Bailey Smith

I think Geelong supporters will be sick of him in about 2 years, if they can't get the ultimate prize.

It's very un Geelong like (in the Scott era) to have a problem child.

I have the feeling that we may have just been lucky in years gone by that social media isn't what it is now.

Gary Ablett Sr was convicted, in 1990, of punching the shit out of a man who was dating his ex-wife. That sort of thing would get you stood out of the game for a year now.
Don't forget Alisha Horan

Also, funny that Rankine gets 4 weeks for similar actions. Only difference is one was about sexuality and the other was domestic violence. I doubt Smith gets sanctioned.

It borders on coercive control. And no one is talking about this woman's mental health. She must have felt physically threatened.

Isn't that how DV starts, then you normalise it by making excuses?

Not really, no. DV would start by being violent, or targeting women specifically.

The two core elements of domestic violence, the typical way we know it anyway (let’s put female on male DV to one side for a moment) are:

• that it’s directed from a male to a female specifically
  • that it’s violent

He’s shown a pattern of two things: that he likes to swear at photographers

That he is not violent.

Making it a gender issue when at this point he’s just been a f**kwit to people in general and has not been violent to anyone is ridiculous.

It would be like calling someone homophobic because they’ve called a gay cameraman a f**khead.

Can’t someone do the wrong thing and actually have THAT mistake criticised, without having another mistake invented and having that non-existent mistake criticised?

It's really not a big deal, I wrote "Baz doing Baz things" earlier in this thread, that's all it is.

Is he a bit of a dickhead? Yep. Is it the perfect preparation for the Cats as a club? Probably not but hardly the worst thing - Baz has shown he performs when this sort of stuff is happening.

Not a hangable offence. Apology should've probably been face to face but again, hardly a hangable offence. Time to move on.
What preparation? I doubt nobody in the coaching or playing group are talking about it. Someone in media or PR would have advised to do an apology and he did it, now it’s move on.

Do you honestly think coaches or players are distracted for preparation for a final because smith swore at a photographer?

What preparation? I doubt nobody in the coaching or playing group are talking about it. Someone in media or PR would have advised to do an apology and he did it, now it’s move on.

Do you honestly think coaches or players are distracted for preparation for a final because smith swore at a photographer?
What do you mean "What preparation?".

Why do clubs/players have training sessions? If they don't go as they're planned - as in, if a player has a verbal stoush with a photographer, then assuming it wasn't planned, it was a distraction. It's not really hard to understand.

It's clearly not as big of an issue as some are making it out to be and I agree that it's time everybody moved on - this is who Bailey is - he's a bit of a dick, but there are a lot of those both in the league and in society, who cares.

Not really, no. DV would start by being violent, or targeting women specifically.

The two core elements of domestic violence, the typical way we know it anyway (let’s put female on male DV to one side for a moment) are:

• that it’s violent
Swearing and flipping the bird is a form of violence. He was aggressive in his demeanour which makes it worse.
It would be like calling someone homophobic because they’ve called a gay cameraman a f**khead.
Isn't that what Rankine did, got 4 weeks.

Can’t someone do the wrong thing and actually have THAT mistake criticised, without having another mistake invented and having that non-existent mistake criticised?
Not when you're a role model to kids.

• that it’s violent
While I agree that this incident has zero to do with DV, your synopsis is out of date on a couple of levels (sorry).

The major gateways to a DV relationship are coercive control, intimidation, and then being aggressive with inanimate objects (throwing things, slamming doors, hitting walls). The actual partner violence is now seen as the endpoint of DV, not the start.

And unfortunately this isn't limited to straight couples, either.

There was a poster earlier in the year on the Geelong board that describe him as a kiddult. That term stuck with me as it sums him up to me in one word.

A lot of his post match interviews and antics are like a 15 year old kid doing and saying stuff to impress his 15 year old mates.

He shouldn't have done what he did yesterday but end of the day the care factor is low and not worth 15 pages of sooking.

Swearing and flipping the bird is a form of violence. He was aggressive in his demeanour which makes it worse.

Isn't that what Rankine did, got 4 weeks.

Not when you're a role model to kids.

you can debate the Rankine incident ad nauseum. He used a known homophobic slur that’s offensive to an entire segment of society.

Flipping the bird isn’t a form of violence.
Aggressive in his demeanour? He swore mate and didn’t even reach the fence that the photographer was about 15 rows back from.

Debate what he did. Criticise what he did.

Don’t make up things he didn’t do, in order to criticise them too.

There was a poster earlier in the year on the Geelong board that describe him as a kiddult. That term stuck with me as it sums him up to me in one word.

A lot of his post match interviews and antics are like a 15 year old kid doing and saying stuff to impress his 15 year old mates.

He shouldn't have done what he did yesterday but end of the day the care factor is low and not worth 15 pages of sooking.
Its not like one person wrote all 15 pages of posts.

Now there's news Lachie Neale did a Bailey Smith. That's a fine on the way unfortunately. We have a bird epidemic.

While I agree that this incident has zero to do with DV, your synopsis is out of date on a couple of levels (sorry).

The major gateways to a DV relationship are coercive control, intimidation, and then being aggressive with inanimate objects (throwing things, slamming doors, hitting walls). The actual partner violence is now seen as the endpoint of DV, not the start.

And unfortunately this isn't limited to straight couples, either.

I don’t disagree but what do all those things (aside from the coercive control) have in common? They’re violent. He wasn’t that way with anything he did.

point taken with coercive control as well. That’s fair. I don’t equate what he said about telling her to delete the photos with someone controlling their partner, though.

It’s someone being pissed off with what he felt was an invasion of privacy (it wasn’t - just to be clear - he had nothing to be pissed off about and needed to suck it up) but this was spoilt brat dickhead behaviour not ‘I’m going to control everything you do, who you see, what you spend’ behaviour to my mind.

I’ve been subject to those things before - had my phone monitored to the point where I was being asked which end of the car park I was sitting in at work on my smoke breaks and why because my ex-wife could see it. Thats coercive control.

you can debate the Rankine incident ad nauseum. He used a known homophobic slur that’s offensive to an entire segment of society.

Flipping the bird isn’t a form of violence.
Aggressive in his demeanour? He swore mate and didn’t even reach the fence that the photographer was about 15 rows back from.

Debate what he did. Criticise what he did.

Don’t make up things he didn’t do, in order to criticise them too.
As I mentioned early, normalising his behaviour will only lead to a worse situation. But hey, if your all good with what he did and burying your head in the sand because he's a Cats player then go ahead. To every person who has ever been in a bad situation where someone is yelling obscenities aggressively at you for no reason, they know know that type of violence.

What do you mean "What preparation?".

Why do clubs/players have training sessions? If they don't go as they're planned - as in, if a player has a verbal stoush with a photographer, then assuming it wasn't planned, it was a distraction. It's not really hard to understand.

It's clearly not as big of an issue as some are making it out to be and I agree that it's time everybody moved on - this is who Bailey is - he's a bit of a dick, but there are a lot of those both in the league and in society, who cares.
How do you think it’s a distraction for our training and prep moving forward?? I highly doubt anyone cares internally that much.

Now there's news Lachie Neale did a Bailey Smith. That's a fine on the way unfortunately. We have a bird epidemic.
Can you tell we've won a lot for 20 years running.
Less people lined up at centrelink and Vicroads than the orderly queue to give us a whack.

Bailey Smith