Food, Drink & Dining Out Beer

• Thread starter Thread starter block_100

Re: Corona. Corona's what I call a good lawnmower beer. It's about 4 on Saturday afternoon in January and you're all hot and sweaty after some gardening and mowing the lawn. Sitting on the back porch with a cold corona admiring your handiwork is ****ing magic.

Non beer drinker here.

Used to really annoy me that I didn't like it when I was 18/19 and went to a party where beer and wine was provided (only drank spirits at the time). Then when I was about 20 I got into red wine so now I don't really care about "learning" to like beer as my friends encourage me to.

JD or wine would be my drink of choice, I do also enjoy a cider though.

Just ignore flogs if they give you shit for not drinking beer but seriously I'd give it a go just trying to have the odd one. It's hard to explain but the stuff takes ages to develop a taste for but when you do it's actually a great drink. I like lots of stuff like including Jack's, cider and wine like you do but in certain situations nothing beats a beer, it also very hard to get sick of unlike all other alcoholic drinks imo.

Re: Corona. Corona's what I call a good lawnmower beer. It's about 4 on Saturday afternoon in January and you're all hot and sweaty after some gardening and mowing the lawn. Sitting on the back porch with a cold corona admiring your handiwork is ******* magic.

I've tried many a beer under these circumstances and I can assure you they all taste superb.

Will only drink Corona if there's nothing else available. I'm not a beer snob, but it just doesn't taste like beer should.

As for adding limes and shit like that, absolutely should never be done.

It varies with me. Somtimes I think I really would like a beer, have one, and don't like it. Another day I might just have one to be sociable and find it goes down well.
Not that I drink often these days anyway. I'm old and get hangovers more easily than I get "happy drunk", plus it takes over a day to properly recover. The days when I could get well beyond happy drunk, and just be a little tired for a few hours the next day are long gone. Second day hangovers are not uncommon and I do seem to get worse hangovers from beer rather than scotch.

Will only drink Corona if there's nothing else available. I'm not a beer snob, but it just doesn't taste like beer should.

As for adding limes and shit like that, absolutely should never be done.

The almost prerequisite for needing to add lemon or lime just highlights the fact the most think the beer on it's own is substandard.

A good beer shouldn't need anything added to it. Some argue it's just making the beer beter, maybe so, but to me it's covering the beers deficiencies.

Forgot to put my normal, mass market beer in the fridge for tonight. Any arty farty craft 6-pack recommendations?

Forgot to put my normal, mass market beer in the fridge for tonight. Any art farty craft 6-pack recommendations?
Why don't you just chuck it in the freezer for a bit? Or do you want it as soon as you get home?

Forgot to put my normal, mass market beer in the fridge for tonight. Any arty farty craft 6-pack recommendations?
What are you into? Just go down a non-BWS/First Choice bottle shop, so a decent independent, and grab what’s cheap. At the most boring it’ll be Peroni Red which is a nice cheap beer.

Melbourne Bitter is very popular with the hipster crowd these days.

Pass.

What are you into? Just go down a non-BWS/First Choice bottle shop, so a decent independent, and grab what’s cheap. At the most boring it’ll be Peroni Red which is a nice cheap beer.

Coopers Pale Ale is my current default. There's an organic supermarket near my house that sells stuff Liquorland et al won't do.

little creatures elsie
Not this. Very very generic and way way too expensive. It’s 1.1 standards so it’s basically a mid strength but it’s still $22 a six pack. The flavours are boring as well.

I did see Buttweiper is now 1.2 standards now too. Which a joke.

Not this. Very very generic and way way too expensive. It’s 1.1 standards so it’s basically a mid strength but it’s still $22 a six pack. The flavours are boring as well.

I did see Buttweiper is now 1.2 standards now too. Which a joke.

goes down like monica lewinsky on a hot day though, however i do prefer the taste of bright ale

I don't mind Little Creatures and I like sitting down there with some nachos and ales, but I wonder how long they'll stay reeeeaally sustainable. The craft game is getting huge and there's too many tiny little breweries that appeal to that taste, as well as better beers out there. But at like 70 bucks a carton it's still expensive. It's sort of in no-man's land.

pale ale is king and they do it better than most if not all

Dainton IPA

If they dont have it question how can they continue to compete in this market without quality beers, and spit on them

Or Sierra Nevada. No Shrills*

*Plenty of shrilling in this post

Got Moon Dog Old Mate Pale Ale. It was good, strong, but at $22 for a sixpack probably won't buy it again.