B Section B Section 2009

hotly contested game between st kevins and old carey.. tight first half which saw carey go in leading at halftime with inaccurate kicking by skob and accurate kicking by carey proving to be the only difference in the first half.. a few injuries to carey then made it tough for them to get back as skevs ran all over them in the last, with ben dowd putting on an absolute clinic with six goals from the midfield... bit stiff for carey to lose some players but skob were good and with simpson and williams still to come back in the side, things are looking good down at righetti
Yes a good game, with SKEVS deserved winners though flattered by score. Carey were 5 goals up when they lost their last on the bench and 11 points up when the captain was sent deep forward with a hammy. More injuries in last quarter. Noticed Rowe and Stewart-Holmes not playing for Carey

Scrappy game at Gunn. As it's only the first hit-out it's too early to make predictions but both would need to improve to be contenders IMO. Luke O'Sullivan for the Bernies was a major factor in their win.
Agreed. Inaccuracy cost us dearly, kick some of those goals & the scoreboard pressure mounts. A few sitters missed, but we hardly disgraced ourselves.

What's faced more balls than Ricky Ponting's cricket bat???

Cardio Carl's chin.

Yeah, I give it a 4/10 B4L - heard better.

your denial to provide an answer typifies why OH has gone from a powerhouse in A grade and now staring at going to C Grade in the space of 3 years.

The destruction has come from a change in policy where selection is to generate a marquee club environment hoping to cling on to the 'cliff edge' of VAFA relegation using guys that have RETIRED from the Highest Grade of Football that they aspired to - whilst denying young kids the chance of STRIVING TO PLAY AT THE HIGHEST LEVEL OF FOOTY THEY COULD AIM FOR.

I will keep it simple - the club is intent on selecting guys COMING DOWN - whilst turfing out guys trying to GO UP!. The policy is reflecting the momentum of OH at the moment.

Comeback with some more pub jokes etc etc, however the biggest joke has already been exposed by the OH committee's change in player recruitment and selection policy.

Wonder where the OH committee percieve they will be in 2-3 years time when Harvey,Loewe, Brown, Voss just have to give the game away - where will they be positioned in terms of VAFA Grading and the 2nd & 3rd generation players that have NOT been developed through the club?

6 goals from the SKOB captain. Is Ben Dowd the best player in the VAFA?

Impossible to tell without playing in A section but the poor bloke the PC sent out to tag him in the second half probably thinks so....does anyone know what the story is with Freemantle? He was dominating in the centre before going off.

Agreed. Inaccuracy cost us dearly, kick some of those goals & the scoreboard pressure mounts. A few sitters missed, but we hardly disgraced ourselves.

Just putting it out there but I am going to predict that Ormond will do well on smaller grounds (Rhegetti, OH, ) and struggle on the bigger grounds... Bernards were 3 men down at qtr time and still managed to run Ormond out of it.
Lot of bigger bodies out on their feet half way thru the 3rd quarter.

Madden was pretty much BOG providing a lot of run and stopping robbins from having much impact at all.
CHF for Ormond is a gun, very very good pair of mits.

and whoever asked it, yes Dowd is a gun, but I still rate Simpson better.

Yeah, I give it a 4/10 B4L - heard better.

your denial to provide an answer typifies why OH has gone from a powerhouse in A grade and now staring at going to C Grade in the space of 3 years.

The destruction has come from a change in policy where selection is to generate a marquee club environment hoping to cling on to the 'cliff edge' of VAFA relegation using guys that have RETIRED from the Highest Grade of Football that they aspired to - whilst denying young kids the chance of STRIVING TO PLAY AT THE HIGHEST LEVEL OF FOOTY THEY COULD AIM FOR.

I will keep it simple - the club is intent on selecting guys COMING DOWN - whilst turfing out guys trying to GO UP!. The policy is reflecting the momentum of OH at the moment.

Comeback with some more pub jokes etc etc, however the biggest joke has already been exposed by the OH committee's change in player recruitment and selection policy.

Wonder where the OH committee percieve they will be in 2-3 years time when Harvey,Loewe, Brown, Voss just have to give the game away - where will they be positioned in terms of VAFA Grading and the 2nd & 3rd generation players that have NOT been developed through the club?

Cardio, I have it on very good authority that J Shanahan will register to play this weekend and that Shane Wakelin is going to play later in the year...quite amusing really. They may win a few games and I could accept one 40 year old ex AFL player but 4 or 5? Add M Seccull at 41.
Also OH only lost as Harves had to leave at 3/4 time after dominating the match so OH took a risk and it backfired.

I've also been saying Ben Dowd was the new Bernie Dineen in VAFA footy for a couple of seasons only for you mob to laugh at me, I was wrong, he is better.

OLD TRINITY 20.12-132
def
OLD HAILEYBURY 15.7-97

What an absolute disgrace (with all respect to OT who played fantastic footy and have delivered in true Ammo style - alot of people including myself gave you no respect - so a fantastic effort today - the young player/runners will drive your success this year)

Fair-dinkum, why would CLUBS and more importantly INDIVIDUALS who have massive public respect DESTROY everything by chasing misguided goals and selfish beliefs on how they can insert a SQAURE PEG in a ROUND HOLE.

I have said it before and i will say it again - OH have fantastic youth within their ranks - they have lost alot of young guys due to the selfish attitude of their management and will continue to sink sink sink until someone starts having some kind of belief in their youth and start generating the players that will re-ignite the club.

MEMO Blood4life and OH committee - get back to the basics that have delivered the club success in previous years - prick your ego balloons or P*ss off and let passionate people get the club back to the true ethos of VAFA football!

Ex-AFL players (I hate watching my st kilda champs embarrass themselves - hate it - hate it - hate it) - give it away.

If Harvey plays another game for OH I will be very surprised - why embarrass yourself - F&CKEN RETIRE GRACEFULLY = the grounds are not even muddy yet, I will hate to see you go down.

This is just unbelievable mate, you seriously need to get your head checked.

Harvey should retire gracefully? He did last year mate. Can you tell me what is wrong with wanting to have a kick with some of your mates? Just because a bloke happens to be an all time great does that mean he can't have a bit of fun at a lower level after he retires? Isn't that what it's all about? I'm also pretty sure he knows the risks of playing, so he doesn't need you warning him about muddy grounds and so forth.

I'm not sure how they are embarrassing themselves either, I would say the players referred to all played very well on the weekend.

The question you need to honestly ask yourself is, would your club, or any club for that matter knock these blokes back if they were keen on coming down for a kick? I highly doubt it.

Can you also explain how having some fun with mates destroys your public respect?

Some of you blokes take this stuff way too seriously, this is not life or death, it is not even AFL footy, it is local footy for god's sake. Get a grip.

This is just unbelievable mate, you seriously need to get your head checked.

Harvey should retire gracefully? He did last year mate. Can you tell me what is wrong with wanting to have a kick with some of your mates? Just because a bloke happens to be an all time great does that mean he can't have a bit of fun at a lower level after he retires? Isn't that what it's all about? I'm also pretty sure he knows the risks of playing, so he doesn't need you warning him about muddy grounds and so forth.

I'm not sure how they are embarrassing themselves either, I would say the players referred to all played very well on the weekend.

The question you need to honestly ask yourself is, would your club, or any club for that matter knock these blokes back if they were keen on coming down for a kick? I highly doubt it.

Can you also explain how having some fun with mates destroys your public respect?

Some of you blokes take this stuff way too seriously, this is not life or death, it is not even AFL footy, it is local footy for god's sake. Get a grip.

good question- i would probably so no one would, but......i think the point some are trying to make is, do u risk not developing 3 4 or 5 good under 19's by playing 3 4 or 5 40+ year olds....?

Some of you blokes take this stuff way too seriously, this is not life or death, it is not even AFL footy, it is local footy for god's sake. Get a grip.[/QUOTE]

I think Murphy sums it up best in his post.

But just on you points above:

1) well if OH keep losing and come deep into winter and they are still playing, I think it becomes pretty embarrassing - or if they all pull the pin on the club half way through the season as its all too hard.

2) I reckon it is serious for the 4-5 young kids kicking the dew on a Saturday when they are good enough to play seniors. Kids that could be around for 8-10 years and the ones the club will demand to get them back into A Grade when the Marquee players who have finished playing for fun give it away.

Cardio, I have it on very good authority that J Shanahan will register to play this weekend and that Shane Wakelin is going to play later in the year...quite amusing really. They may win a few games and I could accept one 40 year old ex AFL player but 4 or 5? Add M Seccull at 41.
Also OH only lost as Harves had to leave at 3/4 time after dominating the match so OH took a risk and it backfired.

I've also been saying Ben Dowd was the new Bernie Dineen in VAFA footy for a couple of seasons only for you mob to laugh at me, I was wrong, he is better.

BS they even tried to get Aussie and Lawernce to join them late last year.

good question- i would probably so no one would, but......i think the point some are trying to make is, do u risk not developing 3 4 or 5 good under 19's by playing 3 4 or 5 40+ year olds....?
There are two sides to this arguement & everyone has their own opinions. You could play these 4/5 ex AFL players in the hope that it will bring a premiership to your club which in turn helps with recruiting for next year as the premier club going up to A Grade. Also strengthens your reserves & U/19 teams so you have to be in good nick to get a game...

Then you have Cardio Carl's arguement, which also has it's merits. You'd like to think that OH know what they are trying to achieve, it may not be what other clubs would do, but as ML said, most clubs would jump at the chance if these players came knocking on your door to play.

Each to their own I say!

Given that Old Haileybury's twos played many games last year short - they're hardly in a position to say no to anyone. They are often, as are many footy clubs, getting mates signed up to play. So just because one of their mates is a dual Brownlow Medalist they get crucified by all the very envious opposition supporters.

Surely if you all were realistic, you'd understand that the benefits far outway the negatives. Do you really think that the 18-19 year olds are dirty that Robert Harvey has take their spot? As a result, they work harder to get better so that they can run around with him. Anyone who has met Harvey, Loewe, Voss or Brown would know that they are quality individuals and that's why they love playing ammo footy with a bunch of quality individuals. Most ammo players are quality blokes and that's why they play ammo footy and not chase the $. They also help these younger "kids" with their leadership, teaching them how to go about their footy and teaching them how to play. Do you also reckon the OH committee are disappointed with the crowds that they get with these guys running around, the members they would be getting signed up.

Can we now put this debate to bed. Any ex-AFL player running around in the VAFA is a good thing isn't it!!!

Good debate on the OH recruits, time to get back to the footy.

Anyone manage to catch the OMs vs OC game on the weekend? I see that OMs were up by 105 points at 3/4 time. I expected them to win but not by that magnitude. Are OCs that bad? OMs that good? OC big name recruits play?

That'll teach me for forgetting to put my tips in.

Congratulations to the three showing early tipping form!

b0901.gif

CG getting off to a flyer 5 outa 5 well done son

i really shoulda got 4, cant believe i went with OCamb against the much hyped OM's

back to footy

Two games this week should be belters, SKOB v Blacks at the Uni and OT's v OM's at Trinity

Im going to go SKOBS in a nailbiter (5 points) and Trinity at home too strong (35 points)

Other tips

Bernards over Hampton at home
OH over Ocamb
Carey to get over Ormond by 4 goals

can anyone enlighten us on the hampton players up at the tribunal tonight? are they perps or witnesses?

ML

OLD TRINITY 20.12-132
def
OLD HAILEYBURY 15.7-97

What an absolute disgrace (with all respect to OT who played fantastic footy and have delivered in true Ammo style - alot of people including myself gave you no respect - so a fantastic effort today - the young player/runners will drive your success this year)

Fair-dinkum, why would CLUBS and more importantly INDIVIDUALS who have massive public respect DESTROY everything by chasing misguided goals and selfish beliefs on how they can insert a SQAURE PEG in a ROUND HOLE.

I have said it before and i will say it again - OH have fantastic youth within their ranks - they have lost alot of young guys due to the selfish attitude of their management and will continue to sink sink sink until someone starts having some kind of belief in their youth and start generating the players that will re-ignite the club.

MEMO Blood4life and OH committee - get back to the basics that have delivered the club success in previous years - prick your ego balloons or P*ss off and let passionate people get the club back to the true ethos of VAFA football!

Ex-AFL players (I hate watching my st kilda champs embarrass themselves - hate it - hate it - hate it) - give it away.

If Harvey plays another game for OH I will be very surprised - why embarrass yourself - F&CKEN RETIRE GRACEFULLY = the grounds are not even muddy yet, I will hate to see you go down.

Chequebook? "School Fees?"

What will they do when Loewe, Brown, Voss, Harvey etc move on? Probably replace them with Hudgeton, Maguire, G Train, King...

Hope The Big Pineapple, JT & the boys up at Avondale Heights are keeping an eye on the B Section thread this year, they wouldn't want to be out of touch come this time 2010.

Long time listener, first time caller

think its gonna be a very interesting season, much closer than last year.

trinity have to be flag favourites with om's right up there. st kev's not far off and blacks probably next so this weeks games are my finals previews (yes i know its early)

every year it takes a month or so for things to settle down and there is always a late swooper so teams don't want to drop too many games early and could 'pinch' a few they don't deserve

Long time listener, first time caller

think its gonna be a very interesting season, much closer than last year.

trinity have to be flag favourites with om's right up there. st kev's not far off and blacks probably next so this weeks games are my finals previews (yes i know its early)

every year it takes a month or so for things to settle down and there is always a late swooper so teams don't want to drop too many games early and could 'pinch' a few they don't deserve

Blacks wont get close. OT, STK, OCar,OM in no part order

tips
OC
OC
OT
STK
STB

did the hampton blokes get off?
cant believe someone can get reported for attempting to trip... what a waste of everyone's time.

McLoed (StB's) was cleared.

Welcome Peter Foster

Just seen on the Rovers site www.hamptonrovers.com.au that both players got off. Interestingly on the VAFA site, they only list who was suspended, not who got off... probably not to embarrass themselves! What a joke. I went along to the game Saturday, started scrappy, Rovers looked good kicking the opening two goals. Blacks were awesome after that booting nine straight. Most of this period was when the rovers captain was off the ground. Second half was much more pleasing to the eye- Rovers 5 goals to nothing in the 3rd then goal for goal in the last. Hampton certainly seem to be thereabouts from what I saw on that performance. Not much height, but fast and lot of grit & determination. The most pleasing thing from the opening round is the evenness of the competition, all set up for a great season.

Chequebook? "School Fees?"

What will they do when Loewe, Brown, Voss, Harvey etc move on? Probably replace them with Hudgeton, Maguire, G Train, King...

Hope The Big Pineapple, JT & the boys up at Avondale Heights are keeping an eye on the B Section thread this year, they wouldn't want to be out of touch come this time 2010.

drizzle makes his longawaited comeback, now all we need is to hear from Freddy K for the first time in 09