B Section 2010 - Part 1

Would have to agree with the Voss comment, for a midfielder who pushes forward to be in top 3 - 5 in the goal kicking is pretty handy. For mine he is the most critical to his team in Premier B. If he get's injured i think they will have a slight decline.

plays loose man in the back half pushing upfield as and when he chooses these days. he is certainly a player they can't afford to lose not only for his playing ability but his on field generalship too.

Looks like CC has got some updating to do.

http://www.vafa.com.au/index.php?id=187#c397

those violent school boys! disgraceful isnt it Cardio? you should do something.

Brian, sorry if you have previously stated or it is well known, but what club do you support? not having a go at you or anything like that just wondering!

my top 10

1. B. Voss
2. T. Simpson
3. M. Coughlan
4. O. Weatherley
5. L. McQueen-Misgamble
6. G. Baldwin
7. G. Martyn
8. J. Rowe
9. D. Corp
10. T. Bromley

Think that Voss and Simpson have been more consistent (played more games too) than Coughlan at this stage. Think that Rowe is right up there and doesnt get much credit

Tutto, very concise and precise...

My top 10 from what I have seen:
1.M Coughlan SKOB, didn't win an AFL B&F for nothing.
2.B Voss OH, the M Voss of the VAFA- gun.
3.T Simpson SKOB, the best rover in the VAFA.
4.T Bromley Oakleigh, strong, great mark, awesome skills on both feet, a genuine match winner.
5. K Ford OH, was the best player in A Section in 2006, still got it.
6 .D Byrne St B, evergreen superstar mid who can play anywhere.
7. O Weatherley OI, monsters backmen with his size and strength.
8. T Evans OC, loves a 40 plus possy game nearly every week.
9. A Kent OC, has been one of the best this year in every game for OC, a ball magnet.
10.G Martyn HR, classy strong and tough, can play.
I actually think you need to see a few more games BS, for someone who appears to know a bit this list seems to run a lot on rep and little on current knowledge.
1. Coughlan- seen play twice, average in both. No question he is a class player, but Simpson has better season form IMO
2 spot on
3 spot on but lift above coughlan
4 too high. very good footballer but not better than weatherley move to 9 or 10
5 missed a few games, not in great form
6 madden is a better player- Byrne is showing his age
7 move higher- best forward in comp currently
8 not a bad pick, but think he has been passed by the hyphen, Baldwin and Howat
9 Kent has only played two games and is ageing. May not even get a spot in OC best 22
10 a gun, but has better players in his own team, so not sure how he is in top 10 in comp

I actually think you need to see a few more games BS, for someone who appears to know a bit this list seems to run a lot on rep and little on current knowledge.
1. Coughlan- seen play twice, average in both. No question he is a class player, but Simpson has better season form IMO
2 spot on
3 spot on but lift above coughlan
4 too high. very good footballer but not better than weatherley move to 9 or 10
5 missed a few games, not in great form
6 madden is a better player- Byrne is showing his age
7 move higher- best forward in comp currently
8 not a bad pick, but think he has been passed by the hyphen, Baldwin and Howat
9 Kent has only played two games and is ageing. May not even get a spot in OC best 22
10 a gun, but has better players in his own team, so not sure how he is in top 10 in comp

I wouldn't have thought too many better than Guy Martyn at HR - he shows real class.

Interesting Top 10's from some posters.

Most are just Big Name players which from my point of view are not having any type of stellar year.

Guy's I would like to see are the New Guns that have gone BANG this year from each club.

Heading out to mow some more lawns after an early lunch, but if i get a chance i'll go through my Records and put up some for consideration

Need to remove A Kent as he is now finished for the year. He has been appointed Captain Coach of Melbourne Cricket Club.

Replace him with the best tackler in the VAFA have seen and the best in an under player and regular state footballer, Scott Curatolo.

There is a young fella at SKOB by the name of Keith Brick who would be a contender for best tackler in the VAFA – don’t know much of Scott and Brickie isn’t a rep footballer so not sure he is a chance for the list or a better footballer but this kid is dynamite defender!!

Pl49, As OI were plying their trades in A Grade for the last 4 years, there is real lack of understanding of the team and its players by most of the B Grade posters. This was evident by the initial rankings of the clubs for 2010. This not a sledge to any poster, but from my observations.

As for the best after matches, if opposition players get into the OI clubroom quickly, there is usually left over roast lamb/beef rolls laid on free of charge. Many A Grade players knew this and they tended to cut short their after game stretch to avail themselves of the said food.

Where mosts clubs are poor in B Grade, is there support for away game luncheons. (St.Bernards are the exception).

I wouldn't have thought too many better than Guy Martyn at HR - he shows real class.

I reckon Andrew Smith from Bernards is also stiff not to make that list, is yet to ply his trade in the seniors this year, but gee whiz the way he plays the general down back in the 11am game astounds me.

Id probably have him just above Simpson.

Pound for pound our old mate cubzy would be in there too.

At the risk of being seen as too negative I don't reckon we'll get the chokkies in any of 'em.

I thought is was U/23 team in the past not U/21 - doesn't leave much to graze on if you are picking a u/19 team as well.....

I'll be a bit more confident than you VA and tip the Seniors and the U/19s to salute

Long time reader - first time poster.
I'm hoping that those who don't want to talk footy take off and that we keep it to footy only.
Here's my summary at the halfway mark of what is the closest comp in any grade for years:
Hampton - pretenders. Have copped some big defeats - 48, 39, 25, 69. That's what happens when you only rely on 5 players.
MHSOB's - will have a crack in the second half and will win some at home....but C Grade awaits.
Oakleigh - very consistent across the board which is a better situation to be than Hampton. This got them to B Grade but their lack of stars won't see them get to A Grade.
Old Carey - Got the goods all over the paddock. Baldwin, Rowe, Howat, Evans, the hyphen, dolly. Great mix of young and old. Have had most on the park though.
Old Essendon - C Grade awaits and will win few with the way they play. Wooden Spooners.
Old Haileybury - Good mix of young and old. Look too young if anything. They've used the most players so far which given they're 6-3 throws the depth query out the door. Obviously have the players.
Old Ivanhoe - try to intimidate but if it doesn't work they're vulnerable. 2-3 from last 5. Are they gone???
St Bernards - can't win away. They rely on the mob at the pit. Most unskilful group but can pull it together on their day.
SKOBS - Best onball division in the ammos. Need them firing though because they have some flaws in the key position areas and upforward.
Uni Blacks - Have beaten OH, HR, OE, and MHSOB. Gone???? Never - they've been in every game. Home ground advantage is no longer there though. Have only won 2 at the Uni.

Finishing Order:
SKOBs
OI
OC
OH
then a gap will evolve
Uni
Oakleigh
St Bernards
HR
........and C Grade awaits
MHSOB (4 wins)
Old Essendon (1 win)

Have enjoyed watching the floating forwards - some class there:
Corp, Martyn, Bromley, Reid, Flaherty, Caven, Ford, Greer, Weatherly

........and then there's the onballers/midfielders:
Fletcher, Brown, Voss, Baldwin, Rowe, Howat, Low, Byrne, Dowd, Simpson, Coughlan, Mahoney, Robbins, Lacey.

There's 23 who as a collective group would be better than the best 23 A Grade could offer.........and that's why it's a great comp.

Good luck to all

and

Can we keep the chat footy orientated.

Long time reader - first time poster.
I'm hoping that those who don't want to talk footy take off and that we keep it to footy only.
Here's my summary at the halfway mark of what is the closest comp in any grade for years:
Hampton - pretenders. Have copped some big defeats - 48, 39, 25, 69. That's what happens when you only rely on 5 players.
MHSOB's - will have a crack in the second half and will win some at home....but C Grade awaits.
Oakleigh - very consistent across the board which is a better situation to be than Hampton. This got them to B Grade but their lack of stars won't see them get to A Grade.
Old Carey - Got the goods all over the paddock. Baldwin, Rowe, Howat, Evans, the hyphen, dolly. Great mix of young and old. Have had most on the park though.
Old Essendon - C Grade awaits and will win few with the way they play. Wooden Spooners.
Old Haileybury - Good mix of young and old. Look too young if anything. They've used the most players so far which given they're 6-3 throws the depth query out the door. Obviously have the players.
Old Ivanhoe - try to intimidate but if it doesn't work they're vulnerable. 2-3 from last 5. Are they gone???
St Bernards - can't win away. They rely on the mob at the pit. Most unskilful group but can pull it together on their day.
SKOBS - Best onball division in the ammos. Need them firing though because they have some flaws in the key position areas and upforward.
Uni Blacks - Have beaten OH, HR, OE, and MHSOB. Gone???? Never - they've been in every game. Home ground advantage is no longer there though. Have only won 2 at the Uni.

Finishing Order:
SKOBs
OI
OC
OH
then a gap will evolve
Uni
Oakleigh
St Bernards
HR
........and C Grade awaits
MHSOB (4 wins)
Old Essendon (1 win)

Have enjoyed watching the floating forwards - some class there:
Corp, Martyn, Bromley, Reid, Flaherty, Caven, Ford, Greer, Weatherly

........and then there's the onballers/midfielders:
Fletcher, Brown, Voss, Baldwin, Rowe, Howat, Low, Byrne, Dowd, Simpson, Coughlan, Mahoney, Robbins, Lacey.

There's 23 who as a collective group would be better than the best 23 A Grade could offer.........and that's why it's a great comp.

Good luck to all

and

Can we keep the chat footy orientated.

How do you think Ormond will go in C Grade this year?????

Pl49, As OI were plying their trades in A Grade for the last 4 years, there is real lack of understanding of the team and its players by most of the B Grade posters. This was evident by the initial rankings of the clubs for 2010. This not a sledge to any poster, but from my observations.

As for the best after matches, if opposition players get into the OI clubroom quickly, there is usually left over roast lamb/beef rolls laid on free of charge. Many A Grade players knew this and they tended to cut short their after game stretch to avail themselves of the said food.

Where mosts clubs are poor in B Grade, is there support for away game luncheons. (St.Bernards are the exception).

Good point Max.

There should be some set guidelines or protocols in place regarding President Lunches and the opposition participants.

If a club is putting on a Presidents lunch then away club should purchase min. of 4 tickets. There are some away clubs in the past that never support and their presidents stand out the front looking in, which is embarrassing for all concerned.

Interesting to hear others thoughts.

I know of one 'hooped' club (not B Grade) that in the past has never supported home teams presidents lunch

Tough to pick in genuine positions, and I have erred on the side of caution naming my 1/2 season Top 30 in this side, with an enormously extended bench of 12!!

Backs: Costello (UB) Angel (StB) Hunt (Oak)

HB: Voss (OH) McQueen-Misc (OC) Bishop (StK)

C: Overman (StB) Fletcher (HR) Curatolo (OI)

HF: Brown (OH) Bromley (Oak) Flaherty (OE)

FF: L. Evans (MH) Weatherley (OI) Kitts (Oak)

Rucks: Butler (OI) Coughlan (StK) Simpson (StK)

I: Baldwin (OC) Greer (OI) Wissell (StK) Lynch (StK) Robbins (UB) Madden (StB) Roberts (OH) Curry (HR) Walsh (UB) Deveraux (HR) Cooke (StB) T. Evans (OC)

Rip it up if you wish! :thumbsu:

Now Scribe, thanks for your effort, but exactly how many games have you seen this year? I'm thinking probably zero.

B Evans (OC) Bishop (SKOB) Fletcher (HR)

HB J Rowe (OC) McQueen Misc (OC) Voss (OH)

C D Byrne (St B) Curatolo (OI) Baldwin (OC)

HF Dowd (SKOB) Flaherty (OE) Bromley (Oak)

F G Martyn (HR) Weatherley (OI) Hamilton-Ho (MHSOB)

Rucks Lynch (SKOB) Coughlan (SKOB) Simpson (SKOB)

Inter A Kent(OC) K Ford (OH) M Bolton (UB) Cave (St B)

5 SKOB 5 OC 2 HR 2 OI 2 St B 2 OE 1 UB 1 MHSOB 2 OH