Autopsy Autopsy vs Freo - ****

Those Picketts, Krakouers, Riolis and Longs...

So soft.
With all due respect, I’d donate my own “Gentlemens Soft Boiled Eggs” for a Pickett, Krakouers and/or Riolis for North
….
Not that anyone would take me up on that…

With even greater respect, I’d donate our mods ones…. Not that it’s a viable idea either… unless…

Maaaaaaaaaaaate you gotta stop trying to be so sneaky and manipulative. It's interesting that you started this clip when you did, and showed the clear high-tackle.

But you know what you forgot? The only reason Harley had the footy to begin with was Powell missed a 20m kick badly and turned it over;

So... yeah. Not sure what you think this 'proves'?

It would if they were Indigenous. It doesn't mean that there aren't scaredy-cat white players. But there have been enough scaredy-cat Indigenous players now for that contact-averse runner to be a trend. Blokes who've been brought in for pace and explosiveness (commentators love to describe them as mercurial) and they sometimes end up delisted due to their deficiencies in that area. Motlop from Carlton is another. Carlton fans hate him, but he'll no doubt have us on toast this week.

Also, you're referring to tagger Ryan Clarke there. I'm not sure he qualifies
WTF 😬

Important question reading through the last few pages of this thread:-

What’s the pecking order of the following insults that have been used? Imbecile is clear, and I’m familiar with and understand that no one likes being called a muppet, but where does ‘you banana’ sit. How bad a thing is it actually to be a banana? Quite like nanas myself.

Please confirm if this is the ranking, from most insulting to least insulting, so I know where I stand:-

1. Inbecile
2. Cretin
3. Fool
4. Clown
5. Campaigner
6. Muppet
7. Banana

?
monty python the french guard GIF

Lol he had to hang off him to bring him to ground. Why didn’t he attack the hips? Cat. Harley nearly dragged him to the 50 by his neck
Reid has ten kilos and over an inch on Powell but Tommy still brought him down. Like you said, he's a b grade player. If he works hard and shows that sort of commitment he'll compliment the other more talented players we have in the side.

We aren't professional footballers though. It's like if a plumber was bad at dealing with poo in his job. You certainly wouldn't be pleased with him if he came to your house and baulked at the blockage you'd summoned him there to deal with.

It might click for him, but, and feel free to accuse me of racism here, there is a tendency amongst some Indigenous players to avoid the contest. Mosquito for Essendon was one. Spicer another. Narrier another. Lewis Jetta another. Brad Hill another. Liam Henry another. I think it's something in their personality/make-up. Usually they're shy, humble blokes who just want to run with the footy and kick it, and sometimes, if the player knows how to receive the ball from teammates, that's enough. Often, if they don't, it isn't.

It's predominantly mental, and we've definitely seen Stephens turn it around, but, and this might veer into dodgy territory again, Stephens doesn't have things within his brain that are hard-wired towards certain footballing attributes. There's a 'type' of Indigenous footballer, generally. And they stay that way their whole career. Stephens has already come on in leaps and bounds, showing that there isn't really an 'archetype' for his style of play.

Just my observations. I'm not trying to stir up shit here, I'm greatly concerned at the drop-off in Indigenous player numbers. Just putting forward my interpretation of what I've observed. I hope to Christ that RHJ can learn to find the ball enough that we're not discussing him as a liability three weeks after he puts in a performance like he just did, because that's exactly what happened after the Melbourne game
The players you have listed there were all rather lightly framed. Perhaps it has more to do with that as to why they may appear to be have been a little contact averse rather than being indigenous or not. Brett Allison was lightly framed and definitely a receiver of the footy but he played in a team loaded with hard at the contest types. Lighter framed footballers are possibly a little more hesitant in a contest on occasions as a survival instinct. Many indigenous players are naturally lightly built, that's what gives them their speed and athleticism and make them so exciting to watch. In my opinion there are no cowards on an AFL field, they all receive their share of hard hits throughout their careers both indigenous and non indigenous.

That's a fair enough argument

Loved that, a 300 game veteran knowing where a player needs to be asks his AA key forward to lead at him, he proceeds to want the easy ** goal out the back and Luke just goes ** it - I’ll finish it myself
I rode this goal hard on Saturday night

Then after being made aware of who Parker was motioning to come at him, I realised once again Larkey was not leading at the ball carrier.
sigh

The fact Luke measured up the situation and said **** it and dobbed it anyway - nothing can sum up our current situation and these 2 footballers more than this play.

I rode this goal hard on Saturday night

Then after being made aware of who Parker was motioning to come at him, I realised once again Larkey was not leading at the ball carrier.
sigh

The fact Luke measured up the situation and said **** it and dobbed it anyway - nothing can sum up our current situation and these 2 footballers more than this play.
Larkey did actually change his lead at the last moment and presented but by that stage it was right as it left Parker’s boot sailing through for goal. Hoping Larkey learns from it

Or Parker was trying to get Larkey to clear the goal square for him, as he was going with a low trajectory kick

And Luke may have always intended to shoot for goal and didn’t want larkey taking his man down there. Which is what ended up happening. No harm no foul.

I reckon larkey and Parker were on the same page about that too. Sure he has flaws, especially when he is low on confidence (who doesn't?), but he's not a complete nincompoop.

Or Parker was trying to get Larkey to clear the goal square for him, as he was going with a low trajectory kick

That's why forwards are meant to lead FORWARD. Not backwards.

Either you present yourself for a mark and a good shot on goal, OR you create useful space. Both are good.

Leading backwards is bad on all fronts.

That's why forwards are meant to lead FORWARD. Not backwards.

Either you present yourself for a mark and a good shot on goal, OR you create useful space. Both are good.

Leading backwards is bad on all fronts.
There are times when leading towards goal is a good idea - certain bloke wearing number 18 for our club was pretty good at it. But Larkey certainly over does it, and isn't particularly suited to it with his marking style, as he doesn't protect the drop zone well enough but his marking style would actually be suited to leading towards the ball carrier, but for some reason he is allergic to it

Watching On The Couch and thinking that it may good for some of our posters to go on 2-week road trip to WA!!😀😀
It was a great road trip for myself and the family.

Picked up an RV in Perth, drove to Bunbury with the family and stayed at the Bunbury Glade caravan park for 2-nights only 15-minutes walk from the ground. Lots of North supporters also staying in the caravan park, with many wise conversation had after the win by some slightly drunk supporters.

Spent the 2-days in Bunbury, then drove to Augusta via Busselton, Witchcliffe Pies, Margaret river and Leeuwin Estate wines. Stopped at a butcher in Augusta, picked up some Italian pork snags, Margaret river cheese and spent 2-days in a caravan park on the river in Augusta. Drove across to Pemberton and stayed in the caravan park for a night, finishing off the cheese, wine and snags.

Drove back to Perth, dropped the van off, and booked into 3-nights in the Esplanade in Freo.

We went to a great restaurants in Fremantle, Tonic and Ginger, and another night at Sandrino.

PRO's.
Great trip, we should have won the game versus Freo (probably lost versus the Eagles).

CON's
If we are being charged $450 for the WA game membership, the club should have arranged designated North member areas; RE grandstand seating in Bunbury that was first come first serve basis. If we go again, I'll not buy the $450 membership, and just try and buy tickets when they are released, and buy the best available for OPTUS.
The bank balance, between the flights, the RV hire, hotel, food, drink, memberships etc, we burned through a lazy $8,000 in the 8-days we where over.

Autopsy Autopsy vs Freo - ****