Autopsy Autopsy vs Swans

A lot blokes out there today who were up for a push and shove session every time the siren sounded to end a quarter , but when the ball was in dispute and someone had to win it ... our boys were nowhere to be seen .

This is a very good point. At all levels of footy. I hope the coaches noticed as well.

Left at half time. Mother's day commitments. Thank God I did.

What I DID see in the first half was the Swans continually pumping the ball out of the centre. Our backline was being smashed and did a pretty damn good job considering Scott decided to play EVW and Durdin there with their 5 games or so collective experience. Our forward line had no structure and obviously missed Waite however IMO the blame sits fair and square at the mids and our leaders.

Their mids aren't Usain Bolt and neither are ours so it's not like I was expecting we'd be burnt for our speed however time and time again they got their hands on the ball and ours didn't. They wanted it more and smashed us. The toughest thing you can do is continually run hard and keep presenting options. Their players, as a collective were relentlessly presenting around the ground and leaving North Melbourne squibs in their wake. It was embarrassing.

It's a continuing trend that under pressure, the majority of our team, most worryingly many of our leaders, fold and fumble and make bad decisions.

Definitely our worst game of the year. Coming off our best game of the year. Maybe drunk our own bathwater I reckon.
I pray it was but an aberration.

JMac was terrible and to me he has been really disappointing this year, I've been a fan of him but he's consistently getting beaten in 1 on 1's and hasn't been as good as usual offensively either.

Yeah I'm a big fan but I reckon he needs a spell. The commentators offered some very rare insightful analysis by highlighting how little both he and Atley had given us in terms of run/verve/spark, although Ats was good last week. Mullet however is offering significantly more atm, which would have been very hard to believe a year ago. However, this goes to show that things change - we were unstoppable last week, putrid today - we can bang on about mentally weak players and a shit coach etc etc but ultimately it's also just footy. We all want more consistency but every now and then it is just not your day.

We'll roll the Dees next week most likely. Wins never as good/losses never as bad as they seem etc. etc. But yes, would be very happy to see JMac and Atley given a rocket by being dropped. Dumont, Wood and Clarke and Anderson on notice too.

One thing that annoyed me most was lack of Whistle..........I want to win more than anyone, but it was clearly evident that the players were rattled and complaining by the umpiring it was totally non existent at times against us.
We didnt deserve to win the game but the umpiring was again, deplorable,

I'm pretty sure deliberate has been around since the 1930s at least. I like the stricter interpretations of deliberate and thought the umpires were starting to get it right till a bunch of flogs in the media started whinging.

OK, you are right. It pretty much been a rule forever. I am not a fan of the overzealous umpiring when they pay the free when the ball takes a sideways bounce after a 20 or 30 meter kick. I did get it wrong in my previous post though.

Scott well and truly out coached today.

Blind Freddy knew that Sydney were going to peel off and go to Brown today with Waite out, yet we persisted at kicking it on his head all day. A good coach would have made a point of telling his players to lower the eyes and try and hit up the forward they were peeling off to make the defenders more accountable and give Brown more opportunity to go one on one.

Point 2 - What the **** was that defensive set up? Left space in the Sydney forward line for them to operate in. A good coach would have clogged their F50 because we had the weapons to beat them in the air. There goals were from breaking into space, not aerial dominance.

Terrible coaching. Gave Sydney everything they wanted on a platter.

It didn't help that we had a ruckman that was shit frightened to compete in the centre. But that's also a blunder for not picking Pruess.
Don't pin it all on Scott. It's common sense for the players to lower their eyes and find a target. Sitting it on the head of wood and brown (who are leading forwards) was lunacy. The worst part is our players do it more when we are behind and the opposition just parks a loose player back. Scott is right we have some dumb footballers that make the same mistakes ad nauseum. Play to our forwards strengths. That bomb it long shit does not work especially when daw, wood, waite, and brown all play better on the lead.

With no second tall forward they just rolled off and double teamed Brown. And we kicked it long and high the whole game expecting an injured 200cm beanpole with two blokes inside his colon to win us the game.

Should have played Pruess and swallow at least then brown wouldn't have been double teamed all day, we might have won more of the biff and our mids may have performed less badly.

Dare I say it but we needed Swallow's clearance work to help Cunnington today. No one else even looked like getting a centre clearance.

Agree. We've tried to play Swallow on the outside this year so that Dumont could play inside (presumably) but that didn't work. Thankfully Spitta had responded in the VFL and should come back in HOPEFULLY to play inside.

Where that leaves Jack I'm not sure. I'd also like to see Mountford come in and play an outside role. We were one midfielder short yesterday, partially because Dumont had his worst game of the season, as did Luke. They are both young still and will learn from that.

We need Jacobs back ASAP also. Would have been handy yesterday.

Agree. We've tried to play Swallow on the outside this year so that Dumont could play inside (presumably) but that didn't work. Thankfully Spitta had responded in the VFL and should come back in HOPEFULLY to play inside.

Where that leaves Jack I'm not sure. I'd also like to see Mountford come in and play an outside role. We were one midfielder short yesterday, partially because Dumont had his worst game of the season, as did Luke. They are both young still and will learn from that.

We need Jacobs back ASAP also. Would have been handy yesterday.

Jack goes half forward for rest of year

Almost every player looked incredibly lethargic. Would love to know that gastro or a cold swept through the team this week because otherwise there is no excuse for some of those efforts.

Given the changes to the team preseason I think his is what we have to expect. World beaters one week and amateurs the next. Only saw 2 and a bit quarters but we were off the boil early. Thrashed in the middle - game over.

Almost every player looked incredibly lethargic. Would love to know that gastro or a cold swept through the team this week because otherwise there is no excuse for some of those efforts.

I had to seriously laugh at the rubbish we served up all of our own doing. The best kicks i saw were in the warm up because as soon as that whistle went we couldn't hit a target by foot if our life depended on it. The amount of times we got the ball allowed our players time to spread then kicked straight to the opposition which had all our players doubling back to try and catch the same players they had just run off was laughable. We should really sack the skills couch or the recruiters for drafting players who cant hit a target. Even in the last quarter when we had a slight chance we couldn't put any scoreboard pressure on them from our shit kicking for goal. I do find it amusing some players calling for the ball 50 meters away when the player with the ball couldn't hit a target even 20 meters away.

Not me.

Been disappointed in Anderson so far, whilst acknowledging his injuries.

Yeah me too. Time he delivered far more than he has been. He's got good pace,hardness and ok skills,should be able to find space easily and getting it 20-30 times a game. Can't figure it out unless he's playing a specific role I haven't noticed that is designed to limit his possie count to 10-15.

Don't pin it all on Scott. It's common sense for the players to lower their eyes and find a target. Sitting it on the head of wood and brown (who are leading forwards) was lunacy. The worst part is our players do it more when we are behind and the opposition just parks a loose player back. Scott is right we have some dumb footballers that make the same mistakes ad nauseum. Play to our forwards strengths. That bomb it long shit does not work especially when daw, wood, waite, and brown all play better on the lead.
It's his job to get the message across. He had 3 breaks to drum it home. It didn't change all game. I would have liked to see him change the structure and leave Brown one out for a while to see if Sydney still kept number back? Anything would have been better than watching us kick it to Sydney numbers or their loose.

A plan B would have been nice. Maybe leave a clear paddock 60 m from goal and park Atley, Anderson and anyone else with speed closest to goal. At least then it would have been a footrace, rather than our elite ability to pick out a Sydney player or to kick to a contest where we're outnumbered.

Autopsy Autopsy vs Swans