Becoming a goal umpire

I've been wondering who would I contact? I live in Queenstown on the West Coast of Tasmania and I thought about becoming a goal umpire the Darwin Association. I was wondering would I contact the head office of the umpiring here in Tasmania? Or would I call the league?

I thought living here I could help with any number shortages they may have, since I don't think many would want to travel the 6 hours it would take to come from Hobart or wherever else they would be sent from.

I've thought about it, and want to become a goal umpire since after damaging my knee during my short junior career and past injuries after that I figure the less running around the better.

Give it a crack.

Probably best to call the local association. Find out where and when they train..and how much they do.

Pre-season for most goalies around won't officially start till March, but, joining the fieldies will make things easier in terms of the hard running they do...will certainly get you through the season.

I've been wondering who would I contact? I live in Queenstown on the West Coast of Tasmania and I thought about becoming a goal umpire the Darwin Association. I was wondering would I contact the head office of the umpiring here in Tasmania? Or would I call the league?

I thought living here I could help with any number shortages they may have, since I don't think many would want to travel the 6 hours it would take to come from Hobart or wherever else they would be sent from.

I've thought about it, and want to become a goal umpire since after damaging my knee during my short junior career and past injuries after that I figure the less running around the better.

If you live near Burnie, then I suggest contacting the North Tasmanian Football League for the umpire's association there. Good group of blokes and they will definitely make you welcome.

Gday, my sisters best friend's brother is a up and coming goal umpire (starts doing AFL this year) so i do no a little about it, you have to be really fit for some reason, this bloke trains with the players, so with your injury might be a bit tough. Get about 4 grand a game (h&a games) its less for nab cup, and finals are obviously alot more, if your lucky enough to goal umpire the granny you will get 16 grand :thumbsu:. i cant really help you with who to contact but thats a general summary of the money and training involved

that's at the top level. must have been a uge jump in pay cos one of the blokes who field umpired in the afl last year who i knew didnt get more than 2000 a match.
at local level, most likely get $50-$80 poer game..... if u want to go higher you have to obtain level two accreditation which u get from the local group and does not cost you anything normally.

i remember at my high school, they had a program setup with the VAFA and you basically move up as you develop.

if u perform very well, then you get the chance to train with the VFL and so on.

Anyone know the training they've gotta do and how much. Becasue i've done a bit of umpiring and goal umpiring(for the finals), and at training theres no real goal umpiring training except just asking questions, it couldn't be too time demanding could it.

my mates dad is a afl goal umpire, the guy with the mo...........they get paid a couple of grand a game

Anyone know the training they've gotta do and how much. Becasue i've done a bit of umpiring and goal umpiring(for the finals), and at training theres no real goal umpiring training except just asking questions, it couldn't be too time demanding could it.

Plenty goes on.

Lots of hard sprinting and a good amount of time dedicated to positioning work.

I am thinking of working as one in Tassie as there has been an umpire shortage in the state, and being Queenstown where I live which is a decent way off to travel it could save someone a drive into town.

I just wanted to get involved in some way in the league.

I am thinking of working as one in Tassie as there has been an umpire shortage in the state, and being Queenstown where I live which is a decent way off to travel it could save someone a drive into town.

I just wanted to get involved in some way in the league.

Yeah the Northern Tasmania Football League will love ya!

If you are going to Burnie like your username suggests, it would be the place to go.

my mates dad is a afl goal umpire, the guy with the mo...........they get paid a couple of grand a game
Then you may be able to answer this question...

Is it neccissary for the umpires to (after signalling a goal/point) lean as far as they can to one side without falling? It's as though they're very robotronic whilst going to get the flags.

Why dont you give it a crack yourself before you open your mouth and bag other successful people?

It is not necessary, but only the people who have actually goal umpired before in an official capacity know and understand how easy it is to lean to one side, they dont mean to, it just happens

Is it neccissary for the umpires to (after signalling a goal/point) lean as far as they can to one side without falling? It's as though they're very robotronic whilst going to get the flags.

It's also NECESSARY when you post something stupid in a forum, that you actually spell words properly.....

Goal umpiring, whilst it is all fun and good to laugh at, is a pretty tough job. I don't do it myself as I umpire field, but I know there's a lot of concentration involved....

It's comments like this that make it harder for competitions to retain and recruit umpires..and make it therefore harder on the guys and girls doing it.

Even though you are told not to lean, there are times when it just happens. But, as one of my contemporaries pointed out to me one day...there's nothing worng with a little bit of flair...the crowd love it and you'll enjoy it.

pazza,

You are 100% correct.

I umpire in the WAFL comp in perth and also umpire in a local league which i am the goal umpires coach. And trying 2 get people 2 umpire can take hard work when peoples main excuse is i couldnt put up with the bullshit we cop.

And the attiude of the eddy bets character doesnt promote umpiring at all. I suggest that u go and umpire and then u exprience it for yourself and you tell us about the 'lean' you no nuthing about.

pazza,

You are 100% correct.

I umpire in the WAFL comp in perth and also umpire in a local league which i am the goal umpires coach. And trying 2 get people 2 umpire can take hard work when peoples main excuse is i couldnt put up with the bullshit we cop.

And the attiude of the eddy bets character doesnt promote umpiring at all. I suggest that u go and umpire and then u exprience it for yourself and you tell us about the 'lean' you no nuthing about.

Fully agree with you there and as goal umpires you are the closest to the crowd so often you can be the direction of abuse (easy target).

Goal umpiring has its own difficulties while its fairly easy to get the basics ,thats what i have found teaching people anyway, its the little things that can take time to get and master and concentration is a must expecially when play is stuck in the middle for a long period of time. It can be alot of fun though and everyone adds a lil bit of flair to it.

Why dont you give it a crack yourself before you open your mouth and bag other successful people?

It is not necessary, but only the people who have actually goal umpired before in an official capacity know and understand how easy it is to lean to one side, they dont mean to, it just happens
God, bite my head off next time. I was unaware that I am unable to ask a question in which I've wanted to ask for a while.

For the record, I never said it was a bad thing, it just looks humerous.

God, bite my head off next time. I was unaware that I am unable to ask a question in which I've wanted to ask for a while.

For the record, I never said it was a bad thing, it just looks humerous.

Well mate on here, those type of statements or questions are taken as the poster bagging umpires because thats what the majority of people do on here.

It is hard enough to keep and recruit umpires, so we dont need people on here bagging them out or questioning what they do on the field.

So in future, please just be careful what you post and think about the ways it may be taken or understood...

Well mate on here, those type of statements or questions are taken as the poster bagging umpires because thats what the majority of people do on here.

It is hard enough to keep and recruit umpires, so we dont need people on here bagging them out or questioning what they do on the field.

So in future, please just be careful what you post and think about the ways it may be taken or understood...

Hear hear!!

Would offering to umpire little league games help in any way to becoming a senior umpire? Though I am not sure this town has a little league here...but I'm just thinking if I did some work along those lines helping out would that be good preparation?

Yeah the Northern Tasmania Football League will love ya!

If you are going to Burnie like your username suggests, it would be the place to go.

Queenstown Crows will love me once I get them a new jumper and a new nickname.;)

Would offering to umpire little league games help in any way to becoming a senior umpire? Though I am not sure this town has a little league here...but I'm just thinking if I did some work along those lines helping out would that be good preparation?

Not a bad grounding. I'd be angling to get some school matches at high school level as an alternative to that.

Yeh I agree Pazza, itd be better to find out if there is a junior league or something around, I know back home the starting age group for goalies is U/17 level, so somewhere around there would be a good age group to start at

pazza,

Im not sure wether you have mentioned this on any other thread before but are you currently involved in any umpiring association??

Because your knowledge on umpiring is very much based on the promotion of umpiring and how people can come about it, which is fantastic.

And Eddie Betts next time yuou may wish to rephrase your question so people dont bite your head off.