BEER PRICES!

Perth Wildcats basketball
Beer on sale this week a very well known place advertising White Rabbit 24 stubbies $65.00 bucks! For six stubbs' $24.99 I think.

At that price.. the $65 dollars one.. that is, a stubbie comes out at about $2.70, but buy six and you pay $4.16 approx per stubbie.

When you should be paying about $16 dollars, how does this rip off get to be allowed by consumer protection authorities.

At Aldi , I found 12 stubbies of Corona at $25 dollars, TWELVE not six, about $2.08 dollars a stubbie??

At least that is reasonable, but its not only White Rabbit, 6 TED'S is up there around $20 to $ 25 so to is Carlton dry or any other sic pack ,
I reckon this is daylight robbery and it should be stopped.

Any one see how this Aldi place kicks its competitors in the teeth, by charging reasonable prices, if you look hard enough you can find some good products some may be dodgy in queality but the Coronas' are real .

How does this work, that for 24 its 2 and a bit bucks a bottle , but buy six and it jumps to 4 and a bit dollars, for the same product, with popular beers it got nothing to do with the bulk buying by retailers , they'll say that.
But even the wine industry does it , in Margaret river three or so years ago bought two bottles from a visit to a winery , costing about $27 /$28 dollars each, was taking them home.
Went to a restaurant before we left, our holiday spot a BYO place , bought a bottle of the same type wine a well known one from Barossa valley cost about $15 dollars out of the bottle shop .

How ? And how is it allowed. I guess a fool and his money is soon parted .

We all get ripped off by bulldust, don't we????

My friend, the answer to you question is
things are always cheaper when you buy in bulk.

I’m no economist but I believe the term is economies of scale.

Only fools buy six packs.

But even the wine industry does it , in Margaret river three or so years ago bought two bottles from a visit to a winery , costing about $27 /$28 dollars each, was taking them home.
Went to a restaurant before we left, our holiday spot a BYO place , bought a bottle of the same type wine a well known one from Barossa valley cost about $15 dollars out of the bottle shop .

You can buy Barossa reds for $6 bucks or $150 bucks. Depends on what takes your fancy.

always worth checking the specials

I don't understand why Melbourne Bitter is usually more expensive than VB, Fosters and Carlton by $1 a slab usually.

I 'member buying a box of VB tallies for $20 about the time I came of age. $65! *sigh*

Beer on sale this week a very well known place advertising White Rabbit 24 stubbies $65.00 bucks! For six stubbs' $24.99 I think.

At that price.. the $65 dollars one.. that is, a stubbie comes out at about $2.70, but buy six and you pay $4.16 approx per stubbie.

When you should be paying about $16 dollars, how does this rip off get to be allowed by consumer protection authorities.

At Aldi , I found 12 stubbies of Corona at $25 dollars, TWELVE not six, about $2.08 dollars a stubbie??

At least that is reasonable, but its not only White Rabbit, 6 TED'S is up there around $20 to $ 25 so to is Carlton dry or any other sic pack ,
I reckon this is daylight robbery and it should be stopped.

Any one see how this Aldi place kicks its competitors in the teeth, by charging reasonable prices, if you look hard enough you can find some good products some may be dodgy in queality but the Coronas' are real .

How does this work, that for 24 its 2 and a bit bucks a bottle , but buy six and it jumps to 4 and a bit dollars, for the same product, with popular beers it got nothing to do with the bulk buying by retailers , they'll say that.

How ? And how is it allowed. I guess a fool and his money is soon parted .

We all get ripped off by bulldust, don't we????
Is this a post from that bargain forum?

always worth checking the specials
Well sometimes this fool only has enough for six yet the 24 bottles is too much , see , but does anybody have an opinion beside smart arsed comments.
At least yours had some reasoning, like bulk buying.

Its still a rip off.

No its a post from a customer who hates being ripped off by mongrels , I am retired brother so I think its frigging thievery. Read it again and have an opinion?
Comparing a beer from an independent Australian brewery to Corona's from Aldi isn't a decent comparison.

The cost to manufacture isn't even close, then you have Also vs whatever the other store is and their business models.

ALDI like to undercut prices.

Coles have their own cheap brand now steamrail, pretend boutique brewery.

You've got two kinds of craft beers, actual craft beers from small breweries who have high costs compared to the volume they move, and fake ones owned by large companies charging a premium based on the market.

You can drink the cheap mass produced stuff or you can drink the expensive mass produced stuff or you can drink the expensive independent stuff.

Yep it's ridiculous how expensive it is due to tax especially when you consider it's probably the least likely form of alcohol imo to cause drinking problems. I mean someone can go get 3 bottles of wine for $20 or something and get absolutely loaded in quick fashion.

Only thing that's far more of a rip off than beer is the pre-mixed spirits cans and the funny thing about those is it often seems to be the poorest people buying them. Oh that was Mr Rudd's solution to stopping binge drinking with the yoof, nothing to do with just raising extra revenue.

The issue with this is that I don't drink enough to warrant me buying anything larger than a six-pack. In the long run I'll spend less because I drink less, as it takes me literal months to get through one

Yep it's ridiculous how expensive it is due to tax especially when you consider it's probably the least likely form of alcohol imo to cause drinking problems. I mean someone can go get 3 bottles of wine for $20 or something and get absolutely loaded in quick fashion.

Only thing that's far more of a rip off than beer is the pre-mixed spirits cans and the funny thing about those is it often seems to be the poorest people buying them. Oh that was Mr Rudd's solution to stopping binge drinking with the yoof, nothing to do with just raising extra revenue.
We've got plenty in this country that get themselves in trouble on beer, and a long history of it.

Well yes of course.. I never said it doesn't cause any problems, it's just imo less likely than beverages that contain between 10-40% alcohol, yet it seems to get hammered far more with taxes by comparison.

I mean take a teenager going to a party. Which would you rather, them take a 6 pack of beer or even pre-mixed spirits (that Mr Rudd thought was encouraging youth drinking) or a 700ml straight bottle of Jack Daniels or a 2L cask of wine?

The issue with this is that I don't drink enough to warrant me buying anything larger than a six-pack. In the long run I'll spend less because I drink less, as it takes me literal months to get through one

Me likewise, but it’s nice comforting feeling when you know you have plenty of beers tucked away in the cupboard and always a few cold ones in the fridge.

I'm still coming to grips with the idea that some craft beer cartons go for $75-100; that's just too rich for my alcohol-soaked blood. I'll keep paying $40 for my European lagers, maybe eye off a special for $50, but I just can't justify spending much more than that.

Don't go to the really expensive section... $100 will get you a four pack.

I just rip off the coupon at the bottom of the shopping receipt and get my 6 packs for $12.