Barlow

• Thread starter Thread starter Cameron_K

If it was round 15, he would be playing. Michael Barlow had a serious tibial fracture. If I were his doctor and he had soreness in his leg entering the NAB Cup, I would rest him. Even if for no other reason than to avoid future litigation. This is as much medico-legal as it is medical. The balance of risks.

The work Mick has put in he is entitled to a little soreness
He has not as far as I can recollect missed a session and was always top 3/4 in the runs and completed the 3klm runs no problem
Mick will be on easy st for a couple of weeks and then back into it
The club has said its only minor soreness and there isnt any reason to disbelieve Bond
You're a legend. Thanks.

It should feel weird to know that 10,000 Dockers fans will sleep easier tonight because they trust your report more than the clubs.

Well, 10,000 might be a bit OTT ...

Also I am pretty sure Barlow had a second Op to remove the pins in his leg ages ago. I had a plate in my collarbone and would agree with Voss that you would no want to be playing contact sport with it still in so best taken out again ASAP and Barlow has done this I am pretty sure a few months after he broke it.

He had a third Op to clear up a bit of muscle scar tissue in the area and relieve tightness/pain in the leg sometime last year.

Also I am pretty sure Barlow had a second Op to remove the pins in his leg ages ago. I had a plate in my collarbone and would agree with Voss that you would no want to be playing contact sport with it still in so best taken out again ASAP and Barlow has done this I am pretty sure a few months after he broke it.

He had a third Op to clear up a bit of muscle scar tissue in the area and relieve tightness/pain in the leg sometime last year.

Plate in the collarbone is different to intramedullary rod in the tibia. Standard procedure to remove the plate in the collarbone post-fracture, otherwise it restricts room of movement. Intramedullary rods stay in, unless complications arise (mainly infection). It doesn't cause any functional deficit.

At least now we knew why he wasn't named in the NAB Cup squad.

Very hard not to get caught up in the doom and gloom hyperbole though, after last year I can't say I have too much faith in our medical staff anymore.

If Barlow and Mundy miss lengthy periods again this year then we're ****ed.

Intramedullary rods stay in, unless complications arise (mainly infection). It doesn't cause any functional deficit.

In Barlow's case it was taken out. There was a heap of articles written about it. They were mostly written under the heading of 'Barlow Suffers Setback' which sounds familiar...

Plate in the collarbone is different to intramedullary rod in the tibia. Standard procedure to remove the plate in the collarbone post-fracture, otherwise it restricts room of movement. Intramedullary rods stay in, unless complications arise (mainly infection). It doesn't cause any functional deficit.

Interesting. I've had my collar bones plated 3 times and never had any problem with restricted movement. The only reason they were taken out is because the doc said if they broke with the plate in it would break at the ends and therefore couldn't be fixed with another plate

Look. I think the most important thing is to red card yakka man for a week so we don't have to read lots of posts about his personal shirtiness at having injured players.

Secondly, I'd like to know from Salim/Eshed and the other training watchers how many sessions Barlow has missed. My recollection is that he has been in full training. If so and he has been hammering himself like most players, it might not be so bad.

If he has missed quite a few sessions, it would mean he can't quite get up for the rigours of AFL and could be serious.

For the numbskulls, the first para was a joke.

Hahah, sometimes my passion is different to other people's and therefore clashes. I mean well though. Barlow has showed during the pre-season that he is at full fitness so people shouldn't freak out yet. It is a concern though.

Meh, he played 8 games in a row to end last season. He'll be fine once the real stuff starts and the 'cotton glove' approach to the pre-season is ended.

He will need to be managed/monitored through the rest of his career; particularly through the pre-season.

I think it's all a storm in a teacup.

He'll always have issues, just like lots of players have issues with all sorts of injuries. Freo will manage it by therapy, injections, rest and so-forth.

I'll say it again, the only reason it's in the 'news' is because of the LeCras incident.

I'm not too confident.... One intra club game and then 3 weeks off for soreness? Will he play every 4th game? The good thing is this bloke has faced every challenge that's put in front him since being overlooked in the draft since he was 18. When he gets back to full fitness he will be the strongest and toughest mentally out of any player on our list. Adversity breeds greatness and reckon Mick Barlow will be a star.

Kayyy ! :confused:

Clarify.... I'm not too confident hes fine and that he'll be back in three weeks. if so, sounds like he is about to go through a year being managed through a serious recurring problem with that leg and will be very taxing mentally on him. He will still be a star in future years, but suggest we won't see the best of Barlow in 2012.

As mentioned by another Poster I've too have a mate who broke his leg 8 years ago and has never really recovered 100% from it..He often gets pain when he runs.

I think though as with most things in life it all really comes down to mentality and lifestyle, Barlow strikes me as someone who has the mental toughness, Doggedness and maturity to have quick turnarouns from the setbacks that are inevitable.

Sadly his leg may never fully recover. I know a bloke who snapped his leg 10 years ago and still suffers discomfort to this day.
Will three weeks make a difference?
I unfortunately agree with this.

My dad feared the exact same thing. As soon as it occurred, he had a feeling Barlow would never reach those heights of his debut season. I did agree. And I, disappointingly, still do. He's a great, natural, strong player. He deserves to be an AFL footballer. To see his career derailed would be disappointing.

****in' Palmer, hey.

Even in the game against Melbourne (was it? My brain now forgets Fremantle heartbreak..), he showed some real composure and natural ability. He was thrown into a lacklustre team after months out. He's an enviable asset. To have him totally fit and playing week in, week out would bolster our chances of finals.

As many have touched on, Barlow seems to be a very mature footballer. I think this simply comes down to the fact he missed out on the AFL for so long. To be given an opportunity to play for a club with a strong list and to be a real star in his debut season, it's not altered his work ethic. He strikes me as the kind of footballer who'd always put in on the training track. Also, it doesn't seem like he'd take many shortcuts.

Here's hoping...

Pretty frustrating to have this minor issue as I can't wait to see Barlow back to something near his best but unfortunately when it comes to broken legs, they don't always fully recover.

In terms of soreness though, doing every session can lead to that but I would suspect that the turf at Fremantle Oval is a little bit on the hard side. I know the club has said that the turf is fine but really, I'm just skeptical about that

Pretty frustrating to have this minor issue as I can't wait to see Barlow back to something near his best but unfortunately when it comes to broken legs, they don't always fully recover.

In terms of soreness though, doing every session can lead to that but I would suspect that the turf at Fremantle Oval is a little bit on the hard side. I know the club has said that the turf is fine but really, I'm just skeptical about that

Why are you skeptical about the turf at Fremantle Oval. When was the last time you were on it?

I agree though about Barlows leg. It may never fully recover. The club is right to exercise caution. I wonder how his leg will hold up to the rigours of a full season. Maybe we should expect he will miss games due to soreness.

With the mentions of other people's injuries I also had a mate who only had a knee reconstruction and was never the same again, Vossy came back fine, Brown didn't (different breaks I know) imo Barlow's experience is going to be very personal to Barlow. Whatever happens I'm looking forward to seeing him play this year, after a late start and then all the success and hype when he finally made an AFL list I hope he's got a lot of games ahead of him so he can walk away happy when it's all done.

Like I said whatever happens just looking forward to him and the rest of the boys giving 2012 a good crack and feeling too positive to let the rumours/speculation worry me just yet.

Why are you skeptical about the turf at Fremantle Oval. When was the last time you were on it?

I dunno really. It's just some nagging feeling that I have and a nagging doubt not to mention the amount of injuries last year and putting 2 and 2 together

It's hard to be on the oval when you're on the other side of the country but I'd certainly like to put my fears to rest at some stage