BALL! Booooo!

Firstly, I understand that passion can get involved when the game is close and it's near the end and you'll call ball for almost anything.

However, some teams such as North last night, and Essendon all the time, will cry ball for every single tackle, whether the player has prior opportunity or not, and even when the player hands it off.
I'm starting to think that alot of fans have absolutely no idea of the interpretation of Holding the Ball, and when they don't get their way they'll boo and moan about it?

Is anyone with me thinking a LOT of fans need to brush up on the definition of holding the ball?

The worst I've heard it this year was 2 weeks ago against St. Kilda.

In some cases St. Kilda supporters were yelling it out when the player missed the tackle. No understanding of the game

I've noticed the same thing with people yelling "50!, 50!" When there is no chance of a 50 being paid.

People just get overexcited and like to try influence the ump.

I often do it when the player hasn't even been tackled.

I know there's no chance of them getting pinged, just do it for fun!

If it upsets you so much, don't go to the football.

017749-unhappy-fan.jpg

:rolleyes:

It's just the typical Australian sheep/herd mentality. Instead of thinking for themselves they just go with everyone else.

It's particularly funny when they yell out ball and the player hadn't even taken possession, or when someone gets a fingernail onto the jumper of the ball carrier.

I once read the section on Australian Rules in one of those travel guide books that backpackers use. It said that the crowd yells out BALLLLL to express displeasure at the umpire. Whoever wrote the article obviously hadn't been to many games and didn't know what holding the ball was, but I guess their description was a fair conclusion given the number of times everyone yells it.

Firstly, I understand that passion can get involved when the game is close and it's near the end and you'll call ball for almost anything.

However, some teams such as North last night, and Essendon all the time, will cry ball for every single tackle, whether the player has prior opportunity or not, and even when the player hands it off.
I'm starting to think that alot of fans have absolutely no idea of the interpretation of Holding the Ball, and when they don't get their way they'll boo and moan about it?

Is anyone with me thinking a LOT of fans need to brush up on the definition of holding the ball?

Every club does it all the club...

There are always supporters that go to the footy to watch THEIR team, so they'll shout anything and everything. You'll find that people who watch BOTH teams will not be the ones crying out ball every time they get tackled.

Has it occurred to anyone that people yelling out Ball!!! when it's their team playing St Kilda are basically indulging in a massive pisstake?

Different stories for some, but for Hawk supporters much of the frustration is due to the following three scenarios.

Player takes possession and is immediately tackled, stands up and fights on but is unable to dispose. HTB!

Player takes possession and is immediately tackled, falls to ground and is unable to dispose. Ball-Up, or Push In the Back!

Player takes possession and fends off the tackler, runs 5m and is tackled, dropping the ball near a team-mate who runs off. Play On!

To me, common sense dictates that 1 and 3 are incorrect, but they are consistently applied that way. (The fact my team plays specifically towards scenario #1 just makes it worse)

couldn't agree more with this post. obviously part of an afl directive to the umpires to keep the game flowing. and i ****ing hate it. they're ignoring their own rules for the sake of 'free-flowing' footy.

Every club does it all the club...

There are always supporters that go to the footy to watch THEIR team, so they'll shout anything and everything. You'll find that people who watch BOTH teams will not be the ones crying out ball every time they get tackled.

Possibly, maybe I just notice it more with Essendon.

I've said it for years that the Ball calls from Essendon seem louder than the ones from Collingwood and more frequently. Based on numbers that wouldn't make sense that's the only reason I brought up Essendon.

I beg to differ when the game is close and five minutes to go the more noise the better. They can start yelling ball as the tackle is been layed and if he gets it out then yeah the crowd ball generally stops. I love a close tight finish where every tackle mark or run brings the crowd to life

Completely agree here.

Anyone that whinges about the crowd yelling ball, particularly in quick succession needs to stop following the footy and take a up chess as a full time hobby.

How on earth can't you love constant cries for ball which in itself suggests the game is on a knife edge and every possession, every tackle, every moment counts.

BAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAALLLLLLLL!

Can't get enough of it. And to the author, don't tell me you have never screamed for a free that wasn't there.

Whiney thread.

Completely agree here.

Anyone that whinges about the crowd yelling ball, particularly in quick succession needs to stop following the footy and take a up chess as a full time hobby.

How on earth can't you love constant cries for ball which in itself suggests the game is on a knife edge and every possession, every tackle, every moment counts.

BAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAALLLLLLLL!

Can't get enough of it. And to the author, don't tell me you have never screamed for a free that wasn't there.

Whiney thread.

Maybe you should actually read my posts before being a wank.

Yeah I totally agree as I said in the OP, when the game is on the line in the last quarter you can't help but yell it for every off chance of a ball.

But in the first quarter, there's no point.

Such a part of watching the game. I watched the Roos game yesterday with a mate in Zurich. When we called BALL four times in ten seconds and it was finally paid I really felt that we had influenced the game.

What's worse? Calling BALL when it really isn't holding the ball OR cheering, celebrating a goal at the top of your lungs only to realise a point was actually scored?

I know which one I'd rather be doing.

great thread - i have noticed essendon supporters always call ball ,plus freo friday nite was a joke cried every decision sick of it

do they realise you must to given a change to get rid of it.

People just love yelling at the footy and in particular yelling at umpires. Every game I go to there is always at least one person near by that is going to argue every decision that gets paid (whether legitimate or not), I obviously see this more with Collingwood supporters but it is for every team. The fun part is trying to guess who you think it will be before the game starts.

Crowd yelling ball is fine.

I dislike the players appealing. I reckon it should be the opposite of cricket in that if players appeal to the umpire then the free will not be paid at all.

I don't remember any appealing watching footy years ago, it seems to have crept into the game.

I love it. Its probably one of the few umpiring decisions in any code where the crowd genuinely can influence the result.

There is an artform to it, and it is odd how tens of thousands of people collaboratively work towards the same outcome

1.) ratchet up the pressure on the umpires by a succession of BALL!! boooooooos" in general play.
2.) Go absolutely ballistic when the next stop play doesn't result in a HTB decision.
3.) Wait for umpire to pluck out something rubbish after the resulting bounce. BALL! YEAH!

Wouldn't work if the umps weren't so useless.

That's pretty much it!

I find it more of a call-response thing. The opposition supporters do it, so I do it LOUDER, and as above, the umps pluck something out to appease the masses and earn some sort of instant gratification.