Blues_Brat

Sturt
For those who haven't heard yet, Sturt take on Norwood this Friday night at Norwood for the double centenary of Sturt's first game and Norwood's first game at the Parade. A the game that is being dubbed "the Battle of 100 Years"

The players will be taking to the field in guernseys from the era. Similar to the AFL's centenary celebrations.

Should be a beauty.

Been waiting a long time for this one, I'm not gonna make any bold predictions but the Blues need a win.

Good to be back in Adelaide.

Carna Blues!

Originally posted by Blues_Brat:
Good to be back in Adelaide.

Carna Blues!

It's good to have you back, although that funny smell has returned again
biggrin.gif

See Cornsey and KG talked to Rick Schoff on
" where are they Now " Schoff played in 4 premiership teams for Sturt before leaving for Melbourne in 1972 for work reasons..He graduated from Adelaide Uni in 1965 in Computer science ! and made a carreer out of it in Melbourne..He follows the Crows and so do his (Victorian ) children ! He even said he followed Port in the AFL, even after all the games he played against them when they were in the SANFL , said that was hard to swallow, but he could never bring himself around to followinf a Melbourne based club. A great interview, with a great bloke

PA1870

I'm really p**ssed off that I can't get to Adelaide for the game. Unfortunately I only get down there 4 or 5 times during the footy season and try to make it for the Unley games. But I miss the genuine passion and football knowledge that you get at SANFL games.

This should be a great occassion.

Go the mighty Blues!!!

PS. Is the ABC taping the game and if so are copies sold anywhere?

Originally posted by Spogs:
PS. Is the ABC taping the game and if so are copies sold anywhere?

Not sure if anyone is taping this match but to my knowledge the ABC is not providing a live telecast - no doubt the SANFL wants to maximise the attendance.

For some obscure reason, the ABC's match of the round is Eagles v Glenelg. Admittedly a replay of Norwood v Sturt would be a better match. Heck - any of the other two games would probably be a better contest than Eagles v Glenelg. I cannot fathom why the ABC would pick this one to telecast; perhaps because it is at Adelaide Oval?

I shouldn't complain - I can't attend this week, so I will record the match and watch the Bays get belted at my leisure
smile.gif

------------------
"I live nowhere near alberton...i live in a great part of Adelaide!!!"
- Macca19 on BigFooty Regional Leagues board

Thanks Uncle S,

I thought that because of the historical nature of the game the ABC may have taken some cameras out to the Parade.

They should get a bumper crowd to the game whether they show it or not.

Originally posted by Uncle Steve:
Not sure if anyone is taping this match but to my knowledge the ABC is not providing a live telecast - no doubt the SANFL wants to maximise the attendance.

For some obscure reason, the ABC's match of the round is Eagles v Glenelg. Admittedly a replay of Norwood v Sturt would be a better match. Heck - any of the other two games would probably be a better contest than Eagles v Glenelg. I cannot fathom why the ABC would pick this one to telecast; perhaps because it is at Adelaide Oval?

I shouldn't complain - I can't attend this week, so I will record the match and watch the Bays get belted at my leisure
smile.gif

EAGLES have done well out of the ABC coverage this year - maybe they rate the best - why would they show the battle of the ferals from elizabeth - unless the police want evidence from the terraces for the assaults charges in the crowd.

I think the eagles have averaged a 90 point win in our last 5 or 6 meetings against the bay so glenelg are due for a good performance against us??.

5rph - 1197 on the am band are doing a live broadcast from the parade, friday night.

still got that enormous chip on your shoulder I see Eddie................

Is there a thread you don't insult Centrals or Port fans in? And judging by the people I saw who make up the Eagles Cheer Squad last Wednesday, I wouldn't be judging anyone.

Originally posted by Uncle Steve:

smile.gif

**** you Sanfl and ABC!!!!! In that case i'm gonna go and fire up the video camera ready for tomorrow night....not sure how much of it i'll get taped but hopefully some of it.

Finally something decent to watch on Saturday
biggrin.gif

Originally posted by Blues_Girl:
**** you Sanfl and ABC!!!!! In that case i'm gonna go and fire up the video camera ready for tomorrow night....not sure how much of it i'll get taped but hopefully some of it.

Finally something decent to watch on Saturday
biggrin.gif

Glenelg/Eagles as match of the round, is an absolute joke.

Surely Centrals/Port and even South/West, has gotta be a more interesting, and influential match than that.

------------------
'...and we won't give up, till the premiership cup is safely in our hands...'

It will be a huge crowd either way.

I think the reason there will be no telecast is because the ABC are commited to a national programming format on week nights.

Only Saturday afternoons have been dedicated to local sport programming as it is in other states.

a mate of mine rang up the ABC today to have a bit of a bitch about the programming and got the usual 'we've planned this for weeks' malarky. He said clearly anybody with a brain could tell that Sturt-Norwood and Centrals-Port would be the big matches of the round even 4 weeks ago, even 6 months ago.........the guy at the ABC apparently was very apologetic and said he understood and emphasised that my friend was by no means the only caller on this issue. Apparently the ABC are trying to be fairer regarding telecasts this year (the ABC's words.)

At least there is an SANFL game on, words couldn't describe the anger I felt last Saturday...Centrals have a Saturday off so I thought I'd get a dose of SANFL on the ABC and what do I get......Wollongong v Townsville in the Basketball, honestly.........Made me turn right back to the Hawthorn v W.Bulldogs match........

Originally posted by CDFCLad:
Apparently the ABC are trying to be fairer regarding telecasts this year (the ABC's words

Fairer!?!?!

Glenelg has already been covered twice (rounds 1 & 2), and Eddie (above) claims the Eagles have had a few matches covered as well. In fact - if I am not mistaken - the ABC has covered only Glenelg and Eagles matches this year.

You would think that the logical thing to do would be to record the Norwood/Sturt game and replay it on Saturday, instead of a live broadcast from one of the other games.

I have noted in previous years that the ABC coverage has never been equally distributed among the clubs. Back in '98 when the Bays collected their first spoon for 35-odd years only 2 Glenelg matches were covered all season. The next year when the Tigers had a good season the cameras seemed to be at every other Glenelg match.

Again - the ABC's coverage suits me well this week, because I can't make it to the game - but even Blind Freddy can see that Eagles v. Glenelg is by far the worst choice of match for coverage, by any reasonably objective criterion.

------------------
"I live nowhere near alberton...i live in a great part of Adelaide!!!"
- Macca19 on BigFooty Regional Leagues board

Thank god we have at least one intelligent, educated, logical thinking Glenelg supporter on this board.

------------------
'...and we won't give up, till the premiership cup is safely in our hands...'

No question sturt v norwood is match of the round - not sure bout century though. I'm even going tonight with a few legs fans. There is talk of 12,000 but i reckon around 10,000.

I hope it is a close game. but i'm selecting norwood in my tips at work

Damn disappointing result IMO. After being 3 points up then to lose the lead with a controversial decision.

Speaking to a couple of Port supporters who watched the game and they agreed that Norwood seem to get soft frees all the time.

Ah well shit happens. Just hope we're not turning into the Dockers., showing signs of being good enough then falling at the last hurdle.

My view for what it's worth is that Sturt are not in the same class as the top four teams

At the moment Centrals and Norwood are ahead of the Eagles and Port in the form stakes

I am hoping for an Eagles Norwood GF - as we killed them last time

Originally posted by Uncle Steve

Fairer!?!?!

Glenelg has already been covered twice (rounds 1 & 2), and Eddie (above) claims the Eagles have had a few matches covered as well. In fact - if I am not mistaken - the ABC has covered only Glenelg and Eagles matches this year.

Yeah your pretty close Steve. These are the games shown so far:

Rd1 - Glenelg v Sturt
Rd2 - Glenelg v Port
Rd3 - Sturt v Eagles
Rd4 - Eagles v West
Rd5 - Port v South
Rd6 - Glenelg v Eagles

Now i would hope that next weeks game will be Port v Sturt - which is always a great game, if its glenelg v north i think i might go and personally have a word to the ABC.

Originally posted by Macca19

Now i would hope that next weeks game will be Port v Sturt - which is always a great game, if its glenelg v north i think i might go and personally have a word to the ABC.

Go and have a word?? I think i'd set fire to the ABC building!

Originally posted by Macca19

Now i would hope that next weeks game will be Port v Sturt - which is always a great game,
Why, will you be staying at home again? :D

if its glenelg v north i think i might go and personally have a word to the ABC.
Never fear, Glenelg has the bye before tackling the Roosters; this week it is North's turn to flood the Eagles' forward lines.

According to the ABC site, this week's match is West v Norwood. First versus second. Personally I think West is a trifle overrated, and it looks like their scrubber full forward might be playing for a lesser team this week... but IIRC, Norwood has been getting done at Richmond in recent years. It should be the choice match of the round, and deservedly so.

ABC Coverage this week

I would of thought they would show the Port vs Sturt game as well but it seems the ABC has opted for the West vs Norwood game this week, which considering their positions on the ladder is a fair call.
All the best
Smithy