Votes: 1 10.0%
  • Jonathan Giles

Votes: 2 20.0%

The imperial stout:

View attachment 1288061

Still very sweet, reminiscent of Innate Snow Leopard. Probably a touch too much lactose but coffee coming through nicely. Zero hazelnut flavour unfortunately, should've gone with vanilla. 3 mouthfuls in and already light headed, be good to keep resting for next winter.

Yewww back on the beers boiiii

Dropped 12kg in 8 weeks. Time to pile it back on.

Great effort bro. Whilst I'm not cutting off my drinking hand entirely, I have severely restricted myself and now cycling 4 days a week. On a Xmas push to see if I can crack 85kg (from low 90s). The last time I did this was January this year and the wife ended up pregnant, so I better be on my best behaviour this time round

She obviously can't keep her hands off a lean mean Dan! How's the bub anyway?

Haha nah it was very much a concerted effort, and we struck out plenty leading up to that! 🤣 Done now though, for sure. Wife is starting to drop hints about going again, she's totally loved up.

Bub is going really well. She's a massive boofa. Rocked up in a hurry, and our hospital system is every bit as ****ed as they're saying it is. Stark contrast between public this time and private with the first. Everyone is safe, happy, healthy so that's a win in itself. Bring on the Xmas break!

Haha nah it was very much a concerted effort, and we struck out plenty leading up to that! 🤣 Done now though, for sure. Wife is starting to drop hints about going again, she's totally loved up.

Bub is going really well. She's a massive boofa. Rocked up in a hurry, and our hospital system is every bit as f’ed as they're saying it is. Stark contrast between public this time and private with the first. Everyone is safe, happy, healthy so that's a win in itself. Bring on the Xmas break!

Great to hear mate, their health is the most important thing in the end. Gonna be an excellent Christmas coming up with your family! Even then our public health system is better than most countries top level.

We just recently gave up on number 3, we had to have fertility treatment for #2 (my son) and again when we tried this time. All that trying for nothing (😂). Didn't work out and we were a bit disappointed, only takes about 30 seconds to realise how blessed we are to have 2 healthy kids already. In a perfect world I'd love 3-4 kids but these days it's hard to be able to provide for that many to the level you'd like.

Now have an appointment for the snip consultation on Monday, just to make sure of it!

Great to hear mate, their health is the most important thing in the end. Gonna be an excellent Christmas coming up with your family! Even then our public health system is better than most countries top level.

We just recently gave up on number 3, we had to have fertility treatment for #2 (my son) and again when we tried this time. All that trying for nothing (😂). Didn't work out and we were a bit disappointed, only takes about 30 seconds to realise how blessed we are to have 2 healthy kids already. In a perfect world I'd love 3-4 kids but these days it's hard to be able to provide for that many to the level you'd like.

Now have an appointment for the snip consultation on Monday, just to make sure of it!

Sorry to hear it hasn't panned out how you hoped, mate. It's bloody hard! We tried over 18 months the first time, 12 months the second. And a miscarriage in there too. Both times we ended up making appointments with a fertility specialist and then fell before either going through with it or even making the appointment. Absolutely bizarre.

Oh yeah all that trying, what a nightmare huh? 😉

Totally hear you on the logistics of raising a larger family these days. Kids are damn expensive. We both need to work just to get ahead a little, so it's a pull between that and the wife parking work to be home with a bub. If we won lotto or something I reckon more kids would be on the cards. I bloody love being a Dad.

Sorry to hear it hasn't panned out how you hoped, mate. It's bloody hard! We tried over 18 months the first time, 12 months the second. And a miscarriage in there too. Both times we ended up making appointments with a fertility specialist and then fell before either going through with it or even making the appointment. Absolutely bizarre.

Oh yeah all that trying, what a nightmare huh? 😉

Totally hear you on the logistics of raising a larger family these days. Kids are damn expensive. We both need to work just to get ahead a little, so it's a pull between that and the wife parking work to be home with a bub. If we won lotto or something I reckon more kids would be on the cards. I bloody love being a Dad.

Please don't be sorry for me - incredibly lucky to have what I've got and couldn't be more thankful.

I've mentioned before the Mrs is the career type and I'm the stay at home parent, but we still both have to work - and to be honest it's as close as I'll ever come to living the dream and it's great. Guess it's just the way it is these days unless you're a mega-earning machine with traditional gender roles - the few of those people like that that are left.

In b4 FKASC says parent chat for those banned on BigPregnancy

Anyway, back to the HB, checking out my saison tomoz after being in the bottle for 3 months, something else to look forward too.

Brew day tomorrow or Sunday. Using some 100% hallertauer hops grown by a guy from my homebrew club last summer. He just gave me like 200g of hop cones. Legend.

What’s this one again? Wonder if it’ll continue to condition

Pils looks ******* elite but

Saison, I dry hopped it first with Saaz then Hallertau. 3 months in and not shaking the shitty soapy after-taste.

So oddly today my Saison tastes great - after-taste is down about 50% and mandarin coming through. Hope it's not just an anomaly and can enjoy it.
I’ve found that with beers sometimes. One day you’ll notice something you hate, then next time you won’t pick it up, and then you will. I reckon our taste changes from day to day so you perceive things different depending on when you try it. I’ve found that with bitterness and astringency in the past too.

IPA brewed this morning and in the final chilling stages, Belgian Witbier kegged last night and German Pils lagering (if I don't drink it all). Makes for 3 brews in 5 weeks and should tide me over Christmas and New Years with guests.

The tea and rice lager may do on the Christmas public holidays.

I’ve found that with beers sometimes. One day you’ll notice something you hate, then next time you won’t pick it up, and then you will. I reckon our taste changes from day to day so you perceive things different depending on when you try it. I’ve found that with bitterness and astringency in the past too.

It's true, but I really hope not. Went from contemplating tipping it down the sink to patting myself on the back!

Agree with the changing palate thing. I haven't had a beer in a month and yesterday the boss bought an array of crafties. I just had a Dingo lager because I was driving and also trying not to drink beer, and bloody hell it tasted so nice.

I reckon if I was bashing hazys every day leading up to that moment it wouldn't have excited me at all.

Or maybe it's just a really good beer 🤔

Been having problems on and off with Wyeast smack packs for a little while now, preferring White Labs as they've been pretty reliable. Unfortunately my HBS has been short on White Labs supply so been forced to get Wyeast. This batch did a one litre starter that appeared to have almost no activity. So just to be safe I made up a 3 litre starter and had minimal krausen but checked the gravity to make sure it was all going according to plan. My fermenter today after pitching on Saturday midday:

20211206_152224.jpg

Had to take the lid off to clean up and the head on it was a monster.