B Section 2010 - Part 2

Speaking of prizes,

Peter Love (President of OI) should be expecting his bottle of Red Wine from PE, due to OI's perfect tribunal record for 2010. Not one report for the year!

I don't think any other club can claim this. Happy to be proven wrong!

What makes the Rovers win all the more remarkable was the fact that according to Uncle Mick, the Rovers put out probably the least-experienced team in a few years and weren't expected to win. All they had to play for was sending Matty Robbins out on a good note and 'pride of playing for the jumper', whereas St Kevins had everything to play for- staying in the finals race, the double chance spot and a likely meeting against Old Carey in a fortnight at Sportscover Arena. Instead, it wasn't the wanting to win, more of the desire to win that was the difference between the two teams. After all, the Rovers were under no pressure-couldn't be relegated and not being in the finals.
Shit Jase, are you still overawed by meeting the great man 'Brian Speaking'?
Facts are Gleeson was awesome and Semmell took his own footy to the game, big strong bodies won you the game, so go away now and stop talking down the SKOB lads who tried hard all day but weren't good enough. BTW, SENSATIONAL clubrooms to watch the Saints at whilst downing a couple of nice cool ales!

Shit Jase, are you still overawed by meeting the great man 'Brian Speaking'?
Facts are Gleeson was awesome and Semmell took his own footy to the game, big strong bodies won you the game, so go away now and stop talking down the SKOB lads who tried hard all day but weren't good enough. BTW, SENSATIONAL clubrooms to watch the Saints at whilst downing a couple of nice cool ales!

Briza,

A couple of the boys were yelling out for Brian Speaking, you must have been down the other end of the rooms. Missed out on a couple of complimentary cold ones!

BS; Do you think it was the most even b grade comp you have ever seen, not often would you think the 8th place team has a chance against the 2nd placed team! Look forward to catching up next year again, hopefully both teams will be playing finals next year!

Firstly a few things:

The Panther: Now surely you of all people should not be potting your own midfield, you of all people should know what pressures a senior coach is under!

Local: Had a great chat with a few Rovers lads during and after the game, I would have loved those couple of freebies but still enjoyed myself, in spite of the result. B was certainly the closest I have ever seen it, apart from OC who I liken to my 'other' club St Bede's Mentone. They have all of the tools to be a top 3 side in A but need to play 100% of the game, not have lapses like they did this year.
Unlike other years, 'B' players were the majority in the senior rep squad, and this did not include guys like Voss and Coggs who were unavailable, so yes, the strongest I have seen. The top 10 players IMO in B were (not in order)Rowe, Voss, Semmel, Coughlan, Dowd, Weatherly(when he played), Baldwin, McQueen Miscamble, Robbins and Chisholm.

Interesting to note that Max Leader's team are the only ones without ex AFL in their side, I cant see them getting too far but hope they do and think it will be OC vs Blacks in the GF in a closer game than we think with OC to win.

Firstly a few things:

The Panther: Now surely you of all people should not be potting your own midfield, you of all people should know what pressures a senior coach is under!

Local: Had a great chat with a few Rovers lads during and after the game, I would have loved those couple of freebies but still enjoyed myself, in spite of the result. B was certainly the closest I have ever seen it, apart from OC who I liken to my 'other' club St Bede's Mentone. They have all of the tools to be a top 3 side in A but need to play 100% of the game, not have lapses like they did this year.
Unlike other years, 'B' players were the majority in the senior rep squad, and this did not include guys like Voss and Coggs who were unavailable, so yes, the strongest I have seen. The top 10 players IMO in B were (not in order)Rowe, Voss, Semmel, Coughlan, Dowd, Weatherly(when he played), Baldwin, McQueen Miscamble, Robbins and Chisholm.

Interesting to note that Max Leader's team are the only ones without ex AFL in their side, I cant see them getting too far but hope they do and think it will be OC vs Blacks in the GF in a closer game than we think with OC to win.

Good post. Costello and Lacey from Blacks, Reid and Howat from OC. Byrne from StB can play. These guys are worthy top 10 noms.

If the finish to the home & away season last week is any guide, we could be in for a great finals series in Premier B. In fact, don't be surprised to see a major upset on the cards in the next four weeks.

What would you consider to be a major upset Jas? Carey losing? If so, what do you know that indicates a major upset could be on the cards? Interesting. :confused:

Well done to the Krushers on a more than respectable debut year in B Grade - 2nd up next year may be more difficult but with the exciting stable of youngsters coming thru who knows ?!?

Congrats also to Trev Bromley, Jon Rutter and Ashley Kitts who have hung up the boots after last Saturdays game - 3 true legends of Oakleigh AFC and dont think you could find many players who have helped carry their club from D3 thru to B grade in such a short space of time. All 3 appreciate the awards and respect offered by Uni blacks who were full of class after last saturdays game

Oakleigh now looks to the reserves and 18s/19s for September action now - good luck

Time to talk about TOTY:

Ruckmen

Lynch (St Kevins)
Greer (Old Ivanhoe)
Willingham (Old Carey)
Lillie (Old Haileybury).

Any other nominations?

In a vague order of my preference
onball-
Coughlan
Semmell
Voss
Simpson
Lacey
anyone from OC
Overman
TBiggs

other than lynch, cant find any standout ruckmen in b grade this year

forwards-
weatherly
ried
corp
flaherety
voss
bromley
anyone else from OC's fwd line

backs-
mcqueen-miscamble
madden
carr

feel free to tear this post to shreds

reckon the best four teams make-up the final four. the panthers deserve favouritism but if the hoers can recapture their early season form they'll give them a run for their money. unfortunate for skobs but their lack of key position players would have meant they'd only have made up the numbers had they squeezed in.

i reckon weatherly can (and probably will) win a final off his own boot... along with voss, the most influential player in b grade for his own team(can u imagine him at skob with dowd, et all putting it down his throat)
strange things can and do happen in finals, remember OEG absolutley dominating in 08 only to be pipped by the much underrated marc in the granny
i reckon it will be out of OI and OC, with UB finishing third and OH 4th

yep! agree with that. the thing that hit me about voss in the rovers v o.h game was his huge engine. he can run all day and gets into dangerous spots. extremely hard to tag. definitely the key to haileybury's fortunes.

In a vague order of my preference
onball-
Coughlan
Semmell
Voss
Simpson
Lacey
anyone from OC
Overman
TBiggs

other than lynch, cant find any standout ruckmen in b grade this year

forwards-
weatherly
ried
corp
flaherety
voss
bromley
anyone else from OC's fwd line

backs-
mcqueen-miscamble
madden
carr

feel free to tear this post to shreds

Pretty fair assesment; mine would go as follows;

???? Mcqueen - Miscamble Dowd

Carr Madden Howat

Couglan Biggs Fletcher

Bromley Weatherley Voss

Corp Reid Rowe

Foll:
Lynch
Semmel
Simpson

Int: Flaherety, Overman, Baldwin & Robbins

Clearly Dowd is an onballer but he has to be in there - so i threw him in the pocket!

Probably another 4 - 5 fwds that could have been put in there - the old back pockets slip my mind.

Pretty fair assesment; mine would go as follows;

???? Mcqueen - Miscamble Dowd

Carr Madden Howat

Couglan Biggs Fletcher

Bromley Weatherley Voss

Corp Reid Rowe

Foll:
Lynch
Semmel
Simpson

Int: Flaherety, Overman, Baldwin & Robbins

Clearly Dowd is an onballer but he has to be in there - so i threw him in the pocket!

Probably another 4 - 5 fwds that could have been put in there - the old back pockets slip my mind.
Baldwin is in the top half dozen players in the comp and a definite onfield starter. I rate Dowd above Simpson, though i dont know how even SKOBS could separate them somehow. Low is another gun.

Baldwin Crozier Carr
Howat Mcqueen - Miscamble Voss
Couglan Costello Low
Bromley Weatherley Voss
Robbins Reid Rowe

Foll:
Lynch
Semmel
Dowd

Int from : Flaherety, Brown, Parton, Simpson,Greer,Willingham,Lacey, Overman, Stewart-Holmes,Kitts

Ten on the bench= hedging my bets, and i have only seen half a dozen games, so going on those and some of what i have heard on here and vafa site.

Baldwin is in the top half dozen players in the comp and a definite onfield starter. I rate Dowd above Simpson, though i dont know how even SKOBS could separate them somehow. Low is another gun.

Baldwin Crozier Carr
Howat Mcqueen - Miscamble Voss
Couglan Costello Low
Bromley Weatherley Voss
Robbins Reid Rowe

Foll:
Lynch
Semmel
Dowd

Int from : Flaherety, Brown, Parton, Simpson,Greer,Willingham,Lacey, Overman, Stewart-Holmes,Kitts

Ten on the bench= hedging my bets, and i have only seen half a dozen games, so going on those and some of what i have heard on here and vafa site.

Great side. The 4 backs named at Carey, plus Reid and Rowe are definates. Unless Scribe goes for the more even spread and limits it to 3-4 a side. Hope not as those 6 would be top dozen of the year for entire comp, so it will make it an inclusive feel good team but not an accurate one.

i reckon weatherly can (and probably will) win a final off his own boot... along with voss, the most influential player in b grade for his own team(can u imagine him at skob with dowd, et all putting it down his throat)
strange things can and do happen in finals, remember OEG absolutley dominating in 08 only to be pipped by the much underrated marc in the granny

Hail cant finish 4th. Loser of 1st semi does.

Speaking of Oakleigh, went to the Krusherdome for the first time on Sunday and was very favourably impressed with the ground, facilities and canteen. Unfortunately couldn't stay for the aftermatch so can't comment on that aspect.

Wish I was as impressed with a couple of Albert Park boundary fence heroes, but probably won't come across them again for some time.

Umm.....Murph...sorry mate but OH can't finish 4th given they have a double chance. Think you must mean OI or OC, with OH losing the PF and UB losing the 1st semi.

As for the TOTY nominations, keep them coming as it's all great food for thought. I might even post a TOTY 2nd XVIII such is the depth in Premier B. The final team should be published in the GF week Amateur Footballer.

NB.: DG-Man, you obviously rate Brett Voss very highly, in order to have him on both the back and forward flanks in your TOTY!! I know it sometimes seems as if he's everywhere all at once, but that may be taking it too far. :D

Cheers

Frase :thumbsu:

Any other nominations for centre half back?

McQueen-Misgamble (Old Carey)
Tom McPherson (St Kevs)
Corey Millard (Haileybury)
Daniel Flaherty (Old Essendon)