Bailey Smith

2-3 weeks what? rankine was in italy for -10 days max? stretching it out much? at least rankine does not abuse old women doing their job at training. i would rather rankine dish slurs out to opposing players than what ever tf bailey smith was going on about to that lady/

10 days feels like a month in some circles. In any case he'll have not played a match for months he next time we see him.

There was a poster earlier in the year on the Geelong board that describe him as a kiddult. That term stuck with me as it sums him up to me in one word.

A lot of his post match interviews and antics are like a 15 year old kid doing and saying stuff to impress his 15 year old mates.

He shouldn't have done what he did yesterday but end of the day the care factor is low and not worth 15 pages of sooking.
Yeah he’s just a pre Madonna, the cats knew what they were going to get for better or worse

Ultimately if you keep winning it will be a non issue but if the club loses momentum the outside scrutiny will turn into in internal scrutiny

Although I do love the kiddult moniker

As I mentioned early, normalising his behaviour will only lead to a worse situation. But hey, if your all good with what he did and burying your head in the sand because he's a Cats player then go ahead. To every person who has ever been in a bad situation where someone is yelling obscenities aggressively at you for no reason, they know know that type of violence.

Now you’re doing it to me.

Stop telling people that they’re guilty of something rather than just addressing what they’re actually doing. I’m not normalising anything. I’m addressing what he actually did rather than inventing something he didn’t.

And I’m criticising it. He swore at someone for doing their job and told them to delete photos that they had every right to take and belittled them in their professional role. He carried on like a knob and deserves criticism for it. So criticise him for it. It’s not normal behaviour, so have at it.

But stop turning it into something else that he hasn’t done, and then having a go at him for that, too.

Based purely off your post, it seems your understanding of mental health issues is surface level at best.

He certainly has an issue with his own identity I think.

1. Right now, he’s undeniably a dickhead and I for one wouldn’t, on what I’ve seen of him, want to be a mate of his. Then again I am 41.

2. He seems to love a lot of what comes with being who he is: the endorsements, the high profile girlfriend (though from what little I’ve seen of her she seems an even bigger dickhead than him), he seems to thrive in his profession - it’s not like it’s hurt his football that’s for sure, and he doesn’t knock back an interview if it is footy related usually.

3. He wants it all but on his terms. There’s a lot of take but not a lot of give.

4. He wants to present this laidback happy go lucky cheeky young guy facade who just wants to play footy. But if that was the case he wouldn’t be out there promoting himself in advertising campaigns and on Instagram every five seconds

It smacks of someone who probably really wants to be loved and popular but doesn’t want to change, or give anything up in order to do it

Yeah he’s just a pre Madonna, the cats knew what they were going to get for better or worse

Ultimately if you keep winning it will be a non issue but if the club loses momentum the outside scrutiny will turn into in internal scrutiny

Although I do love the kiddult moniker
I love pre Madonna Muddi! Thank you

Now you’re doing it to me.

Stop telling people that they’re guilty of something rather than just addressing what they’re actually doing. I’m not normalising anything. I’m addressing what he actually did rather than inventing something he didn’t.

And I’m criticising it. He swore at someone for doing their job and told them to delete photos that they had every right to take and belittled them in their professional role. He carried on like a knob and deserves criticism for it. So criticise him for it. It’s not normal behaviour, so have at it.

But stop turning it into something else that he hasn’t done, and then having a go at him for that, too.
But he did do it, he was aggressive with a woman who was doing her job. Your minimising it and normalising it. That annoyance you are feeling is guilt for trying to sweep it under the rug.

I don't think it's a distraction moving forward.

I'm unsure how you've arrived at me thinking that way lol?
When you claimed it was a distraction I assumed you weren’t referring to the 5 minutes of smith engaging on the boundary in past tense, the players didn’t really break stride in their training either from the looks of it.

The whole thing is sadly a teacup in a storm

When you claimed it was a distraction I assumed you weren’t referring to the 5 minutes of smith engaging on the boundary in past tense, the players didn’t really break stride in their training either from the looks of it.

The whole thing is sadly a teacup in a storm
Just keep digging your head in the sand mate, works while you're winning

When he swapped the red, white and blue hoops for the navy blue and white hoops those of us that had watched him closely for 6 years knew exactly what was going to play out when things didn’t go his way. The fact he’s acting like this and he’s in good form and in a prelim gets us even more worried for his medium and long term future.

If Geelong drops way down the ladder or Bailey stops performing onfield - whichever happens first - Geelong fans will turn on him very quickly.

I mean you guys embrace Zorko and you guys were shit for years and he's a genuine campaigner of a human being?
Many, many, many stories of how he's treated random women in the past (while in relationships too)

De Goey is a real stand up guy for the Pies and they still support him...even with the DeGropey stuff

Balta can nearly kill someone and Tigers fans wrapped their arms around him

I'm sure i could name another 50 examples but we could be here for hours.

This isn't a Geelong thing, this is a famous person thing. It's happened and he's apologised.
Don't do it again and he'll have nothing to worry about.

Smith isn't my favourite but im inclined to sympathise here. He's had mental health issues and he's a bit shaky, so the club needs to give him a break from exposure. Could be as simple as nipping into the rooms so the aggro is less evident.

Not being facetious, he probably needs to drop the brand ambassador role, and more generally the AFL could back off with the "Roaming Brian" and onfield interviews. That stuff isn't exactly calming, and footy is stressful enough with having to put on a media face.

I noticed In the Adelaide final Daics and Fly both dropped f bombs, and someone literally moved Taylor along from one huddle. The media does cross lines (the players sign up for the media side but no way nanna does).

If a slick and utterly self confident performer like Daicos has had enough then definitely Smith can be undertood if not excused.

I'm old enough to feel like blokes shouldn't yell at women, its a bit sexist on my part but it seems wrong. Hes apologised? Good, that seems right.

But he did do it, he was aggressive with a woman who was doing her job. Your minimising it and normalising it. That annoyance you are feeling is guilt for trying to sweep it under the rug.

Kane Cornes was just doing his job and Beveridge gave him an aggressive serve. Is he perpetrating domestic violence or something as well

Trying to sweep it under the rug?

You’re trying to hold someone on the internet accountable for the behaviour of someone they’ve never met, who works for a organisation I have nothing to do with, who I am actively criticising, mate. You have problems nearly as big as Smith himself if that’s how you feel.

But he plays for Geelong which is why I referenced Geelong fans ya know

Yeah i get that, i'm just saying i wouldn't be doing the stones in glass houses thing man
He's apologised and he's done wrong but really in the grand scheme of things this is very very minor.
People say much worse shit to players on a footy field all the time.

How do you think it’s a distraction for our training and prep moving forward?? I highly doubt anyone cares internally that much.

This, it has blown up soo much because people are looking for something to talk about when the footy isn't on.
He's apologised, she accepted his apology. It wasn't that big a deal, people need to move on.

I have the feeling that we may have just been lucky in years gone by that social media isn't what it is now.

Gary Ablett Sr was convicted, in 1990, of punching the shit out of a man who was dating his ex-wife. That sort of thing would get you stood out of the game for a year now.

Exactly. Geez I can reel off a number of instances where things have been allowed to slide through to the keeper. But it’s not just a Geelong thing. I was surprised however that Tyson S got off so lightly (media attention wise) being so recent.

Yeah i get that, i'm just saying i wouldn't be doing the stones in glass houses thing man
He's apologised and he's done wrong but really in the grand scheme of things this is very very minor.
People say much worse shit to players on a footy field all the time.

Banter on the football field so long as it doesn’t cross the line to what Rankine said is accepted as a psychological tactic.

Abusing and intimidating a lady doing her job in an open training session isn’t comparable. It’s bizarre, unprofessional and people downplaying it must work in pretty terrible work environments if that’s the norm.

He certainly has an issue with his own identity I think.

1. Right now, he’s undeniably a dickhead and I for one wouldn’t, on what I’ve seen of him, want to be a mate of his. Then again I am 41.

2. He seems to love a lot of what comes with being who he is: the endorsements, the high profile girlfriend (though from what little I’ve seen of her she seems an even bigger dickhead than him), he seems to thrive in his profession - it’s not like it’s hurt his football that’s for sure, and he doesn’t knock back an interview if it is footy related usually.

3. He wants it all but on his terms. There’s a lot of take but not a lot of give.

4. He wants to present this laidback happy go lucky cheeky young guy facade who just wants to play footy. But if that was the case he wouldn’t be out there promoting himself in advertising campaigns and on Instagram every five seconds

It smacks of someone who probably really wants to be loved and popular but doesn’t want to change, or give anything up in order to do it
I think he's part of a greater rise of the new age athlete in Australia, it's only going to become more common IMO.

Knowing you're a fellow league man PB, I think you'll agree that him an Reece Walsh are almost carbon copies of one another. It's no surprise that they're best mates.

What we have here is the first generation coming through that have grown up with social media, and as a result, idolizing their American counterparts.

What we view as dickhead behaviour over here (and it is D/H behaviour) is commonplace over there.

It's almost celebrated, and partly because the US don't attach the title of 'role models' (rightly or wrongly) to young, dumb athletes like we do.

It doesn't even warrant a mention beyond a headline, but over here, we present the behaviour as a character flaw - and it probably is that, to be fair.

It presents an issue going forward IMO, as it's only going to get worse. It's like a form of counter culture that we're not prepared for as an industry.

Just to be clear, I'm not saying I excuse any of the behaviour. What Smith did is unacceptable, and I hate seeing the club I support associated with the headline of intimidatory behaviour towards anyone, particularly an older woman.

I don't think it changes that this rise in arrogant, egocentric behaviour is on the rise in Australian sport though, and it'll be interesting to see who pivots first - the media, or the athletes.

Banter on the football field so long as it doesn’t cross the line to what Rankine said is accepted as a psychological tactic.

Abusing and intimidating a lady doing her job in an open training session isn’t comparable. It’s bizarre, unprofessional and people downplaying it must work in pretty terrible work environments if that’s the norm.

Not that I have an interest in whataboutism in this case because Smith is a separate issue altogether but Zorko clearly crossed a line when he started piling shit on someone about their mother.

If we are talking about workplaces the footy field is one too. Say stuff but geez there are a lot of things you can say without getting into that area. The only defence for that is ‘he’s an adult he should be able to handle it.’ If you start using that as a defence, then she’s an adult too and should be able to handle some swear words.

Bailey Smith