Autopsy Autopsy vs WCE

Interesting to have a look at our strengths and weaknesses over the last 5 games:
WC - 10 point win
Collingwood - 48 point loss
Richmond - 4 point win
Brisbane - Draw
Essendon - 3 point loss

Stats tell a good story I reckon:

Good:
1st for scores from Kick-ins with 8.4 points per game (comp avg. is 3.4)
2nd for Total Clearances with 44.2 (avg. is 38.3)
3rd for Scores from Stoppage with 34.8 (avg. is 31.5)

4th for Contested Possessions in the comp with 138.4 per game (avg. is 132.9)
5th for Shots at goal divided by Inside 50 with 49.4% (avg. is 46.9%)
7th for F50 Ground ball gets with 15.4 per game (avg. is 15.1)

Interesting extras:
Over the last 5 games our opponents average 30 points from stoppage (7th best in comp - avg. 31.8)
Over the last 5 games our opponents average 42.4 points from turnover (8th best in comp - avg. 44.5)

18th in the comp for Defensive 1v1 with 8.0 per game (avg. is 11.3)
9th for tackles with 64.8 (avg. is 64.5)
17th for tackles inside 50 with 8.8 per game (avg. is 11.6)

Bad:
15th for Marks with 79.2 (avg. is 87.4)
15th for Pressure Acts with 262.4 (avg. is 272.9)
17th for Inside 50's with 46.2 per game (comp avg. is 51.9)
17th for Time spent in Fwd half with 47.3% (avg. is 49.9)

17th for Intercept Marks with 11.8 (avg. is 15.4)
18th for scores from Turnover with 24.0 (avg. is 44.0)

Highlighted the stats that I think tell the best story of how we're going. Over-simplifying our game using these stats:
  • Dominant at stoppage.
  • When it gets inside 50, we score at a good clip.
  • Not getting it inside 50 enough
  • Can't score from turnover
  • Need to focus on winning the territory battle more to get the ball in our forward half for longer periods

Interesting to have a look at our strengths and weaknesses over the last 5 games:
WC - 10 point win
Collingwood - 48 point loss
Richmond - 4 point win
Brisbane - Draw
Essendon - 3 point loss

Stats tell a good story I reckon:

Good:
1st for scores from Kick-ins with 8.4 points per game (comp avg. is 3.4)
2nd for Total Clearances with 44.2 (avg. is 38.3)
3rd for Scores from Stoppage with 34.8 (avg. is 31.5)

4th for Contested Possessions in the comp with 138.4 per game (avg. is 132.9)
5th for Shots at goal divided by Inside 50 with 49.4% (avg. is 46.9%)
7th for F50 Ground ball gets with 15.4 per game (avg. is 15.1)

Interesting extras:
Over the last 5 games our opponents average 30 points from stoppage (7th best in comp - avg. 31.8)
Over the last 5 games our opponents average 42.4 points from stoppage (8th best in comp - avg. 44.5)

18th in the comp for Defensive 1v1 with 8.0 per game (avg. is 11.3)
9th for tackles with 64.8 (avg. is 64.5)
17th for tackles inside 50 with 8.8 per game (avg. is 11.6)

Bad:
15th for Marks with 79.2 (avg. is 87.4)
15th for Pressure Acts with 262.4 (avg. is 272.9)
17th for Inside 50's with 46.2 per game (comp avg. is 51.9)
17th for Time spent in Fwd half with 47.3% (avg. is 49.9)

17th for Intercept Marks with 11.8 (avg. is 15.4)
18th for scores from Turnover with 24.0 (avg. is 44.0)

Highlighted the stats that I think tell the best story of how we're going. Over-simplifying our game using these stats:
  • Dominant at stoppage.
  • When it gets inside 50, we score at a good clip.

• Not getting it inside 50 enough
  • Can't score from turnover
  • Need to focus on winning the territory battle more to get the ball in our forward half for longer periods.

Is score from turnover dependent on generating turnover, or is it solely once you've generated a turnover whether you score from it?

Its just the amount of points scored from a turnover. I suppose it's dependant on generating turnover in the sense that the more turnovers you generate, the more chances you have of adding points via that method?

One thing that hasn't been mentioned enough times is if we are ever in need of a late goal to win the game, get Fisher off the ground, or at least away from the forward line

You expect the score wet toast produced to happen every year? When other time has collingwood kicked 3.8 in a quarter this year? We have played teams at half strength. It’s flattering. But you can hang your hat on that.

Perhaps you should or someone should compare inside 50’s against from 24 to 25. Marks inside D50 from 24 to 25
I already mentioned we are 3 kicks away from having a 1 win season and a 10 week losing run.

It becomes too cloudy trying to to assess specific performances and in-game variables, because these fluctuate.
Hence the default back to percentage.

Its a simple obvious metric that either says you are shit, thereabouts or flag worthy.

Yeah, we are bottom or near bottom in the AFL in most defensive stats including pressure acts, tackling and thus we have a low amount of scoring from turnovers because we are also poor at retaining the ball and geenerating inside 50s.

We threw a lot of numbers back against West Coast to stem the bleeding but we really need more pressure around the ground and clean up our disposal, it would make a huge difference to the scoreboard. Our turnovers in the first 3 quarters in particular were just horrendous, we should have been 5-10 goals down against a side worse than us simply because they tackled and pressured and we weren't anywhere near as good at it.

North Melbourne v West Coast

9 Tristan Xerri (NMFC)
9 Colby McKercher (NMFC)
5 Harry Edwards (WCE)
3 Liam Baker (WCE)
2 Caleb Daniel (NMFC)
1 Elijah Hewett (WCE)
1 Jy Simpkin (NMFC)
I am surprised to see us snag 21 of the 30 coaches votes on offer, given how the game panned out.

I already mentioned we are 3 kicks away from having a 1 win season and a 10 week losing run.

It becomes too cloudy trying to to assess specific performances and in-game variables, because these fluctuate.
Hence the default back to percentage.

Its a simple obvious metric that either says you are shit, thereabouts or flag worthy.
Dude applying the same logic we were 3 kicks (or less) from 4 more wins which would have us in the 8, thanks for the positive thoughts 😎

One thing that hasn't been mentioned enough times is if we are ever in need of a late goal to win the game, get Fisher off the ground, or at least away from the forward line
Well seems he'll either kick it or miss :p

Career 53 goals 53 behinds. Time at North 0 goals 5 behinds

The above is all a bit shit tbh.

That's a long time ago. I think the bounce went straight to Simmo that day? Little did i know that it'll be 17 years before we comeback again like that.
I could be wrong - I can’t find it yet. I was sure we beat PA in Marvel after falling about 22 behind in the last quarter.

The older of us on here would remember the crows loss in the GF. Simply cant kick 1 g 10 pts without being a massive chance of losing. Having said that when we were 16 points down late i was convinced the void was to far.
I was a teen then so I remember it vaguely still. Carey spudded up a number of chances in the first half by memory

Definitely a game we should have ended at half time. Oh well.

Stories out of Bunbury on Sunday suggest North won the game.

We haven't exactly made a habit of that recently. Yet the carry on.

We had a team employ a defensive extavaganza on us which they hoped would get them a win like it did against St.Kilda a few weeks back. We kept chipping away and we found a way through, eventually. Yet the carry on.

Regardless of the opposition, a win is worth celebrating. Yet the carry on.

Our 'supporters' are terrible. Just terrible.
Lol. Putting the inverted commas on supporters, as if we haven't been emotionally beaten black and blue by this team of frauds. I left the game when we were WINNING. Because I didn't have it in me to sit through any more of their ****ing bilge. I've stopped recuperating. There is no enjoyment in watching them. None. Yet like a ****ing idiot I continue to go, reasoning that mayyybe things will be different this time.

Shall I point it out again? That no fanbase has had to reach as deeply as us for nearly sixty years? And before that, thirty years? And before that, another thirty years? In the second year of the twentieth century?

Yeah, we're disappointed at conceding 30 extra inside 50s to a team who we should've outmatched on every line. Yeah, we won. Novel. But they kept us in it. If we refuse to go to another gear against lowly opposition, as we now should be able to, why should we expect it against anyone else? We had to make the comeback, yes, and good for bloody them, but what, exactly, about that game, with only Archer missing, against the wooden spooners, missing their defensive, midfield, AND forward generals, made you think, 'yeah, we're gonna be fine?'

Seriously. This isn't 2023 ffs

Lol. Putting the inverted commas on supporters, as if we haven't been emotionally beaten black and blue by this team of frauds.

Shall I point it out again? That no fanbase has had to reach as deeply as us for nearly sixty years? And before that, thirty years? And before that, another thirty years? In the second year of the twentieth century?

Yeah, we're disappointed at conceding 30 extra inside 50s to a team who we should've outmatched on every line. Yeah, we won. Novel. But they kept us in it. If we refuse to go to another gear against lowly opposition, why should we expect it against anyone else? What about that game made you think, 'yeah, we're gonna be fine?'

Seriously. This isn't 2023 ffs

:darts:. I decided to rewatch this mythical last quarter everyone was talking about in here, desperately hoping that it was just red mist that was preventing me from seeing a great fightback people were referring to the first time around. Went in with a wide open mind. It was even worse viewing it with fresh eyes.

Only when presented with mentally and physically exhausted 21 year olds as opponents, and on the back of a 32 year old 300 game veteran import doing most of the work, were we able to put together 9 minutes of half decent footy. Half decent footy being blazing away at goal until the law of averages kicked in and a few of them went through. Even watching the "captains goal", the WC opponent simply stood still, like when you are playing a 2 player game of AFL Live and your mate accidentally unplugs the controller, and watched Jy have an unimpeded kick for goal.

Stand by my original assessment (and a few other who dared say it)-for the future of this club, to lose this game would have been a better result. Right now there should be a good old fashioned 90s style midweek crisis meeting, with staff and players getting door stopped on the way into training, instead we have a week of back slapping and mucking around in WA videos until we get absolutely reamed by a Freo outfit desperate to beat up on an easy opponent to convince themselves theyre not an average team. 💔💀🤮

:darts:. I decided to rewatch this mythical last quarter everyone was talking about in here, desperately hoping that it was just red mist that was preventing me from seeing a great fightback people were referring to the first time around. Went in with a wide open mind. It was even worse viewing it with fresh eyes.

Only when presented with mentally and physically exhausted 21 year olds as opponents, and on the back of a 32 year old 300 game veteran import doing most of the work, were we able to put together 9 minutes of half decent footy. Half decent footy being blazing away at goal until the law of averages kicked in and a few of them went through. Even watching the "captains goal", the WC opponent simply stood still, like when you are playing a 2 player game of AFL Live and your mate accidentally unplugs the controller, and watched Jy have an unimpeded kick for goal.

Stand by my original assessment (and a few other who dared say it)-for the future of this club, to lose this game would have been a better result. Right now there should be a good old fashioned 90s style midweek crisis meeting, with staff and players getting door stopped on the way into training, instead we have a week of back slapping and mucking around in WA videos until we get absolutely reamed by a Freo outfit desperate to beat up on an easy opponent to convince themselves theyre not an average team. 💔💀🤮
Not sure if losing would be better, I'd say it'd be better if the game is wiped from the record, the ladder, and our memories. Calculate our ladder positions relative to everyone else by percentage of games won.

But yeah. Hardly inspiring. We're well ahead of them and Richmond, or SHOULD be, but time and time again show ourselves to be utterly incapable of anything other than an excruciating arm wrestle. With multiple players that those clubs would take in a ****ing heartbeat. I'll obviously shut right up if we come out and beat Freo this week, but honestly, what ****ing lunatic would predict that result based on the evidence

Watched the last quarter twice and enjoyed the following:

1. Sheezel giving it to Harley - showed to me that Harry is happy to get involved in the dark arts of winning football games.

2. Colby - slicing and dicing the opposition.

3. FOS - All business!! Doesn’t need to be in a group hug to celebrate his first goal. And you must be good if Healy is celebrating you as a North player.

4. Parker - Looks great in the North colours asserting himself.

5. Xerri - Clarkson backed him and he is leading this team from the front. Our own Max Gawn!!

Autopsy Autopsy vs WCE