Be Glad this $%#^$ doesn't write for your paper....

• Thread starter Thread starter Danni

Danni

Don't blame us, we only write AFL when it's on

by Mike Coleman

Think of this as an open letter to all AFL fans. Just a short one. Six words in all.

Please, folks, shut the heck up.

For about a week anyway. Then you can ring all you like. You can write letters and send e-mails and march up and down outside the front doors of this office burning other journalists in effigy for all I care.

But not now. Now, you just have to sit there. Sweating away in your Lions beanies and Demons scarves and swans jockstraps and other AFL licensed supporters gear, singing the Cats victory song or watching old videos of Plugger Lockett kicking goals and reporters.

Don't ring this newpaper to ask why there isn't any AFL in the sports pages. Don't tell us we've got heaps of rugby league and rugby union and cricket. Don't call us biased or ignorant or out of touch.

Just cop it sweet.

See folks, it works like this. We can't put more AFL in the paper this week because there isn't any.

Those other comps are going. Yours isn't.

Yes, okay, there was a preseason competition, but really, if the Lions players refuse to get involved, why should we?

If you have a complaint about the AFL being played, or the late start to the season, or Tony Liberatore or anything else, ring the AFL.

Contrary to popular belief, we in this office don't run the competition. We don't get together over stale doughnuts and coffee in the canteen every November and say: "Oh by the way, isn't it about time we worked out the draw for next year's AFL?"

Oh nooo. The AFL does that. And they print up the tickets and paint the lines on the field and spray on the umpires' shorts and all that other sort of stuff, too.

What we do is write about it.
When it's on. Which right now it isn't.

It's not because the AFL season runs for 23 weeks - including one split round - as opposed to rugby league which has 26 home-and-away rounds, plus three State of Origin weekends.

Then thre is the present AFL-free zone. There is no AFL this weekend because the AFL Players Association negotiated a one-week break between the end of the Ansett Cup and the start of the permiership as part of their collective bargaining agreement.

Much as it will come as a shock to the dozens of angry AFL fans who ring us daily to complain, THE COURIER MAIL sports department wasn't involved in negotiations.

Not that it seems to worry those callers. Every day they ring. The calls start something like this "Why the $%#@ isn't there more *%$# AFL in the @#!* paper you *&%$F!" And then they degenerate into abuse.

The calls start about 8am and end around ...7.59am the next day. Disgruntled AFL fans obviously stay up late being obsessive, and they think people in authority newspapers do to.

"What's the time? 3.59am. Gee, I'd better ring THE COURIER MAIL sports department to find out why there isn't more AFL in the paper."

It can tend to grate. One of our sub-editors was in hospital recently being treated for hyper tension druing pregnancy.

"And what do you do for a living?" the nurse said pleasantly as she took her blood pressure. When she heard the answer the nurse launched straight in.

"I've got a bone to pick with you," she snarled. "Why isn't there more AFL in the paper?"

The blood pressure went off the scale.

Hopefully that nurse won't be ringing us this week. Hopefully no AFL fans will. Matter of fact, I'll save you all the trouble of even turning to the sports section until next Monday when we print a 56-page AFL liftout.

That should keep you satisfied until about...gee, let's see..56 pages, get the paper at 6am, read thh liftout until 7.45, read the local and world news until 7.48. Five minutes to get grumpy, another five to become obsessive, that means you should start ringing to complain about ...8am.

Guess we'll be hearing from you then.

....as printed in The Courier Mail, Tuesday 20th March 2001. (minus my excessive typing errors of course, sorry bout that folks)

A reporter in The Courier Mail - the Brisbane paper.

It was on page 30 of yesterdays paper, just underneath the A4 size pic of Tiger Woods.

Geez Danni you do have it tough up there, doesnt that drongo realise if there are that many people complaining all day every day, there might be some interest out there? I would have thought that market research like that would have been invaluable, perhaps hes been going to the John Howard school of sticking his head in the sand and saying i know what you want dont tell me 'coz your wrong! Hope things improve for you up there. Cheers

Sympathies Danni

Just another long line of media types who believe that they are "stars" or "personalities" who love to put their opinion across but then squeal like stuck pigs when they cop a bit of criticism!!

Seems to me that they still aren't getting the message even after all the attempts (he even listed them!) and the end result - nothing!!!

Keep trying

Cheers

Gonzo

I thought it tongue in cheek and somewhat amusing!

Then again I haven't yet had my afternoon coffee so the agitation levels are a little low!

Be back in a minute....

------------------
TigerFury.net - Independant Richmond Tigers website

Danni
Do you know the email address, if you do post it here & we can all flood them with emails non stop for a couple of days.
biggrin.gif

That will really give the moron something to complain about.

------------------
RED & BLACK, THE COLOURS OF FENG SHUI

CJH - it may have been intended to be tounge in cheek - and if that was the case, it is just as in bad taste as if it were for real.

We are talking about a city/state here that is traditional non-AFL. Where ppl have fought long and hard to have even minimal media coverage. And a city/state that has a majority of sports fans who still enjoy ridiculing the code, the teams and the supportes in general.

Either way, it is not condusive to promoting the game in QLD.

My personal experience is that in general, Mr Coleman is a &^%$(^*^. However that said, I am not offended by what he wrote - just severely pissed off that he managed to do more damage in one article to the burgeoning growth of the supporter base in QLD.

Originally posted by CJH:
I thought it tongue in cheek and somewhat amusing!

I thought so too, CJH. I also thought it was a great advertisment for aussie rules in Queensland.

Could anyone ever feel that passionately about Rugby?

to: cmletters@qnp.newsltd.com.au
Subject: Attn Mike Colman.

Let's make the bastard wish he never ridiculed the lot of us.

Originally posted by mantis:
Danni
Do you know the email address, if you do post it here & we can all flood them with emails non stop for a couple of days.
biggrin.gif

That will really give the moron something to complain about.

danni- do tell us some contact details so we can have an old fashioned email-athon here at Bigfooty, just like we did at Bombertalk with channel 7 to get rid of John Russso a couple years back.

Yep, sorry Arch - try that email above, it is apparently a standard email addy to the Courier Mail, and you put the persons, or department's name in the Subject part of your email so they know who to direct it to.

This guy is an absolute tosser.no wonder he works for the courier mail,he wouldnt last 2 seconds doing sports journalism here in vic with the herald-sun or age..
It does nothing to encourage afl in queensland or to try and promote the game or its supporters in a positive way..
Take this for example,a big headline here reads carey out for 3 rounds,makes half a page or so in the paper and widely talked about on t.v but in the courier mail it was a 3 line article..
As pointed out from danni they could have used that article and made a decent story out of it.i.e the rivalry between both teams,the hell he dishes out to the lions supporters etc etc

stick to the rugby coleman,afl is too complex for you..

I would stop buying the paper if I were you, that type of article is a shocker. Anyone know of any good email flooder programs
biggrin.gif
wink.gif

Vis
biggrin.gif

------------------
I was put on this Earth to complete a certain number of tasks. I am so far behind, I will never die...

I think the article was absolutely brilliant.

I don't know what the situation is like in Queensland, but here in Melbourne, football gets so much media coverage, all year round, that it just bores the shit out of me. Complete overkill. And it's completely bloody inane most of the time.

It amazes me the way reporters go to all the trouble to get the most useless 10 second grabs or video footage.

Let's say player x has injured his knee on the weekend ...

Channel 7 News will send a reporter and camera crew all the way to the bloody hospital just so they can show 10 seconds of player x saying, "Yeah, the knee's a bit sore, but hopefully I should be back training in three weeks."

Another thing that annoys the shit out of me is the Monday swimming session. For some reason, Channel 7 thinks it is interesting to watch a team of footballers wading in a swimming pool on the Monday evening news. So every week they send a reporter and crew out to film the heroes who've walked ON water on the weekend, walking IN water on the Monday.

If you actually find that interesting, my only advice is ... GET A LIFE.

Media coverage of football should be confined to the week-end. And it should be confined to the football season ONLY. I really don't care whether the players went for a swim on Monday morning ... or whether player z is getting married next week. And I'm certainly not interested in looking at washed up ex-footballers trying to be media celebrities ... or any of the other media over-kill that Channel 7 or the Herald Sun continually ram down the throats of the Melbourne public.

In fact, if it wasn't for Queensland's appalling climate I'd almost consider moving there to get away from the footy media barrage.

Well done, Mr.Coleman. Well said.

------------------
**floreat pica**

And what did u ladies actually email him about,he has an opinion and you have an opinion so whats the drama!!!!

------------------
good ole collingwood for ever,we know how to play the game,side by side we stick together to uphold the REAL magpies name,see the barrackers are shouting,as all barrackers should,YES the premiership's a cakewalk for the good ole collingwood.
http://www.mp3.com/joffa

My question is, if there is no footy going on at present, what the hell is a bloke supposed to write? All you can fill the paper up with is Mike Sheahan-type "I think this, I think that, even though I don't actually think anything" articles and player articles where they say "Yeah I'm doin' a good pre-season and I'm in the best shape I've been in and I'm gonna have a big season". YAAAAAAAAAWN!
If there isn't anything to write, don't write an article for the sake of just writing an article. Mind you, it'd get you a job in the sports department at The Age.