B grade

Most people warned us about Oak Park before the season started. Maybe an upset on GF day will be the only hope anyone has.

Looking forward to the day Jacana have a win, so long as it's not against us anyway.

KP look to have a good senior side. We're working with them in helping out their U12's when ever we can.

Will be down at CMR on sat arvo to check out our game against Roxy.

Quite possibly the worst umpiring performance ever.

It was hard deciding which call was the worst of the day
a) Roxy player handballs to his team mate after taking a mark, his team mate is then tackled and a 50 metre penalty awarded to Roxy

b) the waist high tackle from behind which was called as "too high", followed by a random 50 metre penalty.

c) the Roxy player takling too long after getting a free kick, being called to play on, he started ro run, was tackled and then told to retake his kick.

If that is the best the EDFL have got, then we are all in strife. The junior of the two umpires was not even up to and under12 standard with her knowledge of the rules. The umpires coaches should never have put her in that position in the first place.

The umps need to realise a) just how big of a penalty 50 metres is (especially when it takes a team from 55 out to 5 out from goal)
and b) the affect their bias can have on clubs that are struggling for each and every win they can get.

It was all made even worse by the fact one of them appeared to be enjoying the ridicule form the sidelines and the players!!!! Disgraceful!

It was hard deciding which call was the worst of the day
a) Roxy player handballs to his team mate after taking a mark, his team mate is then tackled and a 50 metre penalty awarded to Roxy

b) the waist high tackle from behind which was called as "too high", followed by a random 50 metre penalty.

c) the Roxy player takling too long after getting a free kick, being called to play on, he started ro run, was tackled and then told to retake his kick.

If that is the best the EDFL have got, then we are all in strife. The junior of the two umpires was not even up to and under12 standard with her knowledge of the rules. The umpires coaches should never have put her in that position in the first place.

The umps need to realise a) just how big of a penalty 50 metres is (especially when it takes a team from 55 out to 5 out from goal)
and b) the affect their bias can have on clubs that are struggling for each and every win they can get.

It was all made even worse by the fact one of them appeared to be enjoying the ridicule form the sidelines and the players!!!! Disgraceful!

What are the clubs this then?? If it is that bad then surely the clubs should look at what can be done about it. Possibly the best way to address this issue is to make the clubs provide 1-2 people to be trained and prepared to be an umpire. I would rather do that than put up with this sort of thing each week.

Have to admit if I was coping sh!t all day I would give a bit back to the crowd.

The Umpiring was terrble nothing against female umpires but its hard to see a female umpire being able to control a senior game if it gets abit out of control...

mindbender said:
What are the clubs this then?? If it is that bad then surely the clubs should look at what can be done about it. Possibly the best way to address this issue is to make the clubs provide 1-2 people to be trained and prepared to be an umpire. I would rather do that than put up with this sort of thing each week.

The clubs provide 4 kids every week to do boundary, some of them are keen to look at this as something they'd like to do in the future. I know my son looks forward to doing it as much as he does playing on the weekend.

mindbender said:
Have to admit if I was coping sh!t all day I would give a bit back to the crowd.

Not all day, just when she stuffed up.

I personally think she's got the makings of a good umpire. Good loud clear whislte, clear signals and she's fit. Although she cost us some points, she has the arrogance required to probably make a pretty good fist of it further down the track.

The clubs provide 4 kids every week to do boundary, some of them are keen to look at this as something they'd like to do in the future. I know my son looks forward to doing it as much as he does playing on the weekend.

Not all day, just when she stuffed up.

I personally think she's got the makings of a good umpire. Good loud clear whislte, clear signals and she's fit. Although she cost us some points, she has the arrogance required to probably make a pretty good fist of it further down the track.

I understand all the frustration. I was just looking at what options we have available. We need umpires...badly. I just think if it is a real issue, which I think it must be as I have seen similar posts on the A Grade thread then then clubs should probably look at what they can do to help out.

As you say you have 4 kids doing boundry with the thoughts to go to field umpiring. I just think this should be encouraged..

Huge day down at Haddy on Saturday with a great turn up to the players reunion and a massive effort from the team to bounce back and beat a quality side in Pacco.

heard Hadfield seniors have proposed a new player payment system next year? Apparantly it is being based on an incentive scheme which rewards the players playing good football...
Apparantly as much as $600 for BOG followed by $500, 400, 300, 200, 100 will be paid as weekly incentives!

Any truth to this and do you think it is the way to go??

any big names? sharka train? heard he is leaving......but he is employed by a bloke at haddy

Nah, not sure what Sharka's up to at the minute? Heard he and a few others were'nt happy with the new money incentive base system that the club has put in place!

Not sure about him being employed by someone at the club though?
Some new faces there the other night though, believe some ex West Coburg and Roxy players all having run??

Nah, not sure what Sharka's up to at the minute? Heard he and a few others were'nt happy with the new money incentive base system that the club has put in place!

Not sure about him being employed by someone at the club though?
Some new faces there the other night though, believe some ex West Coburg and Roxy players all having run??

i like the new payment system......rewards players that play well.......sharka has nothing to fear with the new system as he is one of the best players in B grade. i played 18's with sharka.....great player ordinary bloke.

Any other off-season news around?

How about Tulla's end-of-season trip to Bendigo: Thousands of dollars of damage to the motel they stayed in, and no-one prepared to cough-up for the repair bill!!!

In fairness not everyone was involved. Some players even packed up and left when they saw what was happening.

Any other off-season news around?

How about Tulla's end-of-season trip to Bendigo: Thousands of dollars of damage to the motel they stayed in, and no-one prepared to cough-up for the repair bill!!!

In fairness not everyone was involved. Some players even packed up and left when they saw what was happening.

hmm not good IF true. my club was crucified earlier this year over an incident we had(not footy trip related). sometimes reputation hurts a club. tulla dont have a bad reputation so they should be ok. tulla have done well to keep it under warps if it is true though

Can some one tell me how Taylors Lakes let a player like Wiggins go?. Shouldn't the best player in there team be signed up before the end of season 2009. I have read alot about him & problems at Taylors Lakes on the other side.( not sure how much is true) I only watched 4 home & away games & finals & can't see how they are going to cover the loss. Don't know why or who is to blame, but ? have to asked.

Where you from Kwame your a negative trouble making pest i just checked most of your replys.

retired now but just played my last season in the rdfl this season helping out a mate at rockbank.....have played at a few clubs though throughout my years.

hmm not good IF true. my club was crucified earlier this year over an incident we had(not footy trip related). sometimes reputation hurts a club. tulla dont have a bad reputation so they should be ok. tulla have done well to keep it under warps if it is true though

True as I sit here today. Not sure if they've sorted it out yet but still hadn't a couple of weeks ago. How those baboons thought they'd get away with it is beyond me.

Where you from Kwame your a negative trouble making pest i just checked most of your replys.

So did I, and no he's not. What's wrong with pointing out downsides anyway? If everyone was positive and agreed with eachother, there would just be you and your best mate (???) on here because no-one would read it.

I'm all free speech here as long as it doesn't go too far (swearing, slander getting too personal, etc.).