B Section B Section 2009

WELCOME TO THE b SECTION BOARD.
i WAS WONDERING HOW LONG IT WAS GOING TO TAKE FOR A NORTH 1 TO JOIN IN. NOT LONG
I AM WASTING MY TIME AS YOU OBVIOUSLY DON'T HAVE ANY UNDERSTANDING WHY CLUBS HAVE UNDER 19'S.
IF YOU THINK YOU GUYS WINNING THIS YEAR( WIHT PLAYERS RESISITING PLAYING SENIORS) WHILST THE SENIORS GET RELEGATED IS SOMETHING THE CLUB WILL BE EXCITED ABOUT, THEN YOU ARE SERIOUSLY DELUDED.
IT WON'T MATTER IN TEN YEARS TIME IF U WIN A SECTION NORTH FLAG!

Funny_Pictures_2683.jpg

a flag is a flag mate. and in my opinion its worth twice as much if u win it playing with your mates who you've played along side through six years of schoolboy footy (getting flogged by some of the strongest school teams in victoria - pegs, marcelin, assumption)

why would you hinder that chance just to make up 2 or 3 numbers in the senior side?

i think you'l find that the boys in that team have been waiting for a shot at a flag for years and i certainly wouldnt be doubting their commitment to the footy club. they all plan on sticking with the club post-19s and the seniors will reap the benefits from that then, but to say that an unders premiership means nothing.. i think thats pretty deluded in itself

I like, probably most of the contributers on this thread, have tasted success at a junior level. As it turns out I was lucky enough to play in two U/19 winning grand finals.
When I look back on my footy career these U/19 premierships would fail to make it into my "highlight" reel. They mean nothing in the whole scheme of things. All they mean is that we had a good group that would hopefully take the club forward in the years to come. Looking back at the success my club had in the seniors, there was always 3 or 4 eligible U/19 players in the side and amount 10 hoping to get in.
I think that it says alot about where a club is at when the U/19's don't want to play in seniors.
Where are my U/19 premiership medals? Who the f*ck knows. Probably in the same box as my U/10 encouragement award!!!

I like, probably most of the contributers on this thread, have tasted success at a junior level. As it turns out I was lucky enough to play in two U/19 winning grand finals.
When I look back on my footy career these U/19 premierships would fail to make it into my "highlight" reel. They mean nothing in the whole scheme of things. All they mean is that we had a good group that would hopefully take the club forward in the years to come. Looking back at the success my club had in the seniors, there was always 3 or 4 eligible U/19 players in the side and amount 10 hoping to get in.
I think that it says alot about where a club is at when the U/19's don't want to play in seniors.
Where are my U/19 premiership medals? Who the f*ck knows. Probably in the same box as my U/10 encouragement award!!!
I think it says a lot where a club is at when they start blaming their U/19's for seniors losing games, when infact they rarely ask any U/19 players to play, and they just drop them when they feel like it and I'm sure having a few U/19s in the side would not greatly affect the results of their games.

Maybe they should stop worrying about the U/19s and turn up to training...

Of course they have, in fact in 99 had one of their best wins in A Section kicking 6 in 5 mins in time on in the last q to win by 3 points.
Pretty moronic comment re Dowd and Simmo from Murphy, how would St B go without Jordan and Libba?
OH are looking at the trap door but if I had to pick relegation now I would say Camberwell are dead certs to go down.
They have a few issues and the President needs to kick some heads NOW.[/quote]

Absolutely agree with you Bwian, first and foremost the President has to establish who Snag is, or is it Zoo? Discover if he has communicated with Nick ......... and if he has, immediately show him the door, because disloyal behavior should not be tolerated!
The club position on why it is important to stay in B section should be explained to the U/19s
The U/19s should occasionally train with the senior group, pub crawls and parma nights are great but there is no substitute for working with people to cement relationships
The senior group should be encouraged to mix with the U/19s, one very common complaint is that the senior side don't want to know the juniors
The club should look at the elegibility requirements for finals football and explain it to the U/19's, after all if they only need 6 games or whatever to play finals football I'm sure that they wouldn't have any hesitation in playing a few games at the senior level

Hey kick-in-the nuts, your not a football person as your post reeks of bull sh*te and an arrogant a**hole who discredits anyone playing.

Funny how you have changed your stance on finals - Remember this post J-Off?

Go back to D3 thread where crap is CRAP!

get_a_kick
BigFooty Apprentice

Brisbane
Re: D3 Section 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by JobDone
So do tell me Get_A_Kick, why have they gone out in straight sets 2 years in a row? Are you going for the 3peat this year?
Can they not handle the pressure of finals football or just the 3rd best side every year?
You can talk a big game but when it comes time to show it on the field there isn't much action when the time counts!

POSTED by get_a_kick
Hey moron, do a bit of research before posting...
How many years has your club being languishing in D3? I guess when you strive for mediocrity the pressure of finals football probably doesn't rate too highly. The pressure of the season seems to be too much for you at this stage.
Nevermind, you can come and watch us next week and once again dream about what it is like to play finals...

Hey kick-in-the nuts, your not a football person as your post reeks of bull sh*te and an arrogant a**hole who discredits anyone playing.

Funny how you have changed your stance on finals - Remember this post J-Off?

Go back to D3 thread where crap is CRAP!

get_a_kick
BigFooty Apprentice

Brisbane
Re: D3 Section 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by JobDone
So do tell me Get_A_Kick, why have they gone out in straight sets 2 years in a row? Are you going for the 3peat this year?
Can they not handle the pressure of finals football or just the 3rd best side every year?
You can talk a big game but when it comes time to show it on the field there isn't much action when the time counts!

POSTED by get_a_kick
Hey moron, do a bit of research before posting...
How many years has your club being languishing in D3? I guess when you strive for mediocrity the pressure of finals football probably doesn't rate too highly. The pressure of the season seems to be too much for you at this stage.
Nevermind, you can come and watch us next week and once again dream about what it is like to play finals...

I'm not a football person?? My post reeks of bullshit??
How would you know that Einstein??
How have I changed my stance on finals?? What was my stance before??
Am I not playing??

Refer to highlighted quote.
Lastly, your little play on words with my handle - pure gold!! Hilarious...

I will lob in a predictions post.

1. Skevs - Gotta love Gia, Dowd and Big Ben. Home ground adv.
2. Snowdogs - Young, quick, have BJ back
3. Melbourne. Go Grammar
4. OT's - Rambo is big

5. Carey - Slow start will hurt. But suddenly look the goods
6. Blacks - Injuries are biting
7. Ormond - Maybe this is harsh?
8. Rovers - Will just hang on
9. OH - Old timers.
10. Camb - See OH, but with more attitude

Absolutely agree with you Bwian, first and foremost the President has to establish who Snag is, or is it Zoo? Discover if he has communicated with Nick ......... and if he has, immediately show him the door, because disloyal behavior should not be tolerated!
The club position on why it is important to stay in B section should be explained to the U/19s
Snag is not Zoo, and what's wrong with Snag's posts? He speaks a lot of sense on the situation at OC. In regards to how I got my info, I got it over a couple of beers with some mates from Camberwell after the SKOB game, hardly CIA stuff Mixfish.

The bottom line is any successful club picks their teams like this. Seniors first, Under 19's second if the 19's are in Section 1, not Section far kin North 1 violet, otherwise reserves so the senior match committee can get a good look at the young talent then 19's then club 18.

Now don't start thinking that it should be any other way, ask Old Xavs, ask St Bedes, ask anyone with real knowledge of VAFA football. Now if Camberwell aren't following that formula then they only have themselves to blame, not the 19s kids themselves, it's the committee who govern the club and the senior match committee.
You represent your club, not a team in your club and if you dont like it take the soft option and go elsewhere like CH did two years ago. Become a solution NOT a cancer around your club and if there is someone leading this push give him the ass straight away, no matter who he is.
It's easy to get relegated but hard as hell to go up a grade.

I will lob in a predictions post.

1. Skevs - Gotta love Gia, Dowd and Big Ben. Home ground adv.
2. Snowdogs - Young, quick, have BJ back
3. Melbourne. Go Grammar
4. OT's - Rambo is big

5. Carey - Slow start will hurt. But suddenly look the goods
6. Blacks - Injuries are biting
7. Ormond - Maybe this is harsh?
8. Rovers - Will just hang on
9. OH - Old timers.
10. Camb - See OH, but with more attitude

bit stiff, ormond going pretty well first up from c grade in a while

id wait until after next week... if skevs win at the snake pit (and beat bernards for the first time in 10 games) they would be well and truly on top. If they dont, i'd have 1st-OMs 2nd- Bernards 3rd- Skevs

Otherwise, good. and yes, rambo is big

Have just read through the past few days of posts, and the public ventilation of spleens re: Old Camberwell is worrying. I'm sure they'll get things right in the coming weeks and stay up.

Interesting to note their U19s play in the same division (North 1) as St Bernards. I trust Chris and ML can vouch that the relationship between senior/U19 groups at the Pit is a bit more settled?

Frankly, there are only 3 decent teams in the North 1 comp anyhow (Bernies, OC and Fitzroy). The Fitzroy kids are playing together save for 3 regularly in the seniors and a couple who have played a game each when asked. Its a difficult balance to strike, but hopefully once OC's U19s have their finals spot confirmed and/or are playing against weak sides they can offer a bit more support to the senior team(s).

Sorry if this post seems a little more about U19s than B section seniors, but frankly the young fellas are always the future of each club that wants to go places in the VAFA.

PS - Rambo may be big, but Cultrera is bigger.

Interesting betting movements from season start to the break from SP.

SKOB 6/1 into 7/2
StB 5/1 and steady
OM 7/1 into 3/1 out to 4/1
OT 8/1 into 6/1 into 5/1

Ormond 20/1 into 15/1 into 8/1
Uni B 7/1 to 6/1 out to 8/1
OCarey 5/1 out to 12/1 into 10/1
OH 4/1 to 6/1 to 10/1
HR 20/1 to 15/1 out to 20/1
OCam 6/1 to 8/1 to 10/1

Big Firmers - apart from top 4 has to be Ormond and the (as usual) late charging Old Carey (still great value going by last year)

Big Sliders - OH (firming rapidly for the relegation though) and OCam

Have just read through the past few days of posts, and the public ventilation of spleens re: Old Camberwell is worrying. I'm sure they'll get things right in the coming weeks and stay up.

Interesting to note their U19s play in the same division (North 1) as St Bernards. I trust Chris and ML can vouch that the relationship between senior/U19 groups at the Pit is a bit more settled?

Frankly, there are only 3 decent teams in the North 1 comp anyhow (Bernies, OC and Fitzroy). The Fitzroy kids are playing together save for 3 regularly in the seniors and a couple who have played a game each when asked. Its a difficult balance to strike, but hopefully once OC's U19s have their finals spot confirmed and/or are playing against weak sides they can offer a bit more support to the senior team(s).

Sorry if this post seems a little more about U19s than B section seniors, but frankly the young fellas are always the future of each club that wants to go places in the VAFA.

PS - Rambo may be big, but Cultrera is bigger.

All teams would have resistance from u/19 players having a ball playing with mates in a winning side. Especially if its the first taste of success. Think OC should worry about getting rid of the behind the play stuff from what I saw of them. Plenty of talent.

bit stiff, ormond going pretty well first up from c grade in a while

id wait until after next week... if skevs win at the snake pit (and beat bernards for the first time in 10 games) they would be well and truly on top. If they dont, i'd have 1st-OMs 2nd- Bernards 3rd- Skevs

Otherwise, good. and yes, rambo is big

Just after an opinion, why does everyone rate Ormond so much more than Hampton when they have only won 1 more game. Rovers, have been beaten by Skobs by 3 points at Skobs ground, 16 points to Uni Blacks (which included a qtr which had the Blacks kick 8 goals to none, while Hampton were one short for the second qtr), down by 5 points to OM's until 12 minutes to go and the clearly they were too good in the end kicking 8 goals consecutively. Only really outplayed for a full game by Bernards out there & Trinity last week. I know the old saying if my auntie had balls, but if Hampton won on the weekend we would be sitting where Ormond are. Personally i think both teams are going quite well & it is a pretty even comp. For mine Skobs & OM's were the most impressive when they linked up and ran the lines.

LF, your comments a valid. In terms of Ormond I think it was their win over OM's that shows they are capable of beating teams inside the 4. HR have had a crack at the top 4 without (although close) no success thus hard to see them getting into the 4 without that success. Positive for HR is the eveness of the side with majority of players contributing without any major standouts.

FOR MINE - In the one game I saw they were very competitive however a lapse for half a quarter exposed their lack of defensive pressure if a side kicks 2 quick goals. Seemed as though the backs retreated into 'it wasn't my fault' attitude - just need to toughen up as sides can 'ignite' on these lapses. Also lask of pace from HB and lack a quality Half forward who will slip in and inflict damage - day I saw the HF had very little impact when the team seemed to play wide to the flanks - if the GP is to go out wide then inside then these guys need to lead harder and also be accountable on the rebound - again, seemed to stop when opponent ran off them - just concentration. Also got smashed at the Centre Bounce quite abit - whatever structure in place doesn't work and may need to go more man on man at the bounce and especially at throw ins across HB & HF - again, seems to be a lack of presence and tactics in these areas. Opposition won 70% and damaged HR at the back of ruck contest.

All in all I'm hoping HR actually stay up this year as they have a number of young enthusiastic guys thriving on B Grade footy ( a couple need to muscle up to withstand some of the bigger guys especially at OM's etc to make a presence ) and that all goes well - if they go down they may drop right off

Do you really need to seek validation from a forum?

Seeing it's representative (State of Origin) footy time again this weekend, good luck to all players who have been selected to wear the Big V in the following games-AFL Queensland (Toorak Park), Western Australia (Fremantle) and the Vic Country League (Barooga).

yep, well done all.

very quiet on here today.... lift people, ....its friday arvo

Sorry Unc., I thought he wanted an opinion

cheers

CC

No need to apologise. You're welcome to an opinion. Was trying to make a point that we're not here to seek validation from forumites. There's a task ahead of us and we need only worry about ourselves. The rest will take care of itself.

Jesus, Mick...where've you been?....we've been worried sick!

Busy times HBP. Never too busy for you though, old chap.:thumbsu:

is it just me or are bernards terrific value at 16 dollars on sportsbet at the moment. u ould think they would have come in after the last few weeks.....

https://www.sportsbet.com.au/sports...629/RoundPID/19661/EventID/952801/MenuLevel/C

Old Melburnians 2.00
St Kevins 2.50
Uni Blacks 10.00
Old Trinity 10.00
St Bernards 16.00
Ormond 16.00
Old Haileybury 17.00
Old Carey 34.00
Hampton Rovers 41.00
Old Camberwell 51.00

very surprised
interesting to see what happens after their biggest test of the year tomorrow-week.....

Good luck also to those that didnt get a gig when smashing the p*ss over the long weekend.

Remember a water between drinks boys...