Bailey

I don't see how you consider Melbourne are in a bad position, but Richmond are in a good position.

Easy: when it comes to Melbourne, The Boss always thinks we are in a bad (or worse) position. Every other club has better players, better recruiting, better facilities, better game plan ... and it goes without saying, better coaches.

It isnt fair to criticise supporters who aren't in favour of Bailey, I for one have not been a huge fan of his over the years but am slowly warming to him and would love to see him get an extended run at his coaching role.

The idea of Malthouse joining us is not the worst idea though so calling people trolls just because they have put the idea out there is unwarranted, and if Bailey does not meet expectations and we do indeed go backwards in our development then i would love to see Todd Viney get a crack

vent your anger here, bails is a loser, the guy doesnt now how to win, hes the worst coach iv seen since bernie quinlan, 15 wins from 69 games is simply putrid, what moronic brain fart extended this losers contract, if i performed like him at work everyday id be lining up in f###ing centrelink.

Very hard to form any sort of defence of Bailey after today. Our good is good but our bad is absolutely disgusting.

I can excuse a loss against the Hawks because of bigger bodies. I CAN'T excuse that pathetic second half showing

Bloke has no plan B, worrys me too much

Should by now, after being a problem since he's been there, be able to devise a plan to penetrate the zone.

I've always gone to his defence and urged calm but today was worrying. I've got doubts about his football nous.

Yep, I'm sick of this. Did he personally pack cones for the players at halftime, sure looked like it. Viney must be eyeing this role....

It's sad but I'm not sure if the guy can coach. :(

No offense but that's why you don't sign up a coach after tanking successfully.
Interesting, Unnecesary

The problem with Bails for me is that we were always going to be beaten by a comfortably better Hawthorn side, it's the fact that he couldn't inspire the players to believe that they could be competitive come the final siren.

Some of you guys are too fickle - Bailey is coaching the youngest team in the comp. The kids are still learning the trade.

If he's coaching us to losses in 3 years time ill go heave!

Hawks v Melbourne
25yr 5mth Age 23yr 5mth
104.8 Games 61.7

StKilda Richmond
26yr 5mth Age 22yr 9mth
116.8 Games 52.4

In fact our average games played on Friday night was less then the GCS this weekend.

Hawks v Melbourne
25yr 5mth Age 23yr 5mth
104.8 Games 61.7

StKilda Richmond
26yr 5mth Age 22yr 9mth
116.8 Games 52.4

In fact our average games played on Friday night was less then the GCS this weekend.

we are talking about the avg age of player from which the coach has to pick.

Discounting GC we have the youngest list. Richmond second. If you count rookies then I think you guys ate younger but in this context Bailey can't pick rookies to play.

we are talking about the avg age of player from which the coach has to pick.

Discounting GC we have the youngest list. Richmond second. If you count rookies then I think you guys ate younger but in this context Bailey can't pick rookies to play.

Maybe true, but considering the squads both teams put out on the park and the development stages of both teams I think Melbourne should be looking at trying to stop these blow outs and should be playing better then what they showed yesterday.

Honestly, I don't rate Bailey as a coach, with the team you guys have assembled over the past 3 years Melbourne are expected to do better then what they showed.

The gameplan seems very much one way traffic, looks good if you get the fast break but get absolutely murdered on the rebound, and the amount of times the F50 was empty when you guys were running forward was astonishing, surely Bailey would have to leave either Jurrah or Watts one out in the 50 if you are going to leave that much space behind the play for the quick rebound.

Maybe true, but considering the squads both teams put out on the park and the development stages of both teams I think Melbourne should be looking at trying to stop these blow outs and should be playing better then what they showed yesterday.

Honestly, I don't rate Bailey as a coach, with the team you guys have assembled over the past 3 years Melbourne are expected to do better then what they showed.

The gameplan seems very much one way traffic, looks good if you get the fast break but get absolutely murdered on the rebound, and the amount of times the F50 was empty when you guys were running forward was astonishing, surely Bailey would have to leave either Jurrah or Watts one out in the 50 if you are going to leave that much space behind the play for the quick rebound.

Fair enough even some D supporters agree w you. Do you think Hardwick in a different situation?

Bailey is into his 3rd (4th?) year now and has enough time to mould his team the way he wants, massive cleanouts and plenty of time to implement the game plan, I just think Bailey is coaching the team in the wrong fashion, where every other team is going defensive he wants the team to play in a flamboyant high risk attacking style.

Dimma is into his second year, has delisted/traded 24 players in the past 2 years with plenty more to come, when he first arrived at the club he stated that he will start with the defence first and then work to the midfield and then forwards.

In his first year cleaning out the list and retiring blokes such as Richo and Brown, and bringing in so many new players he showed more coaching nous then Bailey has in his 3-4 years at Melbourne.

Dimmas second year another cleanout new draftees and a couple of recruits, and Dimma is getting his boys to play a hard tough contested style of footy, hard tackling tough in the clinches and most important of all is getting the team to play for each other.

I know the ladder says we have 1 loss and a draw, but lack of experience and maturity and we fail to capitalize from very winnable positions.

From a 0-9 start in 2010 and finishing 15th to a hard fought loss against last years finalists against Carlton and a draw against last years Grand Finalists (which we should have won) shows how far Dimmas team has come.

Now if we look at both lists, for sure the Demons look far better on paper, but Bailey is teaching the young impressionable kids a soft un accountable style of footy that only works when things go your way.

For proof of how different both coaches are, Dimma played Conca on Milne the whole night, Milne ended up with something like 11 scoring shots, but not once did Dimma ever move him off his man, he let the kid stay out there and learn the hard way. After the game he was questioned for this tactic and said that he wanted the kid to learn how the good players go about there business and how to be accountable.

Anyway I think Melbourne should throw the kitchen sink at Malthouse, the man could turn this group into finalists in the space of 6 months considering the amount of talent that is brimming from your list.

Bailey is into his 3rd (4th?) year now and has enough time to mould his team the way he wants, massive cleanouts and plenty of time to implement the game plan, I just think Bailey is coaching the team in the wrong fashion, where every other team is going defensive he wants the team to play in a flamboyant high risk attacking style.

Dimma is into his second year, has delisted/traded 24 players in the past 2 years with plenty more to come, when he first arrived at the club he stated that he will start with the defence first and then work to the midfield and then forwards.

In his first year cleaning out the list and retiring blokes such as Richo and Brown, and bringing in so many new players he showed more coaching nous then Bailey has in his 3-4 years at Melbourne.

Dimmas second year another cleanout new draftees and a couple of recruits, and Dimma is getting his boys to play a hard tough contested style of footy, hard tackling tough in the clinches and most important of all is getting the team to play for each other.

I know the ladder says we have 1 loss and a draw, but lack of experience and maturity and we fail to capitalize from very winnable positions.

From a 0-9 start in 2010 and finishing 15th to a hard fought loss against last years finalists against Carlton and a draw against last years Grand Finalists (which we should have won) shows how far Dimmas team has come.

Now if we look at both lists, for sure the Demons look far better on paper, but Bailey is teaching the young impressionable kids a soft un accountable style of footy that only works when things go your way.

For proof of how different both coaches are, Dimma played Conca on Milne the whole night, Milne ended up with something like 11 scoring shots, but not once did Dimma ever move him off his man, he let the kid stay out there and learn the hard way. After the game he was questioned for this tactic and said that he wanted the kid to learn how the good players go about there business and how to be accountable.

Anyway I think Melbourne should throw the kitchen sink at Malthouse, the man could turn this group into finalists in the space of 6 months considering the amount of talent that is brimming from your list.

Good post mate.

Baileys 3 years were rebuilding the list though. Now its development time. Same place as Hardwick I reckon - only difference is Bailey did the hard yards and even has a younger list.

Mighty Tiger is on the money, I'm afraid.

Granted we have a very young and inexperienced list, but after 3 years at the coaching helm, our game plan should be taking shape - even if the players aren't capable of implementing it properly. I don't see evidence of that happening. Yes, we are winning more, but I think that's more off the back of players getting individually better. Our structure and gameplan is curiously absent. Run and carry is not a gameplan these days. Every team has that element in their play. There's just no discernible plan.

I think we need to start thinking about a change of coach.

Bailey