Society & Culture Awkward Mates

I have a mate who is the wost wingman.

I'm sitting next to this alright chick on a ride at Adventure World, my mate's on my other side. Just before the ride starts, while I'm talking to her, my mate decides to announce "I really need to take a huge shit".

I have more stories but I cbf.

Maybe he was doing the noble act of smashing his plane nose-first into the dirt so you as Flight Leader could complete the mission and fly home triumphant with stinky fingers.

Never thought of it that way, did ya?:cool:

i know a bloke and he is one of my good friends who is massively awkward and embarrasing* to be around espically with women. his one main intrest is soccer and that is what his wardrobe revolves around he is one of the nicest blokes i know and he cops a fair bit of shit.

it's just coming to a head now as everyone else has grown up and moved on from this sort of thing.

anyone else have any awkward mates that you love but cringe anytime your with them out in public? .

I guess... your the mate that's a prick lol

I'm definitely an awkward mate. I'm not strange or anything, though that's open to debate. Most people just think I'm really quiet. I'm not shy, get me on a topic that I'm interested in and you won't shut me up. I just find it hard to engage in small talk. Someone will say something to me and half and hour later I'll think, "I should have said that" but at the time it just doesn't come to me.

2009_the_hangover_008.jpg

It's called a satchel. Indiana Jones wears one.

Maybe he was doing the noble act of smashing his plane nose-first into the dirt so you as Flight Leader could complete the mission and fly home triumphant with stinky fingers.

Never thought of it that way, did ya?:cool:

I wish I could, but you, fortunately, don't know him. He is just that much of a ********.

bumping cos i can

awkward mate 1: total nerd and unafriad to flaunt it. rarely ever talks about anything other than videogames or his girlfriend who is the female equivalent of him. for as long as i can remember always been like this. somehow has a surprising amount of female and male friends. could be a group of 5 or 6 people talking at a bar at the pub just talking shit and he will always just start talking about video games. it drives me nuts and i just zone out or walk away and its frigging embarrassing

awkward mate 2: nice guy, socially fine, looks normal, but f me he comes out with the weirdest lines. always been well liked by people but has definitely put quite a few off with general weirdness. i still dont understand it.

awkward mate 3: the guy always trying to get into any girls good books, overly friendly to any female and basically comes across as a creep if theres any girls around

caught up with all 3 of these guys on the weekend since we all went to highschool together and they were all in town and wanted drinks. not really friends with any of them anymore maybe see them twice a year at stuff like this when a big group of us from highschool get together. but bloody hell it was the most awkward night ive seen in a while. keep in mind there were decent girls with us as well and god i was just shaking my head with embarrassment the whole night. and im a frigging number 1 on ceasars list and looked like the most competent social guy around

Hahaha... awkward mates.

None of mine are really awkward. They just have other social disabilities like wearing weird clothes when they go out, having a complete inability to laugh, and wanting to never ever do anything unless every single one of their friends are going as well. Most of the people I'm mates with at uni are super weird though. Hipster types who are too apathetic and boring. In Arts, it's those or the gay guys.

Arts itself is pretty weird. Like there's a perceivement that, in class, by liking footy I'm a bogan. But when I spoke to guys at footy training, mentioning I was a Journalism student was seen as some social faux pas. It's hard to find that middle ground. I kind of have friends that don't know one another at all, which is good (I do tend to get sick of people easily), and bad.

Oh, and seeing as there's some self evaluation here... I'll sometimes say some ludicrously stupid shit when I've had a few beers. It's nothing offensive and it wouldn't warrant a punch in the head. But it definitely raises some "WTF" eyebrows. I like to think this only happens once or twice a night.

I dunno, the guys I knew in high school were, in retrospect, pretty charismatic and hugely outgoing people. I tend to get a bit overeager and overexcited in comparison, because that's the level I was always used to, so that makes it impossible for me to 'play it cool' (which is seriously detrimental when it's concerning women). I have no problem with public speaking, and I enjoy doing orals at uni and talking to people, but I dunno, I wouldn't say I'm that awkward.

Hahaha... awkward mates.

None of mine are really awkward. They just have other social disabilities like wearing weird clothes when they go out, having a complete inability to laugh, and wanting to never ever do anything unless every single one of their friends are going as well. Most of the people I'm mates with at uni are super weird though. Hipster types who are too apathetic and boring. In Arts, it's those or the gay guys.

Arts itself is pretty weird. Like there's a perceivement that, in class, by liking footy I'm a bogan. But when I spoke to guys at footy training, mentioning I was a Journalism student was seen as some social faux pas. It's hard to find that middle ground. I kind of have friends that don't know one another at all, which is good (I do tend to get sick of people easily), and bad.

Oh, and seeing as there's some self evaluation here... I'll sometimes say some ludicrously stupid shit when I've had a few beers. It's nothing offensive and it wouldn't warrant a punch in the head. But it definitely raises some "WTF" eyebrows. I like to think this only happens once or twice a night.

I dunno, the guys I knew in high school were, in retrospect, pretty charismatic and hugely outgoing people. I tend to get a bit overeager and overexcited in comparison, because that's the level I was always used to, so that makes it impossible for me to 'play it cool' (which is seriously detrimental when it's concerning women). I have no problem with public speaking, and I enjoy doing orals at uni and talking to people, but I dunno, I wouldn't say I'm that awkward.

Same, I'm either going on about my film studies, sci-fi, rock music, or football. And none of those topics to the same person.

Try being a B&S Ball attending, ute driving, hunting, fishing, former footballing, former abattoir labouring post graduate economics student at one of the best institutions in the country (apparently).

Kinda wish my mates were a bit awkward, all of them are just massive alcoholics and who love going on benders. Don't get me wrong its awesome to have mates like that though.

I have a mate who is the wost wingman.

I'm sitting next to this alright chick on a ride at Adventure World, my mate's on my other side. Just before the ride starts, while I'm talking to her, my mate decides to announce "I really need to take a huge shit".

I have more stories but I cbf.

Out-****ing-standing post.

I am now having second thoughts about the open invite to the GD night out. Are you all really going to be that f*cking awkward? I make friends with anyone over a beer and was not at all concerned...however this thread has left me with the vision of 15 blokes (and Dale's Girl) standing in a room in complete silence, fidgeting with pockets, phones & beer labels. Maybe Chargers will kill someone and break the ice.

It will depend if Charges can get off his murder charges ( no pun intended*). Maybe we can get him up on a video link from prison.

*ok maybe the pun was intended

Try being a B&S Ball attending, ute driving, hunting, fishing, former footballing, former abattoir labouring post graduate economics student at one of the best institutions in the country (apparently).

Having some trouble with the latte sippers from Camberwell and North Shore Tex?

I have a mate who is a habitual grass cutter, except rather than taking off with the goods he just mutilates it. You can be chatting up some babe and he spot you across the room and lurch in at any oppurtunity and destroy the entire situation in one swift blow of awkwardness by saying something compeltely stupid or irrational. End result the babe walks away disgusted.

Still, one of my best mates!

I knew that. Figured the student body at ANU would be of that upper crust demographic.
If and when I actually speak to some of them, I'll get back to you. From the few conversations I've had, they seem alright, but a lot of the guys in my classes are working full time/studying part time

I've got a mate who doesn't really go out much, so he can't really control his grog. He fluctuates being social and awkward, but generally the former... but when you put beer into him, he becomes the most annoying person you've ever met. Screams loud, throws himself everywhere... and there's just no way of controlling him. It's good to see him finally be social, so you dont want to stop him from being so, but you want to stop him from how he's doing it...