Bay 114 - 2008 - Version 2

Gets!

Oct 15, 2003
G'day girls and guys.

Some news regarding 114 (soon to be renamed?)

David spoke to the president of the CSG (Darryl) and basically this is what David proposes (and I think sounds bloody good)

Basically he can offer us 3 whole rows, directly behind the cheer squad in bay 142 (rows L, M and N) on a permanent basis. AS it is the middle of the bay continous standing wouldn't be an option but the ability to combine our voices with the CSG is a good chance to fire things the **** up a bit.

Darryl was pretty excited about the prospect and I have met him a few times prior; top bloke. He things that collectively we can really make an impact on overall crowd noise.

Now how this would work is that existing season ticket holders/members can transfer their allocated seats to this area and those without a season ticket can have one without going onto the waiting list.

Approx cost for silver membership is $204.

I think this would be a good move forward for the group and this is how could bring about the most change.

Thoughts?

I'll join ya, my seats were shocking this season right infront of a realy annoying foghorn tuurd of a girl who gave everyone in the whole bay (118) the shits!

Whilst beggars can't be choosers, and I think it's awesome that the club are doing this for us, I kinda preferred being on the other side of the ground to the cheer squad, and at the back of the bay. We kinda had this northern end cheersquad dynamic happening, and it was cool that anyone could rock up and stand with us.
As it stands, I doubt I'd be willing to shift my season tickets (partly because I have better seats, and partly because my old man wouldn't want to and I'm not going to leave him all alone for a full season), even though I love bay 114.
BUT the whole non-waiting list thing is fricking awesome! If my mum is willing to go to games in my old seats, I might consider buying my own silver membership.
This is going to take some pondering.

You know im in for two seats.

From the discussions we've had in the past, i kinda knew this was the way theyd want to take it, and whilst ill miss bay 114, i see the merits of moving us up there.

Although, im not certain if i want to just become part of the cheersquad... i think theres a stigma around that, and it could actually end up being counterproductive if we were just seen as cheersquad members.

Id be in for one or two tickets for sure :thumbsu:

However, I do very much love it over in Bay 114, and standing up the whole game. Many great times there this year.

We cant all just get season tickets and congregate over there anyway??? :D ;)

I reckon we take the group up on their invitation, but we keep the very thing that made us stand out. We stand at the back of the bay and carry the noise from the back to the front and vice versa.

If we get a home match first up in the 08 NAB Cup, lets try it there.

I reckon we take the group up on their invitation, but we keep the very thing that made us stand out. We stand at the back of the bay and carry the noise from the back to the front and vice versa.

The cheering made us stand out, not the standing :p

Really, if they are giving us the opportunity to double the number of cheering voices instantly, wed be mad not to sit behind the cheersquad and let them join in.

I'm not saying that it isn't worth trying, but bear in mind that at Bay 114 we had no restriction of movement or people telling us to be quiet. The grannies in the undercover terrace don't count in that area.

Over there we'll be surrounded by them instead of behind them and there will be no minor cussing! Remember, some people are total soft-c*cks around there and you can't even utter "bugger" without someone turning around taking exception. No more jumping up and down like mad either... "goal, yay, sit down" will be demanded, I'm sure.

Okay, fair enough, I'm over here and didn't get to experience anything this season, so I may be a bit off the ball. The way I see this, fantastic opportunity, should definitely be taken up. 3 rows, thats what, 60 seats? Combine that with the CSG going to get bigger and bigger. 60 seats next year, might be 80 seats the year after and so on. There is nothing stopping a whole lot of you congregating in the standing area behind the bay if so wish, so ultimately it is going to grow. Well in, and I certainly think you all should go with it.

3 ROWS!! Nice work dawwwwg! :thumbsu:

I'm handing my ticket over to Tara next season while I begin my internship at the AFL. So I'll have a word to James and see what he thinks, we were gona shift our seats anyway so this could be the perfect move.

A bit sad u guys won't be providing a strong presence at the Northern End - our work there was really starting to pay off and generate greater noise in the surrounding areas, and we all know how much Welshy loved us down that end! :D

Having said that, you guys will blitz the "cheersquad" (who the **** are they anyway?!? Lol ) and everyone will want in on a piece of the action!!

I will have to try to get over for atleast a few games at AAMI next year, jeez it feels weird saying that :( atleast now i'm over here I can team up with Vic Crow and provide our own decibel-smashing presence at the G/dome/wherever we play! :)

I'll msg u when i sort it all out with Jimbob mate

Haha, true story Stazz. We always get good numbers of support at games in Melbourne but we could always be louder. The way I've seen it the noise per person at games in Melbourne is better because the Crows fans there are either a) die hards who make the trip from across the border; or b) don't get to see their team as often as they'd like.

As far as the proposed new seating arrangements go, how would that work for someone like me, who only gets to home games a couple of times a year and doesn't have a season pass? I certainly still want to be with the group, wherever that may be but obviously I can only come a few times a year.

Excellent news and great to incorporate us into the supporters group. :thumbsu:

I would love to join you guys but there is no way that I am giving up my ticket. It is part of our family's ticket.

But I might be able to convince my auntie to transfer her seat and she can sit with my mum and dad and I join you guys over there.

People could still come over and stand behind that particular bay so you would have noise from us mob, the supporters group and those standing up the back.

Have to be very careful on who gets the tickets, we had so many w***ers this year taking tickets and not cheering. If people have the opportunity to skip the waiting list they will say whatever they can to get their grubby mits on them.

Personally I will have to give it a miss, football and work commitments will prevent me from going to no more than a handful of games.

Haha, true story Stazz. We always get good numbers of support at games in Melbourne but we could always be louder. The way I've seen it the noise per person at games in Melbourne is better because the Crows fans there are either a) die hards who make the trip from across the border; or b) don't get to see their team as often as they'd like

Awesome mate :D
Well you know I'm as die-hard as they come so I'll be doing everything I can to make our support even louder! I can see us being quite the formidable combination in 08!! :D

personnally, im against it.

As Vic Crow said, what about people that cant get to all the games?

As previously mentioned, id really prefer standing.

I would be asking the club if we can get seats at the back of the bay, behind the cheersquad.

Myself and Dolfy and Zak tried sitting behind the cheersquad for the NAB cup match and belted out a few tunes but we got more laughs than people catching on.

Id ask the club if we can get tickets in any of the back rows - id still be happy if they assigned us bay 114, and when the Crows dont have those seats (ie members are using) we can stand.

My main objection is not being able to stand but there are positives from sitting with the cheersquad, and id have to see about the membership - they are in dads name and he probably wont go by himself.

personnally, im against it.

As Vic Crow said, what about people that cant get to all the games?

Well we have this forum and the ticket exchange for that.

Not everyone who gets a ticket will be able to go to every game. So on these days they give the tickets up on this forum via ticket exchange.

I am going to have to do some reshuffling of all my family and friends tickets coz we can't lose them.

I don't mind the idea besides we have a real oppurtunity here to change the culture of the crowd by using the cheersquad. :thumbsu:

I will be hard pressed to get tickets to that section with everyone else... It feels like I'm practically kissing my membership of Bay114 goodbye!:(

Maybe the people who can't commit to season tickets for whatever reasons could still make up a group in bay 114? Although you'd want to have a big enough group.

Maybe... but I think that most of the people involved are always at the games, while people like myself cannot go to AAMI Stadium as often.

Its a shame that the group would leave the northern end because we were really gaining some ground. While I like the idea of joining the existing mob, I would have liked it if we continued to stand at the back of the bay like we did Bay 114. Then we can be as rowdy as we were back at Bay 114 without stepping on anyone's toes and we can ALL be together, as it should be.

If the club can provide a number of tix, which I would be happy to pay for, to assure a spot for those that can't make it every week as long as they gave the Bay 114 rep plenty of notice.

Bay 114 - 2008 - Version 2