B Section 2010 - Part 2

I missed the Blacks vs OI game due to work commitments.

Can anyone tell me how these guys went?

Stuart Low. Tough as nails. Still going strong. As per your description

Mark Bolton. Didn't see his name in the paper. Coz his hammy said no.

Nick Butler. Watched him kick 5 a few weeks back. No real impact

Huw Lacey. Slippery and quick. Taken to the cleaners in the 1st half. Good return in the 3rd quarter.

Yeah funny, about as funny as you not putting Brett Voss in the top 15!!! I'll give you the benefit of the doubt and think that you may have forgotten him, anyone who has seen OH play this year will most likely agree he has won several games off his own boot. It's also laughable that you don't have the VAFA State captain in your top 15 either, but thats only my opinion.
I would take out Evans, Biggs and Deveraux.
I think you are slipping Brian, i can clearly see Voss in your copy of Scribe's comments. I agree on Biggs, Evans and Deveraux. Add Costello, Dowd,Mqueen Miscamble, Coughlin, Brown and Howat. Second ruck Greer or Willingham

Old Carey - Howat, Reid, Rowe, Baldwin, Crozier, McQ-Mis
OH - Voss, Roberts
SKOB - Lynch, Voss, Coggs
UB - Costello, Richardson
OI - Low
STB - Byrne, Overman
MHSOB - Evans
HR - Semmell, Fletcher, Deveraux
OE - Biggs
Oak - Harold

are my best 22. Lack of 2nd ruck and another key may make this unbalanced. Maybe Row or Voss CHF.

I think you are slipping Brian, i can clearly see Voss in your copy of Scribe's comments. I agree on Biggs, Evans and Deveraux. Add Costello, Dowd,Mqueen Miscamble, Coughlin, Brown and Howat. Second ruck Greer or Willingham

Pretty good additions there AA.

Yep - if you read carefully, Voss is in the next 10 I listed. Not sure how anyone could miss his name in that list, but he's certainly there.

However just because I suggested those 5 would poll well in the GT Moore Medal, and then the next 10 would also feature, doesn't mean they will all make the TOTY. As pointed out by The Octopus, team balance will dictate whether some miss out.

Old Carey - Howat, Reid, Rowe, Baldwin, Crozier, McQ-Mis
OH - Voss, Roberts
SKOB - Lynch, Voss, Coggs
UB - Costello, Richardson
OI - Low
STB - Byrne, Overman
MHSOB - Evans
HR - Semmell, Fletcher, Deveraux
OE - Biggs
Oak - Harold

are my best 22. Lack of 2nd ruck and another key may make this unbalanced. Maybe Row or Voss CHF.

Toss up between Reid and Weatherley, but most goals for the year means Reid wins.

Delmonte is a must, only real crumbing small forward with 39 goals for the year.

PS.

Delmonte the only OI player invited to the vote count. Typical umpires effort. Stuart Low has only received 2 votes in his career in the VAFA:thumbsdown:

Toss up between Reid and Weatherley, but most goals for the year means Reid wins.

Delmonte is a must, only real crumbing small forward with 39 goals for the year.

PS.

Delmonte the only OI player invited to the vote count. Typical umpires effort. Stuart Low has only received 2 votes in his career in the VAFA:thumbsdown:

Would be happy to see both/either in 22 for balance sake. OW/Reid CHF/FF. Dal in Pocket. I relaise my 22 is unbalanced but would prefer to see a better player make it as opposed to a legit pocket or 2nd ruck. PS - Goalpost man is a great bloke. (thats an apology)

On an entirely different matter..

A Ramsden, a celebrated and respected VAFA legend, is reported in round 17 for striking, putting at risk the rnd 18 home game celebrations that had been planned by Trinity for months.

The Tribunal does not hear the case on the Tuesday night after Rnd 17 because the Umpire was unavailable to attend.

A Ramsden does play the last game and receives the send off he deserves

Tribunal meets last Tues night and suspends Ramsden for 2 games.

Good call, bad call, or just a coincidence?

A Ramsden, a celebrated and respected VAFA legend, is reported in round 17 for striking, putting at risk the rnd 18 home game celebrations that had been planned by Trinity for months.

The Tribunal does not hear the case on the Tuesday night after Rnd 17 because the Umpire was unavailable to attend.

Rambo has the sharpest elbows and knees in VAFA, but he can still really play, and he is the only reason OT are still in the Big League.

So let him retire on his home ground.

Good call.

Rambo has the sharpest elbows and knees in VAFA, but he can still really play, and he is the only reason OT are still in the Big League.

Good call.

Good Call, not too many players can play to that age at the top level... but a typical inconsistent call by the VAFA - rules for some and not others (i know the umpire couldn't attend but that is a lame excuse)

PS.

yeah i spoke to the umpires in the last game about this and 1 of them said a lot of the time they have no idea and have to ask a team manager for their thoughts and then other times it is quite clear to them.

Gary Carr at our club is in the same boat as Delmonte, he has won 3 club B & F's and come 2nd twice an only received 2 - 4 votes over a 10 year senior career, clearly they only give votes to midfielders!

Hey Hawk09 who seems to also be Watchful Eye = VafaEye=PrivateEye= CamVoss can you stop sending me those threatening PM's or I will start posting them. I don't answer them as I know thats how you track the poster so PO.

You seem to be the flog with the mental issues, and if you think I'm the person you are purporting me to be then 'man-up Alice' and go and confront that person rather than being a big-knob behind a keyboard.

If you spend as much time trying to rectify the issues at your club things would be improved down there.

Good call.

Hmmm, comprimised tribunal?
Takes me back to Justin Arnold in the 2nd Semi in 2008.

Seriously Letterman, why are you so bitter at the Rovers? It really does stagger me. Alluding to my PM’s as threatening is laughable and you know it. You can continue your negative rants at the Rovers all you like, but the fact is you have zero credibility on this forum, as per your previous incarnation, CardioCarl. To say HR has issues has me stumped also.. yes we’re advertising for a new coach, however this year we had record playing numbers in both seniors and juniors (despite what you previously said about the brighton beach fc – we had a record 4 U9 teams this year – and I know of several families returning to the Rovers next year), we had a great vibe at the club, won more games in B grade than we have in previous years, and the future is looking rosy. If you believe no coach would want to be in charge of a previous coach, obviously those who have already applied don’t seem to mind. I’d say most would be thrilled to coach a former AFL player. No need to “put any spin on it”. I could go on, but I won’t waste any more time than I already have! I’d suggest worrying about your own backyard, anything on the cards for 2011?

Couple of questions need answers to really understand the situation as a whole:

· All 3 umpires couldn't attend on a Tuesday night (standard tribunal night as far as I’m aware??)
· None of them could provide a written statement as to what they saw????? Thought the umpires word was beyond question in front of the bench so as to avoid character attacks by the clubs on the umps so this removes the need for them to be present
· Nothing seen on Dartfish clearly....
· Did he plead guilty when the tribunal met??? I thought you got 2 weeks for accepting a striking charge and more if you contested and lost (is that right??)....
· For what it is worth I thought the tribunal takes into account previous record in determining a penalty?? As someone has noted for a bloke who can play he can be very clumsy at times…

Get those answered under oath and draw your own conclusions but I suggest that a reasonable person would start to think that there might have been a second shooter on the grass knoll somewhere….

Having said that I agree with Max - he probably deserved a send off game as 300 plus games is an amazing amount of footy!!!

Good to see Rambo go off like that.

However if an umpire is not able to attend he is required to submit his evidence via a written affadafit. This evidence is sent to the clubs (on the Monday afternoon) and then any queries about the evidence is raised at the beginning of the hearing, whereby the tribunal panel then deem whether the evidence to be taken into consideration or not (haven;t heard of this not being the case). Thus for this process not to happen in this one isolated incidence suggests that the VAFA may just well have looked after one of its best.

In my opinion good to see some rationality come into it, especially as OT's were no finals chance.

Seriously Letterman, why are you so bitter at the Rovers? It really does stagger me. Alluding to my PM’s as threatening is laughable and you know it. You can continue your negative rants at the Rovers all you like, but the fact is you have zero credibility on this forum, as per your previous incarnation, CardioCarl. To say HR has issues has me stumped also.. yes we’re advertising for a new coach, however this year we had record playing numbers in both seniors and juniors (despite what you previously said about the brighton beach fc – we had a record 4 U9 teams this year – and I know of several families returning to the Rovers next year), we had a great vibe at the club, won more games in B grade than we have in previous years, and the future is looking rosy. If you believe no coach would want to be in charge of a previous coach, obviously those who have already applied don’t seem to mind. I’d say most would be thrilled to coach a former AFL player. No need to “put any spin on it”. I could go on, but I won’t waste any more time than I already have! I’d suggest worrying about your own backyard, anything on the cards for 2011?

Hawk09 : Cam Voss & all the EYE's, please go away.

Two things;

Your juniors have and will continue to be decimated over the next few years from the BB juniors. Put as much spin as you like on it. Anyone interested I hope HR have left the 'Welcome to MSJFL' letter from your pres to them. "oh, welcome, but don't take our players" what a laugh.

Dont try and spin the coaching scenario, we all know the coaching process down there is a SHAM after last year

Now go away

hawks09
BigFooty Apprentice

Re:

Me the big knob behind the keyboard? Hey - at least I'm "man" enough to confirm who I am, while you continue to hide behind your keyboard. Thinking I can track you once you send a PM, that's quite funny!! It's only if you're stupid enough to click on a fake link we inserted for you! Your lack of IT knowledge is another piece of evidence though to your identity. And if you think my PM's are threatening, I think there's only one person that needs to "man-up Alice".

CardioCarl, GetOverIt, making up stories, Mark Thompson from Queensland, Dave Kinsella, etc...
PLEASE!!!!

Why all the bitterness? Rovers, Ormond, Beaumaris... ???

Ah great, thanks to the 4 posters who instructed me to set up the IGNORE poster criteria on my profile.

That should shut the flog down, but i can't help the crap he ( They) will post here. .

Oh well just need to ignore.

Gee funny how all the EYE's are in hibernation these days

Ah great, thanks to the 4 posters who instructed me to set up the IGNORE poster criteria on my profile.

That should shut the flog down, but i can't help the crap he ( They) will post here. .

Oh well just need to ignore.

Gee funny how all the EYE's are in hibernation these days

30km winds
20mm of rain predicted
ah another glorious sat in sept at elsternwick
i reckon OH would be licking their lips at the moment

tips
1s OC (but very close)
2s StBernards (even Closer)
3s Banyule (best team all yr)

Your juniors have and will continue to be decimated over the next few years from the BB juniors. Put as much spin as you like on it.
I don't know why I'm wasting my time, but anyway...
In addition to the above, here's another quote from you: "the teams have been decimated by the Brighton Beach juniors with some 7-8 HR Junior teams either folding or unable to get a side going."

Here's the facts: The Rovers had 16 junior teams in 2010 compared to 15 last year. More teams and more players this year. Record numbers at U9 level (4 teams). And with no social environment at BBJFC, a fair few people are returning in 2011! So you're once again talking absolute crap! Continues to prove the point you have ZERO credibility on here.
Wouldn't you love for me to post your PM's from CardioCarl, GetOverIt, etc on here, but I won't stoop to your level.

Good to see Rambo go off like that.

However if an umpire is not able to attend he is required to submit his evidence via a written affadafit. This evidence is sent to the clubs (on the Monday afternoon) and then any queries about the evidence is raised at the beginning of the hearing, whereby the tribunal panel then deem whether the evidence to be taken into consideration or not (haven;t heard of this not being the case). Thus for this process not to happen in this one isolated incidence suggests that the VAFA may just well have looked after one of its best.

In my opinion good to see some rationality come into it, especially as OT's were no finals chance.

Not having a crack at Rambo at all (or OT’s as I would have done the same thing) but it sets a very dangerous precedent….

Where do you draw the line?? Can’t argue his clean record indicates it was completely out of character…

What if they were playing for a finals spot? What if the other mob where? What if he cut loose a la A.Lynch in the GF re 2005???

Great players finish up every year – would have been nice if HR (or the VAFA) had given us a 1 point win in the last round so that Mahns could have finished his ammos career (arguable better than Rambo’s) playing finals….

Why do it in a manner that the whole comp takes one look at it and calls a shovel a f*cking spade. Think that if you start bending them then the whole thing becomes untenable….

I don't know why I'm wasting my time, but anyway...
In addition to the above, here's another quote from you: "the teams have been decimated by the Brighton Beach juniors with some 7-8 HR Junior teams either folding or unable to get a side going."

Here's the facts: The Rovers had 16 junior teams in 2010 compared to 15 last year. More teams and more players this year. Record numbers at U9 level (4 teams). And with no social environment at BBJFC, a fair few people are returning in 2011! So you're once again talking absolute crap! Continues to prove the point you have ZERO credibility on here.

Oh boy.

Just more HR spin from a naive person.

Not going to bore the thread anymore but basically the upper bayside region of juniors and their parents now have a choice to go to HR with its "social club" environment which attracts the vices associated with that type of set up or a pure Junior club focusing on different values. Gee, if a HR person thinks you need a bar open at 9am for junior games then I think you have lost the plot quite frankly

knowing a number of HR junior parents, teams have been reduced this year due to less player participation at HR - if you deny this then you have no idea.

Further, they only started in 2010 with 2 U9's & an 1 U10's side but due to numbers went to 2 U10's teams[/U]( with 1xU9 and 1xU10 flag in its first year - not bad eh!), and will have more of an impact as it gets its sides up and running. With strong backing of the North Melbourne football club and significant property / real estate sponsorships over the next 3 years they plan to grab a stronghold in the junior football environment, whether HR like it or not.

I have pulled this from their web site showing their plans in establishing teams from U9's - U16's right through to 2016.

If you think they will not be a significant threat to HR in terms of providing senior players in future years then you are more than a fool than I thought Mr 'V'.

They are the facts, so what you say Hawks09 (aka: Watchful + Private + VAFA 'eyes' + CamVoss) is the CRAP

BB Team establishment Plan:

Year
U9's 2
U10's -2

U9's- 2
U10's- 2
U11's - 1

U9's 2
U10's 2
U11's 2
U12' - 1

U9's - 2
U10's - 2
U11's -2
U12's -1
U13's - 1

U9's - 2
U10's - 2
U11's - 2
U12's - 2
U13's - 1
U14's - 1

all the way to 2016 where they will have 14's.15's & 16's

Where do you draw the line??

I reckon the line is drawn in accordance with the following 3 strict criteria:

1. the alleged offending player must have been an All-Australian Rep. Captain;
2. the alleged offending player must be eligible for VAFA Lifetime Membership by virtue of 300 sen/U19/Rep games played;
3. the decision to defer the Tribunal must not impact on the ability of either competing club to make finals, achieve promotion, or avoid relegation.

Unless the situation meets the above criteria, the the Tribunal ought not be deferred as it was in this case.

I doubt the floodgates will be opening anytime soon.

Wouldn't be all that surprised if there was a massive upset on the cards in the 2nd semi final at Sportscover Arena on Saturday by Old Haileybury, if the weather forecast is any guide. It is forecast for rain with a chance of thunderstorms and add to the wind factor at Sportscover Arena, that probably will undo Old Carey's chances of going straight through to the grand final. Old Haileybury's the tip for me, by 13 points.

I reckon the line is drawn in accordance with the following 3 strict criteria:

1. the alleged offending player must have been an All-Australian Rep. Captain;
2. the alleged offending player must be eligible for VAFA Lifetime Membership by virtue of 300 sen/U19/Rep games played;
3. the decision to defer the Tribunal must not impact on the ability of either competing club to make finals, achieve promotion, or avoid relegation.

Unless the situation meets the above criteria, the the Tribunal ought not be deferred as it was in this case.

I doubt the floodgates will be opening anytime soon.

Scribe

Agreed that it appears to be a one off case and no one was harmed by the decision (other than the reputation of the VAFA Executive and Tribunal - which lets face it that is currently like trying to unscramble an egg at the moment…) but you may be ignoring some of the finer points around this case:

· Hadn't Rambo already clocked up 300 a couple of weeks prior and hence already got his life membership???
· What about if you were OM’s coach and you dropped a spot on the ladder because OT’s got up and it made a difference to whether or not you retained the senior coaching gig? Same with STBM’s and their win loss record for the year?? None of that was known when the decision was made to “postpone” the tribunal hearing….

Lets get to the truth of the matter - the reality is that this was about one final game at his home ground was it not?? As Ben Cousins said not many blokes get to choose the way they leave the game and far better and more decorated players than Rambo have and will leave under circumstances not of their choosing so the VAFA needs to be very careful about the standard it sets!! That’s the thing with exceptional standards – they come around more often that you’d think…..

Play on!!