day ;)

Yep there is next week and it;s only round 4

They can carry on all they like, give me a 10 goal win in a final any day

Essendon defender Sam Lonergan is in the clear for a tackle, despite Carlton midfielder Andrew Carrazzo being sidelined for up to two months with a fractured shoulder blade.

So it seems that you can tackle as hard as you like driving a guy into the ground from the back - and cop a free kick as your only punishment.

pfffffffffft

cant bump ( all players now duck their heads into tackles )
can't tackle hard in front especially shorter players - all players duck their heads into tackles

but can hit as hard as you like from behind spearing players into the ground and sitting on their heads as long as you don't jump on them twice..

really good rules.

I have raised this amazing inconsistency on the North board:

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=936100

The game has moved to the point where ball winner is not only penalised, but not protected whatsoever.

Forget the rants Essendon were tougher,Harder and clearly wanted the ball more ,Carrazzo was the victim of a poor tackle and i cant believe the BS that it was premeditated,supporters need to harden up take it on the chin and realise that Essendon were worthy winners.
Ps Hocking always goes to Judd why was this not negated by the coaches just saying.

Forget the rants Essendon were tougher,Harder and clearly wanted the ball more ,Carrazzo was the victim of a poor tackle and i cant believe the BS that it was premeditated,supporters need to harden up take it on the chin and realise that Essendon were worthy winners.
Ps Hocking always goes to Judd why was this not negated by the coaches just saying.
kudos to you.

Lonergan's tackle was sloppy and worthy of a free kick, he had no intention to injure Carazzo and whilst it is unfortunate he has sustained such a serious injury, to say that he deserved weeks is laughable. Btw i know its nice seeing Murphy say he "can't wait to play us next time", but if i was a Blues fan i wouldve wanted to see a bit more fight and aggression (towards the ball and going hard at the man) during the game instead of whinging about it after.

You guys have a quick and skillful side, just need to learn how to harden up a bit and stand up when a side brings a tough contested game to you. It's the reason why i think you can smash average sides but werent able to beat the top 4 sides last year

The thing that annoyed me most about Sat is we played as if we expected things to go our way. We just thought it would happen for us, but clearly it didn't. We werent fierce and let them be first to the ball. Once we got those key injuries it only made the job even more difficult considering we didn't go in hard at all.

I am being optimistic and hoping that Sat was an aberration. I honestly can't see us putting in a performance like that again. We have improved too much for us to serve up the rubbish again. Ess played their best football of the yr against us to date but I think we were responsible for making them look better than they are.

Would be nice to respond with a good performance against the Dockers.

You guys have a quick and skillful side, just need to learn how to harden up a bit and stand up when a side brings a tough contested game to you. It's the reason why i think you can smash average sides but werent able to beat the top 4 sides last year
You're not qualified to talk about toughness and re-write history after one game. This was the first time that you've managed to beat Carlton in the last five attempts. You didn't even put up a fight in the finals against a Carlton side that wasn't even our best 22.

I have raised this amazing inconsistency on the North board:

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=936100

The game has moved to the point where ball winner is not only penalised, but not protected whatsoever.

Certainly seems so at times.

However injuries do occur and that is a fact of life.

What I wanted to see was the same hardness at the ball and at the Essendon players that they gave to us. Ratten said that they "were more in our face"

But most posters on here seem to not understand that that was the Coach telling it like it was- they were more aggressive in teh contest than we were.

I don't think Laidlers injury in the first minute cost the game either or his playing on one leg for the match. We were ahead in Q1.

I don't think that Curnows injury cost the match either - by that time we were down by nearly 50 points.

I dont think that Jamison or Duigans lack of match fiitness cost the game either - they were unlucky not to make a huge impression as forwards.

I dont think that Bower's numerous errors and ineffectiveness up front cost us the game either.

Waites inaccuracy and Gartletts innacuracy were minor factors. Simpsons three misses dint matter either.

It didnt matter that Stanton and Watson ran riot in the bounces and rucks.

Hey our ruckmen did a great job the week before - so they took a well earned rest against Essendon..didnt matter

Nahh none of it mattered..it was a training run.

the only thing that mattered and cost was that we lost 4 points and pretty much delivered a final 8 birth to Essendon - see every little failure didnt cost the game naa

It's Tuesday and I'm still so frustrated with that effort! Worst we've played for at least 2 years, if not worst ever under Ratten. Thank God our next game is Friday. Won't have to wait long to make amends and get that winning feeling again.

kudos to you.

Lonergan's tackle was sloppy and worthy of a free kick, he had no intention to injure Carazzo and whilst it is unfortunate he has sustained such a serious injury, to say that he deserved weeks is laughable. Btw i know its nice seeing Murphy say he "can't wait to play us next time", but if i was a Blues fan i wouldve wanted to see a bit more fight and aggression (towards the ball and going hard at the man) during the game instead of whinging about it after.

You have to acknowledge that carrazzo going down affected us ..even bomber thompson acknowledged that ladt night....Not a lot went right, we went into that game with not a lot of respect for essendon, younguys wanted it more, that simple

You peanuts are geting way ahead of youself...

You have to acknowledge that carrazzo going down affected us ..even bomber thompson acknowledged that ladt night....Not a lot went right, we went into that game with not a lot of respect for essendon, younguys wanted it more, that simple

You peanuts are geting way ahead of youself...

How many Essendon supporters are ringing talkback stations declaring we're flag favourites and top 4 certainties?

None. We enjoyed our win on saturday but we know there is still a long way to go. Don't be so quick to pass on the buck to us. :thumbsu:

How many Essendon supporters are ringing talkback stations declaring we're flag favourites and top 4 certainties?

None. We enjoyed our win on saturday but we know there is still a long way to go. Don't be so quick to pass on the buck to us. :thumbsu:

How many Carlton supporters were ringing to say we were flag favorites ? It was the media spouting that nonsense.

I'm reckon we are backing ourselves in to reach top 4 and so we should. Given our performance last year it would be equally ridiculous to say we think we are going to finish 5th or 6th

It's like the Carazzo incident. All the Bomber posters accuse us of whingeing were as I think you'll find the vast majority of Carlton posters have no problem with the incident and just see it as part of the game.

I honestly think that performance was an aberration on Sat, it was just a case of we were well and truly off our game and they lifted and played some of their best football.

I still have no doubt when push comes to shove, we are a better side than them and will deliver against them when we need to. It's just disappointing we put in a performance like that against one of our biggest rivals.

I couldn't see us serving up that garbage again. Can't wait to see our response against the Dockers. I expect to see a lot of passion in our performance.

You're not qualified to talk about toughness and re-write history after one game. This was the first time that you've managed to beat Carlton in the last five attempts. You didn't even put up a fight in the finals against a Carlton side that wasn't even our best 22.

you're only as good as your last game mate. This is 2012, not 2011.

Is that the argument you used to question us after our pre-season?

We're not a ten goal better side than Collingwood, but everything went right in that game.

Credit to Essendon, but we didn't show up with everything going wrong on the day.

Not a lot different to Essendon getting out of jail after a shocking performance against the Suns.

Autopsy/Ranting thread keep it all in here.