Bailey

Guys, let's just wait until we play the bears and the suns, if we lose one of those, then hit the panic button.

After the bye, let's see if we try a different kick in plan at all, that's one of our worst coached areas.

Then we need to fight for more clearances, drop Jones for Jizz and all is good in the world and we will be able to beat the Blues :D

Some of you guys are too fickle - Bailey is coaching the youngest team in the comp. The kids are still learning the trade.

If he's coaching us to losses in 3 years time ill go heave!
you reckon were fickle, i cant see how any normal person could defend that loser after last night, hes a non winner thats threatning to wreck all the good work that stynes has done in the last 3 season, if hes coaching us in 3yrs time the club will gone the shit tube, you obviously now very little about footy, the games about winning, wich bailey doesnt do to often, the sooner this non winner is showed the door the better

Not sure what I said to make you think that mate - but Im confident I know more than you.

Yes we had a bad day, and whenever you have such a bad day your game plan is going to look poor.

Not saying the coaching box had a good day - but I still think its the playing personell that is the main problem. We will get better.

One bad game and the coach has to go???
A bit of perspective is needed here guys, last year Hawthorn belted us in the first game last year and everyone was jumping on Bailey, fast forward 15 or 16 weeeks and we were just outside the 8. Where were the people calling for Bailey's head then??.

Why doesn't everybody take a long breath, relax and put your emotion to the side first. We are still young we are going to be inconsistant at times and fantastic at times as well. You cannot jump to a conclusion after one game (in this case half a match), what we need to do is sit back relax and all get behind the coach and players for the remainder of the season. Then at the end of the year we can fairly judge if the team has made inroads or not and then judge Bailey accordingly.

Take into consideration we haven't had the best preseason as far as key injuries have gone, but we are getting close to having all of our best and most important players back in the side. Frawley has missed a couple of months and will be back to optimun performance in the next few weeks, he is our key backman. Morton and Scully are probably our two best aerobically skilled players, they will be back in the next few weeks and will give us the run that we desperately lacking last week. We will get McKenzie back soon who is our best defensive midfielder, sometimes people forget just how imporatnt he is to our structures.

Sivart, it's not so much that we lost which is the concern, it's the manner in which we lost which is so concerning.

We literally could not touch the ball, nor could we get the ball through the Hawthorn zone in the 2nd half. This has been a recurring problem throughout Bailey's tenure. You'd think by now he'd form a plan better than just kicking the ball long from the kick-in.

Another issue which I see is our reliance on rebound football. The Cats got found out with this mode of attack in the Prelim final and it's because high-pressure in the F50 makes it too difficult to extricate the ball. Similarly, we got found out with this plan against the Hawks in the 2nd half. When enough defensive pressure is applied then we fall to pieces.

We need a plan b.

i'll go out on a limb and state what i thought 'the obvious' is....

maybe our boys just aren't at a stage experience wise where they can carry out 'plan b's' etc. when faced with a heap of pressure from the opposition, give us 20 more games as a team and i bet we get through situations like the one against hawthorn on sunday

patience is key, let the boys develop

this is another development year

maybe our boys just aren't at a stage experience wise where they can carry out 'plan b's' etc. when faced with a heap of pressure from the opposition, give us 20 more games as a team and i bet we get through situations like the one against hawthorn on sunday

Look, I kind of agree with you. I wasn't one of the supporters on here who was raving and ranting about a possible finals appearance this year! So I didn't have massive expectations on this season.

However, we had enough senior players on the park Sunday to expect a better performance than dished up when under pressure. I'm not sure playing together for another 20 games will help. Sylvia, Green, Moloney, Davey, Rivers, Jones, Bartram, Jamar, Petterd, Dunn, Frawley, Garland, Grimes have all played enough footy to understand how to handle pressure football. This is two-thirds of our team that played on the weekend! We aren't full of kids like Gold Coast who have 0 experience.

We need the senior players to start standing up when under pressure, and we need a gameplan on how to get past the zone out of defense. We have enough experienced players to work out a different gameplan, and we've had enough time under Bailey to figure one out....

Not sure what I said to make you think that mate - but Im confident I know more than you.

Yes we had a bad day, and whenever you have such a bad day your game plan is going to look poor.

Not saying the coaching box had a good day - but I still think its the playing personell that is the main problem. We will get better.
yeah mate you now more than me, anyone that defends a coach thats won 15 out of 69 games has zero credibibity,i would love to see were j watts is under malthouse at this stage in his development,baileys a loser and hes proving that in his 4th season, we have the worst coach in the comp, buts watts stagering is there still fools defending this loser.

:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Maybe you are right, maybe we will "develop" over the next year or two. But don't you think if Roos or Malthouse were in charge of Melbourne, we would already be vying for finals this year? I just don't think Bailey has the nous of a top coach - as nice a guy as he is.

I honestly don't think we can afford to waste the list we have. If we stuff this up by being too patient and giving Bailey the benefit of the doubt, we may completely miss our window. Don't forget how many draft picks GC and GWS are going to get. They may have dominant lists in 4-5 years time. We need to snag one before then.

Trolllolololol..

Anyway going on our preseason plus the Hawks game, Im certain Bailey needs to do some tinkering with instructions because our guys are struggling to get it out of the backline too often. Theyre probably too young to get complicated, but something simple with some small variations could help.

If "sack the coach" is all youve got, then say it once, and piss off :thumbsu:

Maybe you are right, maybe we will "develop" over the next year or two. But don't you think if Roos or Malthouse were in charge of Melbourne, we would already be vying for finals this year? I just don't think Bailey has the nous of a top coach - as nice a guy as he is.

I honestly don't think we can afford to waste the list we have. If we stuff this up by being too patient and giving Bailey the benefit of the doubt, we may completely miss our window. Don't forget how many draft picks GC and GWS are going to get. They may have dominant lists in 4-5 years time. We need to snag one before then.

Roos or Malthouse? sure, it would be very interesting to see what they would do with the club

if you want to think about where the club think's we are, all you need to do is look at our latest first round draft pick, Lucas Cook

talented, skinny, about 5 years off having a major impact.... pretty much some up a lot of our list doesn't it?

if you are looking for a flag within the next 5 years, you are probably going to be disappointed

the board and dean are going about it patiently, we certainly don't want to do a kangaroos and demand that we have 'instant' success as brad scott and brent harvey have done in the past weeks... it just heaps unwanted pressure on players

to quote someone else 'experience wins premierships'

I do agree with that, with one caveat: it has to be the right type of experience. I don't think just playing itself constitutes the type of experience that champion teams are made of. I think a young team needs to be very carefully moulded with a very solid, yet diverse gameplan and structure. That way, even in unusual circumstances it holds up and is competitive. I guess I just worry that Dean isn't instilling the right mentality and structures to cope with where the game is going.

By god, I hope I'm wrong about Bailey. I would proudly stand up and say I was a giant knob if Melbourne could win a flag under Bailey. I just don't get the impression that he has the steel for that accomplishment. By all accounts he is a great development coach. But I think he would be more valuable under the oversight of a better tactical coach. Much like his role at Port. In the end, time will tell. I think we will have a new coach in a couple of years. I just hope our players haven't been drilled into too many bad habits when that happens.

if you are looking for a flag within the next 5 years, you are probably going to be disappointed
Making it 8 years for Bailey?
He would be gone by then IMHO unless he'd at least had you playing off.
There's patience, then there's free passes. 3 years of pretty much no-pressure rebuilding is more patience than most are afforded.

Hypothetical - say there's a board change 2 years down the track. Bailey's had you in finals once and straight out in 5 years. Would you give Bailey any chance whatsoever?

I appreciate the coach isn't always the issue, I really do. In fact I tend to think they're largely over-rated in terms of impact compared to the list or injuries.
But.
At some point (real world now, not hypothetical) they will have to be able to justify themselves. As of right now - Bailey has not done that.

If you can't see/accept that you're as bad or worse as the "sack the coach" brigade.

You know what annoys me most about Bailey?

The way he allows Davey to play bruise free football. Davey in congestion will do fancy taps or try and kick it off the ground and they always result in turnovers.

Davey needs to try and lock it in as much as possible unless he is in a one on one situation. How Bailey let's him get away with it is beyond me?

I think it is why he gets tagged out of the game so easily. I think Davey has to change his game and show some leadership.

We haven't got as much out of Davey as we should of, he should of been an All Australian by now.

Making it 8 years for Bailey?
He would be gone by then IMHO unless he'd at least had you playing off.
There's patience, then there's free passes. 3 years of pretty much no-pressure rebuilding is more patience than most are afforded.

Hypothetical - say there's a board change 2 years down the track. Bailey's had you in finals once and straight out in 5 years. Would you give Bailey any chance whatsoever?

I appreciate the coach isn't always the issue, I really do. In fact I tend to think they're largely over-rated in terms of impact compared to the list or injuries.
But.
At some point (real world now, not hypothetical) they will have to be able to justify themselves. As of right now - Bailey has not done that.

If you can't see/accept that you're as bad or worse as the "sack the coach" brigade.

8 years for a premiership? i can definitely live with that

but you have made a nice handful of assumptions there, the major one being that i would keep bailey regardless of performance in those years leading up to our 'premiership window'

if we aren't making finals from next year, he should be out.

if we didn't make finals for the next 3 years, there is no way he would still be coach if i was a board member

bailey hasn't proved himself as a coach, of course not... until we are playing regular top 4 footy, dean won't have proven himself as a coach, maybe even until we win a premiership... that's what this list deserves

there is a lot of talent, let's hope it isn't wasted

but you have made a nice handful of assumptions there, the major one being that i would keep bailey regardless of performance in those years leading up to our 'premiership window'
That was sort of implicit in the question.

if we aren't making finals from next year, he should be out.

if we didn't make finals for the next 3 years, there is no way he would still be coach if i was a board member
That's my answer.

Do you think the signs are positive or negative so far this year?

I have a feeling the internal expectations are not necessarily going to be made public all through this year & next.

That was sort of implicit in the question.

That's my answer.

Do you think the signs are positive or negative so far this year?

I have a feeling the internal expectations are not necessarily going to be made public all through this year & next.

i know it was implicit, but i don't know why it was made at all

some great signs against sydney, with players willing to knuckle down and come from behind to draw and come very close to winning

to be honest hawthorn have repeatedly smashed us in early season encounters and if they can keep up form will likely be a top four team

as i view us as a team just outside the top 8, i understand how we can lose to them, although the manner of our loss... going from on top to getting smashed in a matter of minutes, was disappointing

positives are there and we have some exciting young talent in scully, gysberts, morton and mckensie waiting to come back into the side

as well as wonaemirri, who has slimmed down considerably and provides great forward pressure

we have some good players to come into the team and players like trengove, watts, tapscott, bail, bennell, garland have all shown some improvement at this early stage, which i expect will continue

i wouldn't be looking for any 'concrete' signs of how our season will progress in round 2 though

Trolllolololol..

Anyway going on our preseason plus the Hawks game, Im certain Bailey needs to do some tinkering with instructions because our guys are struggling to get it out of the backline too often. Theyre probably too young to get complicated, but something simple with some small variations could help.

If "sack the coach" is all youve got, then say it once, and piss off :thumbsu:
your a pea heart.

hahahaha, Your a massive toss, needed a good laugh today.

Piss off back to where you came from.:thumbsu:

hahahaha, Your a massive toss, needed a good laugh today.

Piss off back to where you came from.:thumbsu:
you to fools are dead set losers, im going to the g on sunday, we should catch up and have a beer, baileys record speaks for itself, he a non winner, just like you 2 blowflys.:thumbsu:

Can't make it this week scholar, ;) but next time Im in Melbourne i will definitely have that beer.

Your intimidation antics are pathetic, just like your alais.