Bad Beat/Vent/Brag thread

Jun 27, 2013
Tottenham Hotspur, SSC Napoli, ESH
Anybody playing the major APL events around Australia?

I see Gold Coast have a big 150k event and Melbourne had one just recently

SA has a 75k Main Event (plus other events) in July
I played our one on the last Friday of April

Ran good early, doubled my stack, then had bottom set sucked out on by an open ender on the river about half hour after lunch, bet into 2 guys flop and turn and they weren't giving up their holdings. Lost a third of my stack that hand and was a slow 2-3 hour descent from there on. Got my last 25k in preflop with kings at 1-2k +2k level, kid who chased down his open ender called in the big blind with A9os, clean flop, turn 9, ace river...absolutely trash, same kid on an absolute heater too knocking a few others out beforehand and he rebought after playing like a donkey before lunch, called out a bluff from him earlier on too which chipped me up.

Them them breaks

Mar 21, 2016
Down South Corvus Tristis
Sturt, White Sox
10 handed table Blinds 800/1600 utg1 J8:diamonds: raise to 3200

Button and sb calls bb folds

received_3987636291272767.jpeg

BB checks I check button bets 15k SB shoved 43k

I had 44.5k and thought BB had a set of 6s and thought button had A:diamonds: but I recognized that any other flush combo was possible. I went into the tank for a bit concerned about KQ or A

Ultimately I felt that it was impossible for there to be 9 diamonds out so I called - button calls

received_534093851090258.jpeg

Ffs

MrKK

Mar 11, 2012
City of churches
Sturt, Southampton FC, LSU

View attachment 1141496

I had 44.5k and thought BB had a set of 6s and thought button had A:diamonds: but I recognized that any other flush combo was possible. I went into the tank for a bit concerned about KQ or A

Ultimately I felt that it was impossible for there to be 9 diamonds out so I called - button calls

View attachment 1141503

Ffs
Oh wow.
Nice table set-up - is that a home game?

Jun 27, 2013

View attachment 1141496

View attachment 1141503

Ffs
I am disappoint no 45d

Sep 19, 2006
Tigerland
Manchester United
Anybody playing the major APL events around Australia?

I see Gold Coast have a big 150k event and Melbourne had one just recently

SA has a 75k Main Event (plus other events) in July

I've played a few of the Melbourne tournaments. Was a great overall experience.

Mar 21, 2016
Sturt, White Sox
Must be the Diamonds

13 left blinds are still 3/6 and I am bb with A7 both Diamonds

I have a stack of 50+ but want 1 more big score to feel comfortable.

There is a shark on the other table gobbling up stacks so a double up should see me good

Utg2 limps and sb calls and I call

Flop is 4:spades: 9Q:diamonds: beauty

Utg2 bets a blind telling me he has hit, sb folds and I consider a call but decide to shove.

He calls and turns over 2 cards of which I can see one Q (couldn't see the other one)

Turn is 5:diamonds: and I pat myself on the back.

River is 4:diamonds: and everyone at the table goes off. I already had it so not sure why

Until someone reveals his hidden (to me) card is the 4:clubs:

Mar 21, 2016
Sturt, White Sox
Sigh

Friday night splashing down to 16k look down at pocket 7s utg raises 2k I call plus 2 others (blinds)

Flop 794 -sb/BB checks raiser bets 6.5k I shove. Fold fold utg calls and shows QQ - face drops when I turn over my 777

Turn is Q

River is a 4 - his Qs are good and I am watching football typing this

Mar 21, 2016
Sturt, White Sox
Bugga

Playing the Main Event at the APL casino event blinds are 1/2 with 2k ante - I am button - my stack is 70kish and I have fought my way back from 31k an hour earlier and we are heading towards bagging up (maybe 1 hour away)

I look down at A :spades: 5:clubs: - ehh see what happens

Middle position raises to 7k - I call and the blinds fold

Flop 3, 5 and 10 - all spades . - Nice lets see how this - oh she has bet 50k. I didnt think she had the flush and anyway I only need another spade to have the nuts - plus I have the 5 and maybe she doesnt have an A

I shove my 70k and she calls - turns over pocket 7s - good I didnt think she had much and I am happy with the shove even if behind.

An A or a 5 or any of the remaining 9 spades and I am good for a possible final day appearance

Yeah nah - 3 club and K heart and I am out

MrKK

Mar 11, 2012
City of churches
Bugga

Playing the Main Event at the APL casino event blinds are 1/2 with 2k ante - I am button - my stack is 70kish and I have fought my way back from 31k an hour earlier and we are heading towards bagging up (maybe 1 hour away)

I look down at A :spades: 5:clubs: - ehh see what happens

Middle position raises to 7k - I call and the blinds fold

Flop 3, 5 and 10 - all spades . - Nice lets see how this - oh she has bet 50k. I didnt think she had the flush and anyway I only need another spade to have the nuts - plus I have the 5 and maybe she doesnt have an A

I shove my 70k and she calls - turns over pocket 7s - good I didnt think she had much and I am happy with the shove even if behind.

An A or a 5 or any of the remaining 9 spades and I am good for a possible final day appearance

Yeah nah - 3 club and K heart and I am out
Serves you right for dealing her a river 2-outer to knock me out for the first time! ;)
(TBF it was a flip when we got it in pre flop, just brutal the way it ran out.)

Mar 21, 2016
Sturt, White Sox
Dealt this bad beat

Player to the left of me has an image as a tight player waiting for premium hands or someone willing to fold when the cards dont hit

Player in middle position bets 3x and most fold until the SB who looks down at under half stack and shoves the small blind - folds to the original raiser who calls

SB turns over AK suited and MP shows 99

Flop has the A

Turn is a brick for both

The river is a 9

Brutal

MrKK

Mar 11, 2012
City of churches
Dealt this bad beat

Player to the left of me has an image as a tight player waiting for premium hands or someone willing to fold when the cards dont hit

Player in middle position bets 3x and most fold until the SB who looks down at under half stack and shoves the small blind - folds to the original raiser who calls

SB turns over AK suited and MP shows 99

Flop has the A

Turn is a brick for both

The river is a 9

Brutal
My second bust out was worse than that first one.

Blinds 800/1600 with 1600 BB ante. Last hand before break.

2 limps to me in SB and I have AKo with 52k stack. I really didn't want to burn a bunch of chips raising pre then a continuation bet when I likely miss the flop so I just jam. I'm hoping someone will think I'm just making a move as people often do on last hands.

BB who has been super aggressive and has ~200k tanks and calls. Limpers fold.

BB has A4o (WTF??)

Flop A T 6
Turn 4
River J

gg, nh.

I would've come back from break with over 50bb and and above average stack for the first time all night.

Mar 21, 2016
Sturt, White Sox
Serves you right for dealing her a river 2-outer to knock me out for the first time! ;)
(TBF it was a flip when we got it in pre flop, just brutal the way it ran out.)
Karma wasnt from this hand - it was from this one

Blinds are 6/1200 1200 ante I look down at AK in the small blind

Short stack shoves and folds to me and I shove leaving us heads up

He turns over Q10o

Flop has the Q

Turn is the 10 and I groan until someone says 'just need the J'

Yep Jack hits and I get a healthy stack

Mar 21, 2016
Sturt, White Sox
Poker giveth and it taketh away

It Giveth

My day at home ended up being over before I expected so I made the drive into the city and into the casino expecting to watch and realised the 3rd flight was still on rego

Buy in and get my 50k stack (actually 2 x 25k chips) - get straight in the hand and look at JQclubs -

Blinds are 8/1600/1600 and I am utg2 - I limp (wanting to look at table dynamics) and everyone else limps - ok

Flop is K :clubs: 7:clubs: 5spade - SB checks , BB bets 5k - I call as does SB and the rest get out of the way

I felt the King was important as it meant the Ax was the only cards beating me if the flush hit

And it does on the turn with the 3:clubs: - SB checks BB bets 10k I call SB folds

River is a J:diamonds:

BB bets 15k and I call - I was concerned at the Ax but he turned over pocket KK - o_O

He limped and didnt shove the flop or bet harder and got his pants pulled down

He started a general convo saying '' I dont know the guy he could be doing anything I never seen him so I went slow''

He then asked if I would have called if he shoved - my mouth said ' yeah mate I had 2 cards to hit 35% blah blah' and my brain is screaming 'of course I would have folded my first hand - I wanted to make final day '

It Taketh Away

After bagging up for final day I moved over to the Teams event and kept on getting the chips back my partner lost - blinds are 3/6k and down to the last 2 tables and I am BB (58k?) with 29:diamonds: - it limps around to me so I aint folding them

Flop is K2:clubs: 9:spades: - 2 pair you beauty here we go

SB checks I check UTG bets 16k - SB calls the 16k and I shove my last 52k - UTG jams his big stack over the top and SB gets out

UTG shows KJ - and is stunned to see my 2 pair

Turn doesnt help him

River - the river is a J to give him the 2 pair and we finish 13/14th?

Mar 21, 2016
Sturt, White Sox
Been a while

1st hand of the night - A:diamonds: 4:spades: - Dealer button - 1 behind dealer raises to 250 (blinds 25/50) - I call as do SB/BB

Flop TQK:diamonds::diamonds::diamonds: - High Jack bets 1k - I call fold fold heads up

Turn is the 5:clubs: HJ bets 1k call

River is so beautiful

J :diamonds: and GC gets his 2nd RF of the year - HJ bets 1k - I think about how much value I can get and decide its really only going to be a min raise - 2k - HJ grumbles but calls and shows his Trip Qs

Poor bastard

Last 2 tables and I have 33k and BB with 3/6 blinds with 89 off

UTG flats , LJ flats HJ flats SB folds and I call

Flop is 858 - UTG bets 6k - LJ raises to 12k HJ folds and I have to decide what to do. Can I slow play these? Does one of them have 55?

I shove - UTG thinks about it and calls my bet - LJ tanks for 2 minutes and goes all in for an extra 3k and UTG calls that

UTG - AA
LJ - 67off
BB Trip 8s

LJ doesnt want a 9 as that boats me.

Turn is a 4 ffs and a 7 on the River sees me out

Mar 21, 2016
Sturt, White Sox
Played the Southern Poker tour Berri comp over this weekend

Our South Adelaide group had some good results

2 players made Main Event FT
3 players made Tag Team FT
1 player made Max Shootout FT
1 player made Short Deck FT
1 player made Freeze out FT
2 players made Teams Event FT

And confirming results I think 1 made Bounty FT

The only FTs not made werent entered

Always a well run event and cant wait for the borders to open and the Geelong Group to get back over the border

MrKK

Mar 11, 2012
City of churches
Played the Southern Poker tour Berri comp over this weekend

Our South Adelaide group had some good results

2 players made Main Event FT
3 players made Tag Team FT
1 player made Max Shootout FT
1 player made Short Deck FT
1 player made Freeze out FT
2 players made Teams Event FT

And confirming results I think 1 made Bounty FT

The only FTs not made werent entered

Always a well run event and cant wait for the borders to open and the Geelong Group to get back over the border
How did you personally go? Did you make any FTs?

I haven't played since the Sky City event. Waiting for the mask mandates to end before I get back in the felt.

Mar 21, 2016
Sturt, White Sox
How did you personally go? Did you make any FTs?

I haven't played since the Sky City event. Waiting for the mask mandates to end before I get back in the felt.
Because it was a 'closed event' masks were only required around the rest of the complex ie bistro and sports bar etc.

Yes I made one of the FTs 🤑

Oct 9, 2006
Left of centre.
Super Tottenham....from the Lane.
$55 online tourney over the weekend on Ignition Poker (it allows Aussies). About 280 runners, gets down to the the final 3 and I am the big stack with about 50% of the chips and sitting in the BB. UTG shoves all in, SB snap calls and I am sitting in the BB with AA. The other two players have AJ and AK so a bit unlucky for them in a three handed game.

But happy days for me.

Jun 27, 2013
Hit the felt again tonight, first time since May, only played an el cheapo, but was good to see some cards again

Was a really weird night the way it played out for me

Card dead early before the chip up, got it in twice on the flop before break, won the first flip with top 2 pair, but the 2nd flip I raised to 4k with AK UTG (500-1Kbbs), 2 big stacks call 1 of them in the BB, hit my king on a K52 board, BB leads out, I jam over him, other guy folds, BB calls and flips over 52 hearts lol ffs...board runs clean for him.

Anyways, so I get my chip up and it's just a grind for about half an hour folding and getting blinded down waiting for the right spot as I seemed to get face card + rag every 2nd hand. Pick up A2 hearts, jam my last 16k, get called by big stack with king high, I flop a duck and the board runs clean, I chip up again through the same guy with AT vs KT, then it was a funny game of jamming at the right spot, a few times I tried to eliminate short stacks with the same big stack involved, but SSs either caught what they needed or I was behind, but I was always ahead of the big stack so twas a small profit or a small loss situation, then before the final table I doubled through big stack again (he just couldn't get me), 9s vs J9, I flopped a set with the case 9 and he missed his gutter.

So got to the final table healthyish with a midtable stack, was lucky to sit next to a few tighter players so I won a couple of blind vs blind action to stay afloat, but never picked up a hand to knock out anyone or to double through anyone, eventually got down to 4 handed and the bubble after a timely double elimination got rid of 5th and 6th then I started getting cards again, saw a few flops again as the others tightened up a bit and started chipping and doubling through the 2 big stacks left and got the lead briefly when 3 handed but mainly sat in 2nd for chips for the rest of the night (1 of them was the guy who couldn't get me earlier and he came 3rd, even though he eliminated nearly half the field)

Anyways, ended up coming 2nd and didn't eliminate anyone LOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOL, a personal best effort in that regard, will see if I can achieve a similar feat against a much bigger playing field. The last time I won earlier in the year I only got my first elimination of the night eliminating 6th, then 5th and 2nd and also wrecked the big stack who came 4th who was short after I doubled through him to cripple him, so I guess I've got form in this regard targeting the big stacks come FTs as their jamming/calling range seems to be wider than the twindling stacks who hang on to get it in good and I either get it in well ahead or with decent equity to get there, so yeah, I think my FT game has gotten better.

From all the cashes I remember since I started playing these pub turbos in 2019, I only once had the chip lead coming into the FT which I won, got all the premiums, wasn't losing that night, but every other time I was about 4th-8th in chips starting the FT, think I was 5th or 6th tonight in that regard.

20211208_000633.jpg

I think I made the right play here though.
Screenshot_20211208-021720_DuckDuckGo.jpg

Winner limped in with the aces, he had about a 5 to 2 chip lead at the time also and was getting better cards come showdown as we did play a few hands out over about 20 minutes or so, I flop an 8 and a diamond draw, so thought bugger it, I should have outs if I'm behind, didn't come but would have another day as percentages show, was a flip.

But yeah, if I was told before the game I would come 2nd I'd take it (be it weirdly without eliminating anyone)

Mar 21, 2016
Sturt, White Sox
I'm shoving that 100% - even if I did think he had AA

I had crawled my way to last 2 tables at a good 65 field and looked down at 25 :diamonds: in the BB with blinds 15/30 and I had 110k - now 80k

UTG raises to 60k and everyone folds to me . If it was a shove I fold and grumble but the min raise keeps me in it - down to 50kish

Flop J23 rainbow - I'm first to act and I figure that hitting puts me in front - the min raise gave me expectations of AK, AQ, AJ, AT , KQ etc or a low pair which could be scared of a J

I shove my last 50kish and he snaps turns over AK and I am in front

4 on the turn - still alive

5 on the river which gives me 2 pair and oh gives him the straight - oh well I was ahead

As above masks when away from the tables but clear at the tables

Jun 27, 2013
Was actually thinking about the swings in how I've ran this year

First 2 months was absolutely horrendous, just a huge mix of getting coolered, getting 2-5 outed on getting it in well ahead, or just absolutely card dead

End of March/early April around my birthday I broke the run bad and had a win and a flukey FT where I got it in behind with overs every flip but I hit and doubled up. Rest of April/May before lockdowns was mixed but nothing where I'd say I'd had bad luck or really frustrated me.

Didn't play for 6 and a half months then got a second place on return.

So I've FTd in like 3 of the last 7 games I've played, cashed in 2 of them. It evens out in the long run.