Bay 13 Safe Space

I ordered a toasted foccacia for lunch yesterday. The girl behind the counter asked for my name which I gave her and then she wrote it onto the paper bag, but included an extra "y" in the spelling which does not exist and has never existed in any reasonable spelling of my name.

That will be the last time I ever get my lunch from that shop.

That's rather petty of you ...

So not only don't you have a clue about the premise of the understatement thread, you also don't understand the premise of this thread either.

To be honest, I absolutely couldn't give a *

Fairly certain you are a jerk with a toxic/negative attitude, you must be a barrel of laughs to hang out (not)

The thing is the tone of this thread used to be jovial/frivolous than serious/sombre (where flogs were encouraged to get legit grievances/troubles in their lives off their chest) and obviously the thread became frivolous again in the time I spent away for winning Flog of the Year.

****ing glass pool fence broke last weekend (note to self: don't procrastinate on getting it fixed when it starts to wobble :$ ) and I slipped and smashed my knees on broken glass. A week later they are still hurting and not healed and I probably should have got stitches.

Hug me.

Got rejected for the NDIS because they think I haven’t exhausted all necessary treatment on my knee and other conditions I have.

4 operations on my knee including 2 recos.
Kneecap is chronically dislocated, I’ve had a surgeon tell me if I have any more surgery my leg could be shorter than the other one.

I’ve had another surgeons telling me I should remove my kneecap which is a too big of a procedure for me to have

My knee is bone on bone with no cartilage left

A pissant in an office deciding the fate of other people when you and the GP know better is downright disgusting

I don’t care if V23 or Geelong Dynasty are eating Chronz

End of rant. Carry on friendz

Attachments

• IMG_8498.jpeg
    IMG_8498.jpeg
    1.5 MB · Views: 4
Got rejected for the NDIS because they think I haven’t exhausted all necessary treatment on my knee and other conditions I have.

Kneecap is chronically dislocated, I’ve had a surgeon tell me if I have any more surgery my leg could be shorter than the other one.

I’ve had another surgeons telling me I should remove my kneecap which is a too big of a procedure for me to have

A pissant in an office deciding the fate of other people when you and the GP know better is downright disgusting

Don't get me started on the NDIA. The entire organisation is a ****ing joke. They recently released new guidelines for a Short Term Respite and this was an example they gave on how to apply it

Clear as ****ing mud :$

Don't get me started on the NDIA. The entire organisation is a ****ing joke. They recently released new guidelines for a Short Term Respite and this was an example they gave on how to apply it

Clear as ****ing mud :$
It’s ****ing bullshit mate

I own an NDIS registered business. We provided services for a client that wasn't claimable which he knew. We invoiced him and he paid us. He was self managed then obviously tried to claim it back. I got a threatening letter from the NDIA saying we we rorting the system and threatened to de-register us. I wrote them back a (not nicely worded letter) pointing out we have no ****ing control over what a self managed participant does with invoices and as far as we are concerned it was a self funded service and they ca take it up with him and **** off.

They opened the email 10 times and then never responded :$ Corporate bully ****heads.

i recall a bloke i went to university with had similar strife with the NDIS. he was essentially a paraplegic (he "could" walk up stairs by essentially dragging himself in lecture halls if so inclined, but rarely did) following being hit by a drunk driver, and he had to straight up lie to get NDIS support. this was all the way back in like 2017, too (i'm young, sue me) but it was really eye opening as to how dreadful the system really is.

at the same time, you hear every so often about people scamming the NDIS as caregivers or what have you. it's ableist as **** and doesn't make much sense at all

i recall a bloke i went to university with had similar strife with the NDIS. he was essentially a paraplegic (he "could" walk up stairs by essentially dragging himself in lecture halls if so inclined, but rarely did) following being hit by a drunk driver, and he had to straight up lie to get NDIS support. this was all the way back in like 2017, too (i'm young, sue me) but it was really eye opening as to how dreadful the system really is.

at the same time, you hear every so often about people scamming the NDIS as caregivers or what have you. it's ableist as **** and doesn't make much sense at all
It makes you wonder who’s really getting help they actually need

No doubt people rort it all the time (I have seen many examples). But the organisation is a classic example of bureaucrats making decisions with absolutely zero understanding of the impact on the community they are supposed to support. No consultation and they make unilateral decisions saying "our decision is final and cannot be reviewed". The **** it can't.

Can't expect anything from these sorts of organisatuons. It's a rort all the way down no doubt.
I had an all ligament tear, popliteus tear/cartilage depletion in my left knee which screwed me for quite a while with years of swelling and pain (kneeling and bending down too long periods is still a no-no). I'm alot better now after I do daily strengthening exercises.

Yours looks even worse than mine ever was, must be constantly swolen and inflamed, a permanent condition. NDIS is just another government funded failure ran by incompetent grifters.

Can't expect anything from these sorts of organisatuons. It's a rort all the way down no doubt.
I had an all ligament tear, popliteus tear/cartilage depletion in my left knee which screwed me for quite a while with years of swelling and pain (kneeling and bending down too long periods is still a no-no). I'm alot better now after I do daily strengthening exercises.

Yours looks even worse than mine ever was, must be constantly swolen and inflamed, a permanent condition. NDIS is just another government funded failure ran by incompetent grifters.
They think it’s not permanent

The NDIS is a great idea but implemented poorly

The NDIS is a fantastic initiative, in theory. The problem is it was rushed out for short-term political gain without having appropriate guardrails in place to make sure the grifters were excluded and everything went to the genuinely needy participants.

And guess who gets all the benefits?

The grifters...who probably aren't paying their fair share of tax on their income, either.

There's a lot of absolute leeches on the rest of the community out there.

Yeah I take anti inflammatory tablets all the time and sometimes they do shit for pain. I’ve considered cannabis (don’t ban me) for pain relief when it gets really bad

I hope your knee is okay?

The NDIS is a fantastic initiative, in theory. The problem is it was rushed out for short-term political gain without having appropriate guardrails in place to make sure the grifters were excluded and everything went to the genuinely needy participants.

The grifters...who probably aren't paying their fair share of tax on their income, either.

My partner is legally blind and travels interstate frequently for work on his own. Is unable to catch public transport so relies on ubers/taxis. He has a reasonably small transport budget and asked for an increase. They declined the increase and told him to use support workers from his core budget instead. He pointed out the impracticality of arranging a support worker to meet him at the airport each time, and the fact it would cost about 4 times as much as an uber but they said that was all they would allow :$

Great idea. Implementation is ****ing horrible.

Yeah I take anti inflammatory tablets all the time and sometimes they do shit for pain. I’ve considered cannabis (don’t ban me) for pain relief when it gets really bas

I hope your knee is okay?

Have you tried glucosamine sulfate supplements? Glucosamine helps with cartilage regrowth. I don't have any joint issues, thankfully, but have been taking a daily pill for most of the last decade to prevent any issues with my knees when (if I live long enough) I get old.

I don’t think there is as many grifters/free loaders on the NDIS as you would believe tbh.

It takes a solid 2/3 years with documented/certified medical documents to even being considered..

I would strongly argue esp with TheGoatBaron 's case, it's too bloody hard/stringent to qualify for NDIS these days.

Have you tried glucosamine sulfate supplements? Glucosamine helps with cartilage regrowth. I don't have any joint issues, thankfully, but have been taking a daily pill for most of the last decade to prevent any issues with my knees when (if I live long enough) I get old.
No but will look into them though.

Bay 13 Safe Space