Bailey Smith

They aren’t involved yet.
She said something about not pursuing it, but her employer can to protect themselves against a workcover claim
Or a worker within the offending organisation, a colleague of the woman abused.
Or a member of the public who finds it offensive,
Or she could tomorrow after sleeping on it, she could have been terrified of retaliation to act in his presence.
Lots of options
If he apologises and she accepts it, will you consider the issue closed?

Cats posters rushing to Baz's defence. Again.

Getting used to it now, guys?

Used to what, being in a prelim?

He’s a moron and needs to pull his head in. He hasn’t killed anyone. That’s about the sum of it. I couldn’t care less how many people he flips off at the footy, I think it’s funny. His Instagram comment was too, albeit a bit stupid.

This was just silly and unnecessary and immature. He’s a top tier footballer, needs to deal with it.

Genuine question, what do you think he should have been suspended for ‘long before this incident’?

The three things he’d previously made headlines for were giving the bird to Crows fans abusing Dangerfield post-game, bouncing the ball into Impey’s head and his Insta response to someone making a ‘nose beers’ joke.

Do you think any of those are worthy of a suspension? I assume you also want Ginnivan / Watson / Reid and other suspended for giving the bird to the crowd, Daicos suspended for dropping the f-bomb on live tv etc?
Thank you for listing the incidents that we know about, sounds like a solid citizen, but he's good at football so he can do pretty much what he likes and be embraced by club and fan bois alike, kinda reminds me of ablett senior. You mob still idolise that complete piece of human excrement.

They aren’t involved yet.
She said something about not pursuing it, but her employer can to protect themselves against a workcover claim
Or a worker within the offending organisation, a colleague of the woman abused.
Or a member of the public who finds it offensive,
Or she could tomorrow after sleeping on it, she could have been terrified of retaliation to act in his presence.
Lots of options

Oh for f**ks sake 😂😂😂😂

If I had a dollar for every person I pissed off as a journalist texted me or bailed me up at a game or in the local pub and had a go at me I wouldn’t need a job anymore. As it is in the job I currently do (I work in a call centre for a Telco) I cop more abuse than any human should. There’s not a legal thing I can do about it though.

Again she has a right to be pissed off about it as she has obviously done nothing wrong and he’s carried on like an absolute moron, and he should be fined or something and ideally someone from the club will tell him to pull his head in, but beyond that, I can’t see what options you are talking about

If he apologises and she accepts it, will you consider the issue closed?
Nothing to do with me if there’s any acceptance
It’s a media , social and workplace issue now.
It’s going to grow outrage once the full video comes out, particularly him turning around and going harder with the abuse

Oh for f**ks sake 😂😂😂😂

If I had a dollar for every person I pissed off as a journalist texted me or bailed me up at a game or in the local pub and had a go at me I wouldn’t need a job anymore. As it is in the job I currently do (I work in a call centre for a Telco) I cop more abuse than any human should. There’s not a legal thing I can do about it though.

Again she has a right to be pissed off about it as she has obviously done nothing wrong and he’s carried on like an absolute moron, and he should be fined or something and ideally someone from the club will tell him to pull his head in, but beyond that, I can’t see what options you are talking
You aren’t that high a profile mate.
Nobody cares
Everyone cares about the AFL

Thank you for listing the incidents that we know about, sounds like a solid citizen, but he's good at football so he can do pretty much what he likes and be embraced by club and fan bois alike, kinda reminds me of ablett senior. You mob still idolise that complete piece of human excrement.

You didn’t answer the question as to what he should have been suspended for? I am genuinely interested in your response.

I reckon I’d have 5-6 posts total about Ginnivan.

Old Mate has already more than doubled that about Smith in an hour in one thread
Old mate works in a family violence/ men’s behavioural change organisation
I can see this bloke is a ticking time bomb

You think the things above translate to someone being a bad person?

Let me ask you something. Think of the dumbest mistake you’ve made in your life, or someone you care about. Imagine if that mistake is paraded about to them publicly virtually every time they go to work or post online or whatever. And yes, I’m not ignoring the fact that the life he has also gives him plenty of benefits - a huge paycheck etc and all that comes with it. I’m not dismissing that.
But that mistake is thrust in front of you/this person at every turn.

Your means of brushing it off is to make an off-handed joke in reference to the incident. You think that somehow is defining your character or the person in question?

No one at Geelong idolises what Ablett Sr became after he retired mate. You’re on drugs yourself if you think they do. Everyone with a modicum of humanity feels for anyone who loses a family member in the way Alicia Horan’s family did. GAS became a walking, living, breathing mess of a man who cost a young person her life.

But he can’t bring her back, can he. He’s a father who’s lost a daughter too. He’s going to lose a grandson soon enough. All he can do is try and be a father to his own kids and not make the mistakes he did before and make sure his kids don’t either. That’s it. That’s all you’re left with.

Tying Smith to that - is a long bow to draw. He made one massive f**k up early in his career that gets brought up every time his name is mentioned. And probably will until he retires. There are probably 100+ other current players who’ve done the same thing but haven’t been caught for it.

The impey thing - well f**k me if every player that pushes someone or chucks a ball at them or swears at them after a contest is going to get painted as a bad person then the league may as well fold.

Right now he’s just a 23 year old with a shitty attitude when he’s put under the spotlight and he needs to sort it out.

You aren’t that high a profile mate.
Nobody cares
Everyone cares about the AFL

Yes as someone who is now working for a Telco I am aware of where my profile sits and as Smith, and the publication itself are high profile I understand that he can get a fine or whatever. And that would be justified.

But it’s still a workplace and subject to normal legalities and rules. Rocking up to a footy training session and getting sworn at and an unwanted critique of your work is unpleasant and worthy of criticism but it’s not going to stack up to an industrial relations inquest or something is it.

Cats posters rushing to Baz's defence. Again.

Getting used to it now, guys?
Nope, he needs to handle himself better in these situations. In America this stuff is commonplace but in Australia we at least pretend to have a code of ethics in terms of public figures and media interactions.

The responses by some "neutrals" however are as predictably over the top - and dare I say they seem to be enjoying it - those posts deserve to be mocked at the same time. These people are part of the problem, not the solution.

I don't care about Smith, but I do care about this type of verbal abuse.
I’m a fairly tall male amateur photographer, do you think he’d say that to me? I’m guess the chances are far lower.

And “backing it up where it matters, on the field” means what? That you’re allowed to abuse people doing their job?
What other industries are you allowed to abuse others? I want to know if I’m on the list.
It would honestly depend on how tall you are. 6'2 and I doubt it matters. If you are an 8 footer, most people would stay well clear.

Yep.

Good player, but he's a bit of a conundrum.

Your conundrum.
Which conundrum do us supporters face, who watch him kicking a ball around once a week? That we might feel morally obliged not to support Geelong, based on what interactions a guy with long hair had during the week? You're right, the conundrum is a doozy. I may even boycott the prelim.

Yes as someone who is now working for a Telco I am aware of where my profile sits and as Smith, and the publication itself are high profile I understand that he can get a fine or whatever. And that would be justified.

But it’s still a workplace and subject to normal legalities and rules. Rocking up to a footy training session and getting sworn at and an unwanted critique of your work is unpleasant and worthy of criticism but it’s not going to stack up to an industrial relations inquest or something is it.
Okay
As I said earlier, try that tomorrow at work and let us know how you go.
She was at work, AFL organisation’s and media are within the prime contractor’s (AFL) responsibility

If Telstra doesn’t do anything that’s on them.

Okay
As I said earlier, try that tomorrow at work and let us know how you go.
She was at work, AFL organisation’s and media are within the prime contractor’s (AFL) responsibility

If Telstra doesn’t do anything that’s on them.
What would the best and fairest punishment be for a situation like this, in your unbiased and professional opinion?

Why did this incident draw your attention to his issues but not when he lashed out at a male photographer previously?
That’s a great point
Same as I didn’t think much of Ginni doing it.

Ginni didn’t use threatening abuse , as didn’t Smith in his encounter with the male journalist.

Professional courtesy might be addressed by all parties hopefully
The media aren’t innocent

Bailey Smith