B Section 2010

VALE.......The Rat Cage

Season 2010 @ T.H. King Oval
It is with great pleasure that SKOB formally announces its move to T.H. King Oval for the upcoming season. The move to T.H. King follows feedback from members and players keen to see the Club move to a new home ground that provides greater potential for SKOB to grow and expand, thereby better preparing us to compete at the highest level of the VAFA.

TH King I'm sure will be renamed with a more appropriate name, like The Dollman Mahoney Oval.

So they have moved from a ground fit for Under 9's at Righetti (Glen Iris Gladiators) to a ground deemed unfit for Under 9's in 1994 (East Malvern Knights). I'm sure everyone in B-Grade will be rapt! Well done SKOBs!

VALE.......The Rat Cage

It is with great pleasure that SKOB formally announces its move to T.H. King Oval for the upcoming season. The move to T.H. King follows feedback from members and players keen to see the Club move to a new home ground that provides greater potential for SKOB to grow and expand, thereby better preparing us to compete at the highest level of the VAFA.

TH King I'm sure will be renamed with a more appropriate name, like The Dollman Mahoney Oval.

A quick google of "T.H. King Oval" brings up this website:
http://www.toiletmap.gov.au/toilet.aspx?type=toilet&id=8285b46f-90dc-4cb6-9def-80865a8a5b8e

I have already added it to "My Toilets"

Can't wait to play SKOB this year at "The Toilet"

A quick google of "T.H. King Oval" brings up this website:
http://www.toiletmap.gov.au/toilet.aspx?type=toilet&id=8285b46f-90dc-4cb6-9def-80865a8a5b8e

I have already added it to "My Toilets"

Can't wait to play SKOB this year at "The Toilet"

change the map to "photo", zoom in and check out the south west pocket... It'll be a goal-fest from that end!

Also, is that a mod-grass pitch in the centre? Might be a little hard underfoot if that's the case..

change the map to "photo", zoom in and check out the south west pocket... It'll be a goal-fest from that end!

Also, is that a mod-grass pitch in the centre? Might be a little hard underfoot if that's the case..
I thought SKOBS moving to a different ground might reduce the serious injuries happening there. From the photo it looks like it is just as poor!

Coughlan the most injury prone player in the league...i cant see it coming off.

Bernies flying, full list, new recruits, young list...and the return of the chosen one!

Chard...pfff
Parton...pfff

D Byrne...GENIUS

How old is Byrne? 35? You can have the youngest list in the VAFA but its no good if they can't play, so thats all bullshite Griff.
Not sure you should be bagging Coggs when SKOB play you blokes first round!!!
Dollman Mahoney oval looks glamour, those Google photos are at least 3 years old.

How old is Byrne? 35? You can have the youngest list in the VAFA but its no good if they can't play, so thats all bullshite Griff.
Dollman Mahoney oval looks glamour, those Google photos are at least 3 years old.

Danny Byrne is just 30 and a genuine superstar.

If he can get his O.P right he will dominate B Grade in 2010!

Have you got him on the track CG? How is his body holding up?

So they have moved from a ground fit for Under 9's at Righetti (Glen Iris Gladiators) to a ground deemed unfit for Under 9's in 1994 (East Malvern Knights). I'm sure everyone in B-Grade will be rapt! Well done SKOBs!

T.H King is actually a pretty good track these days. A bit on the small side but a good place to watch games. The pavilion is small, particularly the visitor’s rooms and there is very little space for social activities. Parking might be a hassle but no worse than many other grounds. Certainly has the potential to be good home base but would need the club or council to tip some money in to develop the rooms etc.

Wow - looks like our 2 biggest summer secrets have been exposed (Cogs & TH King).
Spot on Rooster, ground is in pretty good nick. Pav is no better than Righetti at this stage but we have more chance of doing something there than the Rat Cage. Parking is 10 times better as well. Hopefully in a couple of years time all will be up and running Lexus Centre like...
Donations are welcome (for the new pavillion not Cogs:thumbsu:)

Its just as well then the young list CAN play bob.

Wasnt bagging "Cogs" mate, was just laying the facts down.

Byrne just turned 30, no sign of the OP and FLYING.

Bring on round 1.

p.s. will give some credit for ground change...thank f*&^

Its just as well then the young list CAN play bob.

Wasnt bagging "Cogs" mate, was just laying the facts down.

Byrne just turned 30, no sign of the OP and FLYING.

Bring on round 1.

p.s. will give some credit for ground change...thank f*&^

i'd say jmadden is also a pretty handy inclusion for bernards given he only played the opening 5 rounds last year before going OS

and i would say that the young list can deinately play

cant wait for Round 1

Coughlan the most injury prone player in the league...i cant see it coming off.

Bernies flying, full list, new recruits, young list...and the return of the chosen one!

Chard...pfff
Parton...pfff

D Byrne...GENIUS

Surprised there's not more love for Al Parton on this thread.. Came 4th in the Chandler last year, was named Blackburn's player of the finals series, was an absolute gun in the ammo's 05 and 06 and is looking super fit at the moment.. Will be a great player and leader for Carey and is one of the most respected blokes amongst his peers at any side I've played with..

Write him off at your peril, along with his brother he'll be a massive recruit for carey..

Surprised there's not more love for Al Parton on this thread.. Came 4th in the Chandler last year, was named Blackburn's player of the finals series, was an absolute gun in the ammo's 05 and 06 and is looking super fit at the moment.. Will be a great player and leader for Carey and is one of the most respected blokes amongst his peers at any side I've played with..

Write him off at your peril, along with his brother he'll be a massive recruit for carey..

^^^^^^^^^^
Yeah - what he said! ;)

Good news about the SKOB move to T.H. King. Can't be any worse that Righetti, and hopefully the canteen can lift a notch or two as well.

Obviously SKOB, Bernies and Carey have all good reason to be excited about their prospects in 2010. Little bit of mail re: OI, OEG and OH, but not a whisper about Oakleigh, MHSOB, Rovers or Blacks. This usually suggest things aren't going brilliantly as yet. :eek:

Premier B is shaping up to be the most talked about grade in the competition, should make things easier for the VAFA Amateur FootballerScribe :D to do justice to every club's efforts. I'm looking forward to getting back to writing for the rag and giving you guys some entertaining rubbish to devour every weekend.

Cheers

Fraser

i'd say jmadden is also a pretty handy inclusion for bernards given he only played the opening 5 rounds last year before going OS

and i would say that the young list can deinately play

cant wait for Round 1
Agree re Madden, was a gun before he was injured, hope his hammies are better.

Re young lists, I dont think it matters in the VAFA, look at OX, they have never been young. You can recruit freely, unlike the AFL so its over rated.

Parton is a good player and will add to Old Carey.

Coughlan is over his OP, has been for a year, dominated VFL and played well at Richmond last year. Averaged 18 touches a game.

Season 2009 Totals/Averages
GM K HB D M G B T HO GA GC I50 FF FA
Total 9 77 85 162 41 2 3 37 4 1 3 14 8 5
Average 9 8.6 9.4 18.0 4.6 0.2 0.3 4.1 0.4 0.1 0.3 1.6 0.9 0.6
GA - Goal Assists, I50 - Inside 50s, GC - Goals Contributed (Goals + Goal Assists)
Season Highlights
28 disps (13 kicks 15 hballs), 7 marks and 5 tackles in Rd 8 3-pt loss to Port Adelaide at AAMI Stadium (17 May 2009)

In the VFL he played 11 games and was named in the best 7 times, so 20 games for the season. Lets hope he can do that with SKOB and probably the VAFA rep team.

Great work Fraser, looking forward to your weekly prognostications.

^^^^^^^^^^
Yeah - what he said! ;)

Good news about the SKOB move to T.H. King. Can't be any worse that Righetti, and hopefully the canteen can lift a notch or two as well.

Obviously SKOB, Bernies and Carey have all good reason to be excited about their prospects in 2010. Little bit of mail re: OI, OEG and OH, but not a whisper about Oakleigh, MHSOB, Rovers or Blacks. This usually suggest things aren't going brilliantly as yet. :eek:

Premier B is shaping up to be the most talked about grade in the competition, should make things easier for the VAFA Amateur FootballerScribe :D to do justice to every club's efforts. I'm looking forward to getting back to writing for the rag and giving you guys some entertaining rubbish to devour every weekend.

Cheers

Fraser

I wouldn't read into it like that Scribe, in relation to Oakleigh, MHSOB, Rovers or Blacks, it is probably more a case that we have all picked up new quality guys, but really wouldn't want to spruik off this early as we aren't sure if our recruits are as good as the others mentioned on the Forum. Anyone can say that so & so is a star, but until he plays in round 1 he is just another player. Oakleigh are always a competitive team no matter what level, Blacks have quality players, MHSOB were impressive in the GF last year, however it is a big jump up to B grade. As for us, we are pretty fit and Matty Robbins is implementing a few things, however time will tell.
ps; Can someone tell me if T.H King changerooms are bigger than Righetti - because those rooms were ridiculously small - no fault of SKOBS clearly!

Wow - looks like our 2 biggest summer secrets have been exposed (Cogs & TH King).
Spot on Rooster, ground is in pretty good nick. Pav is no better than Righetti at this stage but we have more chance of doing something there than the Rat Cage. Parking is 10 times better as well. Hopefully in a couple of years time all will be up and running Lexus Centre like...
Donations are welcome (for the new pavillion not Cogs:thumbsu:)

mick gia lost to bush for cash?
true/untrue?

VALE.......The Rat Cage

you guys used glenferrie oval a few years back. a top surface. is there some reason it doesn't seem to be used these days?

The surface isn't great these days though;

409335193_d27ab9976d.jpg

Yeah, that grandfinal clash was a huge hit with both players running into each other with eyes on the ball, Ben ended up with a broken wrist from that.

Recon a bloke that has kicked 100 goals in un19s, been comp leading goal kicker twice in b grade (amatures) and been the key forward in EDFL A Grade flag (Greenvale) along with leading goal kicker in EDFL B grade (West Coburg)and 28 yrs old would be welcome at most clubs.

If Haks did play he'd be an asset.

DOnt get too excited boys, his clearance was denied last thursday...little bit of work left to do to get him over the line.

ps; Can someone tell me if T.H King changerooms are bigger than Righetti - because those rooms were ridiculously small - no fault of SKOBS clearly!
Good post, its not spruiking, its giving us all something to talk about thats all. We are all excited for the new season to start so we need to talk about something!
Re TH King, the facilities are average but we will be able to do something about them in the next 18 months or so, at Righetti we had no hope as the council sees it more as 'park' for walking dogs and kids playing a than football ground.
So temporary facilities will be the go in the short term, and hopefully a ripper facility in time for 2012.

Bouncing Back, SKOB had to leave Glenferrie as the Australian Olympic Weightlifting blokes moved in and removed all of the toilets and change rooms.

Murphy, re Mick Gia, NO, the rumor is incorrect, will be at SKOB a little bit later as he has just gotten married and is enjoying some time with his lovely new wife.

Good post, its not spruiking, its giving us all something to talk about thats all. We are all excited for the new season to start so we need to talk about something!
Re TH King, the facilities are average but we will be able to do something about them in the next 18 months or so, at Righetti we had no hope as the council sees it more as 'park' for walking dogs and kids playing a than football ground.
So temporary facilities will be the go in the short term, and hopefully a ripper facility in time for 2012.

Bouncing Back, SKOB had to leave Glenferrie as the Australian Olympic Weightlifting blokes moved in and removed all of the toilets and change rooms.

Murphy, re Mick Gia, NO, the rumor is incorrect, will be at SKOB a little bit later as he has just gotten married and is enjoying some time with his lovely new wife.

The oval does look in a fairly parlous state but that's fairly easily fixed these days. I notice in the pic the grandstand is still there so I gather the change rooms could be renovated and put to gainful use again. With the shortage of reasonable playing grounds around the inner metro area it seems like a dreadful waste.