Autopsy Autopsy vs Richmond

Part of the reason the game felt so weird was two-fold: most stoppages (139) in any game for nearly two years (!) dating back to Brisbane v Adelaide in Round 11, 2023.

And also the most combined tackles (184) in a game this year, and going back to Adelaide v St Kilda in Round 18 last year. If I've got my reading right on that second point, anyway.

Put those two together and the funkiness of today makes sense I reckon. And also probably a good thing to not capitulate under that pressure even if it registered negative style points.
That was huge.

They through so much at us and we still held on to win. Every time they came at us we held them off and that's why we won.

I hope we put a video together comparing Lynch’s treatment to Larkeys. Kingy should be bringing this shit up.
100%

Absolutely disgraceful umpiring standards.

Lynch getting frees that weren’t there and Larkey getting blocked, held and arms chopped regularly and constantly ignored.

Someone needs to call out the double standards.

Didn’t stop them from giving no existent free kicks to that germ Lynch with him constantly whinging like a bitch.
Might be the tone of how he speaks to them. We definitely get umpired differently, so change things up. Club needs to start pointing this crap out. But for Larks to stand there arguing and waving his arms, while the ball moves away, is completely useless

I think if he actually stops complaining then human nature is he will get rewarded. The umps won’t give him the ones that they don’t feel are blatant.
He appeals to t(e umol’s far too much for my liking. Just keep competing.
it's true. The more you complain the less you will get. Been through this myself at a decent level sport...used to whinge a fair bit and the refs just won't give it to you. And you can see it throughout football over the many years...they just won't give you the rub of the green

Sometimes its also just the more you don't want something the more you get more of it. The less you do the less you get of it. Even with body issues...as soon as a more severe issue pops up that other injury or impairment will suddenly disappear (part of that is your body's defence).

Its just nature's law....like you can find in Fibonacci, karma etc

Might be the tone of how he speaks to them. We definitely get umpired differently, so change things up. Clubs need to start pointing this crap out.
We get umpired differently because even the umpires see us as irrelevant.

It’s like they think they will get a reward if they **** North over for one of the AFL’s darling clubs.

it's true. The more you complain the less you will get. Been through this myself at a decent level sport...used to whinge a fair bit and the refs just won't give it to you. And you can see it throughout football over the many years...they just won't give you the rub of the green
Doesn’t apply to Nick Daicos who is currently the biggest whinger in the game.

It’s nothing to do with whinging, it’s the umpires perception of us as a club.

I was up and beating my thighs into a sore mess when we were wavering as the line approached. I was shouting “why North, why”. 🤣 Such a relief.
Definitely a fair bit of frustration for everyone on this board!

Doesn’t apply to Nick Daicos who is currently the biggest whinger in the game.

It’s nothing to do with whinging, it’s the umpires perception of us as a club.
That is part of it. But it doesn't help you doing it and def works against you.

Haven't noticed it about Daicos myself.

Umpiring aside its better for Larkey to try not to as it just gets too much into your game

Some prick knew I'd be watching the footy and hacked my bank account, got a message thought that was a scam now I'm waiting for the bank to get back to me. Hey but I'm happy my footy team won
This sounds like a job for Toby Pink.

You don't know how we're going to win more than 3 games?

We could have easily had 3 wins in the last 3 games leading up to today.
Exactly. Some peoples reactions on here is quite illogical, was it pretty, no, to many times people still get way ahead of themselves on where we are at the moment, we are making giant strides in different directions but some directions just take time unfortunately, like close games, we are getting better but have work still to do, decision making is getting better but some players doing some very strange things in the heat of battle, little mention to the Tigers for giving 110%, they made some mistakes to but some of their premiership players played very well in that last quarter when the game was up for grabs.

My take from the game; 1/Tristan played amazing again, to think a couple of years ago the reactions of people on his future and that after Toddy left that we are going to be in strife, a little warning, things are never as bad as they seem.

2/ Colby, Colby, Colby. I have seen a few posters not only pot the kid but absolutely come to the conclusion that he is not only hopeless but a soft crab and that we shouldn't have selected him in the national draft, I'd rather not comment on what I think of those rather poor takes on the boy and rather say that this was his best game by a country mile and one of the reasons we won was a combination of efforts in that last quarter from him, LDU, Tristan Tommy Powell, Toby Pink coming of his man time and time again and George {The warlord} Wardlaw, boy oh boy his efforts in that last quarter like out on the wing when he just hip & shouldered a premiership player out of the way to get the ball and set up a goal, I'm sure is not lost on anybody, one or two kicks went astray but generally he was really good, I mean REALLY.

3/ LDU, Another who played a ripping game and caused the Tigers box a few headaches, his tenacious work around the ground and his ability to find a team mate with the all important handball was soooooo good , even more so in that last quarter.

4/ We won, period, no more needs to be said, on to next week, where we owe the Pies a little present! From my prospective, the votes for our team goes as follows;

Colby, Quite simply brilliant, made a few mistakes, so what? Took the game on, showed a lot of ticker and his kicking was very good, brought others into the game and how many tackles did he finish up with? Contrary to some and like Tristan, LDU and a few others, will make quite a few on here look very foolish in the years to come and before I see the go home factor mentioned, he's a "Rooboy", won't be going anywhere.

2/ Tristan, the top two you could go either way, but a breakout game if ever I've seen one from Colby, Tristan played a controlled performance as the day wore on and never relented, gee we've been lucky with our rucks over the years but this beast is on the verge of All Australian blazer if he keeps on this rich vein of form, very good.

1/ LDU, some might think like Colby they were average, watch the game again and focus on him, and do the same for Colby, their plan was to negate him at all costs, they couldn't do it, he worked so hard, it sometimes defies belief of the silly criticism on here, great game.😌

That is part of it. But it doesn't help you doing it and def works against you.

Haven't noticed it about Daicos myself.

Umpiring aside its better for Larkey to try not to as it just gets too much into your game
Daicos waves his arms so much every time he doesn’t get a free or a free against him. The bloke is going to take off one day.

Happy Tv Show GIF by Pablo

Part of the reason the game felt so weird was two-fold: most stoppages (139) in any game for nearly two years (!) dating back to Brisbane v Adelaide in Round 11, 2023.

And also the most combined tackles (184) in a game this year, and going back to Adelaide v St Kilda in Round 18 last year. If I've got my reading right on that second point, anyway.

Put those two together and the funkiness of today makes sense I reckon. And also probably a good thing to not capitulate under that pressure even if it registered negative style points.
Have to build the mental toughness to win games one brick at a time.

Hanging in tough today fighting back last week.

We just gotta keep going. The turn is in the mail.

I said multiple times in the game time thread just believe!

We absorbed enormous, almost record breaking pressure, and still never gave up. We finally started out well so we have also changed our game in that perspective. We are progressing.

We all sit here and complain that last week wasn’t a win etc and now we get one even playing not well, get the win, and you campaigners are still not happy.

Great win and it’s going to actually finally validate our progress over the past month 💙🩵💙
Couldn't have said it better myself. :thumbsu::)

I am confident to say that we are three players (rotated out of our side) in becoming a handy side. Swap Scott with Duursma, Corr with Goater and Daniel with…? Phillips? We are instantly better.

Autopsy Autopsy vs Richmond