Mar 21, 2016
Down South Corvus Tristis
Sturt, White Sox
Thanks for the discussion.

The blinds , for me, dont matter. The SS puts in $6k. Thats what I'm looking at and I have that covered. I'm an old fart and pot odds mean nothing to me. I play the cards and my stack. :)

I do agree most hands and I am pushing in, even 2:diamonds: and I am calling. It was a combination of opponent and 3:diamonds: (high ones) that caused me to start overthinking. If I think SS has an A then that drops my outs more. Head to head if SS had an A it wouldnt bother me but thinking SS might have one means I have to consider it in my thinking. If I also think 3rd stack has an A then my further outs get very narrow

I ended up making final table and 3rd stack went out on the bubble.

Again thanks for the input :)

dirty2

F*** the southern power
Nov 6, 2016
Bar Rossa
Port Adelaide
Arsenal
Remember going to the casino couple of years ago with my brother sat down at the table and there was a very aggressive player constantly rising/bullying people to fold... turned to my brother said wait for the right cards then go hard at him.

About 2 hands later I got pocket queens.. called... he raised i push all in ($300 ish dollars) i had alot more money back then.. lol he called... i won... got up walked away with his money and my brother and i had a great night. Carnt remember the flop or anything.. but his hand wasnt good.

Feb 23, 2009
New York Jets
Remember going to the casino couple of years ago with my brother sat down at the table and there was a very aggressive player constantly rising/bullying people to fold... turned to my brother said wait for the right cards then go hard at him.

About 2 hands later I got pocket queens.. called... he raised i push all in ($300 ish dollars) i had alot more money back then.. lol he called... i won... got up walked away with his money and my brother and i had a great night. Carnt remember the flop or anything.. but his hand wasnt good.
That's the advantage of cash games and the main difference between tournaments.
Cash games where the blinds don't go up you can sit and wait for your spot and then nail a big pot or two and your night is good.

Tournaments where the blinds go up quickly and you're forced to play hands otherwise your stack just dwindles too much and you are too easily bullied.

Mar 2, 2003
West Tigers. G.S.W
66 v AK
Board: T86 Q J
Run out like this happened to me a couple of years ago.
Direct entry tourney at crown for Aussie millions, pretty sure they're or were phase 3
13 people left 4 seats available have pocket 10s
I raised big stack at the table who was so loose aggressive shoves over the top sit there for about a minute, 90% sure I'm ahead but don't really want to race, I think he has AK AQ. Begrudgingly call he has AK
Flop 5 7 10
Turn J
River Q

Jun 27, 2013
Tottenham Hotspur, SSC Napoli, ESH

Haha, I couldn't do that after winning a massive pot but it is a great action to say **** you and your pathetic predictable tactics

Normally stay 2-4 more hands after a big pot win, try and minimize losses there then go.

First time I played at Crown when I was 19 I got bullied around by a big fat bloke Pre-flop who had well over a grand in chips (the flog should've played at a higher blinds table instead of at a minimum buy in $2/4 blinds table). Think I had ace queen or something, called his predictable pre-flop raise. Ace queen comes out on the flop, I go all in, he calls with an underpair, I double up then start winning a few pots afterwards.

Was annoying I had to risk it and go all in, but was pretty happy with myself. Walked away with nearly $400 in the end after just a $60 buy in.

dirty2

F*** the southern power
Nov 6, 2016
Bar Rossa
Port Adelaide
Arsenal
Haha, I couldn't do that after winning a massive pot but it is a great action to say **** you and your pathetic predictable tactics

Normally stay 2-4 more hands after a big pot win, try and minimize losses there then go.

First time I played at Crown when I was 19 I got bullied around by a big fat bloke Pre-flop who had well over a grand in chips (the flog should've played at a higher blinds table instead of at a minimum buy in $2/4 blinds table). Think I had ace queen or something, called his predictable pre-flop raise. Ace queen comes out on the flop, I go all in, he calls with an underpair, I double up then start winning a few pots afterwards.

Was annoying I had to risk it and go all in, but was pretty happy with myself. Walked away with nearly $400 in the end after just a $60 buy in.
I was on such a high after it that the best thing to do was walk away... other wise I would of ended up the bully and played way to loose.

Sep 9, 2012
Brisbane Lions
NE Patriots
Nice job, good money, cant complain with $750 over a weekend! Do you adopt the standard Friday and Saturday night play against drunks and casuals strategy?
Hey that's my strategy. I'm more of a grinder though; you can't really trick people who don't know what they're doing/drunk idiots.

Sep 9, 2012
Brisbane Lions
NE Patriots
Up and down arvo at Crown (NL).

I've got AJ, flop comes out A9J with just two runners. I check and old mate bets. I check raise his bet (roughly x3) then he shoves all in and I call... his got J9.
A9J...10...9

Later on the guy to my left shoves all in pre-flop with A10, I've got JJ and call.
A58...3...J.

The pot I won wasn't nearly as big but still finished up ahead on the day

Feb 23, 2009
New York Jets
Up and down arvo at Crown (NL).

I've got AJ, flop comes out A9J with just two runners. I check and old mate bets. I check raise his bet (roughly x3) then he shoves all in and I call... his got J9.
A9J...10...9

Later on the guy to my left shoves all in pre-flop with A10, I've got JJ and call.
A58...3...J.

The pot I won wasn't nearly as big but still finished up ahead on the day
Pocket Js are such a nasty hand preflop. They're too good to fold against one or two players but are so often beaten by opponent catching an A K or Q.

deklares

Oct 7, 2009
Brisbane Lions
Liverpool FC, Robert Whittaker
Pocket Js are such a nasty hand preflop. They're too good to fold against one or two players but are so often beaten by opponent catching an A K or Q.
Have to play the opponent with JJ. If villain is playing a lot of hands JJ is fine. Against some tight players it's almost an instafold. IMO.

Sep 9, 2012
Brisbane Lions
NE Patriots
Yeah now that I think about it I probably should've folded - the guy was playing super tight. The only reason I called was it was heads-up and he was short-stacked. I guess the deck owed me after I got rivered earlier

Mar 21, 2016
Down South Corvus Tristis
Sturt, White Sox
The only reason I called was it was heads-up and he was short-stacked.
Both valid reasons and together a more solid reason. If he has better then shrug you lose a small amount if not you eliminate a good player.

Feb 23, 2009
New York Jets
Yeah now that I think about it I probably should've folded - the guy was playing super tight. The only reason I called was it was heads-up and he was short-stacked. I guess the deck owed me after I got rivered earlier
Heads up against a short stack I'm playing JJs every time too though. Just seems to be one of those danger hands that look good but is quite often beaten at showdown.

Mar 2, 2003
West Tigers. G.S.W
Played Ignition today.
Have about 10,700 in chips
Putrid beat $20 buy in blinds 125/250
I have AK Clubs in cut off
Make it 744
2 callers one guy with about 3800 total other with just under 12k
Flop A diamonds 2 clubs 5 clubs
Checked to me i make it 1177 small stack shoves for his remaining 3100 guy who has me outchipped calls the small stack. I shove for my stack guy instantly calls, so I'm thinking he has either 2 pair or a set
Turn 6 Diamonds river 6 spades
Small stack had QJ
Guy who barely has me out chipped
6 9 of clubs.......
My own fault for getting my money in when I'm a 94% chance of winning i guess :rolleyes:

Jul 8, 2015
Port Adelaide
Played Ignition today.
Have about 10,700 in chips
Putrid beat $20 buy in blinds 125/250
I have AK Clubs in cut off
Make it 744
2 callers one guy with about 3800 total other with just under 12k
Flop A diamonds 2 clubs 5 clubs
Checked to me i make it 1177 small stack shoves for his remaining 3100 guy who has me outchipped calls the small stack. I shove for my stack guy instantly calls, so I'm thinking he has either 2 pair or a set
Turn 6 Diamonds river 6 spades
Small stack had QJ
Guy who barely has me out chipped
6 9 of clubs.......
My own fault for getting my money in when I'm a 94% chance of winning i guess :rolleyes:
Very ouch. Unlucky.

Sep 9, 2012
Brisbane Lions
NE Patriots
Tripled up in 30 mins just playing $1/2 at Crown - cashed out.

People that do that are grubs but I tell you what, I’m a happy grub.
Update: went back after getting some dinner cause the night was so young. Finished the entire night up x4

Most memorable hand (session 2): 3,3
Three runners as I limp in. Flop comes Ac3c5 - I bet into it somewhat worried about the club draw and I guess a straight too. Two callers
Turn 3 - UTG bets, other dude calls... I call
River A - UTG shoves all in, other dude calls and I reluctantly call ;)
Both had Aces full of threes against my quad 3s.

Feb 23, 2009
New York Jets
Lost a 1.5k pot against Shane Warne playing 2/5 at Crown(effective stack 600). My A-ko againts his 5-9s all in pre :(
Warnie fancies himself as a player but that's taking the piss going all in with that pre flop. It's probably his loose change though which is why he can get away with it.

Aug 11, 2009
Hobart
Launceston FC
Played 1/3 NLH at Wrest Point last night, after being stuck early came of with a $100 win.
Got involved in a couple of interesting hands.
I'm UTG +1 with A9c, raise to $11, 3 callers.
Flop Q,4,8 rainbow.
Action checks around
Turn A.
SB checks, I make it $25, only SB calls.
River 8
SB checks, I make it $55, SB goes all in for $40 more, I call.
He shows 8,8 for quads!!! Didn't see that coming!!

Next hand is a corner.....
I'm on the button with 7,7. UTG makes it $11, 4 callers.
Flop 8,8,4 rainbow.
Checks to me and I make it $25, SB and MP call.
Turn 7.
Checks to me again and I make it $45, only MP calls.
River 7.
MP checks, I make it $90 with $90 behind.
MP tanks, looks like folding and I do my best to look weak. He shoves having me covered.
Don't think I've ever called so quick in my life!!

All in all a fun night. They only had 2 tables while renovations take place, 1/3 filled quick, took until 11pm to fill the other table with 2/5.

Sep 9, 2012
Brisbane Lions
NE Patriots
One of the worst run outs ever last night:

I have K, Q heads-up with a noob who is clearly a first-time casino player.
Flop comes K, Q, 2 - I bet 50% pot, he calls.
Turn - Q - I check my full-house and he bets into me. I call
River - A - I bet about 50% again trying to extract a call and he min-raises... luckily I just call instead of shove, as he shows A, A (turned a better full house).

I showed first and said "fullboat" and he frustratingly revealed his A, A - not even knowing he had a better full house. It wasn't until I pointed out he even noticed...

B4Bear

Jul 6, 2011
One of the worst run outs ever last night:

I have K, Q heads-up with a noob who is clearly a first-time casino player.
Flop comes K, Q, 2 - I bet 50% pot, he calls.
Turn - Q - I check my full-house and he bets into me. I call
River - A - I bet about 50% again trying to extract a call and he min-raises... luckily I just call instead of shove, as he shows A, A (turned a better full house).

I showed first and said "fullboat" and he frustratingly revealed his A, A - not even knowing he had a better full house. It wasn't until I pointed out he even noticed...
Damn that is bad.

Nothing you could do there, and to be honest he was never going to fold on AA.