Discussion Beer!

I drank a lot of Fosters tonight. Before anyone judges me it is very very cheap here.

It was either that or Tennents. (Anyone who has been to Scotland will vouch for the fact that Tennents is not worth drinking.)

Beers from best to worst Ive tried.

TED's
Heineken
Corona
Pure Blone
Sol
Crown
TED's Platinum
James Boags
Becks
Carlton Draught
Coopers
VB

Yeah I stick to the same few beers, rarely drink much under the top 4 lol. Unless it's free. :D

Personally I class Heiniken and Crown as overrated. Especially Heineken, nasty chemical taste, and if you ask a European they are an el-cheopo drop back home. ( Reasonably low calory though ). You find a lot of the beers that are considered pretty ordinary in Europe ( what is the German translation of "bogan beer") are sold as high priced specialty beers in Australia. I guess we do it back to them with Fosters.

I like the pure blonde though, and the Sol. Sympatico is a terrific mexican beer, but I havent seen it since I stopped frequenting a specific mexican restaurant that had it.

Generally I don't mind a drop of any of the staple brews from W.A, Vic, and Tassie. Coopers is good, but an aquired taste , West end is bad.
Even the short lived Powers, was better than XXXX.

I don't like the basic Tooheys and Hahn, but some of their specialist beers were good. Tooheys "Whitbier" was a good reasonably priced wheat beer ( maybe not as good as Redback but much cheaper ). Tooheys Old is not bad in winter, but one or two is the limit. ( Looks like Guiness but tastes much nicer ).

If scraping the barrel at Aldi, make sure you get the Beer from New Zealand, rather than the ones from NSW. They also have a passible mexican style beer, stangely called "Santiago" despite being made in Argentina.

Do they still brew Fosters in Cairns?

My five favourites are probably

- Andechser Doppelbock Dunkel (Germany)

- Trappistes Rochefort (Belgium)

- Chimay Blue (Belgium)

- Paulaner Salvator Doppelbock (Germany)

- Little Creatures Pale Ale (WA)

When it comes to beer, Belgium and Germany are almost in a class of their own in my opinion.

But hey, if you have a spare 1955 Grange to enjoy over a 1966 GF replay, let me know...

I like Stella. Affordable and easy to drink.

Do the Brits still call Stella "wife beater" because of the after effects of drinking too much of it?

Mind you they've probably downed 15 pints at the local Walkabout pub.

Do the Brits still call Stella "wife beater" because of the after effects of drinking too much of it?

Mind you they've probably downed 15 pints at the local Walkabout pub.

Some people do, more in England than up here I think. I reckon it's decent value though, and it tastes good.

I got told I was wearing a wife beater when wearing a St Kilda top whilst playing fives once though. My choice of beer and sports clothing doesn't bode so well.

TassieSaint has - unfortunately - not been seen around here since the day before the Grand Final.

Ironically, his last post was in a thread named "final words".

oh well !
go tassiesaint

i grew up in hobart ... the grandfathers crowd drank the Cascade Green whilst playing cribbage or hanging around the railways (he drove the last tasmanian limited ... the last public rail journey in tas)

somewhere along the way , i heard that the 'green' was the bottom of the vat ... a meal on its own .....maybe thats how i became a coopers red boy .... but i've grown into the instant hit via a vodka or tequila type of young fella :)

Im loving the James Squires at the moment. Highly recommend people try these if they havent already. I recommed the Goldern Ale or Amber Ale

QUOTED FOR MAGNIFICENCE!

James Squires have an awesome very limited 'Malt Runner' which is an exquisite experience, has hints of chocolate in the after taste: http://www.beeradvice.com.au/712/james-squire-malt-runner/

My usual Squires is their Pilsner, as well as the above mentioned the Porter is rather fun too :)

QUOTED FOR MAGNIFICENCE!

James Squires have an awesome very limited 'Malt Runner' which is an exquisite experience, has hints of chocolate in the after taste: http://www.beeradvice.com.au/712/james-squire-malt-runner/

My usual Squires is their Pilsner, as well as the above mentioned the Porter is rather fun too :)

May have to give this one a shot if I ever see it at the local bottleshop....

You cant really go wrong with any of the Squires though

I've tried to track this down brother, but I'm calling no joy.

Dan Murphy's has been no help.

Gday Guide, I checked DM's as well when the Malt Runners hit the shelves, but I never saw any there - your small little bottle shops attached to weird little supermarkets is your best chance if there are any still in existence.

I just looked at their facebook page and they have a list of who stocks it and also which pubs serve it.

Heres list of who sells it if you live in Victoria, they list all states if interested: http://www.facebook.com/note.php?note_id=395552046957
VIC

Vintage Cellars - Armadale
Vintage Cellars - Ashburton
Vintage Cellars - Balaclava
Vintage Cellars - Brighton
Vintage Cellars - Brighton East
1st Choice - Chadstone
Clifton Hill Htl - Clifton Hill
Vintage Cellars - Donvale
Vintage Cellars - East Melbourne
Vintage Cellars - Geelong West
Vintage Cellars - Greensborough
1st Choice - Moonee Ponds
1st Choice - Mornington
Vintage Cellars - Mount Waverley
Vintage Cellars - Port Melbourne
Vintage Cellars - Richmond
1st Choice - Ringwood
Vintage Cellars - Sandringham
1st Choice - Shepparton
Vintage Cellars - South Melbourne
1st Choice - South Morang
1st Choice - Sunbury
Vintage Cellars - Toorak

Venues to serve James Squire Malt Runner on-tap
NSW
James Squire Brewhouse - King St Wharf, Sydney
Marlborough Hotel - 145 King Street, Newtown
Northern Star Hotel - 112 Beaumont Street, Hamilton
VIC
James Squire Brewhouse - 493 Docklands Drive, Docklands
The Portland Hotel - 115-127 Russell Street, Melbourne
QLD
Grand Central Hotel - 270 Ann Street, Brisbane
The Norman Hotel - 102 Ipswich Road, Buranda
The Belvedere Hotel - Oxley Avenue, Woody Point
The Full Moon Hotel - 118 Eagle Terrace, Sandgate
The Spotted Cow - 296 Ruthven St Cnr Ruthven and Campbell Streets, Toowoomba
WA
The Generous Squire - Cnr Shafto Lane & Murray Street Perth CBD
The Grosvenor Hotel - 399 Hay Street, East Perth
The Norfolk Hotel - South Terrace, Fremantle
SA
Earl of Leicester Hotel - 85 Leicester Street, Parkside
The Wheatsheaf Hotel - 39 George Street, Thebarton
Wellington Hotel - 36 Wellington Square, North Adelaide
The Holdfast Bay Hotel - 83 Brighton Road, Glenelg South
The Elephant - 20 Vaughan Place, Adelaide
TAS
The Squires Bounty - Salamanca Place, Hobart
ACT
All Bar Nun - MacPherson Crescent, O’Connor
Edgar’s Inn - 1 Edgar Street, Ainslie

I just looked at their facebook page and they have a list of who stocks it and also which pubs serve it.

Heres list of who sells it if you live in Victoria, they list all states if interested: http://www.facebook.com/note.php?note_id=395552046957
VIC

Vintage Cellars - Armadale
Vintage Cellars - Balaclava
Vintage Cellars - Brighton
Vintage Cellars - Brighton East
1st Choice - Chadstone
Clifton Hill Htl - Clifton Hill
Vintage Cellars - Donvale
Vintage Cellars - East Melbourne
Vintage Cellars - Geelong West
Vintage Cellars - Greensborough
1st Choice - Moonee Ponds
1st Choice - Mornington
Vintage Cellars - Mount Waverley
Vintage Cellars - Port Melbourne
Vintage Cellars - Richmond
1st Choice - Ringwood
Vintage Cellars - Sandringham
1st Choice - Shepparton
Vintage Cellars - South Melbourne
1st Choice - South Morang
1st Choice - Sunbury
Vintage Cellars - Toorak

Venues to serve James Squire Malt Runner on-tap
NSW
James Squire Brewhouse - King St Wharf, Sydney
Marlborough Hotel - 145 King Street, Newtown
Northern Star Hotel - 112 Beaumont Street, Hamilton
VIC
James Squire Brewhouse - 493 Docklands Drive, Docklands
The Portland Hotel - 115-127 Russell Street, Melbourne
QLD
Grand Central Hotel - 270 Ann Street, Brisbane
The Norman Hotel - 102 Ipswich Road, Buranda
The Belvedere Hotel - Oxley Avenue, Woody Point
The Full Moon Hotel - 118 Eagle Terrace, Sandgate
The Spotted Cow - 296 Ruthven St Cnr Ruthven and Campbell Streets, Toowoomba
WA
The Generous Squire - Cnr Shafto Lane & Murray Street Perth CBD
The Grosvenor Hotel - 399 Hay Street, East Perth
The Norfolk Hotel - South Terrace, Fremantle
SA
Earl of Leicester Hotel - 85 Leicester Street, Parkside
The Wheatsheaf Hotel - 39 George Street, Thebarton
Wellington Hotel - 36 Wellington Square, North Adelaide
The Holdfast Bay Hotel - 83 Brighton Road, Glenelg South
The Elephant - 20 Vaughan Place, Adelaide
TAS
The Squires Bounty - Salamanca Place, Hobart
ACT
All Bar Nun - MacPherson Crescent, O’Connor
Edgar’s Inn - 1 Edgar Street, Ainslie

You star brother.

I'm off to Moonee Ponds tomorrow!

haha yea think i may stop in at mornington on my way through to the footy tomorrow night.

Believe it or not, the Japanese actually make some bloody good beers.
Been hooked on Asahi, Kirin and Sapporo for quite a while now
:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Yeah that Kirin stuff isn't bad, unfortunately the only place here I know that sells it is a pretty awful bar. It's an 'international' bar with beers from all sorts of countries. Beer selection is great but the place itself is awful.

Visited 2 different bottle shops today and no joy on the Malt Runner. Shattered.
Sad news brother, none left in my neck of the woods either. I had to settle for a few Fat Yaks ...
images

Sad news brother, none left in my neck of the woods either. I had to settle for a few Fat Yaks ...
images

Shattering brother.

Although a Fat Yak will get the job done.

Never ended up making it to Mornington to check if they have it. Im up that way tomorrow so will try remember to drop in and check it out. Will keep you informed!!!!!

Discussion Beer!