B Section 2010 - Part 2

Umm.....Murph...sorry mate but OH can't finish 4th given they have a double chance. Think you must mean OI or OC, with OH losing the PF and UB losing the 1st semi.

As for the TOTY nominations, keep them coming as it's all great food for thought. I might even post a TOTY 2nd XVIII such is the depth in Premier B. The final team should be published in the GF week Amateur Footballer.

NB.: DG-Man, you obviously rate Brett Voss very highly, in order to have him on both the back and forward flanks in your TOTY!! I know it sometimes seems as if he's everywhere all at once, but that may be taking it too far. :D

Cheers

Frase :thumbsu:

apologies
yep, meant UB 4th, OH 3rd, OI/OC premiers

Umm.....Murph...sorry mate but OH can't finish 4th given they have a double chance. Think you must mean OI or OC, with OH losing the PF and UB losing the 1st semi.

As for the TOTY nominations, keep them coming as it's all great food for thought. I might even post a TOTY 2nd XVIII such is the depth in Premier B. The final team should be published in the GF week Amateur Footballer.

NB.: DG-Man, you obviously rate Brett Voss very highly, in order to have him on both the back and forward flanks in your TOTY!! I know it sometimes seems as if he's everywhere all at once, but that may be taking it too far. :D

Cheers

Frase :thumbsu:
Fraser, I don't want to sound like a smart arse but did you manage to sneak to any games in B this year?

My must haves are Voss, Dowd, Coughlan, Rowe, Semmel, Martyn, Weatherley, Lynch, D Byrne, Howat, Baldwin, both McQueen's, Robbins, Costello, Pinto, Bromley, Flaherty, Chisholm, Fletcher, Simpson, Lowe, Robbins, Reid, Skurrie.
Can't fit them all in but I could also name another 10 like Loxley, O'Hara and Lacey from Blacks along with M Bolton.

Both Biggs are way past their prime and not in the top 50 in B, should retire gracefully or go to the bush for some dough. Just on that, how shit is the EDFL if that other OEG recruit Hakim smashes it and kicks heaps of goals but kicks sweet F A in B.

Can you ever recall such strong depth (as far as player talent is concerned) and high standard of play as we saw in the home & away season in Premier B this year? I reckon if the VAFA picked a combined TOTY from all sections (like they did several years ago) how many players from Premier B would make the final cut?

Fraser, I don't want to sound like a smart arse but did you manage to sneak to any games in B this year?

No, you already know I can't, due to playing every week for Fitzroy. What's your point?

The VAFA have instructed me to do the side, and I'm obviously going to be reliant on feedback from people (usually committee and coaches) from clubs to make it reflective of the best players for the season. Fortunately, most clubs have responded to my requests over the past 3 weeks as they know it's been impossible for me to see the players first hand myself. Many have also thanked me for writing an entertaining and informative column thus far.

Frankly, I think your comments were sneaking into the smart-arse region. ;)

My must haves are Voss, Dowd, Coughlan, Rowe, Semmel, Martyn, Weatherley, Lynch, D Byrne, Howat, Baldwin, both McQueen's, Robbins, Costello, Pinto, Bromley, Flaherty, Chisholm, Fletcher, Simpson, Lowe, Robbins, Reid, Skurrie.
Can't fit them all in but I could also name another 10 like Loxley, O'Hara and Lacey from Blacks along with M Bolton.

Both Biggs are way past their prime and not in the top 50 in B, should retire gracefully or go to the bush for some dough. Just on that, how shit is the EDFL if that other OEG recruit Hakim smashes it and kicks heaps of goals but kicks sweet F A in B.

Brizzler, as usual, I love all the above work!!

Obviously you were at a lot of Premier B games, judging by your authoritive list.

Methinks your list is very good.

No, you already know I can't, due to playing every week for Fitzroy. What's your point?

The VAFA have instructed me to do the side, and I'm obviously going to be reliant on feedback from people (usually committee and coaches) from clubs to make it reflective of the best players for the season. Fortunately, most clubs have responded to my requests over the past 3 weeks as they know it's been impossible for me to see the players first hand myself. Many have also thanked me for writing an entertaining and informative column thus far.

Frankly, I think your comments were sneaking into the smart-arse region. ;)
You had plenty of time to watch some B this year after you twanged your hammy wearing your concrete boots Frase, I would have thought you would have taken more of an interest in putting some faces to the names you write about every week, that's my point...unedited! If you havent seen any B Section you shouldn't be writing about it, let alone doing a team of the year, again, UNEDITED!!!

As far as your column being informative, come on Scribey, you didnt give a rats arse about clubs who didnt give you a report. The only entertaining week was your big Footy rip off, which I liked. Surely being a ressies player and finishing at 1.45 each week you could have taken 6 weeks during the season to look interested.

Thanks Sausage, perhaps Fraser should subscribe to Dartfish??? whats he going to think of us posting at next to the same time(even though Im editing this after I have seen your post....)

Where's Kanis gone BTW? lol!!!

So far:

Full Back chaps

Votes chaps:

Any other takers?

OC - Crozier
Buchanan - Krushers
Villani - MHSOB
Woods - Hampton
Others I've seen at Full Back - Comben / Symon / Geilings

Have I missed any regulars that are up there?

You had plenty of time to watch some B this year after you twanged your hammy wearing your concrete boots Frase, I would have thought you would have taken more of an interest in putting some faces to the names you write about every week, that's my point...unedited! If you havent seen any B Section you shouldn't be writing about it, let alone doing a team of the year, again, UNEDITED!!!

As far as your column being informative, come on Scribey, you didnt give a rats arse about clubs who didnt give you a report. The only entertaining week was your big Footy rip off, which I liked. Surely being a ressies player and finishing at 1.45 each week you could have taken 6 weeks during the season to look interested.

Thanks Sausage, perhaps Fraser should subscribe to Dartfish??? whats he going to think of us posting at next to the same time(even though Im editing this after I have seen your post....)

Seems like Brian may be pushing himself forward for a bit of moonlighting

OK Nick - you can take the reins from here, as you're obviously far more qualified to do so. I can't imagine what I've been doing over 6 of the past 7 years on a voluntary basis when the likes of yourself are out there just gagging for a chance to assist the competition with 2 to 3 hours of their precious time each week. Had I known, I wouldn't have put my hand up when the VAFA approached me to write for the AF. I should've just referred them off to you, oh wise guru that you are.

OK, just so you know, from here on in all you have to do is:

1. attend all Premier B finals (which will be as easy for you too, now your club is no longer involved in the season either);
2. write 1000 words each week over the next 4 weeks about the finals and get them into Michael Fitzgerald by 10am each Tuesday;
3. attend the VAFA vote count to read out the votes for the section;
4. present the award to the winner.

Pretty straightforward from here old son. Enjoy Nick, you'll get plenty of brickbats and precious few bouquets I'd venture, but I'll be thinking of you whilst I'm sunning it up in the Maldives for the next 4 weeks.

Oh, and whilst I've got your attention Mr Premier B Section 2010, a few more points:

1. I missed 2 games with my hamstring and like a good clubman was avaiable to volunteer to do interchange and assist the coaches on both weekends. I also have this strange habit of remaining after the reserves game to support my own team and assist the senior group in whatever manner the coaching staff require. If the attitude of reserves players at SKOB or St Bedes is to bugger off straight after their game and not support their mates, I can't do anything about what you're familiar with.

2. yep, clubs that didn't bother giving me a report got less write-up than those who did. It's human nature and it's also a sign of respect to those people who sent something through each week to ensure their efforts are recognised. You sent me one as a PM on BF in rd 1 or 2 after saying you were happy to write something each week. Absolutely shithouse effort by you.

3. if you' wondering why I edited my post last night, it was to give you the benefit of the doubt before loading up on this rant now.

Regards

Fraser

OK Nick - you can take the reins from here, as you're obviously far more qualified to do so. I can't imagine what I've been doing over 6 of the past 7 years on a voluntary basis when the likes of yourself are out there just gagging for a chance to assist the competition with 2 to 3 hours of their precious time each week. Had I known, I wouldn't have put my hand up when the VAFA approached me to write for the AF. I should've just referred them off to you, oh wise guru that you are.

OK, just so you know, from here on in all you have to do is:

1. attend all Premier B finals (which will be as easy for you too, now your club is no longer involved in the season either);
2. write 1000 words each week over the next 4 weeks about the finals and get them into Michael Fitzgerald by 10am each Tuesday;
3. attend the VAFA vote count to read out the votes for the section;
4. present the award to the winner.

Pretty straightforward from here old son. Enjoy Nick, you'll get plenty of brickbats and precious few bouquets I'd venture, but I'll be thinking of you whilst I'm sunning it up in the Maldives for the next 4 weeks.

Oh, and whilst I've got your attention Mr Premier B Section 2010, a few more points:

1. I missed 2 games with my hamstring and like a good clubman was avaiable to volunteer to do interchange and assist the coaches on both weekends. I also have this strange habit of remaining after the reserves game to support my own team and assist the senior group in whatever manner the coaching staff require. If the attitude of reserves players at SKOB or St Bedes is to bugger off straight after their game and not support their mates, I can't do anything about what you're familiar with.

2. yep, clubs that didn't bother giving me a report got less write-up than those who did. It's human nature and it's also a sign of respect to those people who sent something through each week to ensure their efforts are recognised. You sent me one as a PM on BF in rd 1 or 2 after saying you were happy to write something each week. Absolutely shithouse effort by you.

3. if you' wondering why I edited my post last night, it was to give you the benefit of the doubt before loading up on this rant now.

Regards

Fraser

Wow!

Frase, that was a fair whack! I think good old Briza was just winding you up.

He suggested you attend 6 games, so you would have been available to serve your club for the other 12, so hardly "not supporting your mates"

The coment about skob missing the finals was a tad low..poor old Briza is in serious mourning at the moment and a little delicate!

Wow!

Frase, that was a fair whack! I think good old Briza was just winding you up.

He suggested you attend 6 games, so you would have been available to serve your club for the other 12, so hardly "not supporting your mates"

The coment about skob missing the finals was a tad low..poor old Briza is in serious mourning at the moment and a little delicate!

Hey Scribe, ya left out one thing....

Chewy on ya boot, Nick

Dont like to pull you down BS, you know Im a big fan but have to support the Scribe on this one. Its a little thankless with certain clubs giving you nothing, I for one enjoyed the column this year. Thought it was a great read; only the foolish believe that any of the scribes go to a variety of the games to get a feel for the comp.

Keep up the good work Frase. Hopefully you don’t mis pronounce the comp B&F winner's name throughout the reading like some fool did last year.

Frase - 1

Suasage Roll aka Brian Speaking - 0

You do a great job Frase. Dont get paid nearly enough ;)

PS - Looking forward to Bwian coming on saying 'i was only winding you up Frase" only for Sausage to jump in 30 minutes later with a "i love my own work" call. Me thinks your a bit to old for this Nicko! Retire gracefully.

Frase - 1

Suasage Roll aka Brian Speaking - 0

You do a great job Frase. Dont get paid nearly enough ;)

PS - Looking forward to Bwian coming on saying 'i was only winding you up Frase" only for Sausage to jump in 30 minutes later with a "i love my own work" call. Me thinks your a bit to old for this Nicko! Retire gracefully.

surely that will provoke a response

well done scribe, thoroughly enjoyed your work this year

Am I missing something.

This can't be a B Section 2010 thread.

Usually everyone plays so nicely.

PS

Thanks HR again again again again

Am I missing something.

This can't be a B Section 2010 thread.

Usually everyone plays so nicely.

PS

Thanks HR again again again again

Max, how is it possible that your mob finished equal 2nd but only 1 player seems to get mentioned in any TOTY lists? Are you a 1 man club or just very even across the board?:confused:

Consider it a pleasure, Max.

Briza - what gives? I actually thought it was a wind up, but Scribe made it pretty clear he wasn't happy and you still went on the attack. Sounding like a bitter old man, bud. You're better than that.

For what it's worth, my sentiments echo those of the pro-Scribe bandwagon. Keep up the good work, Mr.Cameron. Perhaps a bigfooty style write up is in order to keep the old fella happy.

Max, how is it possible that your mob finished equal 2nd but only 1 player seems to get mentioned in any TOTY lists? Are you a 1 man club or just very even across the board?:confused:

Amazingly he only played about half the games.

I believe OI will have the B&F winner in the comp, he is also, in my humble opinion the best performed onballer/wingman in the comp over the whole season.

Happy for our players to go unrecognised on BF.

Most clubs know who our best players are, as we know theirs.

As Scribe mentioned, he can only compile a team from information given to him. If we are not that forthcoming our players may be overlooked.

Best performances from individuals I have seen this year

1: Edwards for Oak - Won't make TOTY due to injury
2: Madden from St.B - Won't make TOTY due to travel

Best performance from a team this year. HR in round 18 (Sorry BS, had to get that in again)