Opinion Bailey Smith

Smith fancies Nostril Lager himself.

I would happily sacrifice Oskar Baker to take him out early with a shirt front. Smith loses the plot when physically targeted. Tag him, smash him.

Watch him headbutt one of our blokes and send him into a spiral of stupidity.
We'll have to send Bailey Dale to him. No mercy.

The record shows Dale is the hard man in our team, with proven ability to physically and mentally disintegrate.

We'll have to send Bailey Dale to him. No mercy.

The record shows Dale is the hard man in our team, with proven ability to physically and mentally disintegrate.

If it was country footy, we could pay Willie Rioli's brother's neighbour's mechanic who did time for armed robbery & went 2 rounds with Danny Green as an amateur on him

Meh...Smith is up and about playing some great footy and having a good time of it stirring the pot. Which is all good and makes for great pantomime, countless bigfooty shitposts and even more media talking points in good times.

Fair play.

However good times and great form doesn't last forever and Im not sure that he's going to have such a grand time of it when the wheel turns and things aren't so swell. Or how his new teammates will react if he continues to act the arsehat if their form drops off or if 35 year old Patrick Dangerfield can no longer carry the side on his back. He may well value the individual or some such nonsense in his team structures, but nothings surer than Chris Scott pulling Baileys head in if things begin to tighten up for his team. Or if Baileys thirst starts to become a distraction for his side.

One thing is certain. Geelong's shiny new play thing Chuckles the jester doesn't have a great track record of endearing himself to teammates or his club during times of adversity.

Meh...Smith is up and about playing some great footy and having a good time of it stirring the pot. Which is all good and makes for great pantomime, countless bigfooty shitposts and even more media talking points in good times.

Fair play.

However good times and great form doesn't last forever and Im not sure that he's going to have such a grand time of it when the wheel turns and things aren't so swell. Or how his new teammates will react if he continues to act the arsehat if their form drops off or if 35 year old Patrick Dangerfield can no longer carry the side on his back. He may well value the individual or some such nonsense in his team structures, but nothings surer than Chris Scott pulling Baileys head in if things begin to tighten up for his team. Or if Baileys thirst starts to become a distraction for his side.

One thing is certain. Geelong's shiny new play thing Chuckles the jester doesn't have a great track record of endearing himself to teammates or his club during times of adversity.

It's Akermanis all over. That ended in tears when he was more problem than he was worth.

This will eventually end in tears as well when the club and/or his teammates get sick of his me me me bull**** and the form drops which it will and I'm here for it when it happens.

I notice these days the use of the term "he doesn't have a filter" used a lot as an excuse for people like Smith mouthing off. As if the poor things can't help it as they weren't born with one, like its some birth defect that we have to understand and have tolerance for.
Talk about woke bs. We used to call them big mouth smart arses and sit em back on their backsides when they mouthed off. Guess what, suddenly they had filters.
In some cases that's exactly what it is. Walk a mile in their shoes.

There are some people (often described as "neuro-divergent) who struggle with this. And yes, it's the way they were born. Although education and socialisation can help. I'm by no means an expert on the subject but I do have close experience of such people (no, it's not me).

Yes, of course there are people who are not in this category who will claim it as an excuse for their poor behaviour. Unfortunately that just makes it harder for the genuine cases to get the tolerance and understanding that they deserve.

I really don't know which of these two categories Bailey fits into.

Fair play.

Look I think a lot of it is harmless, for me it’s probably a bit of not liking Geelong.

There are some people (often described as "neuro-divergent) who struggle with this. And yes, it's the way they were born. Although education and socialisation can help. I'm by no means an expert on the subject but I do have close experience of such people (no, it's not me).

Yes, of course there are people who are not in this category who will claim it as an excuse for their poor behaviour. Unfortunately that just makes it harder for the genuine cases to get the tolerance and understanding that they deserve.

Agree it has more of a mental health diagnosis such as autism than someone who feels entitled to say what they think.

Or...or...could they have been dropped on their heads when they were babies?

TWM I enjoy your posting, but in the context of dogwatch's post you quoted, and my own extensive experience with neurodivergent family members and friends, and a spouse who has worked with critically ill infants and toddlers for her entire professional career, I find your post to be in extremely bad taste.

I understand you're (trying) to make a joke at Smith's expense, I just fail to see the humour in it.

But maybe that's just me.

As the great Guru Bob once said..."Before you criticize someone, walk a mile in their shoes. Then, when you criticize them, you are a mile away. And you have their shoes."

TWM I enjoy your posting, but in the context of dogwatch's post you quoted, and my own extensive experience with neurodivergent family members and friends, and a spouse who has worked with critically ill infants and toddlers for her entire professional career, I find your post to be in extremely bad taste.

I understand you're (trying) to make a joke at Smith's expense, I just fail to see the humour in it.

But maybe that's just me.
Yeah see this is where we have to think what we have ourselves said at times that others find offensive yet we may blow of with "ahhh its just a joke mate get over it".
I get that you could feel offended by that. But recall a meme of Bont as Christ not long back and someone said how it offended them and it was blown off!?
Ah, have you read any of the posts this weekend referencing Bont and the fact his comeback game was on Easter Sunday?

Plus as a former catholic myself, Jesus is just some (possibly fictional) minor historical character AFAIC.

Sorry if you took offence. But I'm happy to stand by my post in the context I made it.

Its ok for us to make a joke of something close to someone elses heart as long as its nothing to us.
But when someone else does the same to us, something close to our heart it's offensive and "extremely bad taste"!
😉👍

This thread is the biggest sook fest I've ever seen. Unreal. Reminds me of a toxic ex who just needs to move on.
GIF by Look Human

Yeah see this is where we have to think what we have ourselves said at times that others find offensive yet we may blow of with "ahhh its just a joke mate get over it".
I get that you could feel offended by that. But recall a meme of Bont as Christ not long back and someone said how it offended them and it was blown off!?

Its ok for us to make a joke of something close to someone elses heart as long as its nothing to us.
But when someone else does the same to us, something close to our heart it's offensive and "extremely bad taste"!
😉👍

Ah, touche.

Except critically ill children and my neurodivergent offspring are real. 😉

Say what you want about him, what Baz is doing 15 months after doing his knee is pretty remarkable and has to be commended.

I don't have stats to support the eye test, but it appears he is covering plenty of ground and seems to be running at top speed more often than previously. Would I be correct in saying his average distance and average top speed figures are both career highs?

I can't recall many players doing that in the season immediately coming back from a knee.

Say what you want about him, what Baz is doing 15 months after doing his knee is pretty remarkable and has to be commended.

I don't have stats to support the eye test, but it appears he is covering plenty of ground and seems to be running at top speed more often than previously. Would I be correct in saying his average distance and average top speed figures are both career highs?

I can't recall many players doing that in the season immediately coming back from a knee.

Tony Liberatore's 1991 season, where he played all 22 games, after doing his knee in round 19, 1990, was his most productive in terms of average stats per game. Tackle numbers were down (rebounded remarkably in this stat in 1992 though), but he did his knee on 11th August 1990, and ran out for round 1, 1991 on 24th March, just over 7 months later. And didn't need a trip to Europe or to sit with Geelong players at a game while still in contract to aid his recovery.

Opinion Bailey Smith