Ballarat Football League

As we sit on top of the Premiership Cup it is funny to sit back and listen to the rumours. All is well up here at Ballarat with all committing to next year. Poor Darley, still sooking after being beaten not once but twice on GF day. Life is good.

Back to rumours:

I here the Marsh is splashing cash, while sunbury, melton south and melton have committee and coaching issues. In Ballarat, Redan look like losing their major sponsor, while infighting continues at east point as some still live in the 80s. Positive news coming from sebas with signings while lakers are fairly quiet at this stage, as they to get their north players back. North Shitty are also having a committee change and will be looking to cash in on the vfl sides win.

Also for comment it is interesting that wardy said the incident at 3/4 time in gf day had nothing in it and no investigation while 2 people were arrested! Poor old blockhead has to help them with something to hang there hat on gf day.

Not sure if you want the facts KA or the good story. If you were at the game or had seen the footage, Miller was reported for pushing the Ballarat player from front on -you seem to have a focus on people coming in from behind - not sure if there is something in your past that you are trying to forget

As we sit on top of the Premiership Cup it is funny to sit back and listen to the rumours. All is well up here at Ballarat with all committing to next year. Poor Darley, still sooking after being beaten not once but twice on GF day. Life is good.

Back to rumours:

I here the Marsh is splashing cash, while sunbury, melton south and melton have committee and coaching issues. In Ballarat, Redan look like losing their major sponsor, while infighting continues at east point as some still live in the 80s. Positive news coming from sebas with signings while lakers are fairly quiet at this stage, as they to get their north players back. North Shitty are also having a committee change and will be looking to cash in on the vfl sides win.

Also for comment it is interesting that wardy said the incident at 3/4 time in gf day had nothing in it and no investigation while 2 people were arrested! Poor old blockhead has to help them with something to hang there hat on gf day.

who have sebas signed?

So Brad Anderson is yellow carded and reported as a result of the 3/4 brawl but is cleared at the tribunal as a result of mistaken identity.

IIRC Brad Anderson wasn't carded until the start of the fourth quarter meaning that the umpires as a collective group had 5-10 minutes to confere as to whether Anderson had done anything worthy of sending off.

David Young was also cleared because the reporting umpire couldn't get all the required paperwork signed...

Those errors are not good enough, wonder if the BFUA will do anything about it, considering they were supposed to be the elite umpires of the association...

So Brad Anderson is yellow carded and reported as a result of the 3/4 brawl but is cleared at the tribunal as a result of mistaken identity.

IIRC Brad Anderson wasn't carded until the start of the fourth quarter meaning that the umpires as a collective group had 5-10 minutes to confere as to whether Anderson had done anything worthy of sending off.

David Young was also cleared because the reporting umpire couldn't get all the required paperwork signed...

Those errors are not good enough, wonder if the BFUA will do anything about it, considering they were supposed to be the elite umpires of the association...
Saw the footage on news last night...

Outsiders looking in would have to be thinking Ballarat Football League is a rabble.

You can't get 2 weeks for grabbing a bloke around the neck for a split second.....

Just wondering if the chief, chumpy and all the darley followers would like a copy of todays Courier. It has photos of our B&F and what a premiership cup looks like. In case the Darley people are unsure its a cup you get if you WIN on Grand Final day.

In BFL history has there been a club that has had 2 sides in the GF and lost both before?

Just wondering if the chief, chumpy and all the darley followers would like a copy of todays Courier. It has photos of our B&F and what a premiership cup looks like. In case the Darley people are unsure its a cup you get if you WIN on Grand Final day.

In BFL history has there been a club that has had 2 sides in the GF and lost both before?
If thats the best you can come up with oracle i think you better go back to the drawing board and have another go because your posts arent insults they are lame! I PITY YOU FOOL!!

Na, think we need to let Oracle enjoy it while he can. He did put up with the abuse all year and stuck phat with his swans and they delivered.

Can't complain with that.

the marsh signed delisted western bulldogs player scott west.

Sebas have signed a handy 6f 8 ruckman, along with a few other experienced players, someone from trentham way i think.
New owners take over globe hotel i also hear..??
Not sure bout nibbo cowboy8, but hope he stays with sebas and doesnt go to chfl.

BFL says no to Bendigo-Ballarat merger proposal

14/10/2008 9:14:00 AM
THE Bendigo Bank Bendigo Football League won’t consider a radical idea circulated to its clubs to form a two-division Goldfields League.
The BFL and its clubs have received a four-page proposal from Andrew Cathcart, who grew up in Bendigo and now lives in Albury, suggesting a merger of the Bendigo and Ballarat football leagues into a Goldfields Football League.
Cathcart’s proposal, which has been with the Bendigo league and its clubs for over a month, suggests a two-division relegation competition featuring the 21 Bendigo and Ballarat football league clubs.
While Cathcart admits it’s radical, he says his proposal has the potential for a number of advantages, including:
Division one involving the best of the two 'old BFL’s' would be very powerful, with one-sided games replaced by new blockbusters such as Gisborne v Sunbury, Eaglehawk v Darley, South Bendigo v East Point, and Golden Square v Ballarat, meaning teams in this competition would need to be on their mettle just to make the finals.
All Division two teams would start the year with achievable goals - a reasonable chance to make the finals and a chance to win a premiership, with unhealthy one-sided games to no longer be normal.
With a lower division, the likelihood of struggling teams leaving the league would be reduced as they would have a better chance of survival by not being subject to regular maulings from a side like Gisborne, and new clubs like Strathfieldsaye wouldn’t immediately face the likes of an Eaglehawk.
Administration costs could be reduced with the two ex BFLs operating under the one administration umbrella.
Cathcart listed the extra travel required for some clubs as the key disadvantage of his proposal, but believes for clubs such as Gisborne and Kyneton, travel would be reduced, while Maryborough would be similar.
The Bendigo-based clubs would face an increased travel burden, but Cathcart said, with the exception of Kangaroo Flat, they are traditionally stronger clubs that enjoy an advantage over the country clubs by playing a number of away matches close to home.
Cathcart said he has developed his proposal because he believes the league is a “lopsided competition with many games being hopelessly one-sided’’, while also suggesting crowds and the standard has declined since he first started watching Bendigo football in the 1960s.
However, BFL chief executive officer Steven Oliver said the league is in a healthy position and such a drastic upheaval as suggested in Cathcart’s proposal is not necessary.
“At this stage nothing would be even remotely considered,’’ Oliver said.
“Bendigo football is strong, alive and well, as are the Bendigo juniors, and the district leagues through their finals showed they did well.
“So I would be saying central Victorian football is in a healthy state.
“We get a number of these types of ideas and if we thought we were in a position where we needed to look at something, then we would.
“But we’re certainly not in a position where anyone feels the need to be looking at amalgamating the Bendigo and Ballarat footy leagues.
“We feel the Bendigo league is as stable as it has been for many years.’’
Ballarat Football League chief executive officer Rod Ward said Cathcart’s proposal would be presented at a board meeting next Monday night.
“It will be presented to our board as part of correspondence,’’ Ward said.
“I can’t speak for the Ballarat league because it’s yet to be discussed formally or informally or by our clubs, but personally, I can see some merit in it. “I think about an hour and 15 minutes is the greatest travel distance, so logistically, it’s certainly something you would think is possible, but ultimately, the members and stakeholders in each league will decide their own future.’’

With Brad Millers 2 week suspension taking him over the 16 week thresh hold will he be de-registered now or will the Ballarat Football League keep it quiet so a marquee player can still run around?

Didn't the league let a Melton player know a few years back that if he was rubbed out again he will be de-registered from league?

What's the official rule KA?

Miller would have been told - that is why he was on his best behaviour. The threat of missing a flag was huge motivation to be good. In the Grand Final it did not matter what happened in the future. Word is he nearly pulled the pin on football at the end of last year. Was not going to play this year.

he'll get off and be able to play again, though thats how the case should be anyway considering others have appealed and got off before! this 16 week bullshit is ****ing gay anyway. pointless also if people can just appeal and get off!

Miller would have been told - that is why he was on his best behaviour. The threat of missing a flag was huge motivation to be good. In the Grand Final it did not matter what happened in the future. Word is he nearly pulled the pin on football at the end of last year. Was not going to play this year.
nice try mate, miller is not even close to the 16 game mark